TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Irish Daily Star editor suspended over topless Kate pictures

The publisher of the paper said it is to carry out a full investigation into the circumstances which led to the publication of topless pictures of Kate, Duchess of Cambridge, at the weekend.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE EDITOR OF the Irish Daily Star has been suspended as an investigation is carried out into the circumstances which led to the paper publishing pictures of Kate, Duchess of Cambridge topless.

Michael O’Kane has been suspended with immediate effect pending an investigation into the publication which has caused a furore in recent days and led to threats from the paper’s British co-owner to shut it down.

The news was announced by the Irish publisher of the paper, Independent Star Ltd, this evening.

On Saturday, the newspaper published pages from the French edition of the magazine ‘Closer’ which showed Kate topless while on holiday with her husband Prince William in southern France.

The controversial move saw the paper’s British co-owner Northern and Shell threaten to shut it down through its chairman Richard Desmond. He said at the weekend that he was “taking immediate steps to close down the joint venture”.

Co-owner Independent News and Media also condemned the publication of the pictures but said it had no prior knowledge that the images would be published and described the move to shut down the paper as “disproportionate”.

It is not clear whether Desmond can shut the paper down or withdraw financial support under the co-ownership agreement between his company and INM.

Speaking at the weekend, O’Kane defended the move the publish the pictures telling the BBC: “She’s not the future queen of Ireland so really the only place this is causing fury seems to be in the UK, and they are very very tasteful pictures.”

Read more on the Kate topless pictures story >

Read: Shatter to examine privacy legislation after publication of Kate pictures

Read: Rabbitte: Closing Star over Kate pictures would be “nonsense”

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• Looks like its gone tits up for o Kane .

• I think people who advocate the publishing of these photos are missing the point. William & Kate were in a secluded getaway. It wasn’t like they were on a beach and someone captured the pics on their phone. To get these photos, the photographer must have used a very high powered lense. It’s an invasion of privacy. It would be a different story if she got them out walking down the street!! Where do we draw the line? Surely, regardless of your status, you still are entitled to some privacy.

• abuse of women’s privacy,even the excuse he gave showed how incredibly stupid he was/is.

• It’s only a rag of a
    Paper anyhow.

• The editor was extremely naive and came across as arrogant in his radio interview. I guess he spent too long working in rte and learned his bad habits there.

• I will use the quotation ” We live in an era of Smart Phones and Stupid People. Only a person with a very low mentality would even buy this Newspaper just to view these Photo’s. We all love excitement in our lives but this is just cheap low class entertainment.

• Reg 17/09/12 #

No sympathy. He sounded like an arrogant tosser on the radio.

• The tabloid papers in general have little or no ethics. I am pretty sure greed has a lot to do with the way the tabloid press operates. Rebekah Brooks is a prime example I don’t think she understands the word Greed.

• O’kane should man up now and take full responsibility for his arrogant stance…..and maybe try to save the paper…. as bad and all as it is!!

• This is gone beyond ridiculous!!

• How can the people at the top not know that the pics were going to be published?

• This has truly descended into the biggest farce of a bandwagon of recent history. Just goes to prove how unequal the world truly is! Why don’t Desmond, the royal family and all those condemning just get over it ffs! Everyone has forgotten already if they just shut up!

• It’s good to see mr Desmond, the millionaire pornographer, getting so upset. Truly a man of dignity and honour. I tip my jove strap to you sir.

• He who lives by the tit dies by the tit.
    Anyway, tits haven’t been news since G-d made Eve. And the hypocrisy of dirty Desmond, who made his fortune publishing porno in the first place.
    Not that it is going to prevent it all over again at some time. As long as people are buying this garbage it will thrive.

• I think the tabloid media is finally getting a well deserved grilling for the utter depths they sink to in order to sell their rubbish. The outburst caused by these pictures in the Daily Star, along with the deserving condemnation of the Sun of its reporting of Hillsborough and the phone tapping by the News of the World show that we are finally saying enough is enough with this so called “reporting of news” and the “public right to know”.

• alan 17/09/12 #

how could the editor not know that they would let him print them and then atttempt to sack him (after a huge boost in sales). wasn’t he naive?

• I would close the place down it certainly won’t be missed. Another comic off the market!

• Good that will wipe the smile off his smug face!

• If the upshot of this is that there is no market for these type of invasive photos ,no matter who they’re of, then that has to be a good thing.

• Hold the front page !

• Page 3 may be more appropriate under the circumstances..

