TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

I won’t choose taxis driven by a foreign driver, says Fianna Fáil Senator

Pascal Mooney apologised for his comments after he told the Seanad that “obvious non-national” drivers often don’t know directions around Dublin city.

Paschal Mooney speaking in the Seanad this afternoon

Updated 19:35

A FIANNA FÁIL Senator has said he will not get into a taxi driven by someone who is not from Ireland.

Senator Paschal Mooney told the Seanad chamber this afternoon that “obvious non-national” drivers often don’t know “one end of the street from the other”. He said that he was not being racist but that he now chooses “local taxi drivers” instead because they are more likely to know their way around Dublin.

He later apologised and withdrew his remarks, saying that he had been misinterpreted.

One TD  said Mooney’s comments were discriminatory and questioned how he can judge someone’s nationality through a car window.

The Senator had told the chamber that there was “stronger than anecdotal evidence that there are people driving taxis around this city who don’t know one end of the street from the other”.

I’ve been in taxis and I have to say, and I’m not in any way being discriminatory here, but it’s nearly always non-nationals. And it’s got to the point where, quite frankly, and I make no apologies for it, that I will now go to a local taxi driver in preference to somebody who’s a non-national-  an obvious non-national, and that has nothing to do with the colour of their skin or anything of that nature.

The Senator had been speaking on the Taxi Regulation Bill which was being debated in the Seanad this afternoon. He also noted that drivers in cities such as London have to “jump through hoops” in order to get their licence and said standards are far higher than in Ireland.

Paschal Mooney was given permission to make a personal statement in the Seanad this evening and apologised for his earlier remarks.

He said that he acknowledged the contribution that people from other countries had made to Ireland and reiterated that his comments had not been racist. He told the chamber:

It’s come to my attention that remarks I made about non-nationals during my contribution on the Taxis Regulation Bill 2013 earlier today have been misinterpreted.
I wish to unreservedly withdraw the remarks and apologise for any offence caused. I fully acknowledge and respect the contribution of non-nationals to the life of Ireland, and I clearly stated at the time that my remarks should not have been interpreted as discriminatory to anyone.

Sinn Féin TD Dessie Ellis questioned exactly how Senator Mooney could tell the nationality of drivers. In a statement this afternoon, Ellis said:

There are people of many different nationalities and cultures working in Ireland in all different sectors. They are part of our communities and economies and Paschal Mooney would do well to remember that before he so callously judges them.
He said his discriminatory practice was not based on colour but I am intrigued as to how Senator Mooney has the ability to discern someone’s nationality through a car window. Regardless it is wrong to do this and wrong for a public representative to openly condone it.

The Integration Centre condemned the Senator’s comments. The organisation’s CEO, Killian Forde, said that what Mooney said was “the very definition of racism.”

Rhetoric such as that spoken by Senator Rooney today in a house of public representatives promotes negative attitudes towards the immigrant community.

Paschal Mooney has been a Senator for all but three years since 1987 and is currently Fianna Fáil’s spokesperson on Social Protection in the Seanad. He was a broadcaster on RTÉ for a number of years before he entered politics.

His comments come less than a week after a Fianna Fáil councillor was strongly criticised for saying Travellers should be segregated from society.

- Additional reporting by Paul Hyland

Read: Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’? >

In numbers: How much would we save by abolishing the Seanad?

Read: FF councillor criticised for anti-Traveller comments >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (252 Comments)

• I dont know if they do it already or not. But it kinda makes that taxi drivers should have to take a test to prove they know their way around before being given a taxi licence. They do it in london and i’ve never had to direct where I want to go. That would solve the problem surely?

• GPS navigation has eliminated the need for “local only” entrants. Before 2000, the Irish taxi profession was seen as uncompetitive and people couldn’t afford to take a taxi. After the market was opened to competition, many Irish taxi drivers complained saying they couldn’t charge higher fees. Surprise surprise.

• Taxi drivers do sit a knowledge test.

• As I said before it was deleted, certain sections of society are known to use one car among several people, and as such, I wont hail them as I’m not willing to chance my health in the event of an accident as insurance won’t cover me.

• Not being smart Oisín but there must be a way around taking the test or its just not a very good test because I’ve had several drivers(Irish and non-national) ask me for directions to where I live once I get past Fairview. It seems to be an common enough problem for other people too. Its not that I mind giving the directions either, its just that its their job to know most areas of where they operate. Plus if there was an effective knowledge test it would finally put to bed this argument about foreigners being dodgey taxi drivers.

