Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 February, 2012

Quinn orders probe of €100m taxpayer funding for private schools

Education Minister Ruairí Quinn
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

EDUCATION MINISTER RUAIRÍ Quinn has ordered a review of the State funding for fee-paying schools, which currently stands at around €100million a year, officials have confirmed.

The investigation will focus on the level of taxpayer funding the schools require, based on their income from tuition fees.

The Irish Times reports today that private schools overall earn an annual €120million from parents’ fees, with some taking in more than €7million a year.

The Department of Education has confirmed to TheJournal.ie that the “potential extent and nature of Exchequer investment” in fee-paying schools will be under review. It emerged this year that the State paid more than €105million towards teachers’ salaries in fee-charging schools in 2010.

In a statement, a spokesperson said the audit will examine schools’ income from parents against the State funding they would receive if they did not charge fees, to assess the “discretionary income” available to them. The Department will then enter into dialogue with the schools concerned.

Earlier this year, the Teachers’ Union of Ireland called on the Government to cease paying teacher salaries in fee-paying schools, calling it a “funding of privilege”.

Minister Quinn also said in May that the capital funding for such schools – State money used to fund new buildings and infrastructure – would have to be reviewed.

More: Teachers’ union calls for State to stop funding private schools>

Already a fan? Complete your signup...

Get breaking news from The Journal.ie via Facebook. Just click 'Like'.

Read Next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• Robert McGuinness 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Publicity stunt. Quinn knows better than most that it’s a false economy to pull funding from those schools.

• Sean O'Keeffe 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

If Quinn wants a review he might look into why non-fee paying schools are increasingly underperforming.
      http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2011/0920/1224304403174.html

• Declan Carroll 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Agreed. The standard of education has declined. The teenagers & 20somethings haven’t a clue how to spell. “There” & “Their”, “Weather” & “Whether” are confused as an example & spelling peoples names has gone out the window & the other day in HMV, I overheard a young one discuss a DVD with her pal saying “I seen that” instead of “I saw that”. It can’t be all the students fault. Teachers & parents have to share the blame, too. Paying for education is something no one should complain about & is it a case that many teachers are plain uneducated & dumb themselves ? Regarding this thread – the public purse should not pay anything to private schools.

• Fintan O'Mahony 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

@declancarroll ‘is it a case that many teachers are plain uneducated & dumb themselves’ what an incomprehensibly dismissive statement to make about a whole profession. Remove the chip from your shoulder, it might help you see straight. And by the way, your post contains ten punctuation and/or spelling errors (possibly more I quit at ten, maybe cuz i dum)

Report this comment

I’m certainly not painting all teachers the same, Fintan. No offence was meant to any teacher out there reading this thread. Something is going wrong somewhere & that needs to be looked at. That is my point & I am certainly not dismissive of a whole profession & I most certainly do not have any chip on my shoulder. If you are a teacher, my point must have hit a nerve. When I was in primary school, we had a teacher all parents gave out about. He spent a lot of his time having cigarettes in the hallway & the grades his students got were not good. The fact is there are some teachers who are not up to scratch & that needs to be looked whether it’s the private or public purse that pays the cheques.

Report this comment

This is what drives us all barmy. ‘When I was in Primary School’: if you’re, lets say 25-40 years old, that means anything between 20 and 35 years ago. How much change do you think has occured in that time in education? How many people spend their that length of time complaining about a lawyer, a garda, or even a doctor? Education now is unrecognisable from the last century, I’ve been teaching for 18 years and I can say what I personally taught when I began is nothing like what I teach now, never mind what I experienced in school. Technology, course changes, funding cuts, students with English as a second language, not to mention a proper inspectorate to please are, off the top of my head some things my teachers, or indeed I had no experience of ‘back then’. Call to a school, see the work being done under very difficult circumstance, for relatively little reward, economic or social I might add, and you will be careful before dismissing the profession again.

Report this comment

No point in trying to debate with u. U seem to be too sensitive about criticism. We’ll agree to disagree. Have a nice day ( which I mean in a friendly manner & not in a “dismissive” way ).

Report this comment

A debate would have meant answering a simple question about when you were in primary school. I know what I’m taking about, the sensitivity comes from being tarred with a brush from 30 years ago!

