You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

JK Rowling Ric Francis/AP/Press Association Images

Column Why did JK Rowling feel the need to use a pseudonym?

It’s been revealed that the Harry Potter creator used a male pseudonym and is in fact the author of a new mystery crime novel – but Michelle Jackson writes that it is sad Rowling had to do that to achieve critical acclaim.

DO READERS NEED to be told what is good fiction and what is not? Consider a world where JK Rowling could call herself Joanne Rowling, author of Harry Potter, or her book The Casual Vacancy could have been critically analysed without referencing what she had written before? Did those who wrote harsh criticism of her adult novel get smug satisfaction for pulling the hugely successful author down?

Either way her book was always going to be a number one bestseller for curiosity value if nothing else. Last week, the UK’s Sunday Times revealed the infamous author had written a book under a different name, a man’s, no less. So, is it a master stroke and marketing dream writing a crime novel under the pseudonym, Robert Galbraith, and what exactly has she highlighted?

What’s in a name?

Writing under a man’s name has liberated her. I wonder is it the fact that the book only sold 1,500 copies that pushed for the lid to be lifted.

Ms Rowling may feel a certain sense of approval that her work achieved merit under a different pen name but she has nothing to prove to herself or anyone. Despite the huge marketing machine that made her Harry Potter novels massive success, she gave hours of pleasure to millions of readers no matter what the critics thought. That is the true merit of being a good writer.

But I ask the reading public to consider the real Robert Galbraith, because he is out there and so is Joanne Rowling. Consider their plights for a moment before you decide to purchase your next read. JK is going to cash in hugely now as her coup has created enough excitement and nobody is going to criticise a work that has already been given the critics seal of approval because surely that would be admitting that the Emperor’s New Clothes were really his birthday suit.

Not a feminist issue

It is sad that she had to use a man’s name to achieve critical acclaim in this new genre but this is not a feminist issue as there are plenty of successful men writing women’s fiction under female pen names. What it does say is that readers and critics can pigeon-hole authors depending on their names and herein lies the problem.

Prejudice exists and petty snobbery and standards are rife in all forms of the arts – especially literature. For anyone who doubts this perhaps consider the experiment carried out by The Washington Post in 2007. One of the world’s most acclaimed violinists, Joshua Bell, played in a subway station at rush hour on his $3,500,000 violin.

The pieces he played were by Bach and he had played them two nights previously to a packed theatre where seats were $100 a piece. However taken out of context few noticed him play in the subway. Even fewer stopped to throw him a coin. In fact it was only the children who had no pre-conceived opinions on good or bad music that seemed to be interested in what he was performing. One little child who stopped was the most anxious to listen but was pulled along – no doubt he is of similar spirit to the little boy who laughed at the Emperor’s New Clothes.

(YouTube/WashingtonPost)

The experiment carried out by JK begs two major questions. Do we need to be told what is quality art or literature as we get older? And how does the real Robert Galbraith feel? After spilling his heart into a novel, crafting it for hours, finally getting a publisher to take it and after getting that publisher to market it as hard as possible and putting it in the hands of top reviewers – is he meant to be delighted to sell 1,500 copies?

In this day and age he would not work back his advance which was probably somewhere between £5,000 and £10,000 – if he was lucky. Not exactly a fortune for a year or more work. So spare a thought for the real Robert Galbraiths out there that don’t have a trump card like JK and be true to your own taste – not what you are told is good art.

Michelle Jackson is the author of five bestselling novels and co-author of What Women Know – a book of wisdom for women. She is a teacher, travel-writer and panellist on TV3 Midday. For more information see www.michellejackson.ie . Her new novel is 5 Peppermint Grove and available in all good bookshops now published by Poolbeg press €9.99.

Column: Why Irish ‘chick lit’ is the true barometer of our time>

Column: Fifty Shades has changed lives – but not like the best chick lit>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute a tired fellow
    Favourite a tired fellow
    Nov 30th 2023, 11:56 AM

Ah no. Gone way too soon. RIP Shane

Mute King Funk
    Favourite King Funk
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:02 PM

Sorry we can’t play Fairytale of New York this year as it’s too offensive.
    Anyway here’s Cardi B rapping about her fanny

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:07 PM

@King Funk: It’ll be played this year like every year. You’re a fo ol.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:13 PM

@King Funk: Who can’t play FONY? Are those snowflakes living rent free in your head man?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:14 PM

@Tom Dillon: The original version or the woke version ?