@John – If you have a smartphone, you should just get the Hailo to order your taxi. Doesn’t cost anything extra on the fare and you know the driver has been approved by them also.

• PLEASE……A Moment of silence for all the trolls who had their account banned because of this article.

• King Olaf, one guy will sit multiple tests.

• King olaf, yes he’s one of the sitters, why isn’t he being looked at by the authoritys. The system is a sham!

• Yes in London.! And it takes them three years to complete it, never had to direct any London cabbie..

• They do have to take the test to kbow where they are going. However a non irish person only needs to get a small percent correct but irish need to get nearly 80 percent give or take. There was courtesy between taxi drivers years ago but then when non irish jumped on board that stopped as too many drivers on the road.also consider the part timers.

• I don’t bother with Taxis. I go out, have 3 pints and drive myself home with my brand new Healy Ray drivers licence.

• My favourite bit is “and I make no apologies for it” followed by an apology an hour later. There’s usually an election between a Fianna Fáil statement and a complete reversal in policy.

• Well I wouldn’t get into a taxi driven by a member of Fianna Fáil…

• It happened to me I got a Taxi from houston to Clanwilliam Place where I had a meeting this chap was a non national and as I had no knowage how to get there as I’m from the midlands he brought me around in circles aventulaly I had to ask him to ring the office and get directions and then I noticed his picture showen was not the same as his I got out and got another Taxi to get where I was going.

• I got a taxi in Cork once to go to college driven by a fella of about 50 (not his first day on the job anyway) with one of the thickest Cork accents you could come across. Definitley not foreign anyway. Asked to go to College Road. He asked where’s that. I mean seriously, the clue is in the name!!! You could think of heading in the direction of UCC, maybe.

Yet I have gotten a lift home in foreign-owned taxis without satnavs to an obscure estate in Wilton and never even had to mention anything beyond the house number and estate name.

It’s pot luck when you get into a taxi. There are some excellent Irish drivers who know the city better than they know their own face, and there are some excellent foreign drivers who know even that bit more because they know they have to make the effort with the bias piled high against them. Both lots have some absolutely woeful drivers who should be stripped of their licences altogether.

Simple solution, test everyone applying for a taxi licence. It’s not unreasonable. A London taxi driver is expected to know every single street in a city of 8 million people. I think our drivers could manage cities with a maximum population of 1 million.

• No offence but he’s right about not knowing directions. Just recently I got a taxi from Lucan to Clondalkin(it was 2 in the morning) and I had to direct him the whole way to my destination.

• Fianna Fail senator trying to pander to the taxi unions?

• Some people are cowboys, regardless of race. I’ve heard far more horror stories about Irish drivers than foreign ones but it doesn’t mean they should ALL be viewed with suspicion.

• I know a lad who had the same experience, when he refused to pay for the short journey and an argument ensued, the fake taxi man stuck him. Luckily it was in town and Gardai weren’t far away, charges are pending.

• I don’t view them all as suspicious although there has been more than one occasion i’ve had to direct a taxi driver. Believe me, i’d rather get a cab with a non-nationalist who doesn’t know the directions than get one with an irish nationalist who yaps on about his life story the entire journey.

• I’d way prefer to chat away to an Irish taxi driver. Have a little banter and stuff. It’s really hard to chat to Nigerian taxi drivers. Sometimes they don’t even say “hi” or “see ya”.They come across as rude, however I’d always get the first taxi on the rank or to come along. It’s the fair thing to do.

• I do love conversations about topics with taxi drivers myself but when its about him and his life and all i can say is “ah yeah”, there is nothing worse.

• Myself and my boyfriend recently got a taxi from camden street to phibsboro and the driver didn’t know where o connell street was!
      also we tried to get a taxi from connolly station to temple bar as the weather wasn’t great and we were asked to get out of two taxis in the rank as they wouldn’t drive us-it wasn’t worth it for them! I have to say I have was very upset and I would never pass any remarks on what nationality a person was.

• Woah!

• ‘I?m not in any way being discriminatory here’… but… *insert discriminatory comment* ha ha

• There’ no problems with foreign taxi drivers when your as pissed as a cat on a hacksaw in santa ponsa or the like, ya wouldn’t give a feck if bin laden was the pilot

• Don’t care who the driver is or where he/she is from. Makes no difference. I always have a fair idea where I’m going. However, I am “Car-ist”. Taxis cost a fortune, and I don’t want to spend hard earned money getting into a complete wreck of a car. The standard of taxis in Dublin runs from very good to not road worthy at all. I will let the obvious heaps drive by until I see a modern (last 5 years) car that looks like the driver has some pride in it. The safety of the car is also a major concern, albeit to a lesser extent at 3:00am.

