TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Reilly’s position as health minister ‘untenable’, says FF

Micheál Martin accuses James Reilly of hiding behind the HSE board on health cuts, after trying to abolish it last year.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive

FIANNA FÁIL is to consider a Dáil motion of no confidence in the Minister for Health, James Reilly, after the chairman of the Labour Party admitted further cuts to the health sector had left the party preparing for a general election.

Micheál Martin told RTÉ’s This Week programme that he would be discussing Reilly’s performance as health minister when the Dáil returned from its recess in three weeks – and could potentially call for the minister to resign altogether.

Martin was speaking after Labour chairman Colm Keaveney told the Sunday Independent that the latest €130 million of health cuts had been “totally unacceptable” and prompted Labour to prepare for a general election.

“It would be wrong not to prepare for a general election, given the political challenges that lie ahead in the coming year, starting with the Budget,” Keaveney told the Sunday Independent’s Daniel McConnell.

Martin said this statement was “extraordinary”, particularly given the unprecedented majority that the Fine Gael and Labour coalition enjoyed in the Dáil.

“The whole situation around Minister Reilly is destabilising the government and causing considerable division within the government,” Martin said.

Martin also quoted from a pre-election pledge from Reilly, in which he said the day he would close any health service – without providing an adequate replacement – was “the day I’ll walk away, I’ll retire”.

I think it’s now time for him to walk away and retire from the position, to honour and to fulfil a pledge he gave to the people of Ireland before the last general election.

The Fianna Fáil leader added that he had read comments in this morning’s papers outlining how Reilly had “done everything to be divisive and not inclusive” as minister, and noted his reportedly fraught relationship with his junior minister Roisín Shortall who previously refused to declare her confidence in Reilly’s leadership.

He also criticised Reilly for seeking to abolish the HSE board early in his tenure, and appoint a new board which Martin said had less independence – only to now hide behind that board when the agency was forced to announce new funding cuts.

He added that Labour’s position, however, illustrated the “moral bankruptcy” of its stance ahead of the general election, and showed now that it was looking to put its own future ahead of that of the people of Ireland.

Read: Health Minister accused of ‘going into hiding’ as HSE makes cuts

More: Does Roisín Shortall have confidence in James Reilly?

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• Bruce 02/09/12 #

no doubt reilly is ineffective. you would have to question his ability and judgement given his “outside” interests.

that said the bigger issue is the persistent inept performance of kenny and gilmore in particular.

• O’Reilly’s poster in the next general election should read, “nothing done! Didn’t know what to do!”

• Labour will not be saved by walking off in a huff. They are set to be decimated at the next general election. They missed their chance to give the Irish people a real third choice in politics by going into coalition with Fine Gael. They would have been better served forming a strong opposition and biding their time. “Gilmore for Taoiseach” never seemed further away.

• I said it at the start that they will be thrown under the bus for FG, just like the PDs and Greens for FF. Iv voted labour, but I won’t in future.

• Decimate has a particular meaning

• I agree. I voted for Labour candidate who is local and to be honest they have blown it. They should have stayed out as you say and bid their time but i think the damage is done but who knows the Irish electorate. They are the most fickle I have ever seen. Things have happened in this country that I would never have thought possible. I mean who knows. Maybe if they get out now they might be forgiven. If they pull the plug they can try to salvage something from the whole sad mess. To be honest i really have no loyalties. Its an open field now as far as i can see. Who are the alternatives like.

• We have a labour candidate in Wicklow that I wouldnt recognise her if I saw her in the street…… Speaks volumes about what they’ve done. She just couldnt arsed even pretending to do anything….

• Labour have destroyed themselves by breaking all their promises and by betraying the Irish People.

It’s too late for yet another u-turn.

Gilmore for Taoiseach? My hole.

• I knew there was something up when Pat Rabbitte said on Matt Cooper show “if the government make it into next year” or something very close to it, this he quickly corrected.