Mute Hurrly 90
    Favourite Hurrly 90
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:22 PM

@King Funk: Talking rubbish, they literally played it on Radio Nova about 10 minutes ago. Yes it was not the ‘new’ version either.
    Maybe dont just listen to RTE FM

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:36 PM

@Hurrly 90:
    98fm played the edited version this morning, I was disappointed not to hear the original lyrics.

Mute King Funk
    Favourite King Funk
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:47 PM

@King Funk: lol karen’s.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:51 PM

@King Funk: you robbed that.

Mute King Funk
    Favourite King Funk
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:06 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: quick, call the guards

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:57 PM

@King Funk: They’re busy singing Galway Bay

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Nov 30th 2023, 2:31 PM

@King Funk: imagine playing politics with a man’s death, what you say may be true however there is a time and place for it and it’s not now

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:23 PM

Can someone please explain to me what’s even offensive about the lyrics. I’m genuinely curious to know if anyone really finds any of the lyrics offensive and why

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:31 PM

@King Funk: God, but I have grown to really hate that song. Over played and guaranteed to be badly sung at every Christmas party karaoke in the country. Not a patchvon Rainy Night In Soho.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:45 PM

@Sean: I did some googling.. turns out, apparently, people are offended! By a bundle of sticks, no less
    https://amp.theguardian.com/music/2020/dec/08/no-need-to-take-offence-to-the-word-f….t

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:48 PM

@Sean: apparently the journal filter takes offence too.. I’m still calling my children that if they refuse to pull their weight

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 30th 2023, 6:56 PM

@Sean Walsh: ‘woke version’. You’re a tool.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 30th 2023, 6:59 PM

@Sean Walsh: The song is rubbish because they don’t play the word f@gg0t. I don’t listen to 80s rap because I miss the N word. Dipstck.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 8:05 PM

@Tom Dillon: it’s use in rap increased exponentially after the 80′s to be fair.

Mute Ciaran O Donoghue
    Favourite Ciaran O Donoghue
    Nov 30th 2023, 11:57 AM

RIP. Christmas number 1 incoming.

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan
    Nov 30th 2023, 11:59 AM

@Ciaran O Donoghue: snowflakes won’t let that happen. Pity. He was fantastic. May he rest in peace.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:08 PM

@Fiona Ryan: Give it a rest Fiona.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute John O Connell
    Favourite John O Connell

@Fiona Ryan: only snowflake around here is you

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:27 PM

@Anthony Curran: she’s right though to be fair. Same people saying how sad his death is will be the same ones saying his lyrics are offensive.

Mute Niamh Smith
    Favourite Niamh Smith
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:31 PM

@Fiona Ryan: Snowflakes? Is that a new Christmas song?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:45 PM

@Andrew Lavelle: it’s almost like the two opinions are possible to hold at the same time. The only people that mention his ‘offensive’ lyrics are the ones that give out about people giving out about them. They far outnumber the mythical ‘snowflakes’ that live rent free in their heads.

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:00 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: literally makes no sense. They’d hardly be giving out if someone didn’t cry about the lyrics in the first place.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:02 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: Just this. Personally, the only mention I’ve heard of offensive lyrics with regard to the Pogues music comes from people complaining about ‘woke’ people being offended by the offensive lyrics. Really odd.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:03 PM

@Andrew Lavelle: literally a handful of people on twitter that nobody takes seriously in the first place. The easily riled up then act like thousands are marching in the street over it.

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:17 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: nobody takes seriously? When is the last time the original version was played on the radio????

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:27 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: well said. A good singer songwriter is dead and the conversation turns into a schoolyard argument about who is more the snowflake than the next person. They all need to stop being such a pack of biscuits

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:28 PM

@Andrew Lavelle: heard it today, as other people have said they have. In any case, im not that pushed about one word being changed tbh. You should probably examine why it bothers you so much.

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:08 PM

@Tommy Roche: 100%! I have never once heard anyone complaining about the lyrics but every year I hear these muppets whinging about these mythical people complaining about the lyrics. Sad lot they are. RIP Shane.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:34 PM

@Fiona Ryan: What’s all this about snowflakes taking offence? What’s there to be offended about? A few curses here and there? People are hardly worried about that in this day and age

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Nov 30th 2023, 6:19 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: then why were the lyrics changed?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 30th 2023, 7:58 PM

@Andrew Lavelle: numerous people have told you they have heard the ‘proper’ version on the radio up to today. The edited version existed before this argument ever arose online. It’s the decision of the radio station which version they want to play or not. Why don’t you take it up with them instead of raging at the fictional fun police you think are out to spurn your yearly chance of roaring your beloved forbidden word consequence free in a pub.

