TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Greek protests erupt into violence ahead of austerity vote

More than 80,000 people took part in the anti-austerity protest in Athens ahead of a crucial parliamentary vote on new spending cuts.

A petrol bomb thrown by protesters explodes near riot police in front of parliament during clashes in Athens, Wednesday Nov. 7, 2012.
Image: AP Photo/Dimitri Messinis

AN ANTI-AUSTERITY demonstration by more than 80,000 people in Athens degenerated into violence Wednesday as hundreds of protesters clashed with riot police ahead of a crucial parliamentary vote on new spending cuts.

The vote is the toughest test yet for the country’s fragile four month-old coalition government, which must pass the €13.5 billion ($17 billion) package of measures to ensure Greece continues receiving bailout loans and avoids bankruptcy.

“Today we must confirm Greece’s new credibility,” said Prime Minister Antonis Samaras. “We choose whether we want to stay in the eurozone … or return to the drachma. That is the choice.”

The measures will pile more pain on the Greeks, who have suffered wave after wave of spending cuts and tax hikes since their government revealed in 2009 that public debt was actually far higher than officially declared.

On Wednesday, hundreds of rioters hurled rocks and gasoline bombs at lines of police guarding Parliament, who responded with volleys of tear gas and stun grenades, and the first use of water cannon in Greece in years.

Some in the 80,000-strong demonstration, which braved sometimes torrential rain, ran for cover as running battles broke out with police on the second day of a 48-hour general strike. Clouds of tear gas rose from Syntagma Square.

The austerity package is expected to scrape through when the vote is held later in the night. But any defections or abstentions could severely weaken the conservative-led coalition formed in June.

“Today we face the most critical decision any government has taken in the past 37 years,” Samaras said. “Many of these measures are fair and should have been taken years ago, without anyone asking us to.

“Others are unfair — cutting wages and salaries — and there is no point in dressing this up as something else,” he said, adding that the country was, however, obliged to take them.

The alternative is bankruptcy, triggering financial chaos as the country would likely have to leave the 17-country euro bloc.

“The alternative is much worse than any of these measures,” said Samaras.

Greece Financial Crisis

Protesters gather in front of the parliament in Athens on Wednesday Nov. 7, 2012. (AP Photo/Dimitri Messinis)

The government combined has 176 of Parliament’s 300 seats, and needs a simple majority of those present to pass the bill. Without the Democratic Left, which has said it will vote against, Samaras’ conservatives and the Socialists control 160 votes. However, there is a threat of more dissenters, particularly from the Socialist party.

Greece’s next bailout loan installment of €31.5 billion, out of a total of €240 billion, is already five months overdue. Without it, Samaras says, Greece will run out of money on Nov. 16.

If Athens cannot raise sufficient funds otherwise, it will quickly find it impossible to pay its huge debts. As well as pushing the country out of the euro, this could trigger a nightmare of bank runs, hyperinflation and currency depreciation that would vaporize savings and put many basic goods out of the reach of many Greeks.

The measures are for 2013-14 and include new, deep pension cuts and tax hikes, a two-year increase in the retirement age to 67, and laws that will make it easier to fire and transfer civil servants who are currently guaranteed jobs for life.

The reforms aim to lower public debts but will in the process also hurt the economy, which is set to enter a sixth year of recession with unemployment at a record 25 percent.

“You are throwing people onto to the street, people who need a few more years till they get their pensions,” said Panagiotis Lafazanis of the main opposition Syriza, or Radical Left, party. “What will happen to them? Will they starve? … This is an illegal and unconstitutional law.”

Opposition parties accused the government of trampling on Greece’s constitution with the proposed cuts in pensions and benefits, and complained that the bill, several hundred pages long, was too complex to be debated in a single session.

Cuts to pay ‘illegal’

Meanwhile, judges in the country’s Supreme Court ruled that new cuts to their own pay contained in the draft bill were illegal.

Socialist MP Theodora Tzakri verbally shredded the bill, but said she was forced to back it as Greece had no other way of raising the funds it needs.

“The recession has exceeded every limit, and not only is no light visible at the end but we are still at the beginning of the crisis,” Tzakri said. “I will vote for the measures with a gun to my forehead.”

Greece’s main trade association warned that the new cutbacks would further reduce consumer and government spending, driving more retailers out of business.

“To vote for the measures … will deal the coup de grace to an exhausted and battered society,” association head Vassilis Korkidis said.

Lawmakers interrupted Wednesday’s debate as Parliament employees went on strike to protest cuts to their wages that Finance Minister Yannis Stournaras brought in a last-minute amendment to the bill. Stournaras later withdrew the amendment, and the tempestuous debate resumed after Parliament employees returned to work.