• Diarmuid

If you had a daughter and lets just pretend she’s just sixteen and someone follows her into a changing room in a department store and sneakily photographs her while she’s changing and a newspaper……
      If you had a granddaughter and lets pretend she’s the same age as the Princess and in private removes her bathing top………
      What’s the difference between the two stories and the instrument by which such a perverted and obscene invasion of privacy takes place. I mean the instrument is the newspaper and it should be closed down!

• Mick you don’t need to resort to such clearly emotional statements. Diarmuid has not at any point said the way the photos were taken was perfectly ok. So less of the “imagine she were your 16 year old daughter” stuff.

The way that paparazzi get these photos is wrong. But I wish people were as vocal about it when it is a non-royal in the photo. Sienna Miller and many, many others have been photographed similarly and published in Irish and UK newspapers before. Kate isn’t the first and she won’t be the last (nor will there be one tenth of the outrage as there is about these photos)

• I think Gary pretty much summed up my thoughts there. I have at no point excused the image being taken, I wish some ppl would read what this story is about and what I actually commented before writing such emotive responses!

• mcbab 18/09/12 #

If people lose their jobs it will be o’kanes fault and nobody else’s. He got it badly wrong. His arrogance spews out of his mouth in interviews.

• Where’s the MD of The Star – Ger Colleran – on this issue and what’s his view on the suspension of the editor ? He was quick to berate those people who complained about some of the distasteful photos which he published when he was editor. Also I wonder what Sir Anthony O’Reilly thinks of the situation ? He is a Knight of the British Realm and one of the biggest shareholders in The Star through INM.

• Ha haa

• M 17/09/12 #

Worst of all the rags and a ripoff too €1.45

• SMcB 17/09/12 #

Richard Desmond is a hypocrite. A man who made his fortune on the back of porn…. This saga has gone beyond a joke. The damage was done when the pictures appeared first in Closer magazine. The republication of same pictures in the Star has not changed one thing.

• If the star closes I’ll have to buy toilet paper.

• This calls for a lot of perspective. 23 years ago 96 people were killed at a football match. The papers of the time wrote blatant lies and untruths for days after. They came out and apologized and everyone seems to think that’s ok now. There’s a photo of the royal breasts and people are being threatened with their jobs over it. Yes she’s entitled to her privacy but nobody died!!!

• Dave! 17/09/12 #

All seems like a bit of a storm in a d-cup.

• This is a complete farce… The newspaper is crap, but seriously there’s topless women in it every day, now people are going to lose their jobs over this, it’s absolutely totally and completely ridiculous.Right or wrong, when your a royal nothing is private! This is some storm in a cup!

• Totally agree Joan…and i also had to agree with what he said about Kate not being our future queen.

• Page 3 women choose to display and get paid. Kate Middleton didn’t. Is that acceptable.

• But why are you calling it a newspaper? There’s hardly any legitimate news in it. It is tawdry gossip, tittle tattle, titillation and, unsurprisingly, tits. It objectivises and demeans women and is an insult to human intelligence.
      As for the editor, he can take his share of the blame if this appalling rag is closed. But it is no more fit to be printed than was the News of the Screws, with their dirty tricks, criminality and all the garbage they printed.

• Yes it is. it occurred in France which has strict criminal privacy laws. The photos therefore were more than likely obtained criminally. In those situations the reproduction of the photos in the media should only occur when it is a matter of utmost public importance, which is clearly not the case here. I listened to O’Kane on Saturday and he sounded like the typical smug git that seems to be the norm in Irish print media, suspension is the least he deserves.

• Paul lets not pretend that page 3 girls are the only ones to be shown topless in The Star, The Sun etc. They have profited from similar paparazzi photos for decades. UK newspapers regularly show celebrities topless in photos taken without their consent. All of these are wrong, not just Kate Middleton. The reaction to these photos is hypocritical in my view.

Lets not pretend that this is in anyway new or an isolated incident. They have published 1000s of similar photos before in the UK.

• Perhaps the editor should have used his brain and thought about job losses before he printed the picture. I would argue that ANYONE should have the right for privacy and if it was a picture of my Daughter I would sue also ! How any news paper or magazine would ever think that they would get away with any publication like that is beyond me !

• Kate who?

• Big business owns the world, if I don’t want to look at Kate’s pics, I should have the choice too make that choice. Imagine what else newspaper and other media outlets are suppressing.