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Nov 30th 2023, 10:54 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: I’m not raging. Far from it. It’s just hilarious how ye pretend it wasn’t changed because of people complaining but then shoot down people that were not happy about the change. The same people that tried to get other songs cancelled and old books rewritten . But keep telling yourself it’s made up to make yourself happy .The biggest stations play the changed versions.
    Anyway RIP Shane McGowan

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl

Desperately sad. Thoughts are with his loved ones.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Nov 30th 2023, 11:58 AM

Rip Shane. You were a genuis and a rebel. Lullaby of London remains one one of the most beautiful songs ever written.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien

@Brian Dunne: Yes: that whole album is great.

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:25 PM

And an evening breeze coming from the east
    That kissed the riverside
    So I pray now, child, that you sleep tonight
    When you hear this lullaby

May the wind that blows from haunted graves
    Never bring you misery
    May the angels bright watch you tonight
    And keep you while you sleep

Mute Liam liam
    Favourite Liam liam

RIP We will never see another one like Shane

Mute rosemary flowers
    Favourite rosemary flowers
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:11 PM

I knew Shane as a 16 year old teenager in Pecham. He was an amazingly thoughtful boy even then and an exceptional talent. Condolences to his wife, family andd many friends. May he rest in peace.

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy

Rest In peace Shane

Mute Jan Eire
    Favourite Jan Eire

God rest him very sad,thought he was ok when they sent him home.RIP

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:55 PM

@Jan Eire: he was no Kissenger.

Mute doownelg@hotmail.com
    Favourite doownelg@hotmail.com
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:31 PM

@Pól Pot: or Jimmy Corkhill:) and now Alastair Darling. Four well-known deaths today, sadly. RIP all. A Rainy Night in Soho fabulous song. Another fabulous talent gone.

Mute Michele Milne
    Favourite Michele Milne
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:09 PM

“Fairytale New York” will be sung mighty this year!…rest in peace Shane and Kirsty and thank you for bringing the best Christmas song to our heart’s …

Mute Keith O'Driscoll
    Favourite Keith O'Driscoll

Hopefully SMcG is now at peace. A National Treasure. RIP Shane McGowan

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:28 PM

@Keith O’Driscoll: Born in Kent UK … the Brits will claim him now!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:40 PM

@Lulu: He was London Irish, which is a thing in itself. The mixture was massively important, and sparked his creativity: he couldn’t have written those songs had he lived all his life in Tipperary. So we can’t fully claim him either.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 30th 2023, 3:20 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Brilliant point Brendan, he would never written any of those classics or been the amazing lyricist that he was, had London and English culture not shaped him. Sad day though, as we will never see the likes of him again. RIP Shane

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Nov 30th 2023, 9:26 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: So true. For us London Irish, he was ours.

Mute Charles Mc Carthy
    Favourite Charles Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:01 PM

Instantly recognisable symbol of Ireland irrespective of one’s thoughts. God be good to his gentle soul. He left a legacy of wonderful music for future generations.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 30th 2023, 7:54 PM

@Charles Mc Carthy: recognisable symbol of Ireland or the emigrant Irish in Britain?

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan

This morning on the harbour, when I said goodbye to you
    I remember how I swore that I’d come back to you one day
    And as the sunset came to meet, the evening on the hill
    I told you I’d always love you, I always did, I always will
    RIP Shane legend

Mute larry smith
    Favourite larry smith

R.i.p Shane ,thanks for the memories.

Mute Orla McCabe
    Favourite Orla McCabe

RIP

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C

What a brilliant singer song writer, the best of Irish talent ever produced. RIP young man

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

@Rafa C: Irish talent?

Mute Lilly Lalogue
    Favourite Lilly Lalogue

Great character, great singer. Give Kirsty MacColl a big hug when you arrive.

Mute Darragh O Meara
    Favourite Darragh O Meara

RIP Shane. I knew when I heard he had been discharged from hospital that he was on his final journey.

Mute James Brohan
    Favourite James Brohan
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:00 PM

Desperately sad right now. I loved you Shane. Rest in Peace.

Mute Howyafixed
    Favourite Howyafixed
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:04 PM

It was Christmas Eve babe…

Rest in Peace. Legend.

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter

Did it his own way…..god bless you Shane we won’t see your likes again

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran

A genius lyricist. His songs will live forever. Rest in peace Shane. We will never forget you x

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

A true music icon. RIP.

