TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Priory Hall residents ask Taoiseach to intervene

Emails show that Taoiseach says he will pass matter onto Phil Hogan – but Minister Hogan won’t meet with residents.

Some residents of Priory Hall protesting outside the Dáil in December.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE RESIDENTS OF Priory Hall apartments have appealed once more to Taoiseach Enda Kenny to intervene in their case.

One resident of the complex, which has had to be been evacuated because of serious safety concerns, wrote an email to the Taoiseach over Christmas to ask for his help in resolving the situation. Resident Liz Donegan received a return email from one of the Taoiseach’s private secretaries, stating that he had “noted” the points she raised and that her correspondence had been copied to Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Phil Hogan.

However, Liz Donegan claimed that the residents of Priory Hall had requested meetings with Phil Hogan “on four separate occasions as I understand it” and that he had declined all invitations to meet.

This evening, the chairperson of the Priory Hall Residents Committee, Sinéad Power, addressed the following email to the Taoiseach:

Dear Taoiseach,

My neighbour Liz Donegan has been writing directly to you over the Xmas holidays asking you to intervene and help the home owners of Prioryhall, today she received the below response from your private secretary advising that the details of her mails have been passed to Minister Hogan and that you extend your very best wishes to her. Although it is a very nice email, the problem is Minister Hogan has made it perfectly clear that he will not meet with the residents of Prioryhall. Which is why Liz and indeed all the residents in Prioryhall are asking you to intervene

It’s 79 days since we were evacuated from our homes, and this month we have to fight to stay in our emergency accommodation. We feel that the Government is completely ignoring our plight. Minister Hogan still refuses to meet us. DCC (Dublin City Council) are going to the Supreme Court on the 19th of Jan to seek to over turn the High Court Order on our accommodation expenses. The result of which will mean the residents of Prioryhall will be faced with a life changing decision, defaulting on our mortgages and renting privately or being homeless and continuing to pay mortgages on homes we cannot live in.

When I think back to that weekend in Oct, when we learned that we had to 48 hours to evacuate our homes, that was traumatic enough. Most people plan a house move over a few months, they get organized, pack their things neatly away, have somewhere to store their belongings etc. We had 48 hours to pack up 4 years of our lives, everything we owned. Can you imagine what it was like, 200+ families all trying to move at the same time? The thing I remember most from that weekend was being thankful to be leaving Prioryhall alive. After hearing the evidence given by the Chief Fire Officer as he described in detail the litany of life threatening defects in our homes. The Building was so dangerous, that it could have burned down in minutes, according to the evidence given by DCC Chief Fire Officer, when he took the stand to give evidence in the High Court. In fact it was so dangerous that a Fire Brigade was stationed outside our homes before we even got back from the court. This Fire Brigade remained there until we all left our homes… such was the immediate danger!

As the months have passed I have become very angry. I remembered that Dublin City Council had moved out their own tenants Xmas week 2009 because of the risk to their lives yet they left us living in this building for a further 2 years. Why were our lives not as important? This is the same DCC who is seeking to make us homeless again in the next couple of weeks.

The home owners and their families, kids included, spent every Friday for 5 weeks in the High Court, finally on the 5th Friday Justice Kearns sentenced Thomas McFeely ( the developer ) to 3 months imprisonment and a million euro fine. McFeely was due to begin his sentence at 4pm that same Friday, 2 hours later he went to the Supreme Court to appeal and was freed. Dublin City Council’s lawyer had been informed of the stay application but had said the council was not participating in that matter, the court was told. Chief Justice Mrs Justice Susan Denham said the court regarded the council’s position as “extraordinary” and would grant the stay and direct the immediate release of Mr McFeely.

We have asked DCC why they decided to pursue the developer through the High Court for 5 weeks and then not turn up to the appeal in the Supreme Court. Maybe An Taoiseach you could find out the answer as we have not been able to get an answer,  it is another complete waste of tax payers money and no accountability. Can you imagine how we felt, totally let down again by DCC.  We were left homeless and the developer responsible for putting our lives at risk goes home to his 15million home in Ailesbury Road?

In early December the homeowners of Prioryhall were issued with copies of the Enforcement Notice served on the Developer of Prioryhall, it is 18 pages long, listing all the non fire ( structural ) breaches of the Building Regulations in Prioryhall. These show substantial defects in the building aside from the life threatening Fire issues. It should also be noted that the developers of Prioryhall were already before the courts since early 2010 for Planning breaches.