• When are they abolishing this menagerie of expensive loons?

• He’s free to choose whichever taxi driver he wants.

So long as he doesn’t use govt force to decide who drives a taxi I see no problem in freedom of choice.

Go on, play the race card. Do it. It’s never been done before

• Buy Irish?

• buy irish is for products imported into the country. the money goes back to the manufacturers in China, Germany etc. If you pay a taxi driver, then the money stays in ireland.

• C’mon, it’s well known they send every cent back to their own Country.. They will tell ya this themselves.. Well a lot of them brag about it, yet you do get very genuine non- nationals..I met one once or twice.. Cant tar them all.

• Got a taxi recently in Dublin City centre with a dub driving. Asked to go to Leixlip. He tried to go via Naas to get there, just because they are local doesn’t mean they know where they are going.

• 1. Woman denied life saving termination because “it’s a Catholic country’.
    2. Horse burgers for the poor
    3. Pro-drink driving culchies

And now introducing number 4, I’m not gettin’ in a cab with a “non-national”.

It’s just all so embarrassing…

• He’ll make no apology for it … until someone tells him to apologise for it. As someone said in another thread our muppets give muppets a bad name!

• true that some ‘non-nationals’ don’t know the way. But I found some ‘nationals’ don’t either. What makes me particularly sick though, is that ‘Irish’ taxi drivers (at least in Galway) leave the lights on in the car so people can see they are ‘Irish’, and cover their respective taxi’s with Irish flags. Yet when you get in, they cannot even speak Irish, and are as friendly as a dog is to the postman. Once I got in a taxi in Dublin, and the driver (a national) said I didn’t sound Irish and where did I come from, to which I replied I was Irish and came from the Connemara Gaeltacht, at which point he asked if I was fluent in ‘Gaeltacht’!

I am not trying to paint Irish taxi drivers in a bad light, as most of those I have been with are pretty decent. But I hate all this crap between ‘nationals’ and ‘non nationals’: being ‘Irish’ should not entail you are any better than the next guy.

Of course it would be a Fianna Fáil Senator to stir the shit.

• Some foreign drivers would get lost in Dublin, but he phrased his remarks in a crass and clueless way. Stupidity like this is an argument for dumping the Senate.

• So I hear you’re a racist now senator…

• Added issue is the amount of people with serious criminal convictions for rape,murder and drugs both Irish and NOn Irish driving taxis plus cut and shut cars being used as well is another issue that has to be addressed.

• White, black, Asian who cares – they are all whining, hard done by fleecers. I’d rather walk then get a taxi.

• “I’m not in any way being discriminatory here.”

Definition of discrimination: The unjust or prejudicial treatment of different categories of people, especially on the grounds of race, age, or sex.

• It’s all about the Irish taxi drivers. Loyalty.

• As if we needed another excuse to vote against mainstream parties. FF obviously sees a niche Nazi market ripe for exploitation.

• My experiences ‘National’ vs ‘Non-national’ I have had great and bad experiences with both because as one of my friends once said no culture has a monopoly on arse…..

However, I remember when de-regulation first came in but before they reformed the fare system, you had loads of Irish cowboys that just adored that little extras button when they had no justification what so ever doing so.

I remember once on New Years getting a lovely scenic tour of south Dublin, that cost about 50% more than my usual fare home from a lad with a strong dublin accent.

You have loads of ‘part-time’ weekend drivers who are Irish and who don’t have a clue about the city, Northsiders who have had no clue about the southside and southsiders that were like a chicken with their heads cut off once they crossed the Liffey.

Yes I have a had a few ‘non-nationals’ that have been rude, or not taken routes I would have liked (more often than not this has been where they have gone the most direct route but with traffic heavy, and not having knowledge of those little backstreet rat runs around traffic) or on occassion haven’t known the city the best, but this has been a minority.

I had one Ghanian driver be very thankful that I was going southwards from the Connolly rank, as he got awful abuse off a customer earlier because she thought he was ripping her off because he wouldn’t make an illegal u-turn on Amiens street.

I hopped into another taxi with the most professional and friendly Indian lads, dressed in a suit driving an impecible BMW, who was critical of the sloppy and unprofessional manner of many ‘native’ drivers.

I love the ‘native’ Taxi driver, and the banter, but also love meeting people from other countries and hear about how they ended up in Ireland, and what their home countries are like etc.

