TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Opposition parties to force Dáil vote of no confidence in James Reilly

Both Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin hope to force the hands of Labour backbenchers who are frustrated at the latest round of health cuts.

James Reilly has been under pressure since the latest round of HSE cutbacks were announced last week.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 12:38

THE DÁIL’S two main opposition parties have confirmed they are to table motions of no confidence in health minister James Reilly when the Dáil returns from its summer recess in two weeks’ time.

Both Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin will table motions calling on Reilly to step down when the Dáil reconvenes on September 18.

Fianna Fáil’s health spokesman Billy Kelleher said it was necessary for Reilly to step down for the sake of the health system – while his Sinn Féin counterpart Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin said the latest round of cutbacks were “plunging the health services into deep crisis”.

“Since Minister James Reilly took over responsibility in the Department of Health, it has been a story of disappointment, disruption, dysfunction and chaos,” Kelleher said.

All confidence in Minister Reilly and his leadership of the Department of Health has now gone. I would call on him to live up to the promise he made before the election, when he said that the day he withdrew services with nothing in their place he would walk away.

“If he refuses to go, my party will be tabling a motion of no confidence in the Minister immediately upon the resumption of the Dáil.

Ó Caoláin said Reilly had “left it to the HSE to announce the latest harsh cuts and he had to be shamed out of hiding to answer the wave of justified criticism”.

“This Minister has since claimed, incredibly, that the health cuts in budget 2012 did not lead to loss of services, despite the fact that hospital and nursing home beds have been closed and services reduced across the hospital system,” Ó Caoláin argued.

And now the Minister presides over cuts to home care, home help and personal assistance, targeting the old, the sick and the disabled.

The moves come after Labour party chairman Colm Keaveney admitted the latest package of health cuts announced last week were “totally unacceptable” – and claimed that the party was preparing for a general election amid rising tensions with its Fine Gael coalition partners.

Transport minister Leo Varadkar sought to play down the tensions this morning – who accused some Labour figures of “throwing shapes” and said Keaveney’s reservations were not shared by Labour ministers in cabinet.

Usual Dáil procedure would see the government table its own counter-motion expressing confidence in Reilly, which frustrated Labour back-benchers would be more likely to support than any motion actively calling for Reilly to step down.

If the government opts to do so, the vote would likely be taken in government time at some point during the Dáil’s first week back from recess. The house is currently scheduled to reconvene two weeks from tomorrow.

If no counter-motion is tabled, the Fianna Fáil motion would probably be debated first, during the party’s allotted private members’ time the week after. It is thought that Sinn Féin does not have any allocation of private members’ time until the first week in October.

Read: New HSE chief: Cutbacks will ‘absolutely’ mean bed closures

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• where was their motion when Harney was in charge?

• Micheal Martin had no comment when he has in charge of health or Harney was, he was too bust staying in hotels at 3000 a night in Switzerland.

The sense of entitlement to our money that that man has is shocking.

• It’s not a sense of entitlement; under the law, he is entitled to it; that’s what people voting for him means.
      I agree, he shouldn’t get it; but your outrage should be pointed to the people who voted for him…

• Mark, he’s entitled to reasonable expenses.

• That’s just what we think he should be entitled to, under common sense.
      What he’s actually entitled to under the law is something else entirely.
      So if people don’t want him to have it, they have to stop voting him into office.

• Maybe Mark he could do what is Right instead of what the law says he is entitled to.Like the speed limit of a 100 kmph,its a limit not a target.

• “Maybe” his party shouldn’t have given a government guarantee that covered unsecured bondholders.
      “Maybe” his party should have actually empowered the financial regulator instead of fuelling the economic boom.
      “Maybe” his party shouldn’t have left healthcare, education and infrastructure go downhill while we had the money to fix them.
      “Maybe” his party shouldn’t have had such a dismally poor record on corruption in planning permission matters.
      “Maybe” his party should have stronger rules regarding ethics and moral conduct.

But all of these are wishes, as is your comment about what he should do.
      And you know what they say – wish in one hand, shit in the other, and tell me which fills up first.

• 3000 grand hotel ain’t reasonable unless your a sheikh oil billionaire

• Can thejournal.ie not do anything about the fake SF accounts astroturfing here? It’s really dragging down a great site.