Christmas week DCC issued a press statement on Prioryhall, the residents of Prioryhall learned through the newspapers that the estimated cost to fix our homes was approx €7.2 million. This was lovely news to get Christmas week.

We stand outside the Dail every Tuesday since leaving our homes protesting with our parents, family and friends, asking for help from our Government. The same Government who promised accountability and change before the election.

DCC’s legal team repeatedly stated during the High Court process that Prioryhall needed a Political solution. The Government position is  that it is a matter for DCC. Why will this Government not stand up for the ordinary people of this country, the decent hardworking young people? Instead it would appear that the bankers, developers and lax regulations will win out, or they will unless you step in and help us.

Prioryhall is like a monument to everything that was wrong in this country for the last 10 years. An Taoiseach, you have a chance to change Ireland for the better, Prioryhall would be a good place to start! Please help us!! The homeowners of Prioryhall just want a safe home, the home they paid for. I look forward to your response,

Kind regards,

Sinead.

Read: Priory Hall residents tell McFeely: “We don’t wish you a Happy New Year”>

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• How can this be ignored???? This is a disgrace & all involved should be ashamed of themselves. Good luck to the residents & I hope this is resolved soon.

• Most appliances come with a warrenty for 3 years at least these days, if there is a problem you are entitled to your money back. Consumer law states that if an item is not fit for the purpose for which it is intended you are entitled to a refund. However if you purchase a home for a quarter of a million euro and it is seriously and dangerously defective it’s tough luck….. It’s an absolute disgrace. McFeely and the banks for allowing mortgages to be issued without proper fire safety statements should be held accountable. McFeely should be forced to take over these mortgages and the resident’s slate wiped clean. It makes my blood boil!!! An Taoiseach, you have an opportunity now to make right some of the wrongs of the past, please take it and restore some resemblance of confidence in our government both national and local. My heart goes out to the residents and that is an excellent letter!! Well done Sinéad!!!

• Although there has been much media coverage on Priory Hall since the evacuation order was placed on the development in October 2011, the residents’ committee have fought tirelessly since 2007 to have the issues addressed in Priory Hall including reporting numerous matters to the Gardai, DCC and negotiations with the developer to remedy the defects in the development. Ours is a battle which we will continue to fight against all the negligent parties in this mess & will not give up until we receive a satisfactory outcome for our families. Personally I an immune to Fine Gael’s indifference to us as they have been consistent they ignored us in opposition and are now ignoring us in government. When you have lost your home you have nothing left to loose your goal becomes to focus on exposing each person/party who was negligent in the mess that has become Priory Hall. Thanks to all those who continue to support us we are truly grateful. For those who think we weren’t on top of our game when we purchased our homes that’s ok it’s an opinion not a fact and I truly wouldn’t wish this misery on my worst enemy.

• The painless gormless that will do the same thing with the residents as he’s done for the rest of the country. That would be fuck all. These people deserve so much better.

• Good luck to all priory hall owners, hope someone can just sort it out for you. If the developer can’t pay should his company not be liquidated, as then the government or Nama or one of the banks will own the company and they have the cash to fix the problem

• Aydo 03/01/12 #

I was only out there recently, never knew the scale of it. Madness!
    I really hope these people are helped out. I mean, does NAMA not own enough property to sort em out with alternatives?

• he’s going to hide behind a lot of red tape and do nothing !!! The gormless gobshite ….

• Sean C 04/01/12 #

The problem with Priory Hall is there are thousands of other Priory Hall’s out there, and the cold harsh reality is that if the Government buys in to this one it will set a precedent, the people who signed off on the work being compliant, and their insurers, should be made to pay not the taxpayers.

• I don’t understand why these poor people don’t go to the local Garda station and request that the City Manager be charged with neglect of duties.
    Why is the City Manager still walking around and not put in jail? He is responsible for buying over 25 apartments in Priory Hall from the developer while his company was under investigation by Dublin Ciry Council for failing to comply with building regulations on uuanother site. He handed over 5 million to the developer and didn’t even inspect the properties. I bet he viewed and inspected his own home at least 3 times before he handed over the money. Yet he handed over the taxpayers money without a second thought for the people who would have to live there.

