TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Restaurant removes urinals shaped like woman’s mouth

The two urinals designed by female Dutch artist Meike van Schijndel, which resemble a woman’s lipsticked mouth, are to be removed after being labelled “an example of misogyny”.

Image: Cool Chica via Meike van Schijndel (designer's website)

A SUMPTUOUS NEW French restaurant in Sydney has said it would remove two urinals designed to resemble a woman’s lipsticked mouth, apologising for any offence they have caused.

The Ananas Bar and Brasserie said the bright red-lipped urinals shaped like an open mouth were “a commonly used European design piece from female Dutch artist Meike van Schijndel“.

“We sincerely apologise if they have caused offence. They are being removed today,” a spokeswoman said in a statement.

The stylish restaurant opened three weeks ago, with the Sydney Morning Herald’s food reviewer describing the urinals as “no real surprise here at Ananas, merely adding to the extraordinary collision of statements and intent”.

But feminist, former political adviser and writer Anne Summers said the design was offensive. “Misogyny is very widespread, and this is just an example of misogyny,” said Summers.

“The concept is pretty challenging and confronting. They’re asking men to put their dicks in these mouths as urinals.”

Australia is the grip of a fierce political debate about sexism after Prime Minister Julia Gillard, the nation’s first woman leader, accused opposition leader Tony Abbott of being a misogynist.

The unmarried Gillard said Tuesday she had been personally offended by many of Abbott’s remarks over the years — from urging her to “make an honest woman of herself”, to his cat-calling at her in parliament.

“If he wants to know what misogyny looks like in modern Australia, he doesn’t need a motion in the House of Representatives, he needs a mirror,” she said in stinging comments.

- © AFP, 2012

VIDEO: Australian PM lashes out at ‘sexist’ Abbott>

Read next:

Comments (105 Comments)

• Anyone else see the irony in the fact that the woman giving out about this is named Anne Summers?

• Surely they’re taking the piss…..

• If I’m standing at a urinal, it’s because I need to urinate. I’m not there to make a statement, or marvel at the establishment’s sense of whimsy.

“Edgy” toilets are arse.

• Misogyny = is the hatred or dislike of women or girls. Thanks Google

• mike 10/10/12 #

There is a pub in galway that has them. Everyone thinks its a laugh and there is always women going into the gents to have a look. never met anyone who was offended by them. They are just a bit of fun…

• Some people are so easily offended.

• I was in that bar Massimo in Galway once. You should see what the soap dispensers in the women’s toilets are shaped as! Personally I thought it was in very poor taste. Not everyone sees the funny side of soap ‘ejaculating’ onto your hand. My mother was shocked. I will not be frequenting this establishment again.

• Gobsmacked!

• As long as there are no teeth on them I’d be comfortable enough having a slash in them.

• DEAR FEMINISTS your gonna turn into a totalitarian regime that destroys and bans all art science and everything of value thats connected to a misogynist or a misogynistic idea, but these urinals were designed by Meike van Schijndel, (1973) who was raised in the modern world as is a strong woman herself, and makes jokes in interviews that the inspiration came from Mick Jaggers lips! so there not even female lips! the urinal is a joke designed to make men uneasy. Its design, its art, its expression IT IS NOT MISOGYNIST

• Yep ladies and also had your knickers in a twist over hunky dory girls too but I never heard anyone complain For years over the diet coke adds

• And that’s especially wrong when you consider the widespread oppression of men, the fact that they get lower wages, are regularly beaten up by their partners, sexually harassed on the street and that in 2010 one in every 10,000 men was raped.

Oh wait, that’s women.

• Stephanie the above also applies to men, perhaps not as widespread as it is for women but it still happens!!!

• Actually Ryan the above applies to some men but the numbers aren’t even close. Not to mention the fact that there isn’t a country in the world where any of those things would be legally allowed when applied to men, for women on the other hand…

• Oh and by the way, the above statistic is one in 10,000 women in Ireland.

• +1000000

• Regardless: I don’t think lip shaped urinals are the cause of those issues or adding to them to be honest!

• @Stephanie
      “are regularly beaten up by their partners”

Bit of an over generalization I’d say.

• @ Stephanie your part of the problem making big issues from a meaningless joke you will never have to look at one unless your a peeping Mary skulking around lads jacks..as your reference to rape is completely unjustified in the context of a urinal discussion clutching at straws throwing in any argument to help..mole hill into mountain springs to mind

• Stephanie, I’m sure any male rape victims out there would be massively offended by your insensitivity to their sexual assault simply because they represent a minority.

Rape is Rape is Rape

(I think we are getting off subject)

• Stephanie – you are making massive generalisations. I don’t know how you figure it out but women do not get paid lower than men. Maybe for your generation it is still an issue, but for mine it is not.