• Alex Simons 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

No Money should be given to private schools.. State funds should be used for state schools and not given to the elite schools that turn our the O’learys of the future.. (the rich can fund them)

• Michael Hegarty 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I totally agree. Taxpayers funds being used for elitest schooling is sick. My niece is in a National School in rural North Cork. Its a great school, brilliant teachers, however, teacher shortage numbers and the moratorium means she is in a classroom with a teacher teaching 2 classes (1st and 2nd)…have a guess how many children in the classroom with that one teacher???? 58!!!!! Yes 58!!!!! yet €100m is still spent on private schools? Beggars Belief!!!

• Réada Quinn 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Well said Alex. If parents want a private education let them pay for it. In reality private schools just employ Dept of Ed rejects. Sorry but true!

• Barry Williams 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I want to a private school. My family are anything but elite

Report this comment

*went, bloody iPhone predictive text

• Milly Mac 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

People are forgetting this information. If the state stops paying teachers to teach in the private schools, the teachers will lose their jobs. The fact is having private schools saves the country alot of money which people don’t realise. Private schools does not mean elite at all. How it saves money? If the state pays a certain amount to the private schools, it keeps the schools up and running and keeps the teachers in jobs. The other option is let the whole institution of this private school to become a complete state school which means it will cost the state way more money. So, this amount is actually cheaper this way and preventing the creation of further state schools and extra money from the state to create new state schools.

This report is dealing with the excess after the teachers pay. They should not be paying for anything else apart from the teachers salaries.

• Michael Hegarty 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I accept maybe not all are “elitest”, but they are certainly “well heeled”

• Conor Gallagher 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

They may pull funding but they will replace it with tax covenants/charitable status, so those with higher income and pay fees, benefit more.

• Robert McGuinness 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Not disagreeing here, just making the point that most schools in the country, including fee-paying, are already registered charities.

• Danny McLaughlin 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Regardless of its a fee paying school or not, every child in Ireland must be treated equally in the eyes of the constitution.
    Funding for schools is based on a per child basis. Pull the funding from fee paying schools, they are pulling the funding from those children. Therefore, treating those children differently.
    The Minister knows this. It’s a publicity stunt and nothing else.

• Noddy Mooney 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

1. If every child was to be treated equaly in the eyes of the constitution there would be no such thing as fee-paying schools.
      2. By choosing fee-paying schools it is clear the parents wish for their children to be treated differently, thereby ignoring the constitution themselves.

• Alex Simons 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Ok, But they are Private schools, The child can go to the Public school and get the free education. Its not the state treating children in private schools differently, its Parents who want an elite education who pay for it. Why should we subsidise private schools?

• Danny McLaughlin 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I’m not saying I agree with it, but it’s how the constitution is viewed.
      Every child in Ireland gets the same as every other child. Regardless of wealth of family. No child is treated differently. Watch and see if anything comes from this. Nothing will.
      A parent will take any cuts to the high court and it will be deemed unconstitutional.
      As I said, the minister knows this.

• Mark Browne 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

If every child in Ireland is treated equally why do we need a Children’s referendum? And urgently too? The fact is that children are not treated equally in this country.

• David Murphy 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

If that is the case they should change the constitution. There’s a couple of referenda on the cards that they can piggy back it on.

Report this comment

While there is elite D4 schools. Many of these “private” schools are in fact rural church of Ireland boarding schools. The state can’t afford to provide church of Ireland state schools in each large town , it’s cheaper to fund these schools . Will the Irish gov discriminate against church of Ireland children ??? While catholic kids have the choice of various state run schools within various levels of religious observance. Non Catholics have no choice. Unless they live in cork city or Dublin where there are two public Protestant secondary school. Do people even realise how church of Ireland boarding schools work??? No the media hypes it up as elite. I”ll tell you how mine worked. Rich you paid full fees. Poor you got in for free. It was a not for profit enterprise .these schools have already seen huge cuts in their income. From both the state and parents who are struggling to pay fees. There was no elitism in the school I went to. Mostly small to medium farmers.

• Aaron 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

What has religion got to do with anything? If you want to go to a private school then you pay if you don’t then you go to a normal school. Religion shouldn’t come into it and should be kept out of education.