• Good man Seamus, when you decide what and when we should comment on, would you let us know !
      Ta.

• Bruce 03/09/12 #

clever game going on here.
    (1) labour focused on Reilly to distract from their inept performance (Honestly can you think of anything gilmore and co have delivered?)

(2)FG know Reilly has to go- too much baggage and outside conflicts.

so labour will get a head and FG have a mess cleaned up.

meanwhile the country they are supposed to managing slips further into mud.

• alan 03/09/12 #

agree with you Bruce

am i the only one at my wits end? i voted for labour. but as you point ou tthey have done absolutely nothing of any consequence. the prosepct of now having to watch a ruari quinn reality tv show is so bloody dispiritng

the are no alternatives to labour/fg/ff/sf. left politics here just hasnt taken off. ula is a farce (and i say this as somebody wanting a left wing party to vote for). the whole claire daly/mick wallace romance is symptomatic of the way that the left continuously get wrong footed by the media who will now be quite happy to use this for thier own a-political (or maybe not) purposes. they use an outmoded language, an outmoded analysis, refuse to see history as dynamic and worst of all, mistake an unwillingness to change as taking a principled stance

mark dennehy’s post above is spot on. but how to bring about the changes he suggests?

• I agree with your sentiment there but there’s nothing clever going on here. It’s a shit fight pure and simple

• Bruce 03/09/12 #

Alan, I laughed when I read the posters “Gilmore for taoiseach”. no wonder people voted FG.

labour will do what labour do best: get trapped in power and walk on their own supporters.

I feel there is going to be an explosion of anger in Ireland soon.

• If any of our politicians gave a rats arse about the state of our country and the people in it,they would forget about the pissing contest for just 1 or 2 years and put their heads together to try and help us out of this mess. Why can’t we just have 1 government just to get out of the recession,especially if they all have oh so brilliant ideas….but no,we just have the ‘lovely’ people that oversaw the recession now berating the politicians that promised to get us out of it…what do they actually care anyway?their not looking at their bank balance the day they get paid and see a quarter of their wage left after bills are paid are they? so I wouldn’t hold out too much hope on them sorting things out anytime soon

• Ryan'O 03/09/12 #

Not with FG anyway

• Yeah Oliver
      You have a point about the pissing contest –
      people go on about the politicians being just in it for their pensions and the expenses etc – if it was just that they might make a bit more sense. They’re not, they’re just power hungry goons who are engaged in this ‘pissing contest’ to the detriment of everyone including themselves.

• They have another two weeks off … Dail Eireann is a joke.

• So one shower of idiots is going to question the suitibility of another idiot.We pay them for this???

• Didn’t Enda Kenny promise that he would remove non-performing ministers? Whatever happened with that promise? I truly wish some band of decent, competent patriotic people would form a new political party to give us a real alternative in our wonderful country.

• Before the election and after the election 2 different people thats Dr.Reilly.Anyway my grandad told me never trust a man with a beard.

• FF acting the tool again….they still deluded enough to think that we’ve completely forgotten the 15 years of delinquency that we’re now paying for as a direct result of them. FG aren’t much better than them but they(FF) are completely without authority to speak down to anyone. Sooner they learn that the better.

• A bit like u where in government..it’s like ff has wiped there past clean

• It’s Sinn Fein I’m voting for.

No sane-minded person would vote FF and FG after today’s €600 million bondholder payment to Anglo Irish Bank.

• Yes Tim as you consistently comment on.

• Yawn.

FF, FG, Lab, SF, SWP, Independent, Monster Raving Loony Party, It just doesn’t matter – whomever you elect into office is going to do exactly the same things. They will break their election promises equally quickly, they will overclaim expenses and take the same enormous amount of time off and you will pay exactly the same pension contributions towards their comfortable retirement after their term ends. And all the while, the Dail will remain as ineffectual a talking shop as the Seanad has become.

The only way this is ever going to change is if the actual system itself is changed so that the electorate can have a binding vote on policy issues at will; and what government would ever do that? It’d be turkeys voting for christmas, but on a massive scale. Not to mention the constitutional changes it would require and the complete change in philosophy of government it would represent as we’d be moving from a republic to a democracy…

• SF ? No way. They cannot do any better than any other political party here at the mo. The IMF, ECB & EU rule the roost. Simple as & we have little say. Where to with the health service is open for debate. One thing is certain, this moron has to go. Please put someone in as health minister who is competent, FG/Lab. Start from the top before attacking front line staff & those most in need of care.