While Samaras has been facing increasing pressure at home, other members of the eurozone have been doing what they can to ensure Greece stays in the currency group. Germany’s Chancellor Angela Merkel, for example, has softened her tough stance — paving the way for a deal to give Greece more time to meet its loan conditions.

Even if Parliament approves the draft legislation, it is unlikely that Greece will receive the next bailout installment in time for Samaras’ Nov. 16 deadline. The payment was expected to be approved at a meeting of European finance ministers on Monday Nov. 12.

However, the ministers’ vote hinges on a report by the so-called troika of austerity inspectors from the European Union, IMF and European Central bank, which may not be ready in time. Furthermore, some eurozone countries can only give the go-ahead after their own Parliaments have voted on it. Germany is not expected to do so before Nov. 19.

As a result, the EU or ECB may have to step in with some interim financing.

The 48-hour general strike against the bill shut down the public administration, left hospitals functioning on emergency staff and closed schools and tax offices. All ferry and train schedules have been canceled until Thursday, flights were disrupted by a four-hour air traffic controllers’ strike and Athens was without public transport for most of the day.

The country’s biggest union has also called for a demonstration on Sunday evening, when the 2013 state budget is due to be voted on.

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• We need a middle position between the greek riots and our apathy. I believe that no matter how much responsibility the Greeks should take for the position they find themselves in now, they are being fleeced by banks, governments and others with bond rates close to 30% and higher. How can the Western world, and the rest of Europe specifically, stand by and with clear conscience and watch as pension aged women have to scavange through bins to find food. Whatever the rights and wrongs of how they got themselves, (with others help though), into the mire they are locked into now, morally I think Europe should look at itself and how the country is being raped and destoyed for generations to come.

However we could use some of the anger the greeks are showing right now. I dont want to see any burning cars, broken windows, Gardai attacked on our streets, but if you add every participant of every march in this country over the last year or so, they wouldnt total the 80,000 on the streets in greece tonite. We need to demonstrate to the fools and lapdogs that rule over us that we are peed off, angry and want more than just hand wringing on some of the major issues that are affecting the everyday lives of ordinary decent people. Theres so much wrong with both our system and how we let it shaft us that we would do well to show a little Greek to Kildare St and Brussels.

• If it’s a protest you want, get down to Waterford City on Satuday. Protest against the potential downgrading of WRH. Starts 12 mid-day in Ballybricken Green.

• I’ll be at a CAHWT protest & meeting on Saturday Reginald, trying to educate about and drum up support for the proposed national day of protest in Dublin on 24th. UNITE & DCTU have thrown their weight behind the various national groups to get massive numbers on the streets. As symbolic as all the mini, singular marches & protests are, they are being ignored by the idiots in charged. A couple of hundred, or even a few thousand are dismissed by Leinster House as just the latest hodge-podge, raggle-taggle band of revolting peasants. We need those massive numbers we’ve seen in Greece tonite, as well as a consistent and constant campaign putting pressure on local TDs at every event they attend around their constituency, and for them to be told face-to-face that they wont be elected next time round. Although its not a cop out, I wont be in Waterford on Saturday, but I wish you every success. Put the date of the 24th in your diary for the national demo in Dublin though, and let your fellow concerned protesters know too, they may want to attend. Good luck.

• Anti-austerity march to take place in Dublin on November 24th!!!

• Look up debtoptions on Facebook…

• First step we need to take is to look at that headline again.

Greek protests erupt into violence ahead of austerity vote.

The responsibility for violence is attributed to the protesters.
      The violence of the austerity(for the already borderline surviving)is bypassed and the implementers of the invisible handlers of the market direktives are absolved by elision.
      This is class war. But the rich do not declare it, they simply wage it from their hammocks while sipping champaigne and using us and the planet’s resources as their chips.
      Might I suggest that you lads in Dublin get some scrap timber and assemble a guillotine. A tin-foil covered sheet of diagonally sliced 3-ply should make a blade capable of sending the message without frightening the horses.
      I’ll try to get over for the day, whatever the weather..but if I assemble a guillotine it’ll never fit on the bus.

• Second thoughts..a lick of aluminium paint would be better than foil.

Make it LARGE. Its a message to Europe. Democracy has had 200 years of Liberty. Its time for a little Equality, or we’ll never get to the Fraternity before they run us another Great War.

• Easy for us to say tut tut at the greeks but if you were on the breadline you might think differently

• and the price of petrol !

• the way to do it is to get those 80,000 people and form a ring around government buildings and chain each person to next. with 80,000 you could have several lines deep and sheer people power and a epic statement. Im sorry but those who throw petrol bombs at police are not people at their wits end they are just thugs that deserve to be met with deadly force when they use deadly force.

