TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Poll: Does Ireland’s EU presidency matter to you?

Ireland formally begins its six-month stint leading the Council of the EU today. How do you feel about it?

Ruby Nealon, 4, attending a ceremony at Dublin Castle yesterday to mark Ireland's EU presidency, and the 40th anniversary of Ireland joining the EEC.
Image: Laura

THE TURN of the year means changes in the administrative working of the European Union – with Ireland taking over at the helm of the Council of the European Union.

The six-month presidency will see Irish ministers taking the chair in meetings of their EU counterparts, and will see a number of summits held in Ireland.

Ireland hopes to use its term to focus on the issues of youth unemployment and economic revival, and to fight for a revised deal on its banking debts.

However, in the post-Lisbon era, the Presidency is a little less important – because the most important ministerial meetings, like the summits of EU heads of government and of Eurozone finance ministers, now have permanent chairpersons anyway.

So, as we begin our 181 days leading the Council, we’re asking: Does Ireland’s EU presidency matter to you?

Poll Results:

Read: EU flag raised above Dublin Castle

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• It should, but it doesn’t.

• Exactly, it should but it doesn’t

• I cant get my head around how the government are going to get a deal on the bank debt that they have fought tooth and nail to pay back every penny….. One those two is another Fianna Gaelabour Party lie… But which one will be crucial. Are kenny and co fighting for a debt deal or a job for themselves in the eu pig trough after their removal from office….

• MVM 01/01/13 #

We only got the post because enda bent over for them..more to the point how dare that little cur have the tri colour removed from Dublin castle and hoist that insult of a eu flag in its place

• To be fair, we got the post because it’s rotated.

The 27 countries are split into two groups – one of ‘big’ nations (any with a population larger than the Netherlands) and one of ‘small ones’. It’s rotated in alphabetical order, with two small countries and one big one.

The alphabetical order is determined by each country’s name in its own native language. The last president was Cyprus (‘Kypros’ in Greek); after us are Lithuania, Latvia and Luxembourg.

• alan 01/01/13 #

I love Europe I mean all the nice people love Ireland we need Austerity, it’s what we were meant for. Ireland loves suffering, we were built for it,more tax please in 2013 :)

• What can we possibly achieve in six months? It seems more of a symbolic role than one with any real clout. Hope I’m wrong

• I suppose I should be interested.To be honest I think I will wait for the box set to come out.

• it doesn’t, &
      it shouldn’t.

• Absolutely no….what diffrence is it going to make? Raising our profile is fine if it gets a long, long overdue deal on the souverign debt but with this crowd in charge that’s not going to happen. You had Lucinda Cretin on the news last night acting like we should be lying prostrate at Dublin airport when the great and the wonderful arrive. Waste of money we don’t have.

• And Enda Kenny on the radio this morning saying we should treat all our visitors like V.I.Ps . What about me and mine.

• You dont count Maura… They already raped you for every penny you have…. They want you as bait so they can rape your cousins, siblings and friends from abroad now…. I’ve sent word to every one I know abroad to keep away from this country for as long as possible… The 4 million people here supporting european banks is enough…

• @charlie, prepare for weak rebuttal from the sycophantic lapdogs

• Sheep more like…. Funny sheep too… They are getting sh*gged just as badly as the rest us but they still tow the party line…. Hard to believe how many educated stupid people we have in this country really.

• So basically your telling people not to come spend money in this country because you dont like where the taxes spent go … Well sir when your jobless homeless and the counrty is in a worse state than it currently is we have the like of you. Making te bad situation worse. .. Congrats your adding to the damage … Kind of suits you least youll always have something to moan and be bitter about well done

• Treat them like VIP’s… Ehhh will we hide the dole q’s and shut the newspapers up as well as the visitors pass and party in “Utopia”.
      Don’t worry kenny ,we’ll banish all the people that are complaining and let the “VIP’s” think you and your decietful shower are liked.
      Jeasus Christ how detached are they.

• @Charlie have you ever watched Capitalism: A Love Story by Michael Moore? there is a priest talking about the power of propaganda, he points out how it persuades the victims of a corrupt system to uphold the the very thing that victimises them, this is blatantly obvious to anyone with the ability to think independently

• Same old same old Charlie. Keep up the good work…

• Have you not benifited from capitilism peasant no????

