Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Government “working day and night” to get people off the dole: Enda Kenny

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that the cabinet is “working day and night” to get people off the dole and out working.

Meanwhile, the government is simultaneously launching “an international charm offensive at the level of business, politics, and diplomacy” to rebuild the country’s international reputation, he said.

Speaking at the Cork Chamber of Commerce annual dinner last night, Kenny said that the government would publish its action plan for jobs “shortly” which will target the manufacturing, agri-food, digital games, ICT, and tourism sectors which he says have the capacity to grow.

He also said that the government will be launching schemes including a Micro Finance Loan Fund to help small businesses access credit in order to support future growth and jobs, and spoke of building up the marine industry in Ireland:

It is a wasted opportunity that our ocean economy only about 1.2 per cent of GDP compared with a world average of 2 per cent. Given our ample resources we must embrace our seas and no longer turn our back on it.

Touching on the recent EU summit on a new fiscal agreement, Kenny said that “responsible fiscal policy will bring stability and confidence not only to the Irish economy but to the European economy.”

“It is essential that future solutions to fiscal problems start to encourage more growth, more jobs, more exports,” he added.

The Taoiseach said the recently announced closure of the Fastnet ferry service from Cork to Swansea was a disappointment, but “we must keep moving” and finding the next opportunity.

He also said that the government would decide on the future of Cork Airport after Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has met with key stakeholders on a report about the facility’s options.

Read Next:

Comments (118 Comments)

• Karl Doyle 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Correction, Government is working day and night to steal peoples money,clothes, food and lives. The sooner this government collapses the better it’ll be for our whole nation. It’ll happen soon hopefully.

• Sean O'Keeffe 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Government cannot create sustainable employment, but continues to hider those sections of the economy that can.
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970204740904577197044156250870.html

Report this comment
    • Gordon Lucas 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Sean
      Ah I see!!!….. thanks for the link… the Greens’ policies suddenly make more sense.

Redefining the word “sustainable” to mean profitable, rather than…. well, sustainable, or ” to use the resources of today in a way that does not limit the potential of future generations”, puts a whole new light on things. Interesting how that works – I wonder could we similarly re-define sea to mean sky, then pigs could fly.

Green Parties around the world have always had the problem that to be truly green means having zero growth policies something similar to the Blue Economy. http://www.zeri.org, which appears to be sustainable in both the longevity way and the profitable way.

Report this comment

Gordon, I can only apologise for allowing you to find the word sustainable confusing.
      I hope this helps:
      sustainable [səˈsteɪnəbəl]
      adj
      1. (Economics) capable of being sustained
      2. (Life Sciences & Allied Applications / Environmental Science) (of economic development, energy sources, etc.) capable of being maintained at a steady level without exhausting natural resources or causing severe ecological damage sustainable development
      3. (Economics) (of economic growth) non-inflationary

• Robert Kelly 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Very interesting read, seems like a very Austrian or Monetarist view on things. I hope people on here actually read t rather than just bitching.

Report this comment

@Sean
      Thanks…
      Hope you correct the inadequate education system soon…. cheers.

Report this comment

Just thinking about that 3rd definition, which I have never heard before.

“We want sustainable growth and development”
      Is that non-inflationary growth and non-inflationary development, or is it non-inflationary growth and sustainable development?

Also means that we can have sustainable growth without being able to sustain it due to being in a limited world.

• Sean O'Keeffe 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Robert.
      A bit more detail on the same subject if you’re interested.
      http://www.adamsmith.org/blog/economics/patterns-of-sustainable-specialization-and-trade

• Robert Kelly 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Sean
      Thanks for more reading. You’re a big Adam Smith fan I take it? I get a lot of flack defending positions like those among my friends.

• Sean O'Keeffe 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Keep the faith Robert.
      “Those fighting for free enterprise and free competition do not defend the interests of those rich today. They want a free hand left to unknown men who will be the entrepreneurs of tomorrow…”
      Ludwig von Mises

• Richie Donegan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

are they getting paid overtime for working nights €€€?

• James Ohare 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

He and his government has had almost 352 days give or take to get this situ sorted. If all they can do is decrease unemployment by about 0.2% then I don’t really hold much hope. Putting €1.25 billion into job creation and not paying it back to unsecured bond holders would have given me a little more confidence in Enda’s statement. We shall see!!!