• declan, what has all the SF TD’s done will all their wages, un-voucher ed expenses of every kind , freebies?
      the same as all the rest of the parties so they no different

• No point in voting, doesn’t mean jack, illusion of choice, u have no choice, u got owners. Although it might be fun to see the ECB get a gun to their head instead of it being the other way round if SF get in.

• If Kenny wins I say to the Irish voters fight the good fight but let Kenny take us over the cliff. The people will get the medicine they begged for if they choose to re-elect Kenny. When we are back in recession in early 2013 perhaps the people will finally understand that it is people that provide you with your job and that is trickle up economics at its best.

This economy is heading off a cliff one way or the other; the fiscal cliff in early 2013 and then another cliff when Labor party mandates raise Healthcare costs across the board.

• The continuity FF/ stickies/DL/Labour will vote confidence in Reilly because they will do what they are told by the whips

• Why are our health ministers always obese?

• BEWARE: Fianna Fail are trying to raise their ugly heads again. Do NOT vote for them.

• The reality is there’s a core of staunch FF supporters out there only waiting for the next GE. This coalition is having a tough time, paying all these bondholders etc and even though FF created the problem we were told ‘Labours way or Frankfurts way” and “not another red cent”.

The ULA are never going to make a difference to the political landscape so that leaves SF and FF. Would they form a coalition? It could well happen. And when people get sick of them it’ll be FG’s turn again and it’ll be the same old circus with different clowns.

• Most of the people who are left in FF are a mix of those who depend on party connections for work, contracts and perks and the deluded members who vote that way because daddy did, and accept what ever stance the party has.

Basically if you thought they were rotten incompetents before, well most of the capable and decent left over the last few years.

They are worse now than they ever were.

• They spawned a minster when they created the HSE. Mary Harney couldn’t grt any good of it. There were times when they didn’t provide her with reports she’d requested.
    And can someone enlighten me as to why we need ?130 million to keep “the HSE going as an agency” while we’re cutting beds and staff? James O’Reilly is out of his depth. But could anyone else sort out this mess?

• Two Weeks before they get back to the Dail, there in a nutshell is the problem. Lots of shouting and posturing will take place but the dail has become a Muppet talking shop which is never open when its really needed…

• this is a disgrace our own people are gonna suffer and maybe in the worst case scenario die at the hands of a certain few! why should the old and sick suffer for a few banks politcians mess! which there making it worse!
    whats worse is an anglo (dead bank) unsecured bondholder being paid 600 million!
    1/6 of the budget
    the week after we have boi paying more unsecured bondholders!
    this adds to our deficit!
    This madness and disastrous policy which is goin to ruin our beloved country needs to stop soon!
    THIS IS STILL A BANKING CRISIS!
    THE WORST THING GOVERMENTS ACROSS THE EU DID WAS MAKE THE BANKS FALL INTO THE HANDS OF TAXPAYERS! SO AS LONG AS THE BANKS ARE IN THE HANDS OF THE TAXPAYER WERE ALWAYS GOING TO BE IN A CRISIS! http://bondwatchireland.blogspot.ie/ THERES THE REST OF UPCOMING BANK BONDS SECURED AND UNSECURED!

• 1. Nearly 80% of health budget goes on wages. 2. Public Sector Wages are protected by Croke Park Agreement.
    3. We are being forced by Troika to make cuts to health spend.
    4. Croke Park Agreement protects wages so other areas are cut instead.
    Our anger should be directed at Croke Park Agreement, health sector unions and Troika. Reilly as current minister is only a small factor in the overall blackhole that is our health system. If Reilly goes his incumbant will face the exact same obstacles and can do little or nothing differently unless unions move to open up wages bill for discussion, Croke Park deal broken and Troika to exempt health services from austerity programs.

• Please have the no confidence vote for the people of Ireland Have it now before it is too late for some of us. Health is one dept. that should be running smoothly and with the confidence of the people of Ireland and I for one have no confidence in our health system and this government Please please do what the opposition t.d’s are there to do

• off topic but is this true and if it is JOURNAL why haven’t ye covered it??