Getting the cowboys out of the trade is a simple proposition. Have a system like London and ‘the Knowledge’, that would ensure that everyone who drives a taxi, regardless of their origins has the knowledge of the city they are working.

I’d have more of an issue with ‘part-timers’ of all nationalities that don’t have the same level of knowledge or level of service that someone who is working as taxi driver full time, who just slap a taxi sign on the banger they drive to their other job the rest of the week. I do feel that full time drivers do have a grievance when it comes to this issue.

PS Could you imagine if he had said that he’d never get into a taxi driven by a woman?

• Why do we keep putting cretins into power…when will it stop.?Its time for a new party of people who speak for the people…it’s time for change in this country.

• Because they seemingly stoop to the older people who are the most likely to vote them into office. Too many young people don’t cast their votes and many who do vote based on what their mammy or daddy votes in return for a “deal”.

• Isn’t it ironic, probably a large percentage of the people who use this forum are the “Young Irish” they will talk all day long about a poor government, corruption, we need change etc. Well guess what The change is them, so instead of spending the day reading items like this and giving your opinion, go out get elected and change the system, or at least vote. If you don’t vote your not entitled to criticise!

• Foreigners don’t know their way around Dublin but people from Drumshanbo are born with this information — is that what Paschal is trying to say?

• All that talk about taxi drivers knowing or not knowing directions is often because people are silly giving them, i.e. Crescent Drive Blanchardstown please. When I get into taxi I state estate name if it’s well known or say any closest well known landmark. Guinness brewery or something. Then when closer to destination quickly explain further. I travelled many times by taxis in Dublin and never had a situation when Irish or non-Irish didn’t know where to go. Sometimes they knew destination right away, if not they always knew closest landmark i told them. Job done.

• He’s right as well they have not got a clue where they are going half the time.

• There are millions of Irish immigrants all over the world, Ireland should be a little nicer to so called non nationals.

• I love getting the non national taxi drivers. They are always in good humour, happy to be in a job and DO know their way around.
    Beats getting a moaning complaining Irish driver who moans and whines for the entire journey.

• God God. Did he say that? What a foolish statement.

• Good God I mean lolz

• Your foolish if you think there is no truth in it. It is not a racist thing, just a simple fact, non nationals are less likely to know the way, some might but in general they are not as good, that’s not racism, it’s a fact. Example, got in a taxi on the rank in Drogheda (coloured lady driving) Asked to go to a parish about 5 miles outside Drogheda, I was asked where is that, I replied head out the north road, I was asked where is that, I replied go acroos west street (main st) and turn right, to which she replied, where is that….. Fine I knew where I was going, but if I didn’t, the meter was running and I was paying for her incompetence. I’m totally in favour of allowing someone who wants to earn a wage to do so, but there are way to many taxi drivers who are complete chancers. That is not racist, it’s fact

• Tom he didn’t say that people who live in Dublin generally have a better idea of Dublin than people who don’t. He said basically “If I see someone who I perceive through a car window not to be what I think is Irish then I don’t get in their cab.” This is discrimination based on nationality which is racist.

• @Oisin, It genuinely could be racist or it genuinely could be a belief that he is more likely to get a proffesional service from an Irish person based on previous experiences, the 2nd does not make him a racist

• @Tom. I was in Navan for an Interview and the Irish Taxi Driver(he was very old so i would presume he was local) did not know where the business park I had to go to was. I was late for my interview and his response was ‘Ah look a taxi is supposed to take people to their homes not to places like this’. Also Ive mentioned on this site before about dublin taxi drivers practically taking me to Ringsend when im going to Dolphins Barn at the opposite end of the city centre. Its usually Irish taxi drivers who try and milk the journey.

• Wouldn’t dispute it Dave, I believe (because of my own experiences) that i’m more likely to get a knowledgeable driver if he’s Irish, doesn’t mean I will and it doesn’t mean I won’t get in regardless who’s driving. Maybe it has more to do with luck :)

• GoGo99 23/01/13 #

Here’s another fact – using the word “coloured” to describe someone who is a different colour to you is the height of ignorance.

• I hate people that just throw the word “racist” around. Put the race card back in your pockets for God sake. Don’t be so childish.

• Er. Yes it does!
      If making a judgement based purely on what race you think someone is ( this is the point, not whether you can or can’t do this through a window) is not racist then tell me exactly how you do define racism?

• I have already taken a taxi with an Irish Driver who was using GPS hahaha so racist!!! I believe when Irish people are working abroad they want to be well treated and receive equal treatment! Anyway, Be respectful and polite in your interactions!

