TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Labour, Fine Gael see drop in support as majority ‘dissatisfied’ with Govt

Plus, Sinn Féin sees its popularity grow to match Fianna Fáil. And what of Michael D Higgins?

Tough task: Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore
Image: Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland

THE LATEST MILLWARD Brown Lansdowne poll for the Irish Independent has shown a significant drop in support for Labour as voters defect to Sinn Féin.

As the government parties campaign for a Yes vote in the upcoming Fiscal Compact referendum, some voters have deserted the Tánaiste. The figures shows a 4 point drop to 15 per cent for Eamon Gilmore’s party.

Fine Gael also suffered with its numbers dropping 2 points to 34 per cent.

Sinn Féin benefited as voters switched their allegiances, coming out of the poll with 17 per cent – an extra 7 points. The Independents also saw a 1 per cent rise in popularity, gaining 18 per cent support.

Fianna Fáil remained unchanged at 17 per cent.

The poll was conducted among a sample of 1,016 adults with face-to-face interviews in their homes earlier this week.

Interviewees were also asked about their satisfaction levels with the performance of the coalition government. A vast majority – 65 per cent – said they were “dissatisfied”. Just 29 per cent said they were satisfied, while 5 per cent were not sure how they felt about the ruling parties.

Each of the four main party leaders recorded dissatisfaction levels of at least 50 per cent. Taoiseach Enda Kenny saw a 42 per cent satisfaction rate against a 52 per cent dissatisfaction one.

There were more personal woes for Gilmore who scored the lowest satisfaction rating of just 33 per cent.

On 37 per cent, Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin may take something from the fact that he has a 2 per cent lead over Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams on 35 per cent.

Martin and Adams have 50 per cent and 51 per cent dissatisfaction rates respectively.

However, one thing voters are happy with is the work of the country’s new president, Michael D Higgins. Only 16 per cent said they were dissatisfied with his performance as over three-quarters expressed their content with the job he is doing since taking office last November.

Referendum roundup: 14 days to go>

Swingers: latest poll shows 35 per cent of referendum voters ‘don’t know’>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (101 Comments)

• Gerard 18/05/12 #

Now there’s a surprise and a half.

• Just wait for the ‘the only poll that matters is the election’ and ‘we’re not interested in popularity…we have a tough job to do and we’re determined to get it done’….indeed it’s no wonder they’re down in the polls…they’re doing nothing to help us only rejoicing in Merkels austerity drive.

• Where is Hogan these days? Hope they wheel him out again. They have locked him up during the referendum. He is good for a bit of bullying.

• The current government have used 15 months or 25% of their 60 month lifespan. Their inability to sort out the banks in spite of bailouts is really telling on the business community and the obvious knock on on employment.

• Yere moaning about S.F saying things but doing nothing ..hello if ye never elect them into power what can they do ..so there opposing the treatY and ye agree with them on that ..but at the same time yere voting into government a crowd ye dont agree with on a very serious subject cmon like what are ye talking about.Pollitics is simple enough what have the main partys in Ireland done consistently over the last 15 yrs ..promise-say sorry lie -say sorry suck us all into a false wealth tell us buy houses ruin our health system by privatization tax the living shite out of the worker whilst putting in tax breaks for the super rich.. giving our youth no prospects only telling them there thugs all the time whilst driving them in thousands out of the country.Now they’ve lead us into a 35 yr austerity package that suits the rich fine but kills the honesty and dignity of most of the citizens still left..Yere on about stability S.F brought stability to the North when it seemed impossible..FG FF L..=ABYSS

• Brend you are obviously thick if you think my ideology suits ff fg lab. I am a real socialist and 100% more left wing than your populist nationalist centre left Wushu washy party. You lot speak out of both sides of your mouth all the time. You are frightened of using the term socialist and of talking about the need to restructure society or comment about the fact that the difficulties we face are due to capitalism. If your party believes in socialism let them man up and say it publicly or else go recruit o cuiv he should suit your ideology

• I think you haven’t been listening to any of the debates .Or what sinn fein have been saying your only on here bad mouthing a party that has risen in the polls..ya come out saying down with capitalism we are socialists an we are not prepared to take any other peoples views into account ya we should frighten off all investors by screaming were hardline socialists .S.F mandate is to restructure the country not to rip it apart with fundamentalism. Adams Doherty Mary lou going on about people in hospitals on the dole emigration non stop ..were have you been orla maybe you should start your own party since you obviously dont support any..haha ya right..an im not thick either orla ive supported S.F my since i was 18 and S.F are rising in the polls.your non existent party may do well in the future best of luck with that..channel your anger into a no vote S.F and the independents are the only party opposing it have you forgotten. nite orla

• Labour will be decimated in the next election. We haven’t forgotten their lies. All of the backbenchers towing the party line will be on the dole and Quinn, Burton and co will be on their pensions. They have failed those that voted for them.