You are making this out into a Man Vs Woman issue. You talk about reported cases of domestic violence or rape against women as if its a competition. “we got more rapes on our side than you did” is what your position sounds like. The fact is that the majority of men who are in violent relationships with women or men do not report the violence because of the shame associated with it. Very few men who have been raped report it.

Women have access to well established, well funded and relatively powerful support groups and organisations. Women who have been abused have a voice and support. Men don’t.

And at the end of the day, its a bloody toilet. If I need to go, I’m not really gonna care what it looks like. There are far more important issues to be sorted out.

• Lamb 10/10/12 #

We’re all a bit sad really.Why did it have to greet into a gender debate when the bottom line is that those urinals are in bad taste (no pun intended) and seriously juvenile. I don’t think they are there to put women down just a lousy joke.

• Lamb 10/10/12 #

Also, I think it’s a bit sensational to suggest that any women was raped over the Humbly Dory ads. It’s just an ad and that comment is offensive.

• Sexualisation of women is more to the fore I guess. Sex sells whether it’s men or woman involved. Just because an ad sexualises men doesn’t mean it justifies it when women are involved (and vice versa of course). I have to say I found the hunky dory ad very distasteful myself (just speaking for myself, not all women!) and that it might not do much for how women are viewed in sport either.

• Winston where exactly was I insensitive towards the rape of men? Of course rape is rape, no matter what the gender of the victim. And I don’t think it’s off topic, I think it’s part of the context for why this is creepy as hell.

• Actually Stephanie, most sources state that around 40% of all sexual assault victims under the age of 18 are boys. Furthermore, in sexual assault cases with a female perpetrator, only 2% will end up with a jail sentence. Finally, there are many who don’t believe that males can be victims of sexual assault, or that females can be perpetrators, and male victims are much more likely to receive hostile treatment should they speak up.

So kindly don’t shoot of at the hip with every post.

Btw for the record: The urinals are tacky, and a bit pathetic.

• Should have left them there and enjoyed the publicity. I’m surprised to see the French so easily pushed around.
    Mullally’s pub in Robertstown got the name of the dirtiest toilets in Ireland. People flocked to see them!

• Speaking as a feminist, I think those urinals are a fabulous design! It never would have occurred to me about a man pissing in a woman’s mouth. If they were to scale, then it could be seen as offensive, but I honestly don’t see anything demeaning to women about it. If anything, I would have thought men would be upset due to the lips making their dicks look tiny in comparison!

• it’s about as offensive as a ‘funky’ fish-print toilet seat. fookin cool urinals. stupid that anyone would see utilities as a feminist issue.

• hey stephanie come down off your crazy horse there for a second. are you seriously linking these urinals to things like rape and domestic violence. there is a lot worse going on out there than this. you could devote your time and channel your anger towards these issues instead of complaining ad nauseum about the symbolism of a feckin urinal. if there is someone out there who lokked at that urinal and decided to commit a crime against women then the problem was there already. the urinal sure as hell didnt cause it

• Not a real issue. This woman should focus her attention on plenty of real women’s rights issues all around the world. This certainly isn’t one of them.

• It’s part of a wider issue, that of women being seen as objects. The artist may have intended it as a joke but she has overlooked the symbolism of a man pissing in the mouth of woman who can’t object to it. Women being seen as objects is a major problem in Australia, and in Ireland for that matter. Any guy who comes on here faffing on about women making a big deal out of nothing and women aren’t seen as objects will have a hard time continuing to do so when he counts up the number of his female companions who have been groped in public without their permission. The problem is the image created of a woman who is unable to object to a man simply treating her as he deems fit. Women aren’t the only ones offended by this, I know a fair few lads who would object to those being the only urinals available.

Look lads, enjoy the laugh if you must but just try and consider how a rape victim would feel for a second please?

• And this is different to all the novelty vibrators sold by the likes of Ann summers? Or the novelty willies you see women wearing on hen nights?

As has been said already, there are loads of real issues to tackle. This is a non issue. Stop turning this into a men vs women thing. It’s not.

• Lamb 10/10/12 #

What about Willy Whistles on hen nights. Chocolate penises and that women thatthought it was funny when reached between my legs and groped me when I was trying to carry 3 pints to my wife and her mates. Surely all that’s misandry then?

• Lads, if a girl wants to use a novelty vibrator there is no reason why a man souks be offended. If a woman in using a ‘willy straw’ on a hen night the imaginary man is the receiver of sexual gratification.

In this case the urination into the supposed mouth of a woman cannot be but degrading.

I’d hate to have to bring my son into one of these Loo’s and have to explain the reference.

If anything they are base, unimaginative and appeal to the easily amused.

Is a sense of general decency too much to expect?