• @ Niamh. It is the responsibility of the City Manager to insure that the building Regulations are adhered to. Especially as this developer was under investigation by Dublin City Council for not adhering to regulations on another site at the same time and was brought to court by Dublin City officials for neglecting regulations. This means that the Dublin City Manager allowed these death traps to be built and sold under his watch. It means that the private residences could sue the City manager for neglecting his duties. To make matters worse he bought over 20 of thes apartments for public use. That is criminal in so far as he knew the developer was under investigation when he handed him over 5 million of public money.

• Nice to see elected politicians willing to meet the public.Will someone please correct me didn’t Enda say something about the government being open,accountable and having a social contract with the people.Or have those promises been buried in the same hole as all Labours promises

• Thus Government have NOT honoured any of their promises that they stole votes to get elected but Enda himself promised the his voters that HE would be totally responsible for any mistakes and errors made by any state body the lies are catching up with LIARS
      to all the residents of PRIORY HALL I WISH YOU ALL THE VERY BEST IN YOUR PLIGHT AND AND every good wish for your successful outcome Keep fighting for your safe home that you are paying for….. Keep up the pressure folks

• I really feel for the families of Priory Hall but I have to tell ye this government will NOT come down on the side of the citizen unjustly suffering as a result of former and current administration policies. The incompetence and lack of compassion of this FG/Lab administration, made much worse by their arrogance when achieving Cabinet status, is par for the course! Again we see a developer escaping imprisonment while entire families are literally chucked on the streets…………. Be under no illusion as the economy buckles under unjust bailing out of Banks there’ll be more Priory Hall situations, maybe not down to inferior building practices but rather as a result of elected idiots kissing German and French butts as opposed to tending to their nation. Again my heart goes out to the families caught up in this…. but I have to reiterate let this be a warning to the rest of us!

• jimbo 03/01/12 #

2 cowards fcuk them 2 wats out on the street and give them a taste of what these residents are going through

• Enda Kenny’s has no balls. No backbone. What does he care with his fat salary.

• Billy you are free to offer an opinion,but at least try and make sure it is informed one also it not necessary to abuse people who are in a situation not of their making.

• Thanks norman,you have to be positive in a situation like this and i hope nobody goes through what we went through losing your home is not good or nice,but iv paid my taxes and still paying them so iv nothing to feel guilty about,some people just like being negative.

• Was there ever a person from Dublin City Council put in jail for corruption? Buying these apartments was criminal without inspecting them. As for the private owners of the apartments it is also criminal negligence by Dublin City Council and the developer as noted by the Fire Officer. Another stardust and nobody arrested. The people responsible for the regulation of the development are Dublin City Council. The City Manager is ultimately responsible as he is the Boss. Any judge would award damages to the torments and owners against the City Manager. He should also be prosecuted for endangering people’s lives.

• The mortgage companies are party to the transaction and they believed it was value for money and a secure lending proposition so I believe they have a responsibility as well to put right the development

• Billy 03/01/12 #

Do they have a legal responsibility? No. They have the property as a security on a loan should that loan not perform. They can then sue the owner for any shortfall in value so if the property is worthless then can then sue the owner for the full value plus arrears. If the owner cannot afford this then they can declare bankruptcy .

• Just pointing out other defects with full respects too the other building defects that would lead to serious fire spread in defective buildings such as the above.

• Some might of missed this report over Christmas:

16 housing inspectors attached to the Department of the Environment have all been informed they are being transferred to other duties in the civil service.

Link for full article:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/only-20pc-newly-built-properties-inspected-2973444.html

• Oh billy your very sad and bitter about something you know nothing about,you made your point,by the way standing in a shower with multi coloured boxers shirts and holding a cushion is even more creepier than your comments.get a grip

• I don’t disagree with you Billy on some points but unfortunately for my family as tax payers we have a mortgage and no home to live in. That’s the harsh reality of the Priory Hall situation. My family don’t want to put a further strain on the public purse. We pay our taxes & don’t want our children and grandchildren burdened with debt. We are willing to pay our mortgage but can’t afford rent & a mortgage payment each month. Surely you can see the catch 22 position we find ourselves in? Its not a position we could ever imagined we would find ourselves in or one which we are enjoying. The banks want their money regardless of any circumstances and the extent of the issues which have come to light only did so after the walls were opened up in the development and therefore were not visible to experts who assessed the building for mortgage facilities etc. It’s a dreadful, dreadful situation which we can’t afford to remedy ourselves. Are we not entitled to use some of the taxes we, ourselves have paid the State to fix our homes? My family have bailed out the banks too as I’m sure your own have surely we can get some assistance. Do you not think Billy?