• Mark Browne 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I see your point. My view may seem callous towards it but I mean no offence. But it’s my view that all schools run by religious organisations (of all faiths) should receive no state aid. For far too long (particularly catholic schools) they have been subsidised by the state. It’s immoral. If parents and churches want their children educated in the faith they have they should pay for that education themselves. No religious organisation should be receiving aid in delivering their ethos education. That burden must be carried by the faithful themselves. That’s my view. I doubt it would be shared by all.

Report this comment

You are correct, Mark. Schools should not be run by any single religion.

• Al Graham 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

@Aaron, unfortunately, you can’t take religion out of it as the vast majority of public schools are Catholic based -if you do not want your child to have a Catholic education, then you have very little choice as to where to send your kids -the main (if not only) option being a fee-paying boarding school.

While I agree that religion should be kept out of education, as long as the vast majority of public schools continue to be run with a Catholic ethos, some parents have very little choice.

Personally, I think that funding to all schools should be made based on the pupil numbers, regardless of their status as fee paying or not, changing things is clear discrimination

Report this comment

Mark I can see your point. But this goes into a hole separate area of rates of inter marriage within the c of I and the fact community is a tiny minority trying to preserve elements of its culture and religion .
      End of the day. I think this money is actually the money every school gets. There is a fee per child in every school which the government pays. I think this money is what is being discussed. The government can’t not pay this fee to the school if it’s private . As that is treating the child differently and that child’s parents are paying taxes.
      While taking religion out of school appeals to some and those schools should exist for those that seek them. If religions were taken out of school . The government would have to buy vast quantities of schools from the churches and religious communities . Also very often the local church fundraise for their school the government would have to replace this funding . Has it got that sort of money ?

• Jane 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Eh I don’t think so!

• Begrudgy 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

This Probe will probably end up costing 100 million as well. Would not surprise me.

• Ed Kavanagh 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Whilst I agree that public money should not be paid to private business ventures, I would think it only fair that people opting out of public education should get a tax refund for their allocation of unused tax earmarked for education.. although I would ha.be no idea what this would be…

• David Murphy 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

By that logic childless people should get that rebate too as they have no kids and therefore don’t use it? Maybe healthy people should get a rebate based on dept. of health costs, or people who have neither been the victim of, or involved in crime should get rebates on justice and policing costs.

If you are well off enough to send your kids to a private school fair play to you, but everyone must contribute to ensuring there are certain things in place for all of society to use, for the whole society to benefit from…such as educated children.

• Ciaro 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

All public funding for private schools should be scrapped.

Report this comment

Why??? Is there no benefit?? What about most private schools belonging to a minority faith in Ireland ?? Do these people not have a right to be educated in their ethos?? Do you even realise poor church of Ireland people do not pay fees for their private secondary schools while rich prods pay full price , These schools are anything but your elite d4 schools that the media create hype about ,

Report this comment

@charlesFitzgerald: two corrections:
      1. the TUI doesn’t have a presence in those schools as most of their members are in the VEC and Community and Comprehensive Sectors. The ASTI however has a presence in those fee-paying schools, although not in grinds schools which do not allow their employees to organise.
      2. the funding in both fee-paying and non-fee-paying schools is much the same, the fees paid by parents in fee-paying schools are on top of state funding. The audit is to find out what the extra money is used for

• Sean C 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I agree, and parents who pay fees should be allowed to claim an income tax deduction for the amount they save the government when they pay and the government doesn’t.

Report this comment

Unfortunately for them, no. If the State provides a scheme whereby the Exchequer funds a service and you opt not to avail of that service, you don’t get your tax back. Not even Thatcher thought like that and she wanted the State to find nothing.

• Sean C 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Thatcher…oh dear Ireland is in a bad place when she gets trotted out in support of a policy. The reality is that parents of private school children are not rich and the stemming of govt funds would cause an exodus from private to public schools which would cost the govt a lot more than they now pay. The fair an equitable thing to do would be to allow tax deductions if the govt withdraws funding, but then Ireland has never been a far and equitable place, not even in the boom times.