• Karl Doyle 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Actually we only paid of part of it, the big part is in March I believe is to come and both payments total €4.35 Billion.

• Peter 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You are right, but with 352 days and working day and night maybe that why they are so f……. useless.explains lucinda’s millions of jobs and other bull shit from all of them, lack of sleep

• SeanS 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Do you honestly expect any government, to be able to sort out this mess in the space of 352 days? To say that’s unreasonable would be an understatement.

• Sid Cassidy 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What government? what a load of drivel .actions actions all that talk is crap Their fooling no one just crippling life with high tax and low public services .we need a democracy

• Aydo 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

That’s the COMPLETE OPPOSITE to my experience so far.

• Report this comment

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that the cabinet is “working day and night” to get people off the dole and out working.

The translation is that the are working day and night to falsify your paperwork using opinions ans save money for they’re own needs.

If they stop financing corporations these corporations would need customers. If corporations need customers they will also need workers. To much money from so called governments makes it easy for the rich.

• Working day and night to fill their pockets for their own pensions and don’t talk about expences.

• jimbo 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

thats the biggest joke ive hears in years

• sarah 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

He’s all talk but as soon as he steps outside the country he points the finger at us. He is a langer, a lick arse and full of s**t!

• jimbo 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

flippin auto corr

Kenny thats the biggest joke ive ever heard.

• D Burns 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Another joke is Enda Kenny and truth being used in the same sentence!!!!
      What I’m taking from the headline is “sure mine and the lads jobs are safe, screw the rest of them”…

• Gavin Mckenna 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Little or no jobs out there. plain and simple! Forced immigration is all this government knows and wants!

• Robert Kelly 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I highly doubt they want that, forced emigration is a loss of investment in higher level students. All the money spent educating those people leaves the country, which is not what they want…

• Robert McDonnell 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

By day and night does he mean a few hours 3 times a week? Because that would be more accurate.

Oh wait, I’m forgetting myself, they sit every 4th Friday aswell.

Absolute martyrs, obviously.

• Darren Parslow 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Working day and night?? There wasn’t 20 out of 166 TD’s yesterday in the Dail!! Were the rest due in after 7pm?

• Peter 66 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can actually smell the bullsh*t from here

• Report this comment

Shut up Kenny I seriously cant look at your photo or listen to anything that comes out of your lieing mouth without wanting to dance on your face……

• JustDieter 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
      Dance me through the panic ’til I’m gathered safely in
      Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove

Dance me to the end of love”

• Michael Cuthbert 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“It is a wasted opportunity that our ocean economy only about 1.2 per cent of GDP compared with a world average of 2 per cent. Given our ample resources we must embrace our seas and no longer turn our back on it.”

“It is essential that future solutions to fiscal problems start to encourage more growth, more jobs, more exports,” he added.

More and more Bertiesque…

• Report this comment

‘working day & night’……………………………………………….except Fridays

• John Muck 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

*pat on the head*
    Well done Enda….

• Paul O'Keeffe 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder are these goons claiming their expenses for the night shift as well?

• Mark Duwe 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

World labor markets are still emerging. The definition of ‘skilled workforce’ changes year to year. There are no smooth and straight pathways ahead. This is a time we should focus on the basics, educating our young, staying healthy, and participating in our communities to help make the lives of our neighbors a bit better. Steady as she goes…

• Ailís McKernan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

even here, the subtext is laying the blame squarely on our shoulders for current situation, always distracting from the true culprits! if there is anything wrong with our rep enda, its because of how you and yours portray us abroad! liar.

• Michael Cuthbert 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Now come on everybody – let’s get behind our glorious leader at the level of business, politics, and diplomacy to rebuild the country’s international reputation. It’s an essential for our crucial future going forward you know…

• Robert Mayberry 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Tw*t

• Report this comment

Wow great picture of our Taoiseach. He’s really a hands on, lets get down to business sort of guy. This is great news to hear. I feel confident that we’re in safe hands now.

• Don Booker 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Give that man a pat on the head!
    http://theirishbull.com/2012/02/01/217/

• Pat Kirwan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

in the current economic climate I hope they’re not claiming overtime.