Mute This is typical of a failed TD. Why would they be
    Favourite This is typical of a failed TD. Why would they be
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:04 PM

Ahh no, so so sad. Deepest sympathy to his partner Victoria and his family and friends. Rest in Eternal Peace Shane.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry

Fantastic songwriter, RIP Shane

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Nov 30th 2023, 8:43 PM

@Paul Gorry: did you do a days work today?

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:17 PM

A man of immeasurable talent. His songs will live on forever. I had the honour of meeting him once and he was incredibly humble and a complete gentleman. They say never meet your hero’s but Shane was an exception in every sense. RIP Shane.

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor

“You’re the measure of my dreams” RIP Shane

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon

Rainy night in SoHo probably one of the best… turned trad into rock. What a voice what a talent x

Rest in Peace you legend and sincerest condolences to Victoria and all your loved ones x

Mute KDSFkZpO
    Favourite KDSFkZpO
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:05 PM

Gone but not forgotten, RIP Shane.

Mute Kane Taxis
    Favourite Kane Taxis
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:03 PM

R.I.P Shane

Mute Jane Smith
    Favourite Jane Smith
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:00 PM

So sad

Mute Logs Byrne
    Favourite Logs Byrne
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:22 PM

I’m not singing for the future
    I’m not dreaming of the past
    I’m not talking of the first times
    I never think about the last

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:49 PM

@Logs Byrne: Great lyrics…one of my favourites.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:03 PM

Keep the old mouth shut today Fanning, no one cares what you thought of the great man!

Rip Shane.

Mute Kenny Jones
    Favourite Kenny Jones

Another legend gone so sad him and Sinead o Connor having some party in heaven

Mute best of luck all
    Favourite best of luck all

Another legend gone too soon, RIP Shane.

Mute Setanta O'Toole

RIP Shane. Very Sad. An icon.

Mute Fergus Jones
    Favourite Fergus Jones

Left us with a lot of beautiful memories . Thanks Shane .

Mute Moses
    Favourite Moses
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:15 PM

The Lord have mercy on you Shane.
    You have left a mighty legacy.
    God Speed.

Mute Paddy Geoghegan
    Favourite Paddy Geoghegan

Ireland had great poets another one gone to write and sing his poetry in the as he joins the greatest gig in the sky.

RIP Shane

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 30th 2023, 7:55 PM

@Paddy Geoghegan: but he was English.

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:15 PM

‘You’re the measure of my dreams’…..what a lyric.amazing song writer.RIP.

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:45 PM

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam dilís.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:27 PM

@Alex Marquis: go maith

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:16 PM

Rest in peace Shane. Thanks for the music and memories.

Mute Richard Reade
    Favourite Richard Reade
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:21 PM

The first time I saw you
    Standing in the Street
    You were so cool
    You could have put out Vietnam

Probably the single best lyricist and poet of the 80s and 90s bar none

Rest in Peace Shane

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:31 PM

@Richard Reade: I thought the ‘Vietnam’ one was probably his worst line ever (or Sinead’s, if she came up with it), and ruined the whole song.

Mute Richard Reade
    Favourite Richard Reade
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:50 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Maybe Brendan I just think it iconic to describe him and how he could light up a room. A genius and i will be forever in awe of his words a gentle poet

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:56 PM

@Richard Reade: I totally agree.

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:30 PM

So sorry to hear this news, Shane and the Pogues and the Popes , have given us songs that will last forever and will echo down through the generations.

Thank you to Victoria for taking him and keeping him, what a rock, a love story for the ages.

Condolences to family, friends and fans alike, Godspeed Shane and thank you so much.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:18 PM

Massive loss…True Genius…Will truly be missed…RIP

Mute nollaig o cellaigh
    Favourite nollaig o cellaigh
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:23 PM

Heartbroken here tears starting

Mute Jamie Hinch
    Favourite Jamie Hinch
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:18 PM

He seemed indestructible in that Keith Richards kind of way. RIP.

Mute Joe Price
    Favourite Joe Price
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:29 PM

He may be gone r.i.p.
    However his songs will live on forever

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:39 PM

Years ago with glitzy album covers, an American label wanted to photoshop his teeth into Colgate sparkly white, but he gave them something to chew on. He was the Brendan Behan of music.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:17 PM

One of the greatest songwriters of all times.and a true Irishman.RIP Shane McGowan you may be gone but you will never be forgotten

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:01 PM

Another Iconic singer has gone all too soon…rest in peace Shane

Mute Aidan Cullinane
    Favourite Aidan Cullinane
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:35 PM

RIP Sir.