(MBS) We are paying a €600,000,000 (€600m) Anglo bond on Monday Sep 3rd and a €1,000,000,000 (one billion) AIB bond on Oct 1st, but not a word about it in our national media.
    Minister Hogan claims that service cuts are due to non-payment of odious household charge which would net about €150m.

• Corruption and disfunction don’t spontaneously appear, that’s probably been in it for years before O’Reilly took charge.

• Every other country in Europe that is in difficulty had its people protest at the injustice of bailing out banks that were in trouble. They got better deals than us, they get write off’s, they will have that debt taken off the state hands.

Regards Ireland, they look at us and say “their is no level of crap the Irish will not tolerate, don’t bother with them”. Unless the money that paid in by this state is transferred off our hands, then this state will have to cut itself to the bone and tax heavily just to meet those debt payments.

You think the cuts to the Healthservice now are bad, this is the start, that is all, every service and standard of living will be cut back.

and people will do nothing, or say nothing, they’ll leave the complaining and holding people to account to the Germans, the French and Dutch. Paddy will sink back in to the bog, pack his kids off to America and live in poverty once more. Too pathetic to stand up for themselves.

• FG cut a cheque for 600,000,000 today to billionaire bankers sitting in corporate towers looking down and laughing at the crisis they have created while you pay for someone to shine their shoes.How do you like that ?

• Oh and as for your parents grandparents elderly in general in this country they can just go away and die because they are worthless now and no more use to the state i dont know about ye but im sure i’ll be old someday and just pray to god that the younger generation wont let me to the mercy of a heartless corrupt excuse for a man like fattyfatcat above.The balls in our court.

• Paul 03/09/12 #

Unfortunately the HSE calls the shots and not J.R. He tried to take them on before and got burned. He’s a medical man and understands the needs in that area but the politics involved is way over his head

• Quite simply because there are more t.d’s on the government side this will fail…how intelligent of f.f. how really intelligent.

• Could we please get a management team from Holland or the UK to manage this small two-bit health service.
    We have criminally overpaid Specialists on over 300k!! The hospital pay up to ten times more for their drugs than neighbouring countries. – Name and shame the people getting the perks and backhands.
    They wallow in their greed while the ordinary people suffer and die before their eyes. Shame

• Kenny’s government sanctioned pay increments since taking office in 2011. They wanted to keep the party going but need people to pay new property taxes to subsidize it. And as usual, the people will still do nothing about this corrupt government.

• He’s the first Health Minister with an actual background in health for almost 20 years.

Clearly he should carry the can for all the previous health ministers who had no such background.

• Have to agree. We won’t see an improvement in the health service for 5-10 years. It has had 15 years of complete mismanagement.

Reilly hasn’t given a good call for his staying or his going yet.

• If, as has been suggested, a major stumbling block in reform is the constraint of the Croke Park Agreement as pertains to wages in particular, should the affected unions not agree to set aside the agreement in favour of maintaining health provision to the wider public?

• That would be in the common good,therefore won’t happen.The elites of the PS are hiding behind the low paid.

• Damocles 03/09/12 #

But isn’t Socialism all about the common good?

• Should the unions who protect the front-line workers in the health service….
      …agree not to protect those front-line workers in the health service….
      …for the good of the health service?

WTF?

How about this — Why don’t the Dail and Seanad just give up their salaries for the year to save the healthcare system? It might not be a huge amount of money compared to the €600 million we gave away today, but it’d save a few beds and maybe a few lives….

• Damocles 03/09/12 #

Specious, Mark, they protect all the workers in the health service not just the front line workers.

• Is it really specious when the idea that the unions just stop doing *the job their members pay them to do* comes from *the other side of the negotiation table*???

• Damocles 03/09/12 #

I’m not on the other side of the negotiating table. I’m an ordinary tax payer and voter. Or does that make me the other side of the table? Is that the “them and us” or “not us and us” way Unions think?

• The Government, who have been the ones not-very-subtly insinuating in the media for months that the Croke Park agreement is the major obstacle to the world being shiny and happy and all the problems going away, *is* on the other side of the negotiation table. And if the unions just did whatever they said, well, why waste money on a table when all you need is a noticeboard?