• The British are very protective of their royals but that doesn’t give them any authority to say what can and can’t be published about them. Fair enough if it was an English paper then they can chose not to publish the photos out of respect but it’s an Irish branch of a paper, they have absolutely no right to try and stop publication just because they don’t like it. And people say that the media has too much power, it’s absolutely sickening when the decision of what is and isn’t allowed in the media comes from those in charge with their own distorted views. It’s an absolute joke!

• No its not the right decision. As I said to a friend earlier it’s the photographers job to take the pics and she was somewhat careless as one of the most followed and photographed persons in the world to have made it easy to do so. I seem to remember Williams willy being caught on cam a few years back and there wasn’t this big hoohaa. If they ignored it, it would go away allot quicker. The suspension here is completely unjustified as Kate (Middleton) Windsor’s position of privilege as a member of the British monarchy holds no meaning within a republic and as such the printing of these pics are the same as and should be treated the same as those of any other internationally know celebrity. I do sympathise that they must have been a terrible embarrassment to her and her family but punishing a tabloid rag for printing them is like punishing a dog for barking. Its just in it nature.

• I’m glad to see he has been suspended. He should be fired!! What a trashy paper the Daily Star is.

• The Muslim world is offended by what it sees as an insult to their God the British are upset by what they see as an insult to their Gods the royal family ok the scale is different but the thinking is the same ….lighten up people..

• What is all the fuss about?Couldnt even see anything significant on the pics published.Do they really think anybody cares that they cannot keep their clothes on?:) or do they think nobody knows that princesses do fart too like any other human being?:) Strange people…

• What is the big deal about all this, it was here who was sitting by a pool topless knowing all paparazzi’s arround the world were after her and that they always do this. She should have though about it before she did it!!

• first of all I don’t read that rag and i am hiding from no one with my Irish name ,its Mulvany in English ,where i was born and raised .If you let that loud mouthed idiot porn king lead an indignant revolution when all he is doing is being a hypocrite more fool you .All would be forgotten by now but for him.As for the analogy about taking pics in a changing room (which is illegal in most countries ) and kates taken in public are no comparison .As a royal she is like it or not public property and should know better i do not condone the actions of the photographer which is why i never read that rag or others who publish that rubbish

• Sarah Ferguson and now Kate.Whats the world coming to, women with boobs,We have to stop this hard core porn,before the wrath of god decends upon us all…..There not the first to be seen and will not be the last..So stop moaning and move on…

• Paul. Comments like yours only reinforce British peoples beliefs that Irish people are a crowd of uneducated savages!

• Complete hypocrisy, and a double standard created just cos she’s Kate Middleton. Seems she’s valued above anyone else.

• (100 editions x 2 *boobs) + (€? x 50 years) = €?

(*in mint condition)

just wondering

• Yeah but lads, Kate Middleton is an anagram of Naked Tit Model.

• she took her top off in the open. what did she expect!!!! price you pay for a priviledged life, she should just get over it and keep herself covered in future.

• looks like the perfect storm in a B Cup

• hey Painey you are a pain in the gee first of all most prostitutes or topless models are being exploited she took her own top off!!she got caught tough she should know better but being a brainless royal she didn’t we were all created equal some just have more money than others but it wont buy them intelligence>have a lot of respect for liz the rest of them are a waste of space or most anyway .Whats her job description anyway royal scrounger i am sure someone told her keeping her top on in public was part of it

• Actually she was a common or until she married William so one of us and probably has more brains than some the commentators on this subject.

• What utter slurry you are spewing. Wait! Maybe you could get a job at the Daily Star!!!

• hey ghandi you being a genius did you know Jesus was a Jew and probably black.that the world is round and appears blue from outer space and your diction is terrible ie”one of us and probably has more” “than some the commentators”what does that mean and she was never common came from a privileged background and her family have been using the media for their own promotion, common only by royal standards ,listening to people like you makes me want to go find the pics on internet and post them .I wont though because i do not agree with exploitation of peoples private parts no matter who they are or what their status is royals and celebrities should know better they use the media to promote themselves and then get pissy when they wont leave them alone its not a tap you can turn on and off and Kitty i would never work for a rag and you sound like another right wing royalist got some thing to say say it

• Only reason why photos put in paper was to make money ,when I heard story I bought paper just out of interest (am sure others did the same),the photos werent of high quality all grainy etc the photos were taken.from away you could barely recognise it was kate complete overeaction from paper and I strongly disagree bout paper being a rag one of the better tabloids on the market

• Disgrace should never be suspended they are public interest need to be seen .

