TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Gardaí respond to MCD criticism – say they stand by their report

An Garda Síochána have tonight released a statement, just hours after MCD issued one of their own.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

GARDAI HAVE TONIGHT issued a statement in response to MCD’s criticism of their handling of Swedish House Mafia concert last July.

In it, they state that the “position of An Garda Síochána in relation to the concert in the Phoenix Park on 7 July, 2012 remains as set out in the Commissioner’s letter to the Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence on 25 July last.”

In that report, they had stated that the MCD control centre was ‘not fit for purpose’. At the time, the managing director of MCD, Denis Desmond, had described the report as ‘unbalanced’.

Tonight’s statement by An Garda Síochána goes on to say:

Following that review a series of measures were put in place involving all the parties concerned which helped to ensure that the recent concerts in Marlay Park went off successfully.
The priority of An Garda Síochána is to do everything within its power and work with all the parties involved to ensure that there is no repetition at future events of the type of incidents which took place at the Phoenix Park concert.

Read: MCD slams Garda over Phoenix Park gig >

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• This is possibly the first time I have to side with the Gardaí. I think security at the event was the responsibility of MCD with some assistance from the Gardaí, however, blaming security or lack thereof and the Gardaí for people taking drugs and carrying weapons is like blaming McDonalds for people being overweight………People get stabbed or overdose every week in this country and the Gardaí do their best with limited resources and staff but they will always be outnumbered by the idiots and dregs of society.

• Not once in any of these reports has anyone blamed the people that actually caused this and for those youngsters attending. How come their parents didn’t know what they were doing. Sick of the blame game. The fault lies with the people that committed the crimes!!

• What fantasy land do you live in Richelle? Don’t you know it’s the parents, the teachers, the guards, the social workers, the system, the drink, the drugs, the voices, the government…… anyone or anything but the criminal that is to blame.

• Albert agree completely with you, just so sick of this lack of security being the answer to all the problems. I know for a fact when I was 16 there would have been no way that I would have been let travel up to a concert on my own without supervision. It’s the parenting to blame in my opinion for those under age and for those over 18 its the person that does this. MCD and the guards shouldn’t need extra security if people behaved like human beings and not animals….think I’ll go back to my fantasy land now :)

• Spot on Richelle. While the Gardai were seriously lacking in the policing department, you’ve got to ask how much money does the State and private enterprise have to spend to protect Irish people from themselves. They get on buses and trains at 7am in the morning and start drinking. Cause and effect.

• I was at David Guetta in Marley Park and while it was obvious to me that lessons were learned at the SHM gig, it was also blatantly obvious that the private security firm MCD engaged for the event were not fit for purpose — the Gardaí did a great job, but got no help.

• Pebbles 06/09/12 #

It’s always the way. They always blame the guards when something goes wrong. Not enough guards at the SHM and then there’s loads at the next concert. And people still complain.

• MCD just thinking of money,and not security!!

• What do MCD traditionally pay security, years ago they intentionally bussed “security” in from the north and paid them less than they would have paid for “secuirity” in the south. All you have to do is look at how they traditionally treat concert goers, cheap and nasty was invented for MCD.

• am i wrong in thinking, thats its the security hired by MCD that are to search people for drugs / weapons ect..???? how is that the gaurds fault??

• Have we missed something here in the recent past? Have the duties of Gardai changed recently to such an extent that they ARE merely revenue generators and corporate enforcers ‘these days’? There was me thinking that the Gardai were responsible for the security of the state and the investigation of a myriad of different types of crime, amongst other menial duties. Your ignorance is almost breathtaking. I’m sure if you ask any Garda if they feel that it is an appropriate allocation of resources, duty and effort to chase people down for the non payment of revenue/fines etc they would agree that it is not. Unfortunately they are tasked with such a duty in the absence of a long overdue more appropriate method of dealing with defaulters etc. As for corporate enforcement, the ODCE have merely a handful of Gardai working for them. Now run along like a good man and take your obvious grievances with you…..’fella’.

• That has to be one of the dumbest posts I have yet to read on the Journal. Read up and get your facts straight. ‘Tax collecting wasters’!!. Lol. Somehow I think all of our taxes are wasted keeping the likes of morons like you on the dole.

