TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

President’s husband among Taoiseach’s 11 Seanad nominees

Dr Martin McAleese will become a member of the new Seanad – as will Eamon Coughlan and Fiach MacConghail.

Dr Martin McAleese, husband of current President Mary McAleese, has been nominated to Seanad Éireann by Enda Kenny this evening.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has included Dr Martin McAleese, the husband of current president Mary McAleese, among his list of 11 nominees to the 24th Seanad.

McAleese – a trained dentist, who has worked to try and bridge the Nationalist and Unionist divide alongside his wife – will occupy one of the 11 seats which can be personally filled by the Taoiseach’s nominees when the new Seanad convenes for the first time on Wednesday.

McAleese was also a patron of the recent Your Country, Your Call competition.

Among the other nominees announced this evening by the Taoiseach are former world champion athlete and three-time Olympian long-distance runner Eamonn Coghlan, who is appointed for his work as Director of the Crumlin Children’s Medical & Research Foundation and who appeared at campaign events for Fine Gael.

Another nominee is Fiach MacConghail, the director of the Abbey Theatre, who is currently the chairman of the board of the citizens’ engagement group We The Citizens.

Fine Gael party nominees include Jilian van Turnhout of the Children’s Rights Alliance, whose husband Michael is the chairman of the party organisation in the Dublin South constituency which returned three Fine Gael TDs in the five-seat constituency this year.

Other ‘party’ nominees are Louth councillor Jim Darcy and DCU academic Marie Louise O’Donnell.

Aideen Hayden, the current chairperson of housing rights agency Threshold and Galway-based general election candidate Lorraine Higgins are among the four nominees recommended by the Labour Party.

The other two Labour nominations are Louth teacher and defeated Seanad candidate Mary Moran, and Katherine Zappone, a member of the Human Rights Commission and a campaigner for same-sex partnership.

The final nominee is Mary Ann O’Brien, the co-founder of the Jack and Jill Foundation.

Seanad nominees: the list in full

• Eamonn Coghlan; Director, Crumlin Children’s Medical & Research Foundation
  • Jim Darcy, Teacher & Member of Louth County Council
  • Aideen Hayden, Solicitor & Chairperson of Threshold
  • Lorraine Higgins, Barrister
  • Fiach MacConghail, Director of Abbey Theatre
  • Martin McAleese, Dental Surgeon
  • Mary Moran, Teacher
  • Mary Ann O’Brien, Businesswoman and co-founder of Jack & Jill Foundation
  • Marie Louise O’Donnell, Educationalist
  • Jillian van Turnhout, Childrens Rights Alliance
  • Katherine Zappone, Member of the Irish Human Rights Commission

Read next:

Comments (18 Comments)

• 21/05/11 #

I don’t think it’s
    necessarily a bad selection. I met Martin McAleese six years ago and was hugely impressed by him.

• Martin has done an enormous amount of work for Ireland. He deserves a special place in Irish politics. Mary should be allowed another term. No one out there can touch her.

• First of all, the Seanad might not be run or organised very well, but it is not a waste of space. You absolutely 100% need a second house in government to oversee the legislation of the first…. particularly in a country where most of the TDs can’t be trusted to tie their own shoelaces honestly. As for Dr McAleese – he has done more for Ireland than any President’s spouse before, he got out there and engaged with communities and he is deserving of a job in government. And he has said he will not accept a salary until after Mary stops getting hers.

• What an utterly nonsensical comment. The Seanad requires experienced candidates with a proven track record. Explain to me how a bread or milk man could break down a bill and test it’s constitututionality. Perhaps analyse the chip on your shoulder before referring to people as sheeple. And before you whip back with a class divisional slur. I’m a working class north side dubliner from a single parent background. And so is David Norris as it happens.

• When all that stands between you and supreme power is a Seanad vote, a referendum and the ok of the president, best to compromise the latter first

• I’d rather see a bread delivery man or a milkman in there than the likes of Eoghan Harris, erstwhile editor of that Indo rag, defender of Bertie’s bailouts (for which he was rewarded with the seat in the first place), and of late, snide sour grapes, because he didn’t get an invite to the Queen’s dinner.

Lest we forget how bad it was, under FF, like.

• Eire 20/05/11 #

Disappointed I have to say , they do not strike me as a bunch that can get Ireland working again! What where the Blue & Red Shirts thinking off here?

• If FG are going to reform the Seanad or even abolish it why appoint anyone? If Kenny wanted to make a point he should have refused to appoint his Senators until after a referendum.

• Constitutional requirement as far as I know. McAleese will be a popular appointee, given the President’s role over the last few days. The office has a feelgood aura surrounding it at the moment, which is well deserved IMO.

• Well only difference in Irish parties is the name. Where is the thinking in this but I suppose conservatism is a type of status quo, labour are as expected lib dems in England are imaginative in comparison,

• Fine Gael wants to reform the Seanad, but only after they divide the spoils of election victory?

• Only one problem with that, the McAleeses are (former?) Feel-and-Failers. She ran in Dublin in the general election in the late eighties.

If it were a FFer like the Drumcondra Don, the Kinsealy Cove, or the Clare Clowen, it would be one of their own lick spittles. That said, if the thing is to be abolished anyway…

• Seanad = pointless waste of money and space. Jobs for the lads

• wow we will have a battle of the chocolateers now. with Mary White and Mary Ann could be fun >:~}

• Oh look at you all… He has this, he has done this, he is great etc etc… That as it maybe, but why has he to be rewarded with a plum job… Why not say thank you for all you have done with a presentation , an award not a fecking clap on the back and a wad of money… You are the typical “sheeple” of this country… The class divide is alive and well in Ireland and this shower are the same as the other shower… ” quick enda, place this and that in the Seanad before we abolish it, at least they will get something out of it” why should good, hard honest work be rewarded with a senate job… Don’t see my postman sitting up there, or the bread man who I see EVERYWHERE at all times

• Why would a postman or a breadman be more qualified to ratify legislation? Love to see the country run according to your standard. You need qualified people in key positions no more than you need surgeons doing neurosurgery ,all due respect to Mr Brennan and Postman Pat. Maybe you’d let the Breadman operate on you….I wouldn’t. “sheeple” might be a more appropriate term for people that have the intellectual capacity of a sheep as opposed to those that allow themselves to be led.

Add New Comment