• This is not a surprise!! I am one of those unhappy voters. Ashamed to have voted FG for change, five point plan, not another red cent & burning the senior bond holders!

I’m still waiting on the reform and transparency!

Here is one very unhappy EX FG voter! I obviously wasted my vote!! FG are worse than FF.

FF pillaged the country slowly from within, FG are fast selling the country to Europe for the cheapest price!! Same party different name.

Labour, who are they? In the Greens& PDs scrap heap.

• Shame on you but least you have seen sense albeit a little to late. Vote no is my next piece of advice for you

• Virgil,
      I am voting No! Not because of the lies that FG said to get into Gov
      (though I know many who are voting in protest, HHC etc)
      But because it is the worse possible thing I could do, have you read the treaty?! It’s suicide for a small country like us to change our constitution like that! Crazy and down right unbelievable that FG are going for a yes! All their voters will be gone by the next election. There is no way I am voting yes!

It’s a farce anyway!!

• Of course you voted FG Ryan…. Give me a break…

• Ryan its great to be out of the dakness isnt it..kinda feels like something new is happening and your not been left behind like Declan..

• Brend if I knew then what I know now I would have not bothered to vote!!

I wanted change and got continuity FF, you can put lipstick on a pig but it’s still a pig?!

Once bitten twice shy! And I’m blessed that I don’t behave, act and follow blindly a corrupt party anymore!! FG are drift wood after the next election! And I will be delighted!

• it has to come to this for people to see there was no escaping from the merrygoround that was the same party Finelabourfail..one of them would be disasterous we’d throw them out in put in the same crowd wit a different name..at least we have an opposition party now a proper one to give us a say in the running of the country..

• 29% satisfied? seems a little too high

• overpaid wasters. where’s the 5 point plan I heard so much about

• And our precious leader actually gets paid more then the French president how crazy is that

• 20,000 of the 100,000 jobs we promised have been created through the increased FDI that we’ve seen in companies like PayPal, Apple and Merit Medical. That’s on target for year one in what is a five year plan.

Waiting lists and numbers of patients are down from last year considering the health budget has been reduced. Massive achievement. Moves have been made towards free GP care.
      http://www.thejournal.ie/phased-introduction-of-free-gp-care-announced-429156-Apr2012/

A referendum on Seanad abolition will be run either this year or next.

Income Tax has not been raised and the USC has been cut for the lowest paid.

• David your wasting your breath in lying we can see how little FG have done for Ireland but huge,swift,precise tactics and productivity when it comes to the Eu and the bosses in charge!

You are fooling no one! Save it for other party members who give a flying excrement!!

• David, can you explain to me how creating 20,000 jobs when more than 20,000 jobs were lost has any benefit other than giving your party something to talk about?

• FDI will continue no matter who is in power it has absolutely nothing to do with FG more the IDA. FG are a disgrace Enda Kenny is a disgrace Labour are a disgrace also and both parties lied in order to get the too jobs along with their fat pensions. FG have been caught out with their lies already as well as Labour. God I wish there was a general election in the morning. Maybe you and your blue shirt mates cld head off back to Spain on a permanent holiday.

• What can FG and Labour expect for so many, many lies and u-turns in so short a time that they even put FF to disgrace, for the speed they have done the acts their predecessors’ also did over longer periods!

No shock at all – and well deserved to go down in ratings.

• Avoiding the parties themselves for a moment. Where had 2% gone from the poll? If you take all the pluses and minuses they should cancel but above they sum to 2%. Also if you add all the figures up it equals 101%. Statistical rounding should cancel out these errors. Hmmm, odd. That said, I’d agree with the overall sentiment of the poll. Gov down, FF static and the No-No’s rising. It’s a typical mid-term poll.

• I actually can’t believe there is any satisfaction with this Government. They are “leading” the country for well over a year and nothing has changed. Shocking unemployment, too many emigrating and a general feeling of hopelessness with too many of our citizens. Even a plan of where we want/need Ireland to be in the short, medium and long term would be a start.

• I think the mainstream media have been unfair to S.F in this country .Leading us to believe that S.F have no policies and are just there for show.Time will tell but if you are the main opposition party i think you should be treated equally as the “established” in government party.I think they have been stereotyped unjustly and people should look at there mandate and policies alot more rather than just relying on what biased broadcasters and journalists are telling us..

• I am not surprised the coalition has lost votes, what with the household, septic tank and water charges, and now the referendum in which they want us vote for austerity measures, no way won’t vote yes, will vote no, non, nein and oxi.