• i have indeed Jay, i have absolute faith in enterprise and believe there is nowhere near enough being done to support local enterprise here, quite the opposite in fact, small business is taxed and regulated to bits here, my objection is to big business controlling government, which it does and its wrong, do you know why? ill spell it out for you then, big business controls government to one end only, to look out for its own interest i.e. to make as much money as possible from as many people with no regard to society

• That old news big business generate huge job allocationa which generate huge taxes in wages thats been unfortunatly the way its been since long before our time .. All big businesses began as a small business so whats you answer when a business is getting big tax it down to a small business so we can controll its impact ?????

• see theres your believer in propaganda, the truth is that small business in ireland generates vastly more tax income and supplies a lot more jobs than ‘big business’, also, not all big businesses start off small, unless you consider multi million capital investment as small, and no thats not my answer, my answer is to not allow a minority of rich elites and corporations to control government, i said nothing about taxing big businesses, i mentioned supporting small businesses, can you not read?

• I like the idea of capitalism mainly because i feel if i was to work hard enough i could become as sucessful as possible and wealthy and theres plenty of storys to prove it. I just dont see why big business ad government sare where u always have the issues .. Im interested in knowing Whats your alternative?

• like ive said twice, big business should not be allowed to interfere with government, whats so hard to understand about that? its an ethics issue, not an economic one, if you want to allow big business to do whatever it like regardless of the consequence, i guarantee you that your mid-atlantic ideal of the american dream would not save you from slavery

• The more sucessfull they are the more they will have influence in the government thats the way it is i dont fully agree with it but that how it works governments need them and they need the governments. And if it generates alot of jobs in this country and keeps people off the dole so be it

• so you agree with me then

• Revolting, you’ve a lot of energy. How about you put some of it into improving your own situation and achieve a good life for you and yours? Better than fighting shadowy forces…

• im doing a leaving cert in 1 year instead of 2, 6 honours subjects, got 5 a’s and a b in my xmas exams, is that improving enough for you?

• O'Reilly 01/01/13 #

Good for you. But why bother?

• why do you bother getting up in the morning?

• Revolting, just trying to understand your motives. You’re all doom and gloom on the one hand but would appear to have aspirations on the other. On another thread last week you said you weren’t working and had no intention either while this Gov were in power…I suppose its easier to bitch and moan and hide behind conspiracy shite than actually join the rest of us out here trying to turn things around…

• Hahaha its hard for him to get a job when the fight against “THE MAN” is still going strong

• you see o’reilly thats a typical response to a blinkered, right wing, fg supporter, i am planning on getting a degree and leaving because of people like you, i wont work in this country untill they stop repaying this false debt, it translates directly to theft and i will never support it, having worked for 20 years, and paying almost 400k in tax i am now reclaiming some of my contribution, i am not all doom and gloom and naturally anti-government, but i am a realist, and in this country we have never had a government with any intelligence since i was old enough to vote, we needed one in the last election, fg and labour had an amazing opportunity to show real leadership and deserve a place in history, instead we got the usual nest lining con-men with their blind sheep for followers

• Stay for the welfare stary for the education then leave when you get what you want ….. Sounds like ur in it all for urself kind like everythjng you harp on about with whats wrong woth our current government … Would expect nothing less

• maybe you missed the part where i paid almost 400k in tax jay, but then you arent the brightest spark are you? i spent 3 years looking for work before i went back to school, cant win with you people, i will leave after my education after paying for countless others, and with no qualms either

• Do you want a medal for contributing to your country via taxes 400k in 20 years big deal theres plenty of people me included paying tax now and have no problem but unlike you im not in it for what i can get out of it so you sit in ur social housing on ur 188 quid a week and educate yourself for free and plan ur trip out of here while real people work to get the country back to a stable footing ..

