TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Number of murders, assaults and public order offences continues to fall

The CSO’s figures for crimes recorded in the first quarter of 2012 show the number of offences is on the slide.

Image: .v1ctor. via Flickr

THE LATEST FIGURES recording the number of crimes committed in Ireland has shown that the number of crimes committed in the twelve months to the end of March being down on the previous year.

A total of 253,813 crimes were recorded in the year to March, down by 7.2 per cent on the year that ended in March 2011, when 273,616 were committed.

65 murders were recorded in the latest 12-month measurement, down from 86 in the previous year, while the number of sexual offences was down by 12.4 per cent from 2,266 to 1,984.

Kidnappings were down from 128 to 100, weapons offences were down by 18.7 per cent, and public order offences were down from over 55,000 to 47,150.

When split into 14 categories, only two – burglaries and frauds – have seen an increase, with the number of burglaries up by 10.9 per cent and up frauds by 3.5 per cent.

Justice minister Alan Shatter welcomed the figures, saying the overall reduction “reflects well on Garda measures to prevent and combat crime. Notwithstanding the many pressures faced, the Commissioner and his officers are clearly using their resources to good effect.”

More: Rioters to be traced through crowdsourcing app

Read next:

Comments (11 Comments)

• I like to hear of drops in the crime rates but I’d find it very hard to believe that there is any drop in the numbers of anti-social behavioural crimes. And what about this spate of bombs being found all over the place? We need a much more robust policing system and a meaningful method of punishment for crime. The prison system is a crock. I can’t say that Minister Shatter convinces me at all. The response to crime is a bit too wishy-washy. The Gardai are in a difficult position with the recruitment embargo etc. A lot of this stuff will impact on our attractiveness as a tourist destination too. For his chat on subjects unrelated to his portfolio, Leo Varadkar should be paying a bit of attention to this one and having a chat with his cabinet colleague.

• I see that not even hard numbers can dissolve Chris’s conviction that crime is in fact getting worse, while it’s been declining for years; and according to many studies, not just thanks to good policing, although as far as I know nobody has definitely explained the reason for it.

• It’s a matter of perception, Giovanni. Hard numbers tell us all kinds of things and these figures might even focus on certain *kinds* of crime. I certainly welcome any reduction in crime figures. However, look around the media for reports of mindless attacks, antisocial behaviour etc. A journalist was murdered in eth street last week and w young woman had part of her nose bitten off. These are just two examples of the kinds of crime that I feel need mroe attention. The “big ticket” crimes are being tackled (and, in particular, I appluad the work of the Gardaí on their fantastic drugs seizures) but I’m sorry that you’re put out by my concern about areas in which things *seem* to be getting worse.

• With a reduction in Garda numbers in rural areas there is simply no one to report many crimes to.
    My local area has been hit by a huge amount of burglaries of late ,in some cases the perpetrator being caught in the act and identified but slow response from the nearest Garda station and lack of resources have given these thugs percieved immunity.
    Many people, especially the elderly and more vulnerable dont report these things anymore.
    This seems like a win/win for the government. Lower crime figures with less expendature.

• Great to see the media reporting this. Crime rates have been falling for years, yet many media organisations like to sensationalise the crime problem and make people believe that it is getting worse in order to shock people and get more readers / viewers / listeners.

Well done Journal!

• Good news. Now will the Garda clean up Dublin city centre. Its very dangerous after 8pm.

• The number of offences is down but the numbers in prison are up. Are bankers and economists moving into the criminology sector?

• I don’t believe anything the government says.They are a bunch of dirty liars that will twist the numbers to suit themselves.

• That’s because the police force in this country are an absolute joke and don’t show up when u call them and if they do it’s 4 hours later!!

• A family member recently found himself being set upon in a nightclub, the people who did so found out where he lived sat out side his house, and put bullets through the letter box where he and his parents, brother and sisters etc etc live and told him tht if he didn’t pay them two grand someone would get hurt, he went to the Garda and they told him to PAY THE MONEY that there was very little that they could do and that this was the easier and safer option !!!!! What a joke!!!!! This story sound like something out of a soap but it is in fact 100% true and is a mild version

Add New Comment