• john g mcgrath 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda is going to launch”an international charm offensive “!!!!
    What planet is this guy from these are the words of a man who has no plan what so ever!!
    Continuity F F rolls on

Report this comment

More like 5 pints of complan than 5 point plan

• JustDieter 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Tick tock, tick tock
    Goes the old grandfather clock
    Tick tock, tick tock
    It never ever ever stops.
    Swing swing, swing swing
    It really is a wondrous thing
    Swing swing, swing swing
    I’m waiting for the clock to ting.
    Ding dong, ding dong
    Now it plays its little song
    Ding dong, ding dong
    Every hour all day long…..

• Peter Carroll 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The goverment are seemingly doing everything to destroy jobs. Recognising that thevstate has to reduce it’s fiscal gap it must do everything in it’s power to reduce costs yet it seems to be doing everything in it’s power to increase costs. They have completely lost control of medical costs, they have mounted a raid on pension funds, business rates are rising, rail and bus fares up, electricity and gas prices the highest in Europe, petrol/deisel out of control. When will this government realise that the only way to generate growth and jobs is to regain competitvness. There is no other option.

Businesses create jobs not governments. The bet that any government can do is to create the environment for business to thrive

• Kevin McCarthy 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

They did that for the banks. Nada for the ordinary folks. If they want to do something they should stop this mental austerity that is killing the economy. No one is spending. They should be talking to the Chinese to get a loan deal and give the two fingers to the ECB. We need a government with some balls as at the moment we are suffocating.

• Réada Quinn 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Kevin the Chinese should spend their money sorting their one country out. I don’t see why another country should suffer to help us. Debt write off is what we should be looking for. The Chinese can stick their money where the sun don’t shine.

• Patricia Gilheany 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If the Government was serious about creating jobs, they would not have facilitated the ruination of the greatest job creator this country has ever created, Sean Quinn. TO make matters worse, his demise was orchestrated and carried out and did not and will never achieve the return of one cent for the taxpayer. Instead it will cost us billions.

When has an Irish Government ever created 8000 jobs?

• Patricia Gilheany 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Log on to http://www.quinn-anglo-story.blogspot.com discover more amazing revelations and scandals that has been facilitated by this Government

Report this comment

Change the Sean Quinn record
      He gambled and got involved in very unknown territory for him.
      The Quinn insurance co had a deficit of 700 million that WE are paying in a insurance levy.
      Elderfield did not put it into administration because he was having a bad Cavan hair day.
      This type of nonsense helped to bring down Anglo and led in no small way to the disaster we find ourselves in.
      So please no more of this poor sean stuff it’s becoming tiresome

• Norman Hunter 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Again Sean Quinn’s greed put him where he is today, but yeah one big fit up.

• Patricia Gilheany 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

John, you may have no problem with billions of taxpayers money being squandered needlessly in the Anglo farce on Quinn, but most people who have any sense of justice and concern for the most vulnerable in our society cannot turn their backs on such a set-up

• Vinny Doherty 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

He’s finally realised that some of our key resources are from the sea. Wait until his advisors tell him that our fishing industry is destroyed and we have two coast guard ships to patrol our waters. Then again this was probably cannon fodder to fill a couple of inches of newsprint to make it look like there is something been done. I said it before, does anyone have any confidence in these lads getting out of trouble? There’s a poll that the journal should do. Put a bit of pressure on these clowns.

• Stephen Kearon 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Govt was successful in creating one job, Kevin Cardiff’s

• Mark Rodgers 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Would all of the above less on please declare their political allegiances so we can all read from the same page.
    Many thanks.

• Shane O'Connor 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

International charm offensive? By the sound of these comments Enda you had better start working on a National charm offensive to get the disenfranchised voters back on side. You could start by, oh I don’t know, delivering this job initiative you promised us last year then by the end of Jan and now when? The 30th of February?? Oh and If i get invited to one more “leaving for australia” party i might just go myself. You are out of your depth mate and i feel embarrassed for you when i see or hear you on the news thinking how other nations leaders are probably making you the butt of their jokes when you leave the room. Ahhhh, rant over.

• Pete Robinson 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

LIAR……….. YOUR GOVERMENT ARE LIARS………FOOL ME ONCE…..SHAME ON ME…..FOOL ME TWICE…..SHAME ON YOU………

• Aidan Gill 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

So they all will have double the expenses then next year?