• how so? no jobs… 3 years looking for one, thanks for all your hard work :)

• Revolting, not blinkered. In fact, I couldn’t give a damn what bogey corporation has what Gov in their pocket. I work hard, pay my way. Paying your way too actually. Best of luck with your education but I suspect the world is passing you by while you rail against the machine…

• well you can pay the thieves all you want, more fool you, its not for me now, and by the way, i get €298 a week not €188, just thought id mention that in case you were feeling sorry for me

• Wouldnt expect anything diff from you

• and i suppose your education was free then? the building was heated by magic and the teachers didnt need to be paid, i had no opportunity for education past 14 so i deserve one as much as you or anyone else in this country

• Ive no problem wit anyone being educated in this country i actually think more should be done to educated people further from the tax payers money But the like of you fights against the very system your scabbing from and im not claimin that people on the dole are scabbing but people like you certainly are

• how am i different? i worked all my adult life until the economic collapse, havnt been able to find any work despite moving 3 times in my search, then i went back to school, how am i scabbing more than someone else? its the political system i abhor, not the welfare one, so if you are going to make an idiotic accusation like you usually do can you at least try and explain its relevance?

• Both systems go hand in hand

• as usual you fail to address the point jay, i suppose i should show a bit more sympathy, its not your fault…

• Answer my question how can you be so critical of the government and the system when the very system that you have a problem with is the one feeding you ans housing you with your 298 per week while your being educated not to improve your life ere and contrabute back but to get out of here

• ill answer your points when you answer mine jay, also if you cannot see the difference between a political and welfare system there’s no point in discussing current affairs with you as you clearly do not have the cerebral ability to do so

• If our opposition parties were any good it would be a great oppurtunity to show the rest of Europe that we want a referendum on banking debt as it was totally unconstitutional to place private debts on a nation

• An excellent opportunity to have large scale protests and strikes…shut down the country when the Goldman Saches appointed “leaders” arrive for talks.

• It should matter, and normally would matter, but as the person representing us is not at all an able one, let alone a capable one, it does not matter in the slightest!

• How important is it. Try and name the last 3 countries that had the EU presidency. There is your answer.

• I would like to know who is picking up the tab for

* garda overtime
    * hotel accommodation
    * meals
    * conference costs
    * travel

I think its all down to us – the Irish public who have just swam through another dreadful year of cut backs and taxes and another awful budget.

Is this going to benefit the ordinary joe soap or cost us? That is my question … and I think I know the answer … cost us … again

• Huge waste of money.Just more debt for us..Five star hotels,and general shite talk once more.Who will take any heed of puppets anyway.

• Garda budgets used for escorting/security
    Streets closed off, kenny and his bunch bleeting on how good it is for Ireland.
    I would like to think it would be good but in their hands I seriously doubt it.

• Mike
      Are you seriously suggesting that we provide no Garda escort for visiting EU Leaders? I thought recently you had lost the plot but now I am certain of it.

• Ahh the Troll is awake.
      As I said yesterday and judging from the red thumbs you accumilate “nobody really gives a bit of slurry what you think “.
      Have you not got ” I support kennys lies” banners to make .

• Why is he a troll? Because his opinion differs toy yours and he asked you a question? Do you know what a troll is?

• Morgan,I know well what a troll is and he/she fits the discription only too well.
      The poster likes nothing better than stalking and bullying and indeed making snide fun of people behing a false identity (just one of many)
      I have no objection in a person having differing views,in fact I welcome them and try understand their views.
      In fact I am the first to eat humble pie and apologise if I am wrong or unwittingly offend.
      This stalker trolls every thread that may contain any refrences to his “glorious leader”.
      I hope my reply is accepted in the manner it is intended and that is friendly and courtious.

• Not with a weak govt at the helm to do nothing more than use it to make vague speeches about hope…Enda “hope” is just a lukewarm concept that temporarily distracts people from a lack of action and you’ve already overused & underdelivered your share there!

• Let’s see these charlatans get us a deal . . .

• To those people thinking that we can get a deal on our debt then I’m afraid that you are in for a big disappointment. Chairing a meeting means that you are supposed to be impartial and these meetings are about European business, not Irish debt. This is a chance for all the FG/Lab Quislings to fly around the country with Garda escorts shunting the little people out of the way as the “VIP’s” go about on VIP European business. All the EU ministers will come to Ireland and thank Kenny for welcoming them to the Irelandworld Theme Park where the EU ministers can frolic and dine at the taxpayers expense. Think State visit except that this time Kenny gets to play the Queen.