Report this comment

The State pays exactly the same capitation for every student, fee-paying or not. The Minister’s problem sees to be the ‘top-up’ fees provide and whether a reduction in state payment is feasible. As I said if you opt out of the system, you can’t expect to be rewarded, it’d be like not paying health insurance and expecting not to have to contribute to the health budget or because you’re working, not contributing to social welfare. Fee-paying schools may or may not generate a profit, if they do, it’s the State who should get the rebate.
      And by the way I wasn’t supporting any *policy*, nor using Thatcher to prove a point, I was simply pointing out that even the most tax resistant Prime Minister in Europe since WWII wouldn’t have followed such a course.

Report this comment

Sounds a bit elitist to me Luke. Talk about labelling. I’m fuming!

• Luke Mac an Bháird 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

@Réada.
    Fume all you like, it’s the truth. As a Leaving Cert student, I see them everyday.

Report this comment

I also think people should remember something. Each school is given money for each child it teaches . This goes to each school for each child it teaches.

So is this 100 million this money or separate money ??

Report this comment

Luke. It’s the word I’m fuming with. Children who behave badly and disrupt the education of other children should be dealt with. But labelling anyone with that word is elitist.

And Declan you can’t always throw your oar in both sides. Don’t know whether to thumbsmack you or not. Pick a flecking side fgs.

Report this comment

Ah, go on. Gis a thumbs up !!

Report this comment

No! Make up your mind and I’ll decide then Declan

Report this comment

We’re all stuck here in the unseeables now thanks to you Luke! Ah well might get away with a few more comments before someone tells me to shut up and to get the Hoover out.

• William O'Shea 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

I missed whatever word was used that had you fuming Reada, but that “…UP DA RA…” comment above says much more about its author than the subject matter of the rant! Now, I betcha I’ll have the Hoover out before you do. Lol.

Report this comment

Hey William. Glad to have some nice company down here. The rest of them are all smacking me :-(  And I’m just trying to make them behave themselves. Always a mammy! ;-)  Happy New Year to you. Lol. 

• Luke Mac an Bháird 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

@Réada.
    I’m not talking about the ones that misbehave on occasion. I’m talking about the ones that smell bad, try to bully others, talk *smack* to the teachers, play music in their pockets as they walk down the street, wear their pants tucked inside their white socks while they say “OH AH UP DA RA!” while wearing Reebok trainers with the Union Jack on them, while also wearing a Manchester United jersey. THOSE are the people I’m referring to Réada. Hope it clarifies.

Report this comment

My old school.had to cut huge quantities of teachers. Resource staff etc too. Its not just public schools .

Report this comment

I can see the conflict with the chants and the emblems Luke. Just stop using that word. It’s derogatory. Now move on. You’re like a dog with a bone. But I can be too! No puns please.

• Charles Fitzgerald 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Unions want end of funding,

Of course they do

The Unions dont have a presence in these schools

AFAIR

The funding in these schools is less than state schools with the fees making up the diference

Report this comment

So so true . The tui hate private schools why??? Because it’s rare to find a tui union member in a private school . All my teachers were Asti .

• John Needham 50 days ago #
      Report this comment

Not quite true, there are plenty of unionised teachers in fee pay schools. While I can see the argument for removing funding, the state simply cant afford to support the number of schools that would enter the state system should they scrap the 100m, at the moment at least.

Report this comment

@charlesFitzgerald: two corrections:
      1. the TUI doesn’t have a presence in those schools as most of their members are in the VEC and Community and Comprehensive Sectors. The ASTI however has a presence in those fee-paying schools, although not in grinds schools which do not allow their employees to organise.
      2. the funding in both fee-paying and non-fee-paying schools is much the same, the fees paid by parents in fee-paying schools are on top of state funding. The audit is to find out what the extra money is used for

• Darragh J Delany 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Given there is practically no such thing as state schools in this state this is a nonsense. The so-called state sector is really a private Roman Catholic sector that has managed to adapt to survive on state subventions and private contributions raised through other church activity. Many (perhaps most) parents using fee paying schools do so i would suggest because either (a) they subscribe to an ethos that is non-catholic i.e. other faiths or none, and have no non-fee option available to them or (b) wish to invest in topping up their children’s education, no bad thing – would the nay sayers also ban grinds, preschool education, private book buying for the home?.
    If people are serious about this then first break up the RC near monopoly and repossess the assets the state has invested in over the years, that would begin any real attack on our educational problems.