Is this the beginning of the end? Are we ready for more sh1te talk about Labours way bla bla bla.

Get Reilly out and if the government is still intact get someone in who is no afraid to take on the health service head on, and I don’t mean from the bottom up but from the very top down.

• To do that you need someone will take on Labour/Unions.

• Mary Harney had to concede to the unions to get the HSE established in the first place and allow all the duplication of roles. The long term objective was correct. Now Reilly is tearing down the structure which is beginning to deliver.

What is need now is somebody who will go in and complete this reform. 60% of the admin jobs need to be slashed and the front line needs to be increased and reinforced.

• The HSE should never have been set up, it’s as simple as that.

• @ Arjun: And what would you have had instead of the HSE? Keeping the existing structures where there were several health authorities – all with their own separate management and admin functions.

On paper the HSE was a good idea. However in practice it has turned into a nightmare, partly because as Michael notes the compromises which the unions demanded which meant that many staff whose jobs should have been axed were kept on when the amalgamation took place.

• Ah… Labour must have completed their campaign to get their chums & cronies onto state boards and the law benches. I Think it takes about two years for a sitting TD to qualify for a pension

• Of course there’s no mention from Labour of the €8 million that the citizens of this state will pay this month to unsecured bondholders at Bank of Ireland where Minister Reilly has defaulted on loans of €1.9 million.

Perhaps Mick Wallace might suggest that he apportion half his Dail salary to repay it!

• Oh I love ministerial resignations. The drama lol. That hogan gob shite should resign to!!

• The whole thing is a catastrophe. Parties bicker and point the finger of blame and they maybe right he is probably an incompetent Minister but you know what the greatest tragedy in all this? The greatest injustice is the impact on those who are sick. on the disabled and the old. In short the most vulnerable people in Irish society have to face more suffering and long waiting lists and even possibly an early grave. This is totally wrong and it is tragic and no matter who is to blame politicians are milking this issue now not to alleviate the suffering of these people but to score points and blame each other. For Gods sake think of the impact and the pain ye are causing the citizens of this country who worked hard to build it up and did their share in community and society. Its beyond me now the way this whole mess is flaring up again and the same innocent people will feel the pain not the politicians who can well afford private health care and they will never depend on the HSE for anything. Only us the poor fools who have no choice have to face a disintegrating health service.

• During the boom health spending went from 4 billion to 14 billion and services got worse.

You can only blame the staff they run this mess and that extra 10 billion went into arse pockets.

• Chris, I agree with you,
      But also, the cuts this incompetent twit of a minister wants to make wont even save money, except in the immediate short term. These cuts will not only end up in much suffering for the vulnerable but will end up costing a lot more in the long run.

• The illusion of choice always seems to satisfy the electorate, unfortunately reilly and labours sucessors will dish out more of the same, perhaps a bit more polished, just puppets for berlin to make sing and dance. This country will cease functioning before the people stand up for themselves.

• I’m not a fan of Reilly at all but Labour are being completely hypocritical on this one. They’re in government. They know that Reilly has a limited budget to play with and there’s no way they would be prepared to break the Croke Park agreement as they’re the party of the unions. So what exactly do they expect the Health Minister to do? The savings need to come from somewhere. They’ve allowed the taxpayer carry a burden of debt that they did not create. They’ve raised taxes on people that are struggling already and imposed cuts on some of most vulnerable in departments with Labour Ministers (Social Welfare, education etc.). However, they refuse to even consider making redundant a lot of the bureaucrats within our public sector that we don’t need and they refuse to consider cutting the pay of some of our higher paid public sector workers because of an unfair agreement entered into with their union friends by the last government.