Already Kenny has kicked off the merriment with typical Irish humor by saying that the Irish Presidency will be about “Stability, Growth and Jobs”. You can just imagine the normally straight faced Germans pissing themselves laughing in the back ground. “Ya Hans for sure! Zat Kenny ist ein uber-Joker! No matter how many times he or his party tell zat joke , ze Irish fall for it every time!” Of course the real reason that the Germans are here is that they heard there is a pot o’ gold under every rainbow in Ireland and if this is true then how can they , sorry Herr Noonan, can put a tax on it in

• Have the Government not enough work to do without playing along with this farce.

• Yes. More 24 hour duties :(

• I’m sorry, but my cynicism runneth over these days. The EU is just one huge pig trough of a hole now, for all the has been MP’s/Td’s and other political grey coats. They pander to the powers that be in Brussels/Strasbourg, in order to feather their greedy nests still further……ringing in my ears is Enda Kenny’s quote before the election, ‘Not one more cent to the bondholders’ ….! I’ve nothing more to say, except my fathers conviction, and now my own, is that A) you never see a poor politician, B) they are only in it to line their own pockets, and C) even if they don’t get returned to office, a substantial majority seem to be ‘gifted’ handy unelected jobs, within the political community.

• Peter
      Sometimes people have a dream like state even when they’re awake and this can be a result of illness or drugs. This may be why you keep hearing The Taoiseach saying , over and over in your mind , those words……” not another cent “.
      Just to try and help you could I advise that this voice you keep hearing is not real. In fact Peter its completely imagined. Does that help. Look, let me try harder. Those word you keep hearing were never uttered by Mr Kenny at any time in the past. Someone else said it during a TV interview and he confirmed after that this was only a personal opinion and not Party Policy.
      I hope that helps with your voices issue.

• two things kenny did say paddy/michael collin/rodgers
      ‘it is immoral to tax a persons home’
      ‘a nation cannot tax its way out of recession’
      self obsession its a terrible auld disease

• Poor Michael still trying to defend an inept, lying, self serving gombeen gravy train government. How’s that new job working out for you? Kenny say he’ll sort you out for a big boys job in Europe. Your posts are so very tiresome. I only hope Kenny and Gilmore have patients for you.

• Enda Kenny didn’t make any such quote so I’m not sure how it can be ringing in your ears.

The statement is attributed to Leo Varadkar. And actually the statement is constantly misquoted by anti-government people to suit their agenda. The policy was the no more money would be paid BEYOND THAT ALREADY AGREED UNDER THE BAILOUT TERMS. To do anything else was to default on our debt and that was not Fine Gael policy at the last election.

And by the way that is exactly what has happened. NO MORE MONEY HAS BEEN PAID BEYOND WHAT WAS ALREADY AGREED. Of course most people don’t want to accept that or even hear that and I’m sure I’ll get plenty of red thumbs here (not that I care) for stating it but the facts are the facts no matter how much you try to twist them.

• I know its a rotation system so the timing is a bit comical.
    What bothers me is the mentality of our leaders. Its very dependent on outside influences solving our problems.
    Im convinced just like with the ridiculous articles on how we “made our nation proud with our fans at euro 2012″
    we are still only looking at how we can be “liked” by europe so they’ll give us some more financial assistance.

Don’t get me wrong, that is the reality thanks to crazy bailout negotiating a few years ago. But the hard yards need to be earned at home in political, electoral, and public sectoral reform. (that really means a higher income tax rate for the highest earners, not cuts for all)
    We don’t need to be presidents of Europe to clean our own back yard.

Give a man a fish or teach a man to fish? We and our leaders should be teaching ourselves to be better here in Ireland not Europe.

• Absolutly….no

• Guarantee the visiting ministers will ensure that the crippling budget to come December 2013 is as harsh and as devastating to the populace as possible. The next 181 days should be sponsored by Vaseline cause Kenmore are bending over more than usual to take a good rogering…..

• No

• However, in the post-Lisbon era, the Presidency is a little less important – because the most important ministerial meetings, like the summits of EU heads of government and of Eurozone finance ministers, now have permanent chairpersons anyway. Thats the wee bit you have to worry about,this Eu is a dictatorship.What Hitler couldn,t do with tanks and guns,these gangsters are doing with a pen and paper.Wake up the lot of ye or your agree to your own doom.