• Damocles 03/09/12 #

Couldn’t the Unions show willing all the same and give a little to avoid giving a lot?

Or are the unions more interested in their own good than in the common good?

• Depends who the socialist is and their agenda.

• What part of the Unions being *paid professionals* charged by their members *not* to just ‘give a little’ is so foreign a concept?

The whole point of a Union is to prevent “just a litle bit” being given “for the common good”, because that kind of shite never ends. First it’s the guilt trip, then the stick, then the carrot. That’s not some melodrama, it’s just normal negotiation, it’s a historical pattern that has never actually gone away.. That’s how this works. Both sides try to get the other side to “just give a little bit”, and both sides are paid not to do so.

Saying “aw, c’mon guys” is not only not a good negotiation technique, it requires that you have a level of blindness to the situation matched only by attendees at the Republican National Convention in Florida over the last week or so.

• Damocles 03/09/12 #

I completely understand that the Unions are acting solely in the self interest of themselves and their members and not in the interests of the greater good. I get that.

I just don’t agree with it.

• Reilly or any other self serving politician typically of what the Irish people elect is incapable of reforming the Health Service. The European overlords have had a gander at the books and seen that the HSE is wasteful, inefficient behemoth sucking the lifeblood out of the economy and rightly demanded reform. However, this reform can only comprise of cutting services to the citizen as the real source of the waste and over expenditure is protected under the Croke Park Agreement and middle management unions.

FF know this but it suits to sabre rattle on the basis of the usual old rhetoric rather than attack Reilly on the issue of his default on loans of €1.9 million to bailed out Bank of Ireland for which we, the citizen, will pay (on account of defaulters such as Reilly) €8 million to unsecured bondholders this month.

It would be wise for the Irish citizen to assess Reilly’s suitability for office on the basis of his contribution to the banking crisis that causes these cuts in public services rather than is ineffectiveness in reforming the health service that primarily exists to employ contract and union protected wasters in middle and upper management rather than provide any kind of useful service to the public.

• A lot of bluff and bluster above, I for one don’t buy into this nonsense about Dr Reilly being self serving at all, if he truly was he would have stayed in his private practice earning a small fortune, instead he decided to stand for election and make his voice count, that’s an honourable trait. The problems within the health service didn’t start within the last year and in fairness to him I think he does have the reforming zeal that’s needed for the health service, where he has fallen down is his failure to communicate properly his ambitions to his own government colleagues and the public, that shows a certain level of political naivety but its hardly a reason to resign. He is faced with cutting certain services in order to get the health budget deficit under control or allowing overspending to continue and have the entire health service go bust. As for Colm Keaveney its a nice bit of play acting on his behalf, increase his profile within Labour and with the public, nothing behind his words though.

• But Reilly is a tax evader yet the media ignore this.

• James to quote you”he does have reforming zeal”.What happened to reforming the consultants contracts,everythough he helped get the rate of pay they enjoy.He tells noone what hes at,despite 130million euro of cuts being announced he pops up to welcome faster boardband.He has 4/5 advisors one of whom lives in the UK.Yes he could have stayed in private practice and i think maybe he should have.Lastly we have a minister with the responsibility of closing public nursing beds,whilst being an investor of private nursing beds.Conflict of interest.Almost forgot listed as a defaultor in Stubbs and subject to a high court order.I think thats all.

• Had FG learned from the mistakes of corporate socialism (Anglo Irish Bank), maybe the outcome would be much different. Today, the Kenny government paid €600 million to Anglo bondholders. Had FG cut the overblown public sector pay, they would not be in such trouble. Instead, Fine Gael increased the expenses allowance to ministers, taxed workers to the ground, and denied the reality.

SF have pledged to tax any government worker earning above €70K – realistic.