• dave 07/09/12 #

Let’s go as far as our court system who slaps people on the wrist every day of the week for drug offences assaults and anti social behaviour instead of giving them a good harsh sentence like in other countries. Maybe if on their first offence if they got a decent punishment rather than a don’t do that again now please they would think again.

• There is probably no easier country to be a criminal in than Ireland. State isn’t bothered dealing with it, the vast majority of people employed in the Gardai and Justice System overiding priority is their pay check, the State is fantastic at ensuring the people who are on it’s payroll do well and do well without any iota of accountability. Crime is no different than Health , we have appalling standards in both areas, creates alot of victims but as long as the people in charge are getting paid, it doesn’t really matter to them.

• Priority Gardai of Gardai is picking up the pay-cheque!?! Ye wouldn’t think it from Today’s story about the Garda Traffic Pursuit across the city after armed men!!

• Economicopoly, so Gardai are only interested in their pay cheque, do you think Gardai Robbie McCallion or Gary McLoughlin were only interested in their pay cheque when they were killed in the line of duty in Donegal, was Garda Ciaran Jones just interested in his pay cheque when he was washed away in a flood whilst trying to save motorists from a flooded bridge when off duty, was D/Garda Jerry McCabe just interested in his pay cheque when he was gunned down during an attempted robbery, was D/Sgt Sean Eiffe just interested in his pay cheque when he was killed during trying to halt a bank raid??? I’ve only mentioned 5 there are many many more and you would do well to take your head out of your backside and educate yourself and what members of An Garda Siochana have sacrificed for the county and it’s people

• very well said richie.

• dave 07/09/12 #

Well said Richie

• Yas were both shite so agree to move on and arrange future events to be run more smoothly and provide better cooperation with each other end of!

• Niall 07/09/12 #

@ Apple core you seem to have had too much cider. Private event = private security. Get your little brain around that. And next time your car is broken into or your mothers handbag is robbed don’t forget to not ring the gardai. Clown.

• Is it any coincidence that the one are of the state that is consistently competent is the one charged with collecting money to pay all the state workers – the Revenue. Fail to pay your tax, there is considerable accountability, fail to do the job you are paid to do with that tax money – zero accountability.

• Gardai release statement “oink”

• Why can’t Gardai admit their mistake? So is the same to the police all over the world too! Wish the sorry is easy to say!

• thosj, why is it the gaurds mistake?? MCD have security to search people on entering these events. where drugs and weapons were obviously missed! i dont even feel the gaurds should be there unless the are called for anti social behaviour! Im not a huge fan of the gaurds but they take the wrap for all that goes wrong.. maybe if people behaved themselves at these events, the gaurds could be doing the job they should be.. just a thought!!

• If people were more mature and able to to act like responsible young adults and so no to drugs and drink responsibly, 1 Garda could have policed the whole event. Unfortunately, there are too many idiots out there.

• On the way to the gig – Guards issue.
      At the Gig – Security Issue

The trouble happened AT the gig so it’s security’s issue.

So what do you propose, Guards and Security start fully searching anywhere up to 50,000 people on their way in? That many people in a day, maybe 2? Are you serious?

People are going to do 1 of 2 things, wait in the MASSIVE q, or turn around and go home.

The ones who do decide to stay will have no choice but to wait for god knows how long to be searched and then get in. If they have beer, they will drink it there while waiting. If they have beer and find out they can’t bring it in, they will drink it there while waiting.

What that will mean will be less people going to these gigs. Less people going means less tickets sold, less money to be made which means that there will be no point having the gig.

All because of a minority of idiots who decided to bring a weapon and act like an absolute idiot and ruin other people’s lives and weekend

• Haha! You know a lot about me alright. Good fella.
    Would you prefer if I used the term revenue generators? Corporate enforcers perhaps? That’s all the Gardaí are these days. Sorry if that’s not convenient to your romantic view of things but the truth generally goes down badly with those who are afraid to face it.

• U can argue who is to blame blame the garda blame mcd security tell that to the parents of the kids who got stab or who have died to me mcd are blaming the garda so they dnt get sued for medical bills etc snd the state (garda) are the same both they dnt want to be sued either it don’t matter who is to blame its a sad and tragic lesson that was learned

Add New Comment