• The real reason the hse is behind budget is that Reilly cooked the books before the budget he counted savings on drug cost and revenue from private bed occupation charges as coming in early this year but actually never enacted the legislation required to action the initiatives. The hse is over budget because in reality it is dependant on government policy to make operational decisions ie demand led service entitlement etc. it is hamstrung by an incompetent government not the staff. The minister can try to wash his hands of it and blam inefficiencies the reality is it is his incompetence

• James Reilly as IMO Chief negotiated the present contracts he hasn’t the political will to cut their pay as he told the consultants on October 8th last year that they would be saved from wage cuts . Last Friday he blamed high salaries for the cause of health cuts whilst doing nothing about the salaries . The Dail should be re-called early to discuss the crisis in the health service and Minister Reilly’s handling of it .

• Micheal Martin. The man who set up the HSE so he could hide behind it. The man who refused to meet or in any way engage with the victims of barbaric medical treatments in Louth.

A man who was noted for refusing to take decisions in the Dept. and who cost us billions in wasted revenue.

Sorry here Micheal I’m no fan o’Reilly and his hubris but I’m not going to let a shi7 house rat like you tell that bluebottle fly that they are unhygienic.

Now why don’t you run along back down the hole that you came from, Bertie needs a cup of tea.

• Fianna Fáil is not relevant. They are not a real opposition party.

Reilly is a terrible politician and Fine Gael will never get my vote – but Michaél Martin wants you to forget that the party he leads are the ones who destroyed this country. It’s because of him and people like him that the government needs to make cuts. He just wants your votes so he can do it all again, and if you pick Fianna Fáil next time, you deserve the mess we’re in. That snake using the words “moral bankruptcy” makes me sick.

• People keep saying how Labour will be decimated in the next election. That’d mean something if there was another choice, but in this democracy, we only get to vote for the other dictator. We need a voters strike where if there’s less than a 40% turnout, the government can be called illigit and we’ll have direct democracy until someone other than that obese, scruffy looking ‘minister’ shows up.

• Labour should have known if you go to bed with the dogs you get up with the fleas,,, they are now Infested.

• Having seen the entitlements he is letting the public servants keep like an 800 euro tool allowance per year and 1.75 euro per day to eat lunch at your desk, an allowance of €3,087 a year to meat inspectors to compensate for the smell in meat factories and bone meal plants, Department of Environment: an eating on-site allowance of €988 a year where canteen facilities are not available I never thought would say this but maybe It’s time for Sien Fien to have a go at this. At least you know they wont back down. I was in Naas hospital last night as my mother had taken ill. The nurse’s when i asked how long until she saw a doctor told me there are people here since 2pm on Friday still on trolleys that haven’t seen a doctor. I took a picture on my phone of my mothers trolley against a door with a large sign saying, Do not block this door with trolleys as it is a fire risk. Seeing how short staffed they are and then reading how they have let them keep these intitlement I am disgusted and I hope the people who make thee false claims feel ashamed. My partner also works for the HSE in a department which has been slaughtered by cuts. I think we are at the point now where the unions should be seen as a threat to the health of people like my mother. The look on my fathers face trying to deal with that last night is something i wont forget

• Chuck I know what its like to see someone in pain abandoned on a trolley and i was one myself last January. I will never forget it. There were times in pain when I wanted to shoot myself to it was so bad and not one nurse offered to help me. Now I normally stick up for nurses but that night in A and E limerick must have had the most heartless gang ever. It was a woman in the waiting room pleading with them to help me who did more than any staff. The ambulance staff totally ignored me and never even took a blood pressure. My partner can vouch for this after being told to stop wasting their time on the phone. I ended up 9 days in hospital with Pancreatitis. Never forget the whole experience and all I can say is God help anyone who has to go to A and E now. Be ready for Trauma.

• Mary Harney just about held the HSE together by being able to make the hard calls, Reilly is just a shill for consultants and HSE bigwigs.

• Good riddance Reilly

• So people have you learned from the mistakes of voting FG / FF / LAB?

• Says the party that allowed Mary Harney to stay in the position for as long as she did.
    Don’t get me wrong I’m not defending O’Reilly, or the rest of the FG/LAB shower, but any criticism FF throws at the government rings hollow after their apocalyptic tenure.

• In fairness, Harney was a lot better than Reilly.

