Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Kenny condemns the ‘dysfunction and disconnection’ of the Catholic Church

Image: John Stillwell/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE TAOISEACH HAS told the Dáil today that the Cloyne Report has exposed the “dysfunction” that exists at the heart of the Catholic Church – the Vatican.

Enda Kenny said that the revelations contained in the report “excavates the dysfunction, the disconnection, the elitism that dominates the Vatican today”.

He continued: “The rape and torture of children were downplayed (in favour of upholding) the primacy of the institution, its power, standing and reputation”. Kenny described the Vatican’s position on the abuse allegations as “calculated” he added that it was “the polar opposite of the radicalism, the humility and the compassion upon which the Roman Church was founded”.

The Taoiseach said that Ireland was a “republic of laws, of rights and responsibilities, of proper civic order, where the delinquency and arrogance of a particular version of a particular kind of morality will no longer be tolerated or ignored.”

The motion in the Dáil today stated the condemnation of the “the Vatican’s intervention, which contributed to the undermining of the child protection frameworks and guidelines of the Irish State and the Irish bishops”.

During the all-party motion in the Dáil on the Cloyne report, John Halligan TD called for expulsion of Papal Nuncio from Ireland, pointing out: “If any foreign government conspired with Irish citizens to break the law here, their ambassadors would be expelled”.

Deputy Halligan continued: “What has happened here is that the Vatican, a sovereign state, has refused to cooperate with the investigation into a criminal conspiracy against children in this country.

“Ireland has a legitimate claim that the Vatican State has breached the legal principle of non-interference in the internal affairs of sovereign states. The Holy See is party to various conventions including the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations 1961.”

Last week, Fine Gael TD Charlie Flanagan also called for the Papal Nuncio to be expelled from Ireland because of the Vatican’s interference in Ireland’s sovereign affairs.

The Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said that the government was still awaiting an “official response” from the Vatican.

Read: Full text of Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s statement on Cloyne report >

Read more: FG’s Charlie Flanagan says the Papal Nuncio should be expelled >

Poll: Should the Papal Nuncio be expelled from Ireland?

Column: No matter what, we still need the Church >

Read Next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• Catherine Sweeney 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Thank God we now live in an era when the State can call the church to account.

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Fair dues to Enda. That craven little FF’er Michael Woods signed a deal costing us an estimated €1.3Bn, versus €128 million for the bells and smells brigade, and then beat his chest about it, telling us all that because he was such a good catholic, he was the best man for the job.

He wouldn’t have his head out of Ratzinger’s ass for long enough to tell us the truth in such terms as we’ve heard today.

• swimtwobirds 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Amen on the Michael Woods thing. He’s a crawling little opus dei creature to boot – he would see the church before the state, the insidious traitor that he is.

• swimtwobirds 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Anybody got video of the statement?

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Who is Charlie “Flanaghan”?

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

It was a (silently corrected) typo in the article, folks!

• Jennifer Wade 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Thanks for pointing out that rogue ‘h’ Ryan. Just so you know, there’s a correction button below all stories for alerting authors about mistakes – it’s better than leaving a comment as it ensures an author is notified (and means there’s no confusion about your comment after a typo is corrected).

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

No bother.

Hopefully it won’t be needed much anyway.

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

I just used it there to correct our “TAOSIEACH”‘s moniker (first line, if ye’re quick!)

• Oireachtas Retort 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Both Taoiseach and Tánaiste have been exposed saying one thing to the people and believing another in the last few weeks.

• Daniel Doran 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Good job Enda. This is the first time, and the first Taoiseach, to condem the Vatican and not just individual clergy, for thier role in the sexual abuse of Ireland’s children. On this day it would be harder for me to be more proud of our Taoiseach and our country.

• John 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Pot, kettle, black?

• Noirin Lynch 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

@John – as a practising Catholic who struggles a lot with the double standards of a state system that condemns in others that which it does itself, ….. nope, I think Enda Kenny got it right and I’m proud of him. He’ll be judged, of course, by his actions not his words in this matter – but then so will the church hierarchy.