• I am in limbo not sure if it does matter or should it matter.

• It’s costing us €66 million for the privilege. That money wasted could have restored the carers respite grant and made child benefit cuts far less severe. It’s typical of the right wing bastards that run this place, in that they’d rather spend our money on fancy hotels and big receptions, when ordinary decent people are struggling to survive.

• Let’s never do anything again Rodrigo. Let’s sit on our arses till it all passes…

• If that’s the case our government should have said “thanks but no thanks we would rather send the money on our people” that would have been the good European thing to do. But jobs for the lads in Europe later are calling.

• Yes a lot in that I’m a big eurosceptic and don’t like the way in which this so called equal block of countries is going. The presidency is more like a check up to make sure we’re doing things ‘the right way’ for Europe, it makes it look like we’re actually achieving something when were not!

• the whole EU is a project dreamed up by German and French pen pushers. The whole reunification malarkey was done so the German war mongers wouldn’t go apeshit again and start doing what they do best.

• Exactly and for that reason it was a success! Whether we like it of not, in the entire history of Europe, there has never been a time of peace that has lasted this long. And as a direct result, while in the current climate it mightn’t feel like it but there has never been a time of such prosperity.

• Doing what they do best? You can say that about every European country. Have you read any European history beyond the last 100 years? Nearly every country in Europe was at each others throats throughout history some wars were big some were small, and some countries like Italy and Ireland were once made up of smaller territories which fought each other. The 55 years after the Napolionic wars was the longest period Europe went without a war before now.

• I really don’t think we can equate any previous wars to what happened in ww1 and ww2. If the whole aim of Europe was to never see a war like what was witnessed in ww1/2 and to provide peace and stability on the continent, then it can’t be argued, it was a success. All I know is that as lord Mountbatten said “if the Third World War is fought with nuclear weapons, the fourth will be fought with bows and arrows”. I am happy to support Europe if it stops another world war

• Sooner were out of the EU madhouse the better. Iceland,Norway and Switzerland are doing better than us.reintroduce articles 47 & 48 of 1922 Irish Free State constitution which gave power to the Irish people and curtailed the power of the political classes.

• And how will you replace the credit that the ECB are currently providing our banks and which is about the only thing keeping them afloat? Or do you just expect them to continue to do so even after we leave?

• Jim,
      Re issue the old pre decimal currency with 240 pence in the pound.swiss locked their currency at 1.20 against all world so it can’t be attacked by speculators and the Swiss are running out of deposit boxes to handle the influx of money. We can’t we be the same with control of our fishing oil and gas reserves all nationalised.

• Biggest damn mistake Ireland has made since the partition treaty that and gettin rid o the punt n adoptin the euro. We’ve lost control of our nations right to choose its own destiny n put our future in the hands o nations like germany, u know the volks who gave us two world wars n the holocaust. We should tell the eu to piss off n take back our right to choose what we want not a bunch o neo nazis!

• +1

• Adam 01/01/13 #

lold

Imperialism in Europe gave “us” two World Wars.
      Antisemitism along the rise of Nazism and Fascism gave us the holocaust.

• Blaming Germany for starting World War I is definitely the most eyebrow raising comment so far in 2013!!
      What we could learn from WWI though is the punitive damages placed on Germany, and what that lead to.
      There’s an argument that our leaders should be constantly fighting on our behalf for a fairer deal that doesn’t cripple us long term. I’m not hopeful though.

• And Godwin’s Law is still in effect.

Can we not debate the issues without calling each other Nazis? Merkel and co. are not, repeat not, Neo-Nazis. You may disagree with them but it does not make them Nazis. It diminishes the force of your argument when you bandy around words as if they have no meaning.

I hate accusations of racism, as I am sure that you did not mean your comment to be interpreted this way. But if I was a German I would be deeply insulted at the casual implication that German politicians can be referred to as Neo-Nazis in an ad-hoc fashion.

I’m not saying that your underlying point is invalid. I don’t agree with all the aspects of it but its certainly worth debating. But please try and express the argument in a way that respects other people and does justice to your own ideas.