• If fairness she was not, she had a vast budget, no restraints and made the health service in to a crony staffed monster. She vastly increased the salary of consultants, out of line completely with international norms. Private hospitals were gifted state lands for a pittance.

I’d say Harney was the worst Minister for Health we had in a long time, even worse than Mickey Martin and thats saying something.

• AND she ate all the pies

• Arjun, do you seriously believe that Harney had no restraints? Her vision for the HSE was completely ruined by FF’s and the unions’ insistence that there were no job losses within the new structure. Despite your assertion that she had an unlimited about of cash to play with, the truth was that the budget was mainly taken up with paying staff, a lot of whom were duplicating roles as they couldn’t be made redundant following the dismantling of the old health board structure. Also, one of Mary Harney’s greatest legacies will be the reforms she made in terms of cancer care and her insistence on a model that focused on centres of excellence and the best results in terms of survival rates. Again, she was restrained by local interests and TDs from both opposition parties and FF who were more concerned about election results than improved cancer care.

• No matter how much I dislike Reilly’s way of handling things, as soon as FF starts to open their mouth I tent to look at the opposite. That party and it’s former ministers should be in jail, not Leinster house…

• Michael Martin. When is he going to go away for good. FF will only have a chance when the hangers on are gone. The man has no credibility.

• Eski 02/09/12 #

Is there anyone out there that can do a better job?

• Out of all the government ministers that should resign, I don’t think this is one nor at the very least should this be the issue that causes him to fall on his own sword tbh. He is a Minister of Health in a government that is dealing with the worse economic crisis of our time, having taken over from a Fianna Fail government that put us into this unholy mess. He has also inherited a post that was left in another unholy state by Martin and his Fianna Fail colleagues.

Is that sufficient? No, but he is having to insist that the HSE meets its budgetary requirements that it so far hasn’t. So either the HSE sets a budget with tough cuts on the elderly and less well off or he brings up the hot potato of an issue – dealing with the unions and the big wages they have. He has indicated that in order to tackle the unions and wages than Croke Park needs to be re-negotiated. This causes Labour to step in and say “Absolutely not, we draw the line firmly here” all because they don’t want to ruffle the Unions feathers.

Which is more important, Labour? Protecting the Unions and the big wigs in the public service or letting the government take them onto make greater improvements and savings in the public sector so that cuts and savings wont need to hit the less well off? Should the elderly, the disabled, and hospitals suffer just because Labour want to protect their buddies? Labour, for the first time, are sticking to their guns: Touch the unions and we walk.

I also think there is great hypocrisy on theJournal. This is what people having been calling for – those who can take a hit, should take a hit. Yet, when a government Minister proposes just that, people are calling for his head!

• God forgive me but I have to agree with that. The wages are out of all order, especially those on more than 50k a year.

That said I don’t trust FG to apply them same medicine across segments of society. FG has its own cosseted and well to do friends that are being protected at great cost to us all.

• @ Kevin

If I hired someone to turn around my tanker sales and the best the could do after 1 year is blame their predecessor, I’d fire them. In this world unlike how Blueshirts prefer to think there are winners and losers. You either produce results or you’re fired.

• Tommy C 02/09/12 #

FF really need to remember who caused the f*ck up in the first place and remember that the HSE was one of their members babies. Time for FF, FG and Labour to do one!

• Look at FF’s most vocal defenders in Social Media and traditional media. Look at the work and the jobs that have out of it, from stints in Europe, Govt. adviser roles, little pick me ups along the way. Most of the FF’ers that are still in that group at this stage, have skin in the game. It is a business decision for them, their the smooth sales men of the party. The rest genuinely believe that their party is somehow the same as that of Lemass ete, the deluded group that support them because of the civil war.

Either way FF are still as big a threat to good and honest govt. and this country as they have ever been over the last 40 years.

• So if people display how they dispise what FF done to our country,they’re labelled “Looney”by a FF supporter,i’m shocked.