• B7584 18/05/12 #

Clueless self serving wasters is what we have in government. They are so thick its actually quite an achievement. Inda, Gilmore, Hogan :D :D will never see 2016, they’ll be gone in less than 12 months. We’re onlY a matter of weeks away from something on par with a ‘childrens shoe tax’.

• Sinn Fein are the way forward get Gerry and Martin to retire in order to leave the past behind and I could see the party increase it’s share substantially.

• Not a hope Virgil…. 20% tops….

• Not a hope Virgil…

• If not today it’s a certainty for the future my friends.

• Fagan's 18/05/12 #

In 5 years time Irish politics will be divided between the SF led camp and the FG led camp. They will be the parties of Govt. and will have the smaller parties like Labour, Fianna Fail, ULA and a new party (that will emerge from disaffected ie desperate to save themselves, TD’s from FG/Lab/FF).

It is not that bold a prediction, pretty much there already. SF are only 9 % behind FG.

• Spot on Fagan’s

• Well per the last poll they are 17% behind fagan… SF = 17%, FG = 34%.. FF are also on 17%…. Where exactly are SF going to get the extra votes from?? Its clear from all the polls that they are have zero effect on FG…..FF will bounce of that I am sure….

• Declan there’s new voters every election. Any 18 year old will be old enough to remember ff fg and labour screw the people. Who’s left to give your vote too

• Never going to happen Colman….If journal.ie was a real barometer of the mood around the country….the ‘No’ side would be at 80% and SF and ULA would be the 2 biggest parties in the country….Neither is the case… Truth is this website is a classic forum for people to spread their bile…..
      You all must be very unhappy people ….

• Coleman

New voters and EX voters!! Disastrous mix when trying to get a second term, oh wait FG have never had a consecutive term, I wonder why!?

• As much as I dislike SF’s policies on their own account, I have to agree as a realist that the next move for SF to increase their share of the vote is to ditch Adams and McGuinness and those most visibly connected with the IRA. The likelihood of that… I don’t know, they’ve run SF as their own little fiefdom in a way pretty much unprecedented in Irish politics (has ANY other Irish political party maintained the exact same leadership for such a long time?) and I’m not sure they can actually conceive of giving up the reins.

• Declan bile from who? You asked where the swing in the electorate could from I just gave an answer. Although u r right it won’t happen as your party (fg) are making sure there is no youth left to vote

• I was rooting there yesterday and according to the referendum act of 1994, once a referendum has been called, the only way it can be called off is if a general election is announced.
    Is it any wonder they won’t call off the referendum? Damned if they do, damned if they don’t!
    Love it!

• If a NO vote wins , I’ll be happy to eat beans on toast for the next ten years if our taxes are kept in my country to run my country,
    If a YES vote wins , I will degrade myself , lose all my personal pride and become a politician, .

• The country is in a bad way so naturally people are dissatisfied. The transfer to SF is not surprising given their NO stance & populist rhetoric. However, this would not transfer in an election. The last thing SF want to see in the short term is an improvement in the economy as it would cost them votes. Be careful what you wish for. As SF were shouting just a few weeks ago “follow Greece…”

• They did not mean ‘follow Greece’ in the literal sense, they meant make a stand against unjust cuts and unwavering austerity. I am tired of The plight of the Greek people being used as threat of our future. If that happens to us it won’t be because we followed Greece, it will be because we voted to enshrine fiscal rules into our constitution that were designed for healthier economies than ours. So the effect is not productive discipline but austerity of the harshest measures that will hang the low and middle working classes by the neck, when we had the chance to carve our own path and recover at our own pace.

• The truth of the matter is FG have failed and are loosing the middle class voter to SF! Because of the populist rhetoric used to get into Gov. Where’s the change, reform, accountability ?! Look no further than FG for the masters of populist rhetoric.

• Ailis, you want to have your cake and eat it. Greece took the stand you promote and their situation deteriorated immediately. The same stand SF/ULA call for. I’m sure you are tired of Greece being seen as a test case of a NO vote…

• Go back to bed O’Reilly taking things completely out of context!!

• Well Ryan, have you come out yet officially? You can get a nice “IRA UNDEFEATED ARMY” T- shirt from their official website to show your support…

• O’Reily

I was once like you a Fine Geal supporter. I have been let down and bullied by the party I once believed in, this is the reason I have a huge amount if distain for FG nothing more. But because I and others go against what you do blindly believe in I’m then branded SF?!

I have NEVER voted SF!
      But I’m used to party politics in diverting the attention away from the actual facts, that FG are loosing voters because they let the electorate down, why can’t you see that?

There are many many more like me, how do you think FG got into Gov in the first place? You and your party need to wise up to what the people want and expected?!