• Billy boy your comments are really stupid.The government have alot to do with prioryhall as they got a big chunk of money when i and the other homeowners bought there,you seem to know alot billy about nothing,keep silly comments to yourself nobody cares.

• Sharon I sent you a pm just in case you didn’t get it. If you did as I said feel free to contact us, you have or support. Best of luck.

• Billy 03/01/12 #

I’m free to offer up my opinion and I won’t be silenced by somebody who wants me to pay for their accomodation. The people of Priory Hall were the main drivers or our ruinous property bubble. Impulse, ignorant sorts that queued up over night to spend a small fortune on a set of plans from some dodgy developer. People like you stopped me from being able to by a reasonable home at a reasonable price the last decade. And now you get your 2004-2008 idiot tax allowance that I have to fund and yet again you want me to fund yet more accomodation. I say no.

• To Sharon and Ursula you both have my sympathy,my family and i were in a horrible situation because of a property 2 years ago we came out the right side,hopefully ye will too.Don’t lose heart theres more carers than haters out there.Good Luck.

• It’s just the beginning.
    How many more Priory Hall type Death Traps were thrown up over the boom by cowboys?
    Doled out to unfortunate people on 100% mortgages.
    And you know whats strange.
    The banks valuers claimed that every single one of these properties were built correctly.

• Listen billy your comments are as silly as your picture,go out and buy a house now they are for nothing,dont dare try blame another taxpayer for your troubles you silly boy,you dont know anything about prioryhall only what read,oh and by the way thanks for paying for my accomadation i love it.

• Billy 03/01/12 #

Houses are for nothing? Sums you up perfectly. Houses are still overpriced and you can’t see that but by God you want to be compensated if it loses value. You’re in for quite the land in future. You might get your bailout but the state is crumbling and cannot afford these promises it is making. I hope you can sleep in ten years time knowing that you’ve had a direct hand in the destruction of the Irish state. I’ll be there every step of hte way hounding people like yourself from getting an easy ride. Telling the truth about you and your kind.

• Billy it’s either bed time or medication time.

• @sinmac… thanks..poor residents..talk about being between a rock and a hard place..

• Sorry niamh i didnt get any mail from you??

• @Sharon…what’s the morgage companies stance on the whole situation ??

• Sinmac 04/01/12 #

Jon some homeowners, not all, got help from the mortgage companies for 3 months but the three months are up in Jan. There is no uniform approach by the lending institutions. The problem really is that the home owners cannot afford to pay their mortgages and rent privately. The knock on affects of defaulting on our mortgages are huge and will affect the rest of our lives. Also lets not forget that the private homeowners of Prioryhall were left living in a building that could have burned down in minutes for two years, and DCC moved out their own tennants for their safety in Dec 2009.

• Rising damp is starting to plague some apartments built since ’07. Not good at all.

• @David. Rising damp – we are talking about families burning to death in Priory Hall. Wake up.

• If they had signed Angela von Troika,

• Billy 03/01/12 #

What does this have to do with the government? They should sue hte developer or the professionals that cleared those places for sale. The state should not be accomodating these people .Tough luck but they serves them right for spending insane money on housing plans.

• Ciaro 03/01/12 #

Billy, I hope you are ripped off by everyone you do business with throughout your life.

• Billy 03/01/12 #

People are always trying to rip me off but I’m generally on top of them. I’ve been to the small claims court a number of times, successsfully issued a credit card chargeback against Ryanair. I always pay my gym fees by credit card so I don’t ger burned by businesess closing. And if I was to buy a house (still way overpriced so no) I’d make sure I was aware of the consumer law involved and didn’t leave myself open to spending 300K on a worhtless asset with nobody to sue. I look after myself and these clowns should do the same and not get me to pay for their mistakes.

• Are you a nurse billy because that beautiful,caring and compassionate side that all our nurses have is very much to the fore in your comment or are you just a sad mean spirited person who rejoices in the misery of others.I have a fair idea which of the two and i’ m sure everyone else has as well.

• maybe she should address her email to Mary-Lou and the shinners after all the developers of this are probably Sinn-Feins biggest legal supporters

• The council and the doe signed off on the building ‘ during’ construction, despite the fact.that they now say they never went on site and signed on the plans only. Also the doe have building regs that are supposed to be enforced to ensure a safe building. These regulations were neither enforced or checked. Therefore as the government regulations failed the government are ultimately responsible.

• Harsh Billy to say the least!!

Add New Comment