• So today is the day that the ordinary FF hacks come back out from under their rocks and attempt to rejoin the great debate. I don’t want any FF supporters to think for a moment that the Irish voter has forgotten what you have done to this country. We don’t want your lies and corruption any more.

• Michael 02/09/12 #

When will the day FINALLY come that the government just gets out of healthcare?

And please statists, don’t come at me with your “then boo-hoo the corporate healthcare companies will charge me for healthcare”

Let’s bring personal responsibility to the table. Look after yourself and stop depending on a useless corrupt state to try and run a monstrosity of a bureaucracy.

• limofax 02/09/12 #

You should be a certain Tea Party.

• limofax 02/09/12 #

*at

• Michael 02/09/12 #

How about just the Logic Party.

I’m tired of this “Tea Party” label, and lebelling in general. It’s just a cop out for people like you to attempt to refute a comment with an ad hominem attack.

How about common sense and a bit of cop-on.

We’ll end up having this argument for the next 100 years, about the latest bureaucrat that will skim off the surface and do a horrible job.

There’s no tea party going on where I am, but then again if I was at one, we’ll be sure to invite you.

• Let’s all blame Fianna Fail when will people open there eyes and realise we are 18 months into a new government, FG and Lab promised real change new politics but what have we got but lies and blame FF, they need to take some responsibility for there actions not anybody else’s, Micheal Martin is perfectly right to challenge the health minister because he has made a complete shambles of his portfolio since coming in. FG and Lab are in government now not FF so cop the hell onto yourselves.

• Oliver. Still busy as Chair of your local FF c.d.c.?. Keep active, good for body and soul, if not pocket.

It will take at least 20 years to undo the damage that the criminals and traitors in your party have done to this country. That pair of gobsheens, the 2 Brians between them as Minister’s for Finance left the state spending 2 Euro for every 1 taken after an orgy of spending and doling out state cash to friends and donors.

Look there is nothing wrong with being loyal to your party but put you country first occasionally.

• The arrogance of you, to come on here like FF were not to blame for giving birth to the position we are in now. Slither on back into your basket, forget about FF ever gaining any respect ever again and get over yourself. FF are no better than FG, worse to say the least. The day the Irish people wipe out FF/FG, will be the greatest day on earth and the most intelligent we’ll ever do.Then we can go on to wipe out, SF/Labour and the Socialists!

• Reilly is clearly incompetent however the words from the Labour Party’s Leader, Chairman and numerous TDs are utterly sickening as it is their insistence on protecting the Croke Park Agreement that is putting the salaries of their well paid union buddies before the lives of sick and vulnerable citizens.

How many will have to die before the Labour Party allow the renegotiation clause to be triggered?

James Connolly must be spinning in his grave at the betrayal of his ideals.

• Arjun
    My comments on here are my own that is why I didnt sign as secretary of North Navan Cumann a position I am proud to hold as well as that of Secretary of Navan West CC for FF.
    Have you any political affiliation .

• Looneys haha

• Michael 02/09/12 #

Yes, I’ll blame Fianna Fail, as would most of the commentators here

I’m tired of all of ye collectively as politicians.

But you know what’s worse that the current state of Irish politics? The tremendous apathy and emigration that has gone with it.

Shame on all of us.

• @Norman looneys was referred to the guys who post on here who are not man enough to identify themselves but hide behind pseudo names, I’m proud of what position i hold as local CDC chairperson, I show my face and will not hide behind a false name.

• As i told another poster this week,i’m not hiding behind a false name or avatar.But calling others names because you disagree with them invalidates any comment you make.

• I work in a public job. i’m in sales. I have to deal with people in my territory who are from every spectrum of the shade. That is why I don’t have a photo up, it is also because I wasn’t arsed when I set this up.

As you can imagine I have no respect for what you think or do or feel about that, or anything. I’m proud to be an Irishman and I will not let your crowd keep us in the gutter for personal gain or ignorance.

Add New Comment