• This debate should not be about theGovernment parties taking lumps out of each other, cheap swipes, fighting talk or demands for resignations.
    The Minister for Health, should be allowed do his job and part of that job is to communicate and co-operate in a meaningful way with his colleagues in Government.
    It shouldn’t be about backing him into a corner, but on occasions he doesn’t help himself.
    The Minister knows that home help is the most cost effective and most desirable way of caring for the elderly – so why is he allowing it to be cut further when it is already cut back to the bone?
    These proposed HSE cuts will merely force the elderly into more expensive nursing home and hospital care which is at odds with the cost saving motivation behind the proposals.
    Labour TDs and Senators are merely trying to highlight that these proposed cut backs won’t work, will not result in any real savings and are putting an unfair burden and causing distress for the most vulnerable in our community. We are in Government and must use our influence in a sustained and senisble argument to have these proposed cuts reversed as home help, home care packages, personal assistants and respite care has already taken hefty cuts and these workers are very dedicated; earn every penny they get and always go over and above the call of duty. The clear and collective message from the Cabinet tomorrow has to be hands off the elderly, the disabled and frontline services.

• And if that’s not what they say tomorrow? Will you resign your seat in protest, or just do the usual thing of making disparaging noises and not actually doing anything because every senator and TD knows the same thing – that once TDs are elected, the electorate has no further oversight over government whatsoever until the next general election and by then pensions will have been qualified for and campaign finances will have been rebuilt; and as such, there’s no penalty whatsoever for pretty much any decision made?

• Mr. WHelan,

Your government has no mandate to continue. It’s best to call early elections because the longer you wait the more your support will drop. Your administration has failed miserably and needs to be replaced by an alternative party like SF/Independents/ULA.

• But your happy to defend these cuts to protect the CPA and blame anyone but yourselves for the choices your making.The trioka want their money that is the bottom line.How that is achieved is up to ye guys.At the moment FG are looking after the rich,Labour is looking after the public sector.Seems everyone else,man woman and child can go to hell.Will never waste my vote on labour Again.

• Senator,
      Ignore your detractors above, I don’t think they even read what you said.
      As a nurse of 20 years experience in Australia, UK and Ireland I know what you are saying about the effectiveness of home help, and how much that will save – and how much better it can be for everyone. These cuts are extremely short sighted and will cost more and will cause suffering.
      Reilly is showing either a hideous stupidity, or a extreme lack of backbone in not going after the consultants and the multitude of unnecessary management in the HSE first before trying to make these cuts. And the fact that the new HSE director is getting a 30,000 raise is just rubbing salt into the wounds

• Mr. Harris,

The writing’s on the wall: they have no mandate. I hold a masters in health science for your information. These cuts are extremely short sighted because the FG / LAB government will not address the core issue: PAY. Instead of cuting pay, they shy away and take the easy option. This government is gutless.

—————————————————————————————————————————————————-

In Ireland, consultants earn more than in Germany. The average consultant is paid 60% less in Spain and Greece. Further, the senior staff at the HSE get golden handshakes, gold plated pensions, the list goes on. Labor still want to protect this. The lack of realism among you and your Labor friends merits a change of government to Sinn Fein.

If Sinn Fein win the next election, the HSE fat cats would face pay cuts or tax hikes.

• Who is going to get the chop next? I think Reilly might be a favourite, more info here…

http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?t=12581

• i do not agree that Dr. Reilly should be running our health service. i have a rare syndrome, sharing this thing with my identical twin sister, i sit daily in utter terror watching my basic quality of life going down the swanny, and no, he earns more in Dail Eireann than in the docs surgery, its outrageous these cuts, just outrageous, if we sit idley by we say to our goverment that we accept them. i hope to be at Dail Eireann’s front gates with twin both in our mobilty scooters, but right now both our health is poor and if we can we will get out there and say it as it is. witless frighted twins, one being told ‘you are lucky to get out of the estate three hours a week’ she doesnt drive and is a wheelchair user, get real, do not savage those at the bottom, or, put a gun through my skull Doctor, its easier and less painful.

• we need an experienced caring minister bring back Mary Harney

• That is like saying we need an experienced Finance Minister, bring back Brian Cowen.

Harney left the health service in tatters. Say what is she at now, is she working for her husbands Health sales co.

• They should be cutting the money they are throwing at Universities because they are wasting it on salaries and quangos. They should also cut public sector pay in addition to the bondholder payments they just paid today. If people re-elect Labor and Fine Gael / FF the country will be bankrupt. LEARN FROM YOUR MISTAKES PEOPLE.

• Is that the guy from girl with the dragon tattoo?

Add New Comment