TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Romney announces Irish-American congressman Ryan as VP pick

Wisconsin representative Paul Ryan, 42, led the Republican charge in last year’s talks on raising the US’s legal debt ceiling.

Paul Ryan is the chair of the House of Representatives' Budget committee, and led the GOP in recent budget battles against Barack Obama.
Image: J. Scott Applewhite/AP

Updated, 14:10

REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEE Mitt Romney has announced his running mate for November’s US presidential election today – a relatively young congressman of Irish descent.

Romney made his formal announcement – naming Paul Ryan as his vice-presidential nominee – in Norfolk, Virginia today, during a tour of a decommissioned battleship, the USS Wisconsin, which shares its name with Ryan’s home state.

Ryan, a Catholic 42-year-old, has long been hyped as a potential nominee for the Republicans, particularly given his role in last year’s crisis talks on raising the US’s debt ceiling, and his pro-active publication of two alternative Budgets to those put forward by President Barack Obama.

Ryan is also a co-founder of the Republicans’ ‘Young Guns Programme’, which aims to identify potential Republican candidates and recruit them to run for office, and is the chairman of the House of Representatives’ influential budget committee.

The conservative-leaning Wall Street Journal wrote in an editorial earlier this week that Ryan ”best exemplifies the nature and stakes of this election,” and that choosing him would show voters that Romney was not shying away from engaging in monumental debates.

“Mr. Romney’s best chance for victory is to make this a big election over big issues,” the WSJ wrote.

Political observers had speculated that Romney would make a ‘safe’ choice, with attention focusing on Senator Rob Portman of the crucial state of Ohio, who has considerable Washington experience that Romney lacks.

Another option had been former Minnesota governor Tim Pawlenty, who is perceived as a Washington outsider with working class roots.

But Romney will be seen as making a bold move in picking Ryan as his running mate, with the Wisconsin man seen as being able to energise the conservative base who, although committed to seeing Barack Obama removed from office, occasionally see Romney as being too moderate.

The timing of the proposed announcement has taken some by surprise, but will now mean that Romney will be able to delegate some campaigning duties as his nationwide tour takes in the key swing states of Florida, Ohio, Virginia and North Carolina.

All four of those states voted for Barack Obama in 2008, but are now considered to be ‘in play’.

Additional reporting by AFP

Read: McCain defends picking Palin after Dick Cheney criticism

More: Still got it: Bill Clinton viewed favourably by 66pc of Americans – poll

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• Are any American’s just American?

• You’d think so David but all the voting groups like to be mentioned chased and pandered too . Each group has countless think tanks and foundations to highlight their point of view .Plus the media with their endless polls perpetrate this.

• It’s the same everywhere I reckon David, people like to be able to identify with something more local than their nation (not necessarily geographically local) . It’s like tommy tiernans joke “hello I’m the president of Ireland …. but more importantly I’m from Cork” …

• The lads from England and France killed them all David, and then they called it Thanksgiving

• http://content.usatoday.com/communities/onpolitics/post/2011/05/dick-cheney-paul-ryan-gop-presidential-race-/1
    Here’s one reason to distrust Ryan.
    Cheney “i worship the ground Paul Ryan walks on”.

• @rdx. I lived between New York and Connecticut during Clinton and Bob Dole. There was lots of reference to Irish Vote. But it is true the majority of networks refer to it as the Catholic vote. It is important to them otherwise he would not have made a pit stop here for a pint of Guinness or consecutive presidents enduring or leaders every March.

• RDX862 11/08/12 #

I have lived here most of my life and have never heard the Irish vote talked about outside of local elections. US Presidents make trips to many different countries and the Irish trip barely got mentioned here in the US anyway. The annual St. Patrick’s day trip was part of the peace process and it was going to be ended when Bush came to power but he got convinced to keep it up. Now the only thing it signifies is that it is a fun time for both Democrats and Republicans to have a St. Patrick’s Day breakfast and dinner. It also barely gets mentioned in the press outside of a brief clip of the shamrock being presented.

• limofax 11/08/12 #

Hey R2D2! I loved you in star wars.

• Without delving into things too much. Romney, or is it R-money, does appear to be a bit mad Ted.

• @rdx your right about the “Irish vote” been over hyped this side of the Atlantic but the Catholic vote is one of the prime targets for the two main parties and whether we are proud of it or not there is a strong Irish influence with the Catholic hierarchy in the US thus one overlapping the other. Obama was seen by many (on right) to attack Catholic church over his stance that catholic medical facilities should provide women’s contraceptions. Though Obama has sizeable % lead over Romney on womens vote…the possible inclusion of Ryan will pander to Catholics and fiscal conservatives.

• RDX862 11/08/12 #

Maybe they can influence them to attend mass. Hispanics are the main group in the Catholic vote because they are not completely settled like the Irish, Italians, Poles, and every other nationality in the US that makes up the Catholic vote. Contraception controversy was the hierarchy of the Catholic church getting upset (not actually the Catholic public who overwhelming use contraceptives) and Fox News and the rest of the conservative media running with it and turning it into government interfering with faith story line.

• This is not possible. In the two dimensional analysis of US politics offered by the Irish medial Irish-Americans are always Democrats, say it ain’t so!

• Looks like Will Schuster from Glee. Maybe they’re gonna try sing their way to the white house show choir style, :-)

• Ever hear of Ryans budget report? This is not a man to be proud of the fact he is an Irish descendent! He’s an austerity, trickle-down cheerleader! http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/04/06/paul-ryan-budget-gets-mix_n_845344.html

• Don’t be too hasty to claim this one. He is a Republican turd whose sole claim to fame is his budget that would destroy social security. No we do not want this one, nothing to be proud of here.