Happy New Year

• People are just so annoyed at the complacency and deciept shown by our “so called” leaders and the constant beating down of “difficult decisions” made by people that earn wages that most of us couldn’t even imagine.
      People (myself included) are hitting out at anything in desperate hope of finding a soft spot that will inflict some pain and let these smug,self serving leeches see that we are mortally wounded.
      We say things out of character and use it as a scatter approach.

• David,
      Maybe people feel with FG have become the financial version of the neo nazi’s financial Germanic purity division aka Frankfurt’s Gestapo.FG in place the neo nazi’s are back with financial tools to control Europe to suit a germanic financial purity paradigm.

• To be honest i dont give a rats a##e anymore these so called politicans bring the worst out in me with there constant promises and lies.
    Criminals in suits

• It doesn’t mean a lot to most people in the Country because at the end of the day all most people are interested in is “what will do for me?”

• It only matters to me because it’s going to cost us money

• Yes of course it matters because we are going to be subjected to a year of spin and guff with Enda parading around like a peacock in the deluded belief that his position is safe for the year.
    Spin doctors please note it’s not.

• makes no differnce it’s not like we’re going to bring them on tours of dole offices and ghosts estates to houses that have cut in respite allowance where we have parents n their sixtyand seventy looking after their children

• If it can be used to get a better financial deal , it will matter a lot

• it cant be

• EU rules state that the country hosting the presidency is not allowed to push their own national agenda. So in other words by hosting it any potential deal on bank debt is going to be delayed by 6 months. That means an unnecessary 6 extra months of cuts in the health service. Therefore hosting this farce is not in Ireland’s national interest, we should have just passed the ball to the next country and got on with negotiating a bank debt deal. The whole thing is a farce because we all now know that the EU is not a democracy- Germany and France rule the roost and the rest of us have to tow the line.

We are hosting it so Kenny and his ilk can schmooze a bunch of European technocrats in the hope of being picked for some plum EU job. Enda Kenny is not acting in the interests of the Irish people, nothing new there- he never has since he became Taoiseach. A joke of a puny man.

• We’re hosting it because its our turn to host it and not because of anything else. And while it can’t be used directly to influence things it does have a bearing in agenda setting and prioritising.

I’m not saying that this will help a deal of bank debt but it does increase the profile of the country at a critical time. That’s why I voted “A Little”.

• Sue Tulk 01/01/13 #

If only these “VIP”s would read, digest, respect and act on all these comments, perhaps good might come of this charade – but don’t hold your breath. (btw, I’m very firmly committed to the concept of the European Union, but not to the way they pour good money after bad down the drain).

• A small cog in a big wheel and the cog could go astray and not be missed.

• Paul MC 01/01/13 #

This is a chance to push for a deal on our debt, we chair the meeting so we must have some say in the agenda.

• This gives us a great opportuinty to demonstrate the ability of the Irish once again to get things done. We will be on the world stage with all the exposure that goes with it. And its good for business too. And it has to offer the lefties & MSF the oportunity for the populist sound bite here and there which will be entertaining…

• Another ragbag of right wing cliches. I am surprised you did not mention the Grabbing (sorry, Gathering) as well.

Were you one of those who told us that the visit of Queen Elizabeth would boost British tourist numbers? It did not.

Hot air is no substitute for reality!

• oh yes! because all this exposure from our jet setting, self congratulating ‘leaders’ has led to massive investment from abroad and has created thousands of jobs, oh wait… thats for the opportunity for my ‘populist sound bite’, when you come back to reality we can talk

• O'Reilly 01/01/13 #

Sad, really. Oportunity passed you by so you’ll bitch at the injustice of it all…

• hahahaha sad, good one, if only you werent paying my way :)

• The Irish are demonstrating their ability all across Europe, most travel there for work as Ireland fails to provide the basics, is that the type of ability you’re referring to? We will be on the European ‘stage’ in a very minor way, I mean who held the presidency last time round? I honestly couldn’t tell you and honestly couldn’t care either, it matters not, so any exposure will be minimal at best. It will not be good for business.

• O'Reilly 01/01/13 #

Revolting, the fact that you’re getting 300 euro a week while the respite grant is cut is sadder…

Add New Comment