So they will be ensuring that flights to Oz/Canada will be leaving Ireland both day and night.

Lying bunch of fkers. Fine Fail in disguise.

• Dermot Murphy 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ah just more smokescreens to take our minds of the real issues.Huge salarys,expenses,pensions.Let us get this lot sorted first.

• Pete Robinson 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

We need strong people and strong voices…..

• JustDieter 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The Irish are historically a very strong people, Pete. They may not have collectively found their voice yet, but they are awakening. What started as a whisper grows and it will continue to grow…you have found your voice Pete, Dermot also, there are hundreds of thousands behind you. Thank you.

• Bernadette Dunne 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have always been Proud to be Irish and that is one thing this IMBECILE will never take from me….. He is a liar and a traitor and will never forgive him. This government have not got a clue what they are at CIRCLES come to mind when they say anything
    I Dream of the Day That they Tell us They Are Leaving Dail Eireann and Political life

• Dermot Murphy 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I was somehow living in hope that some party would get us out of this mess.Now after seen the expenses report,it solidifys my belief that each and every one of them are there solely to get rich as quick as they can before the ship goes down.They have fucked us good and proper.Only way now is for us to take the helm,and try and rebuild our country.Shame on all of them.

• Auntie Dote 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda Kenny, “Time we stopped turning our back on the seas.”

Highly Paid Advisor: “Psst. Don’t say that so loudly.”

EK, “Why not? Didn’t I hear something about a big oil find 60 miles off the coast of Mayo, no better county.”

HPA, “Yes, but we’ve already signed that away to the Norwegians.”

EK, “All right, but there’s fish out there, too. We could add that in with our Harvest 2020 project.”

HPA, “But we’ve signed all that away to the EU.”

EK, “Well there must be something out there we could make a few bob off?”

HPA, “We could always try demanding tribute from foreign ships. That used to be a big money spinner for a certain lady up about Clew Bay.”

EK, “Piracy! What am I paying you for, you’re supposed to be helping!”

• Neicy in Cork 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I would LOVE to see some state childcare so mums can get back to work without having to spend their wages solely on childcare. I know at least 10 mums who would be out working if they thought their wages would not be solely covering childcare *awaits thumbs down and get to work comments*

• Dhakina's Sword 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mister Kenny, I think you’ll find people are embracing the sea’s in a way that you don’t understand. They are not turning their backs on the economic resources that the sea can provide. Rather, they are embracing the desperate notion that this natural resource will provide a natural end to their troubles. It is not that the people have turned their back’s to the sea, it is you who have turned your back to the people!.

• Pete Robinson 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Very well said….The few who stood up to an empire in 1916 for “what they seen”….as been the freedom of a nation is now gone…….lost to thoese who fill their own pockets …

• Sarah Bermingham 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Is that right mr kenny… If that’s the case why is there no money for funding to help ppl go back and do courses to get a job… My partner wanted to do a security course for €200 we had to borrow the money because social welfare would not help and fas wanted him to wait a month to see if he would qualify for funding… I’m glad we borrowed he did the course this weekend and could have a job by next week… But no thanks to any help from enda and co.

• Sarah Bermingham 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Can’t believe the abuse I got for this comment… No I am not looking for handouts… We’re at a loss because I am on social welfare benefits claiming money I paid in… And he being from Belfast is not entitled to anything, we have been refused rent benefits also so we are currently living on €188 a week not looking for handouts but help would be nice…….

• Report this comment

Comedy genius

• Barry Lynch 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Having no limit on the number of people coming here from the rest of Europe, and not limiting the numbers to the IT and Medical specialists that there is an actual shortage of, during a time when jobs in general are scarce will only end up increasing the number of people on the dole.

• Bernadette Dunne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda My worth you work day and night you are so wonderful. How did we ever survive without you..OOPS Sorry to burst your bubble Enda you are having a dream there that you do have Irelanthed’s interests at heart,but your dream has and is the Irish PEOPLES NIGHTMARE OUR DREAM is your gone out of our lives for good in disgrace and never seen again even a the local spreading your traitorous ideas about how you were misunderstood.Because we do know that Germany and France are your best buddies before your own country men and women

Add New Comment