• Another republican head case!

• A Morman/Catholic Presidency? Wonder which version of their god will direct their decision making?

• It seems that IF Romney gets elected now, the USA will be plunged into a depression so deep. It will make the Great Depression in the 30′s seem like a rounding error. Ryan’s idea’s are frankly idiotic, when all mainstream economists advise that the USA economy needs investment and more stimulus to create more jobs and growth. Ryan’s throws those idea’s out and proposes some real economy wrecking ideas. Romney plans to throw the baby out with the bathwater. Obama is going to cream this guy in the debates

• nothing worse than a Republican president.

• Look a man who has five generations in Wisconsin is not Irish. Being from Ireland and it is embarrassing the way Obama and others do the ‘Irish’ thing, to Americans it does not matter anymore I would wager. He is intelligent and well spoken, with a cordial manner which is a wonderful step up for the republican party. His budget is so cruel and unfair it is aristocratic. He is against abortion even in cases of rape or if a woman’s life is in danger. And what about separation of church and state? He is also against gay marriage. He is a wonderful number cruncher but he is a trained economist he should be. It is a very particular type of knowledge and it makes one appear more dazzlingly intellectual than one actually is ( I have a master’s in pure maths people think I am a genius….I am not). He himself is a statist when it comes to social issues like abortion but a complete libertarian when it comes to fiscal issues. His ideologies are not compatible , infact one may wonder if he is genuine in one or even all of his professed beliefs. He himself used social security survivor payments on the tragic death of his father to pay for his education. What gets me about some career politicians is that they preach smaller govt but they themselves have almost never had a paycheck that was not from the govt in many years. They are all elected civil servants and the system is designed to keep them in there. You cannot run for president for more than two terms but you can be a member of congress for years. To privatise social security in America takes the bulk of American resources and puts it in the hands of the rich. Not to mention the individualistic approach to social security is less cost effective. It penalizes the middle classes and the most important factor in any successful country is a strong middle class they are the backbone of society. The pooling of resources benefits the middleclass who collectively pay the most in. The super-rich collectively do not but they benefit most from not pooling societies resources. Obama and bush have really made a mess of Americas national deficit and debt and his administration is a joke. Maybe with the exception of Hilary. I applaud the republican party for choosing a candidate who is polite, amiable and intelligent (it is a lovely change!). But really he is not good for the middle class in America. Your national budget does need huge cuts and balance. I also understand the need not to penalize industy to the extent that there is no growth and chase wealth out of the country but you need a progressive approach. Social upward mobilty is important. He seems too sensible to do the ‘Irish’ thing. We in Ireland respect and like America ( a lot) but we are a long way off and far back in your history for all of that and we have our own language etc. I don’t think it is important to Americans for a moment anyway or to Ryan himself. Although…. looking at him he does look like a big Gaelgoir…but taller..and abortion is illegal here too…. It does not work by the way women simply go abroad to have abortions. There are even clinics in England that specialize in providing abortions for Irish women. As a foreigner commenting obviously I don’t know American politics as well as Americans nor American society. But to be honest from what I see neither team is great. And Romney appears to be such a warmonger.

• you’d think Marco Rubio would be obvious choice…Hispanic heritage..clean cut. …huge profile …and most importantly in one of the key states Florida..must be something there the GOP don’t like about him.

• Hey who cares, were on Mars people…………an Irish American is a total differant animal than Irish native. Ryan couldn’t even tell you who is is ggg grandfather was I bet, they dont give a shite about the Real Irish people, unless there is $ involved.

• @rdx ahh didn’t know that…true i suppose you couldn’t have two morons on the ticket… sorry bloody predictive text…..

• Good stuff, another nail in the Romney Campaign coffin.

• In fairness Americans tire of Democrat presidents. Clinton was the last Democrat to be re elected after FDR; that’s nearly 60 years in difference. I think the election will be two close to call.

• It’s another win for Koch brothers sponsored think tanks and irrational worship of free markets. It will end in tears if they are elected.

• Rand Paul 2016

• Bruce 11/08/12 #

Looks like virginia governor robert mcdonnell has been over looked. By the way he has big irish connections

• This guy’s God is Ayn Rand. She’s the head of his religion.

• I’m not sure it’s that great a choice; Romney already has huge support from his base, albeit their enthusiasm comes from their desire to get Obama out of office rather than get Romney in as stated in the article. To win, Romney needs to appeal to the people in the middle and I’m not sure that Ryan will help him do that. As for Ryan being a Catholic, he’s open to attack on that considering that he seems to follow the teachings of Ayn Rand more than those of Jesus.

• You say that like it’s a bad thing. After decades of supposed christian war-mongering US presidents, while US citizens have seen their civil liberties degraded, it would surely be a great idea to have a randian in the White house.

• I dislike religion immensely but I’d rather live in a world where people genuinely try to help each other than one where they all act like selfish a*******. Therefore I’d choose Jesus over Rand any day. Just out of interest, what civil liberties are you referring to?

• God help us – he’s more conservative than the hitler youth guy in Rome

• PS he is only 1/2 Irish, the other is German. I guess that can’t be any worse than 1/2 Irish 1/2 Black……..

• Dows this mean we will have to endure another fleeting visit from Obama in order to win back the irish vote

• Go Romney. The future of the US is bright.

• Surprised he didn’t pick someone who shared his Anglo-Saxon heritage…

In any case, go Romney! If we can’t have Condi Rice as president, you’ll have to do!

Add New Comment