• Yes, it is indeed misandy. And I think all those things both of you have listed are terrible too. I’ll never understand why women complaining about things like this are given examples of sexual assault or objectification of men with an implication that they’re fine with it because it’s happening to men. I’m not. You being groped was abhorrent and I’ve nothing but contempt and disgust for the person who did it.

I also don’t think anything is a “men vs. women” issue, I neither said nor implied that, you’ll notice above that I said I know many men who will be appalled by this also. I should also point out that when I said “lad” I mean it in the very Irish, “hey everybody” sense.

• I’d say you’re some craic Stephanie

• Thanks Stephanie and Winston for bringing some intelligence and empathy to the thread. I notice a man and a woman have both expressed a similar opinion here and that the man has received a favourable response while the woman has been downvoted massively. Funny that.

• Wow Stephanie,
      From urinals to rape victims in one easy sentence.
      The clichés are always great to fall back on when the argument doesnt hold water.

• Not so at all Lynda. Stephanie seems to be suggesting a link between using these, admittedly unfunny, toilets and crimes against women. It’s ludicrous. Which is why her comments received a lot of red thumbs. My comment pointed out the harmless fun women have with silly willies and such and nobody does or should take offence. Life is much too short to be getting upset about everything, save that for the stuff that actually harms people.

• ?.? 10/10/12 #

@man well maybe instead of women’s issues how about people’s issues?

• ?.? 10/10/12 #

I went to the urinal….
      But they offended my delicate sensibilities and I had to use the stall.
      #FirstWorldProblems

• @ ?.?
      I’m not sure of your point?

• Yeah Vinnie, clearly I must be a no-fun arsehole because I think having something you piss in shaped like a woman’s mouth is creepy.

• Hi jim ahh jim ahh jim, if my argument has no substance how about you argue against it instead of just criticising it? And since when is rape a cliche? I think my point that someone who has been raped would not find the idea of someone pissing in something shaped like a person’s mouth is quite substantial actually.

• You’ll definitely miss ‘andy if they didn’t replace the urinals…

• Maria 10/10/12 #

Well said Winston. Having fun, celebrating sex and laughing at it is one thing, but this is completely different.

• Maria 10/10/12 #

Well said Winston. Having fun, celebrating sex and laughing at it is one thing, but this is completely different.

• When nature calls and my back teeth are threatening to float out I couldn’t care less what the urinal looks like.
    I would much rather see people use them than seeing people stopping by the side of the road in full view and urinating .

• Why is it assumed to be a woman’s mouth? Lipstick = woman seems a little closed minded and disrespectful to our transgender friends (if you want to get really politically correct about it).

• Strewth, what’s to get offended about, Sheilas eh?

• Can any woman actually explain why they would be offended by this design?

• Gives a whole new meaning to Potty Mouth.

• feminists before ye get your knickers in a twist, in this age of sexual liberation it has been known for men to wear lip stick…

• Some people need to build a bridge and get over it!
    They were designed by a women and to be honest, as a women I find them pretty cool!
    I think these aren’t demeaning to women but actually empowering.
    They are not sexually exploiting women but highlight that fact that in today’s society women can as sexually provocative and strong as they want, not as men allow them to be.
    In my opinion the idea of ‘feminism’ is more demeaning as it paints women to be weak by allowing things like this to aggravate them.
    Surely a truly self empowered women would see items like these and say to herself ‘look how far we have come, now that we can overlook the implied demeaning nature and find pleasure knowing that we can still feel strong in ourselves regardless of these items’ existence!

• I frequent Massimo on a regular basis, however I am also a strong believer in the feminist movement. This has left me in quite the quandary when I have needed to go to the urination station. However I have managed to offset this by having a wank over Virginia Wolfe when I get home. Sometimes life is about finding a happy medium

• Feminists gone mad, this is what happens when ye let them out of the kitchen.

• @fleetingwhim: women are disproportionately portrayed as sex object & 90% are on magazines because they are attractive? Who makes these choices? Women of course! I’m sure many women would be the first to argue if they had no choice, and rightly so! Women are clever you know! :-)

• As a man I am offended that women were in the men’s toilets being offended

• Trust the feminist to have something to say.

• object,

not person.

one wonders,

what you do

with your d__k,

in private? With

such a pair of

finely painted

lips. Your wives’?

• When you look at these things you do think it’s a woman’s mouth, just as most people would think the Rolling Stones’ logo is a woman’s mouth. The whole thing is pretty gross because it’s making men figuratively piss in a woman’s mouth whenever they go to the loo.