• this is a titillating tale

• whats that royal arse sucker looking for? a knighthood ?hope the royals see through his crap he should divest himself of all publications that exploit women royal or not and stop grandstanding. the photographer didn’t take her top off she did. like its been said before all would have been forgotten by now but for this idiots stupid posturing .No one I know reads that rag anyway and I would never have known about it but for that idiots indignant ramblings who is he anyway part owner of a rag newspaper and several publications that exploit women? all women should be treated with the same respect?disrespect we are a republic we don’t give a shit about royals now if it had been Katie Taylor!!

• That’s silly Niall.

BTW Theres a definite trend here in the journal with people who sign their names in Irish. And they are difficult to debate with.

• Paul, that’s a new low.

• @paul furey
      I’ve got to be honest here Paul you are annoying the fcuk out of me with your poor kate this & poor Kate that & now you are having a go at people with Irish names. You looking for an OBE ?

• Well Peter, I just cant understand how so many people miss the point – and the point is that no one has the right to take pictures such as these of any woman – and publish them wheter for financial reward or not.

I have continously stated that the subject person (“poor kate” being your words – never mine) is not the issue but this scenario applies to any woman. No decent person would publish any such picture of a non consenting adult. Would you?

Maybe whenever you see my name – just skip over it, your choice.

As for the those who sign their names in Irish. Did you read their comments made in the Alan Ryan discussions – all heavily red thumbed, what about the anti American comments in the Mohammed movie discussions and how about all these photo discussions – 90% red thumbed due to their largeley bigoted comments. This all leads to very impossible debates or discussions. So the facts are when you see a comment made someone named in Irish (a) you can guess where they are coming from and what their angle is, (b) they wont be swayed and (b) the general public out here will heavily red thumb what they say. Very disappointing, but true.

You don’t know me, nor do I care what you say. Maybe you do know me, its hard to tell when sign anon.

Can I even get an OBE? Just sticking up for decency………..no matter who the subject is.

• Do red thumbs really disappoint you? You need to get out more.

• Peter 66 18/09/12 #

Look Paul I get the point regarding the privacy of any individual but this level of debate because a ‘royal’ got her tits out is pathetic. I also think that your comments regarding people with Irish names are……..actually forget it.

• Paul you are a right wing ignorant redneck my name is Mulvany i have nothing to hide i also have 4 daughters and a son i do not condone the pics but if any of my offspring were to become celebrities i don’t think i would have to tell them to be carefull .I was born and spent most of my life in England but it was listening to morons like you who think that going on about a decent world will make a difference that made me return to Ireland stop reading Leviticus and get off your arse and do something about it and try and refrain from racist bullshit .By the way i don’t believe in George and the dragon or leprechauns and i don’t look down on those who do if it makes them happy fair play like religion makes people happy but is constantly being hijacked by zealots of all religions who only crave power and wealth how come when white collar idiots make a mistake we all pay and when a blue collar person makes a mistake he goes to jail not to mention the religious nuts who promote hatred against non believers (everyone else)and escape prosecution because they hide behind their god by the way here is something to think about how many religions have women at the head ?

• by the way paul your surname do you have anything to do with the Furey brothers? probably not they were decent tolerant folk

• by the way paul i was being silly at the end Katie Taylor went out and earned our respect after years of hard work what did Kate Middleton do ? marry a royal wow what an achievement if our Katie went topless she would be a lot more carefull and the press probably would not publish photos bit like Rock Hudson helps to be nice discreet and have powerfull people who know how to handle the press not irritate them. No excuse Liz is one of the richest women on the planet it could have been handled better or is this Diana 2!!!!!

• Perfidious Albion!

• ghandi do you mean Kate was a commoner like us aka pulp

• Baldy banged the bitch on the balcony. The pap has the pics. But who will publish now?

• As an ex-newspaperman in England, I’m interested in trying to understand the Irish perspective on this.
    I thought the IDS editor was brave to publish the pictures which looked likely to be shown all over the world.
    I do think they are intrusive but they are out there and of interest so why should a paper in the Republic give a toss about the British view. They’re our royals, not yours.
    I reckoned the proud Irish nationals would be more annoyed about the UK co-owner Richard Desmond – who also owns ‘adult’ TV channels – sticking his oar in than any privacy concerns.
    Then your Justice Minister jumps in and uses Kate as an excuse to revive privacy laws – laws that would be used to save the blushes of the rich and famous.
    If I was Irish, I’d be backing Michael O’Kane over the English Establishment but it’s impossible to get any sense of what the ordinary Irish people think about this.
    This website is the first I’ve found where there is any kind of feedback at all. I shall view the comments with interest.

• Where’s the anagram gone.. ?

Add New Comment