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:48 PM

He was barely hanging, he is out of his pain now but has left an enduring legacy.

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:48 PM

Genius songwriter, very eloquent writer and fascinating life. Re-watch “Haunted by the ghost” his duet with Sinéad O’Connor in 1995. Two exceptionally talented people.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:21 PM

I don’t remember his glory years been of the snowflake generation but I remember my aul
    Lad listening to him in the car..he was excellent. Pity we don’t produce the like anymore.

Mute Eamonn Ferry
    Favourite Eamonn Ferry
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:13 PM

Rest in Peace Shane.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary

The worms crawl in and the worms crawl out…..be merry my friends, be merry. RIP

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:06 PM

Legend rip

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:30 PM

With all due respect,but something I always wondered about was the fact that he seemed to be encouraged to drink(and whatever else) . Did he ever get much support with alcohol , I remember him on the late late once and the set was a bar!. Anyway a genius no doubt. R.I.P.

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Nov 30th 2023, 2:01 PM

Shane McGowan and Sinéad O’Connor in the same year. I can’t stop crying. It’s so unbearably sad. Two relatively young lives.

Mute Brendan Butler
    Favourite Brendan Butler
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:50 PM

RIP Shane, I hope McCormack and Richard Tauber were singing by your bed…..

Mute Dan Breen
    Favourite Dan Breen
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:22 PM

He died the same day as on of the world’s most evil men, but it is Shane whose legacy will live forever.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:31 PM

@Dan Breen: dunno about the other fellas legacy being short lived, many are still living with the effects of his actions across the globe. I’d mention examples but it’s easier to just say take your pick.

Mute Tom tom
    Favourite Tom tom
    Nov 30th 2023, 2:24 PM

Many moons ago I remember walking through Temple Bar on my way to college early one morning and seeing Shane passed out on the steps outside the old Club M. Pint of clear spirit in a glass beside him. Thought how sad it was. A talent who’s addiction disease took over. May he RIP.

Mute Edward Hughes
    Favourite Edward Hughes
    Nov 30th 2023, 5:53 PM

A rainy in soho…… what a way with words. What a picture that song paints…….one of my favs of all time

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy

Is that the best photo ye could come up with FFS

Mute IMHO
    Favourite IMHO

Probably. With respect, he was no Brad Pitt.

Mute Ní neart go cur le chéile.
    Favourite Ní neart go cur le chéile.

The fairytale of New York (never fed up, even thousand times), the dirty old town… my favorite songs and you were the first irish singer I studied when i came to ireland 2 decades ago. Also leaned singers sing better when they are drunk. What a fkin day, first Kissinger, now you? Just before Xmas? RIP the legend

Mute Michael Dineen
    Favourite Michael Dineen
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:59 PM

RIP Shane, you were and are very much loved.

Mute George Richter
    Favourite George Richter
    Nov 30th 2023, 5:43 PM

Sleep well, shane, your music inspired us very much

Mute TheLost Traveller
    Favourite TheLost Traveller
    Nov 30th 2023, 5:02 PM

RIP Shane legend………

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Nov 30th 2023, 12:23 PM

Happy Xmas my A**e !!
    I’d rather be dead.

Rest in peace to a legend.

Mute Karl Paul
    Favourite Karl Paul
    Nov 30th 2023, 2:06 PM

Wow,. Shane MacGowan, Alistair Darling and Sticky Vicky…. Now that’s some lineup at the Pearly Gates. R.I.P.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 30th 2023, 4:34 PM

Legend, make sure the song never gets banned or changed.

Mute James cornflake
    Favourite James cornflake
    Nov 30th 2023, 1:32 PM

Wonder what kinda fartage Fanning will spew.

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan

LEGEND full stop
    Had his deamons
    R.I.P. Shane

Mute Leonard Gardner
    Favourite Leonard Gardner
    Nov 30th 2023, 9:30 PM

The two who sang that lovely Christmas song now meet to have a laugh and a joke in the lovely place that some call heaven. RIP Shane. You truly were different but in a beautiful way.

Mute Joe Country
    Favourite Joe Country
    Nov 30th 2023, 10:04 PM

RIP Shane. The world will never see your like again.

Mute Miami Mercenary
    Favourite Miami Mercenary
    Dec 1st 2023, 6:56 AM

R.i.p