And I’ll thank you from now on to stop making assumptions about which party I might vote for that’s between me and the ballot, but I CAN tell you this I will NEVER waste my vote on Fine Geal again. Once bitten teich shy, it will be a long time before we see a FG Taoiseach again !!

• @o’reilly- lol! Unfortunately no, I don’t believe anyone in the low and middle income earners can have their cake and eat it, whether they vote yes or no. But I believe in a no vote despite of what pain it might bring because I prefer to look at the bigger picture and in the long run, retaining control over our sovereign wealth and applying budget adjusting measures as we see fit is more important than handing over that responsibility to faceless Eurocrats who do not have the experience or the understanding to do what is best for our country. I want to preserve our rightful control for those who deserve it when they finally get into government and yes, I am talking about SF. Because unlike all the parties who have been a part of government before, I want to call them on the powerful idea of putting their people before business and Europe.
      I realise to some extent I am wasting my breath on you o’reilly because you are not interested in discourse, only sullying SF popularity, as you demonstrated with your ‘undefeated army t shirt’ comment to Ryan.
      @ryan o brill – good point about FG populist mantra they employed to hoodwink the nation for GE!

• It’s pretty easy for SF to say all the right things when the dont have to back it up with actions. Hurlers on the ditch. True SF have advocated a NO vote from the start but I would hate for them to be in power

• Fair play Ryan spot on there

• Spot on Ailis

• Ryan…stop playing ‘I voted FG’ card….Its so obvious that you never did… Besides FG are pretty steady in the poles and easily the biggest party in the country…..

• Brend I am no lover of the right wing fg lab ff I just do not believe that sf have a real left wing ideology. Kingston elevated sf to left wing idealogs or revolutionaries Narrow nationalism and lip service to social democracy is the best I believe we can hope for from sf. There is no chance of them actual providing Irish society with a real change in how we run this country and economy so that working people do not have to bail out the banking sector and the rich elite of Europe. You need a real ideology not populist jingoism

• So F.F F.G labour suit your ideology thats all you had to say orla..ok when the country has had enough of yere ideology and lets just say S.F do get into power as a left wing party you will still vote F.F F.G labour because there’s no on else Orla .The are all far right partys…

• I think populist jingoism is saying that ..i dont advocate F.F F.G labour and then say you dont think S.F is to be taking seriously..are you in the 35%

• I’d prefer this coalition any day to the return of FF or for the Marxist Leninist Anarchists of SF ever getting into office

• mcbab 18/05/12 #

With you on that Kingstown.

• Get a grip!

• franco 18/05/12 #

You forgot to add fascist blueshirts .

• Stupid comment Kingston

• Which is it. are they anarchist or Marxists. Unfortunately they are none of these just some wishy washy nationalists limply pretending to be left wing

• I think ye should go up to the North and make that statement to the majority of catholics that were just like here under our present government been bullied and denied civil liberties by a government that was not from this land.What did F.G do to help them people kingston ..nothing just like F.G are doing nothing now to help the people of the Republic.Ye’ve a fine history of keeping this country sub-servient and bowing yere heads to other countries Queens and chancellors.Maybe yourself mcbab and orla should go for a little hike up to the highest mountain in Bavaria and stay there and leave this country to the people who love it like the nationalist the wishy washy ones that stared themselves to death for the rights of the people on this island.Will ye and yere draconian mentality just evaporate and let people who want to try and fix this country to get it back up off its knees do there jobs and earn there state pay cheques for a change we dont want fascist snobs running our country anymore..Young person the future talking not some old blueshirts that would sell there soul for an acre

• Well said Brend Egan fair play fella

• It seems to me the real story here is the abject failure of Sinn Fein to become a credible alternative government.

We’re now a full quarter of the way through what was always going to be an incredibly harsh government term – with tax increases and cuts to services for all as the only message government can give. For any government overseeing that not to lose vote share would be truly incredible. But the reality is that 66% of voters are still supporting pro-austerity parties (for want of a better phrase) while Sinn Fein — who have a virtually clear field to exploit the anti-austerity vote and a unique opportunity to assume the mantle of opposition — can still only manage 17% support.

If this were an election, we’d be looking at about 110 ‘pro-austerity’ TDs and only 28 Sinn Fein ones. Whether one supports or opposes Sinn Fein and its policies, I think the question has to be asked that if they can’t become a governmental contender while being the ONLY pro-tax cut, anti-services cut in the Dail when on Earth CAN they? Rather than patting themselves on the back for these results, they should be having serious discussions on how to improve their strategy and electability.

• This polling company hasn’t done a poll since the general election so the differences they show are since then.

If you compare to recent polls by the other polling companies it shows Fine Gael and Labour at their highest support in recent months.

This is an incredibly misleading headline.

Lies, damned lies, and statistics.

Add New Comment