I wonder how would men feel if the urinals were shaped like an obviously male mouth, say with a moustache or a beard around it? That would be a lot ‘edgier’ from an artistic perspective, but I’m sure a lot of men would be offended by the implied ‘gayness’ – whereas pissing in a woman’s mouth is funny and just a bit a laugh…

• Do you really think the majority of men are that immature?? “Oh no, there is moustache on the urinal…i best piss myself instead because i might catch the gay from using it!”

Grow up! Most men don’t give a crap about this kind of stuff because there are real more important issues to sort out. Its like the giant abercrombie poster that was beside trinity college. A huge giant topless torso of an athletic bloke….it wasn’t taken down because of complaints from men, it got taken down because of some building regulation. The female presenter on Newstalk breakfast was complaining about it being taken down because he was lovely to look at.

Now if the Sun decided to put a giant poster advertising their paper with a topless page 3 model. It would have been taken down the day it was put up. It would be obscene and offensive to a small majority of women. If a male radio presenter had of said how lovely it was to look at, there would be calls for his head and he would be out of a job by the end of the week.

As the majority of men and women here have said, its a toilet…get over it.

• @fleetingwhim, i didnt thing attitudes like that still existed. You think men wouldnt urinate in them had they been shaped like a male mouth for fear of catching “gayness”. Oh dear. You sound like a feminist extremist crossed with a bible belt preacher.

• You’re both being really disingenuous in your responses to my post. I obviously don’t think you can ‘catch gay’ off a urinal, all I’m saying is that lots of men wouldn’t be so comfortable/blase about it if it was an obviously male mouth they were pissing into, complete with stubble and/or a moustache. At the very least, a lot of them would go ‘ugh’ rather think it was funny. Do you think there is no significance at all to the fact it’s a female looking mouth?

King Olaf: I take your point about the poster, but the reason women object to this sort of stuff is that women are disproportionately portrayed in that way – as sex objects – whereas men being portrayed in that overtly sexualised, depersonalised way is still somewhat unusual in the sense that most images we see of men are not sexualised, whereas the vast majority of images of women are. It’s the constant bombardment and lack of balance that’s the problem, not either gender being portrayed in a sexualised way some of the time. Take for example going into a newsagents, men are magazine covers as musicians, sportspeople, politicians, businessmen etc., whereas 90% of women are there because they’re attractive.

I also don’t think it’s true a male dj would be sacked as you say as there is a lot more tolerance for sexist attitudes than that implies. It’s still ok to be sexist in a way that it’s not ok to be racist or homophobic.

• This is blatantly sexist, stupid and unacceptable. Such thing should not be in a public place. If people want them in the privacy of their homes… so be it. No accounting for taste!

• Its a freaking toilet….not a big deal.

Just because the design of the lips are painted with lipstick you presume it to be a female pair of lips. So do you think women should have to wear lipstick or that men should not be allowed? If people want to be offended by something, be offended by the fact you are pissing in a human mouth. There is no way to truly tell if these lips are female or male.

There is no accounting for taste but isn’t that the nature of art. I don’t particularly like it myself, but who am I to decide. Maybe it is stupid….maybe it is offensive….if that is the case take your business elsewhere. The only reason it could be sexist is because some people want to find it sexist by presuming only women should wear lipstick.

• Yeah, who does this WOMAN think she is creating it like that!

• Can i have the urinals, money made from sale will go to the irish DSPCA

• cha-ching~! This story is 10 years old…?! Still, it’s crisis and the comic-strip design is selling again.

Just like a Virgin in JFK in the previous decade?
    http://www.expatica.com/nl/news/local_news/orders-flow-in-after-lips-urinal-controversy-5926.html

Still, orders are flowing in from ‘all over the world’… once again. Guess production will go into full
    swing now; ( down under ? ).
    Funny, that Maike’s surname in Dinglish, transliterates as “Apparent deal”?

Schijn dæl? Zeker veel handelen!

• The Australian Anne Summers is a well respected media commentator and author. Nothing to do with the company of the same name here

• This woman is obviously extremely easily offended. “The concept is pretty challenging and confronting. They’re asking men to put their dicks in these mouths as urinals.” What about the people who consider the word “dick” offensive? Oh and unless she has one herself, how exactly does it concern her? Nobody is asking her to use these urinals or even look at one. She needs to lighten up and grow a sense of humour. I saw a similar thing in a gents toilet in a Brewery in Ghent in Belgium last year and thought they were funny.

• Seriously, installing something like that shows a complete lack of sensitivity. Especially when women are likely to be cleaning them.

• Dutch art with a capital F!

• Hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha some people take things way too serious hahahahahaha

• Lamb 10/10/12 #

This is coming from Anne Summers right? Oh the irony.

• You would wonder what his thinking was for designing them that way.

• Meanwhile, google can show any m̶a̶n̶ , woman o̶r̶ child, or man acres of this very act in reality.

Add New Comment