• It’s time we the people of Ireland took to the streets,we are taking all the pain while bankers ministers and TDs get big pay packets and pensions. They tell us there is no money for or old or sick,but they have perks that is just beyond belief .Just last week they take a week off, ask any person running a small business how or when he or she could take a week off. People need to let these clowns know we have had enough and that we the people of this land will rise up and stop this madness of cuts after cuts, while the gravy train for them keeps running.

• We wont even say boo to our government, the people here sheep, the Trokia love us for paying back unsecured bondholders without any protest.

• @my2cents – I bet everyone of the 400,000 on the dole will be protesting when the €188 is cut by €10 in the april 2013 budget. The government is only delaying slashing welfare, the trokia have publicly said that €188 is far to high and it needs to change.

• Wait for the budget , it will kick off proper.

• They are right to do what they are doing

• I’m sure we’d be out there protesting if we had the weather for it. The Greeks have a fine climate for rampaging through the streets and lighting fires. The drizzle we have here won’t help with fire-lighting and will leave you thoroughly demoralised when you get home from the day out

• I guess your comment might reflect a modicum of intelligent and understanding of exactly what is happening in Greece and the ordinary people of Greece if you had bothered to read the article and noticed the reference to torrential rain in it. Rather then trying to be clever and failing hugely.

• Has harsh as the cuts in Greece are, the people of Greece are as much to blame as the banks are.
    Most Greeks over the previous years avoided paying very little or no income taxes and the Greek governments were complict in not going after the tax evasion more firmly. It was almost like the national pastime. They wanted all the social safety nets but nobody wanted to pay for them. And the previous Greek governments played along borrowing more and more money because nobody wanted to upset the apple cart by going after the tax evasion spanning from the man in the street to the banks and multi nationals. Now the chickens have come home to roost.

• This is crazy insane behaviour on the streets of Greece and please dont anyone say we should follow this example!

• Sean, I think a lot of Greek people feel that they’ve no other choice. It’s sickening that they’ve been totally left to fend for themselves . The conditions that they’re supposed to adhere to have become intolerable for some. Ireland could quite easily slip into this near anarchy too! The government we have are just barely hanging in.

• mart_n 07/11/12 #

It’s what happens when other examples are ignored. Not to be condoned, but it would be naive and silly to expect people to put up with being pushed beyond their limits (however deserved it may be) while watching those responsible for it all walk away rich and free; and not react in such away.

We can count ourselves lucky because most people believe that we all played a part in what happened and deserve to pay for it, but more and more will start to feel aggrieved when pushed beyond and below their relative/perceived means.

• Ok,but what do you suggest we do instead, to show our disapproval of the goverments softly softly approach to the troika?

• The protesters threw petrol bombs at police officers, ordinary people, burnt for doing their job, making a living as so many others want to do in Greece, there is no justifying that! Yes I agree the Irish should stand up to corruption but this is certainly not an example we should follow!

• Thomas
      Your suggestion that Greeks are dying for want of basic Healthcare is absolute rubbish. In 2010 Greece spent two thousand nine hundred dollars per capita on Healthcare which was marginally below the OECD Average. In the same year the proportion of GDP spent on Health amounted to over ten per cent. Please tell us where your data comes from as mine suggests that you have an active imagination.

• @Garry i believed Kerry Blake provided you some links to various articles confirming the data you are now requesting.

• I did indeed Norman

• @Kerry hope you didn’t mind me referencing you,but i’m sure you wanted Mick Collins sorry i meant Garry Fitzgerald to have the info.

• Sadly Norman as Garry is still referencing 2010 I guess he didn’t read what I suggested. Nothing more dangerous than a little knowledge I guess….

• Greeks to Europe: ‘Give us more German and French taxpayer’s money or we’ll trash and burn our country to the ground!’

Europe: ‘Ha! Good luck with that!’

• ‘Oh how I wish we had old Athens over here’

• Rioting accomplishes exactly nothing, and deters the tourists Greece needs.

• Greece rioted got a writedown,they rioted again another writedown.They are rioting again tonight,but you’re right this will achieve nothing.

• JayK 08/11/12 #

Rioting has its place. When you’re family are literally starving, there’s cause to riot. Literally starving means having no food to eat, not having to pay a few hundred euro in a a household tax once a year. People might not be happy with the situation here, which is fine and they’re entitled, but we’re a million miles better off than Greece. No need to riot here yet.

• We don’t need riots. That will alienate the majority and serve the wealth that wishes to stir and drive us into the arms of the reactionary right. They will laugh away in their clubs. We need discipline and education. The Occupy people showed you what needs doing.
      Its not going to happen overnight, and if it does we’d only get a fresh Animal Farmyard of piggery.

Any thuggery should be seen for what it is, planted provocateurs. And stamped on. Hard.

• Anyone that condones this is an idiot.