Report this comment

You’re big enough to know it’s a word that’s deemed degrogatory. Now do some study if you’re getting ready for the Leaving Cert. And good luck btw. Now no more fighting please. :-)

• Michael Freeman 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Hi all, thanks for getting involved with the discussion. I’ve had to remove a few comments on this thread because of the language used. Our policy specifically forbids derogatory comments about social groups – please have a read. The link is here: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/ . Thanks!

Report this comment

It’s a pity Michael that you can’t black out the word. Loads of other innocent commentators’ posts got lost down the back of the class too thanks to the use of that word. It’s something ye should look into perhaps. Maybe?

• William O'Shea 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Whatever the pros/cons of yon review (and remember it’s only a review — and unless Quinn has miraculously morphed into a socialist this sacred cow will be left untouched) it’s just another example of the underprivileged been forced to go without less so the privileged can carry on being so…….. I mean ffs we even (collectively) sanctioned the busting of our little country so losing speculative gamblers can have their “investment” (plus interest) paid back to them!!! The people of Ireland have no backbone, no heart, and quite frankly deserve their “underprivileged” status………. like peevish masochists we whisper “Please Sir can I have more?” Ireland is at a crossroads…. either we stand up for ourselves and mould a Just Republic or we consign ourselves and our grandchildren to the status of mere fiscal slaves.
    If ye can afford private education for your kids good luck to ye, but absolutely no public funds should be used to maintain the privileged/underprivileged nature of our, as yet, Quisling nation.

Report this comment

The Minister would do better to revist an audit into special needs provision and enrolement, completed a number of years ago; that audit, if I remember correctly, excluded fee-paying schools. The playing field is not even, while most schools take all-comers, fee-paying schools can select their students, and hence don’t have to make special needs provision or for students who need counselling (cut in the Budget by the way) or those who speak little or no English. This has another side effect: when league tables are drawn up fee-paying schools often come out on top because it’s easier to motivate and succeed in exams without the issues that arise in most schools.

Report this comment

@Fintan -most schools prioritize their intake based on where you live and what religion you are, so by no means do they take “all-comers” -if you are not a Catholic, you get put at the end of most entry lists, meaning that if you are not part of the majority religion, you can either hope that you are let in, or look to one of the fee paying schools.

Yes, to a certain extent they can choose their students, but the reality is that it’s fairly rare for any given year to be massively over subscribed, so really they only get those students that are willing (or able) to pay.

As for students who need counselling, or students with little or no English, you commonly get both in fee paying schools -spoiled brats who have never been told ‘no’ in their lives, and kids of ambadassadors for a start -private schools aren’t the rosy world a lot of people seem to think they are -I suspect a lot of the people falling on the “slash their funds” side of the coin have never seen what it’s like on that side of the curtain -there’s similar problems in all schools to a greater or lesser extent

Report this comment

@Al let’s put the myth that school *exclude* students on the basis if religion to bed: many secondary schools in my experience do not discriminate on the basis of religion for entry. I teach kids of various Christian denominations, Muslims and indeed children from no faith backgrounds. They aren’t labelled on entry. They aren’t forced to convert. They are treated as equals, that’s the Christian thing to do it strikes me.
      Many fee-paying schools do not actually operate in a specific catchment area, in fact this is one of their main arguments for continuing: they only mainly take in students of a particular background, so in that way they are doing exactly what you accuse other schools of doing.
      Finally I can’t agree that children with family difficulties are as often found in fee-paying schools, that just won’t wash, and if Central European immigrants are sending their kids to boarding school, I would love to know the numbers for that.

Report this comment

@Fintan, I didn’t say they exclude, I said that they prioritize their intake, meaning if you aren’t baptized Catholic, you are at the end of the entry list, and can be bumped for a Catholic student at any time before you start.

I also didn’t say that kids from different backgrounds were forced to convert, but they are taught through the Catholic ethos, and certainly in the past (when family members were in school), they were still forced to go to Mass etc on the holy days, which some people may not be comfortable with.