• Pen Name 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s good to hear these words, but the state worked hand in glove with them for years. That encouraged church personnel to think they were above the law.

• Ryan Murphy 20/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Most of the men in dresses are old enough to remember when the priest and the Church (why am I even capitalising that?) had a very different position in Irish society. It isn’t too simplistic to say that even down to the humble parish priest, they were viewed with awe and reverence by a fair chunk of Irish society.

Couple that with the arrogance, wealth, and power of the Vatican across the centuries, and you were never going to be met with much humility, and that still holds true today.

• Collie Woods 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Very surprised at enda’s statement but pleasantly surprised. The leader of the country did good today for the citizens.

• JL Pagano 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I’ll never vote Fine Gael but I have to say : Well done Enda. I’m very proud of the Irish State today.

• Dominic Achom 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Saint Kenny!!!. The catholic bashing will not win you vote. The church had committed crime, you where part to the system.

• Gis Bayertz 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Mr Kenny is right!

• Gavin Gray 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Great Speech by Enda Today. For too long the church has done little or nothing about the systematic child abuse done by these criminals in collars. The Vatican needs to be told it like it is and today Enda stuck it too them. Will they do anything? I doubt it, they seem to think they are so above everyone else they don’t need to dignify the Irish people with an appropriate response. Proud of Enda today anyway.

• Diarmaid Twomey 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Take note Fianna Fail ex Taoisigh, that’s how you hold collusion in the elite hierarchy of child abusers to account. Well done Enda!

• Maureen Kelly 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

What an excellent speech! At long last, it is wonderful to have a Taoiseach of whom we can be proud!! Enda’s articulate presentation makes such a refreshing change from the babbling, bumbling solicitor and the “accountant” who mangled the English language every time he opened his mouth!! Neither of them could hold a candle to former teacher, Enda!!! George “too many teachers in the Dáil” Hook, take note!!! :)

• Karl Power 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done Enda, it needed to be said.

• Niall Carty 20/07/11 #
    Report this comment

About time Enda..
    Home Rule not Rome Rule!

• Eileen Gabbett 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Well Done Enda ..Very proud of you with that speech today . It needed to be said and said straight . Thank you .

• Brian Curran 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

These scum were meant to be gods servants on earth, they are nothing more than common rapists. Pope jp 2 is being made a so called saint, he is also a complicit rapist. A nun interviewed on tv last week said this was all being blown out of proportion, she should be utterly ashamed of herself and I hope she and her like minded peers die in hell if it exists. The biggest scam the catholic church ever pulled was convincing people that god ever existed.

• Julian King 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

But why expel Paulo Nutini from Ireland? Some of his music is quite good.

• Joe Crennan 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Unfortunately the children’s choice was a follows: their parents were going to starve them, not educate them, abuse them etc etc. The church offered food, comfort, structure, education and no greater amount of sexual abuse than in the rest of society.

• Report this comment

You’re clearly a very learned man Joe, offering us such well-researched, informative wisdom. There are NO excuses for the systematic abuse suffered, nor for the dismissive, disgraceful responses received from that most hypocritical of institutions.

• Steve Herron 23/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I think Enda’s speech us elegant proof that this is a new Ireland under FG/Labour.

Being brought up as a Protestant in the North I’d held the belief that the Vatican pulled the strings in Ireland, at one time it did.

Some people have condemned Enda as reading his speech like a robot, I disagree. I think Enda was so mad about the entire situation he had to use professional detachment lest he lose his cool and cause a major diplomatic incident. It’s been made clear that this new government really is in service to the people of Ireland, not to whoever throws them a few Euro.

I’ve sent friends of mine in the north who are staunchly unionist links to videos of the speech to show them their dated ideas about the Republic are outdated and that we are a bight vibrant Republic.

Add New Comment