• People are dying in Greece for want of basic health care. When the state wages war against ordinary people in support of Capitalism then people have the right to wage war against the state.

• 80,000 were protesting, and a couple of hudred are rioting..Rioting doesnt work, but the protesting might, they need huge numbers on the streets for their voice to be heard. The rioters probably f**ked it up for the genuine protestors.

• Anyone that condones the fact that Greece is being financially raped by vulture capitalists and their own elite is an idiot. Massive fraud has gone unpunished while the ordinary greek people suffer job losses, welfare cuts, health cuts which will result in many of them feeling totally helpless with nothing to lose. The anger they are showing is justified and a natural reaction to what has transpired. Don’t mind the few idiots throwing petrol bombs, every country has these morons, u just have to look at the orange march in Dublin a while back or our annual Halloween fright night. Media play this card and u get the usual morons generalizing everyone in Greece as thugs. Give it a rest and show some empathy towards ordinary people getting screwed by a state that only represents the elite cause it ain’t no different to whats happening to us.

• A pharmacist shot himself in the town square in Athens recently and left a note stating how their corrupt government made him want to end his life.

Thats how strongly people feel about it over there.

But we have joe duffy so its all ok here…

• If it’s a protest you want, get down to Waterford City on Satuday. Protest against the potential downgrading of WRH. Starts 12 mid-day in Ballybricken Green. Save South-East health services.

• mattoid 08/11/12 #

@Derek, I think its the morons you referred to that Sluaz was talking about.

• The Irish in this country right now are a useless breed that prefer sit back an moan about it but dont march to Dublin to protest. The 450,000 on dole should be doing that…personally I dont have to time as I have to go to work and pay for this mess…not happy paying for the ‘haves’ and the ‘have not sides’ of the economic spectrum..Look at Greece…they know how rise and world takes note…

• Greeks want their cake and eat it, saying that i wouldn’t be surprised if the get the whole debt wrote off and another injection of cash with no strings attached.

Tell you what, sure we will pay back for them, we have paid other unsecured dosh back!

• You gotta love those Greeks. Spend and borrow all around them, then when they’re asked to pay back and the free money tap is turned off they act like thugs. Tools.

• Dear greece – stop destroying your own country and maybe you wont be so broke

• What a stupid, stupid comment. Greece is no longer destroying their own country the EU that Ireland is a part of is destroying it, 600k with no access to medical treatment no matter how urgent their need in “civilized” Europe? Suicide rates increased by over 12% in one year. Parents handing their children over for adoption because they can no longer feed their children? Tell me Stephen what do you think the EU should stand for? What kind of ideals should we aspire to in this European Union? Bondholders before anyone else? While I do not condone the violence of a few hundred out of 80 thousand protesting I would say to the Greeks rise up and say enough is enough.

• @Stevie – people here are afraid of the government , its as simple as that.

Anyway the greeks got a 100 odd billion haircut, so they want it all wrote off?

• Even if they wrote off every cent, the country would still be going bust, because it is spending vastly more than it takes in taxes. There’s no appetite to collect taxes properly like a civilised country, therefore spending has to be cut. It’s really that simple, no matter how much people want to blame the Germans.

• Damocles 08/11/12 #

Might it be better to let the Euro fail? Are the measures to be taken by Greece forestalling further issues down the line that might bring them (and the rest of us) to the same conclusions?

When do you stop trying?

• Think they have no option Damocles. Read some where that once this latest austerity budget runs it’s course Greece’s debt to GDP will be back to 190%. Unsustainable levels once again. Ironically most of the €31b they are expecting to receive if the budget is passed will go straight to those lending it to pay back outstanding loans.

A perfect vicious circle…..

• Damocles 08/11/12 #

“Think they have no option”

Do it and probably fail later or don’t do it and do fail? That’s the concern, and what if fail later means we all lurch along with them until they do?

• padraig 09/11/12 #

Ultra aggressive rioters in Europe to be led by, or are black block police provocateurs – a justification for Golden Dawn or whatever the police there love.

• JayK you seem to be one of Irelands well-off people.

• padraig 08/11/12 #

The fear of Greece being a pioneer Euro exiter had more effect on Greece getting debt write downs. Slowing Grexit not riots. The targeted violence and stigmatising of and against migrants and widespread aid effort by Golden Dawn is having a bigger effect.

• the levels of corruption in Greece was and is mindblowing… the average greek ownes 2.1 houses… retirement at 52 and state employees salaried being paid 14 times a year…. recent revelation… a very well known tourist island in Greece has 90% of the over 65s claiming a blind pension…. where we’re the voices of opposition when the snouts were all deep in the trough… ???

• WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?????!!!!!!!!!

• Thank god we’re more civilised than those animals.

Add New Comment