As for catchment, as I said, they have a generally lower number of people looking for entry so tend to accept anyone who applies, but their behaviour is no worse that that of free schools.

Finally, I suspect you haven’t seen the make up of many of these schools, but there are plenty of kids who don’t have english as a first language, Spaniards, Germans etc, as well as kids of ambassadors, and they need plenty of extra help to get up to scratch (note that I’m not saying, and never said they were Central Europeans, yes they are kids of wealthy Europeans, or embassy staff, but they do get sent to fee paying schools from time to time). -as for troubled kids, there might not be as many, but you do get your fair share in private schools -maybe not as many, but it’s still and issue, and is probably similar to public schools were some areas/years are worse that others.

Report this comment

@Al
      First of all it’s good to read comments which are reasoned and calm, many can’t manage that so thanks.
      Any school drawing up an admissions policy is going to have to mention their *ethos* but I can’t think of a single example where a student was displaced on the basis of faith from a Secondary School (I’m not as familiar with Primary). Schools have tightened up on admissions and the law in recent years.
      Regarding being taught in a Catholic style, this is no longer a practical or realistic assumption: how do you teach Maths in the Catholic way, or follow a History course? Yes religion will come up but it isn’t an opportunity to indoctrinate. And as regards forcing kids to attend Mass, if you don’t want to go and your parents make that clear I can’t see any school dragging you in and risking calls to Joe Duffy.
      Regarding catchment: one of the valid reasons for having faith schools is to protect minorities, thus they don’t have a catchment area but a catchment religion. In fee-paying schools the extra money pays for smaller classes, extra study etc, which is all fine but skews results.
      And I have seen how fee-paying schools work , I’ve been a teacher for 18 years and involved in the ASTI for 13, so this issue is something I’m very familiar with. You cannot equate the children of embassy staff with rural kids from Central Europe or refugees from Africa or the Middle East, they just aren’t the same people. If you look at number of special needs students in fee-paying schools it a fraction of other schools, no SNAs, no disadvantage to speak of because ordinary workers and unemployed can’t afford to send their kids to fee-paying schools.
      The work teachers do in those schools is great, they work as hard as any of us, but separate the funding issue out and the playing field would be far more even.
      Thanks

• Eoin Norris 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

Thats a red-herring Darragh. These Catholic State funded schools you talk about are free. And the division is between free, and fee paying schools. The Church does, in fact, own some of this land but as you say the State probably has built most of the buildings ( not all – plenty of schools have buildings from the 19th century). There is a historical reason why the State funds public Catholic schools – the old protestant ascendancy wasn’t interested in schooling Catholics, and the Catholic Church took over. The new Irish State then started to fund the schools, but not the religious teachers, who have died out. Now these schools are almost entirely funded by the State (voluntary contributions are not a form of fee paying).

Non-fee paying schools are therefore, to all intents and purposes, free schools like in any other country. The Fee-paying schools are private. They can choose whom they like, and do so ( in general the cost is a selection criteria anyway). That gets them out of the equality provisions essential elsewhere. Subsidising the rich – a top 5% of income earners – is not acceptable.

• Eoghan Nolan 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

@michael freeman, the word ‘probe’ connotes something very different (investigating a wrong-doing etc) than does the word ‘review’. Which is it?

• Adam Long 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

We should move to a system where all publicly funded schools are secular and free of religious indoctrination and the French system of education can provide a model in this regard.

If parents wish to opt out of the public system, be it for religious or other reasons, that is a choice guaranteed to them under the constitution, but the taxpayer should not be picking up the tab for their choice.

• Dearbhla Carmody 50 days ago #
    Report this comment

The review will require 20 staff, 14 years research, couple of tribunals and Judge Moriiarty to write a 1000 page documentary to summarize. By the time it is finished it will have cost 150million euros, the goverment will have changed a few times, everyone will have emigrated and we wont need schools at all.

• Tom Neville 43 days ago #
    Report this comment

As a parent enrolling our child for school my priority was how good the school was academically. My non fee paying alma mater did very poorly in recent league tables. Though I dislike the concept of paying for something when you can get it for free, many fee paying schools do better. The reasons are debatable but the results are not. As regards funding extra funding should the taxpayer pay when the consumer is also willing to pay?

Add New Comment