• Paschal Mooney’s silly comment has managed to deflect attention away from the government’s flawed legislation. The Taxis Regulation Bill 2013 is just a mess and the minister responsible Alan Kelly should scrap it and put a bit of thought and effort into new bill that would fairly address problems in the industry.

• He’s dead right, a lot don’t have a clue where they’re fuppin going

• Support local drivers! Does he live in a parish that has no non Irish born people? Wow, wonder where that is…

• Fianna Fail had, for a large part, an “open door” policy on migration since coming to power in 1997. Fianna Fail cannot be two-faced: either they oppose migration or they don’t.

• An absolutely awful comment to have made in the Seanad and one that is unmistakeably racist. His non-apology, which recalls the pusillanimous language of FF apologies of the past, serves only to depend the hurt and offence. It was clearly dictated to him by a FF whip and rings very hollow. Further proof of the depths of populism that FF representatives will plumb.

• You r what u r we r getting very close to not being able to say what we think.i dont agree with him but he is right to say it if thats the way he feels.more honesty and straight talking is a good thing.im not a racist but””’ if u r racist you r .

• Yet, it is always the Irish drivers who rip me off….. Probably because I am a non-national. Racism all around.

• Can anyone tell me what a “non national” is?

• Clearly shameful… However, the comments of this idiot is an example of tb3 growing pains of a country coming to terms with change. In one hand this country has benefited greatly from joining the EU. On the other hand, the changes have been difficult to embrace. The difficulty has turned to anger and stupidity has floated to the top.

The fact of the matter is this…. As a country we have to acknowledge our issues (racism), and address them. If not… We’ll end up like some of the Deep Southern States of America… Where people are still angry about losing the Civil War to the North. The same anger that birthed the Klu Klux Klan.

As a country we have to grab hold of this nasty cancer before it grows out of control.

• Completely agree with you Marlon. Irish people have been emigrating all over the globe for centuries in search of a better life for themselves and their families and for Irish people to now begrudge people from other countries the right to live and work here is sickeningly hypocritical. The racist ,bigoted attitudes of some people makes me feel sad and ashamed.
      For a Fianna Fail senator to question the competence of taxi drivers from other countries to do their jobs is blatant racism and mind boggling hypocrisy. It was the incompetence and criminality of Fianna Fail when in government that brought this country to it’s knees- where it will remain for many years to come.

• The fact that foreign taxi drivers don’t know where they are going is not racism, it’s a problem of people who have them this job on the first place. You will not hire somebody to do software programing just because they know how to turn on a computer.

• Krystian, Pascal Mooney said that if he could see that a taxi driver was “obvious” non Irish he would not get in the taxi. How does he know they don’t know where they’re going if he doesn’t even get in the taxi in the first place. To form an opinion of a person based entirely on their skin colour or nationality is by definition – Racism! Too suggest that all taxi drivers who are not Irish don’t know where they’re going is absolutely ridiculous,ignorant and in my opinion racist!

• Maura… Thanks for acknowledging my comment. I believe without a doubt that the average Irish person doesn’t have a problems with immigration. I believe some people are desperate due to th3 current economy and they are afraid. This isn’t an escuse for poor behavior. .. Its a belief. .. And for our politicians. … I think they are ill equipped and ill prepared to work in politics of the 21st Century. As a result, politicians make flamatory statments to deflect truth…. They are in over tbeir heads and they are having difficulties treading water.

• Stop referring to “we” – there us and there’s you and that’s all there is too it.

• Lol… John.. As a tax paying legal citizen of this country I wonder what you are refering to?

• While I am shocked and disgusted at the blatant undisguised racism displayed by a senator I’m even more shocked and amazed at the thought of a senator taking a taxi at all! I thought it was all chauffeur driven town cars for those boys!!

• What exactly does he mean by an “obvious” non national? The ignorant and backward attitudes of some of the so called “great and the good” in this country is quite frankly shameful. A Fianna Fail senator complaining about how people do their jobs is very ironic considering he gets paid vast sums of money and expenses for doing sweet f**k all and also considering that when in Government his incompetent political party bankrupted this country!

• His ‘diplomatic’ way if saying black or Asian I would think- I know you were asking rhetorically but the fact the pascal thinks its remotely ok to say it that way just proves he is a closet racist!

• Down with that sort of thing…

• I dunno, if its a choice between a foreign taxi driver (in fairness they very often don’t know the way, in my experience at least) or an ignorant, racist, whining local taxi driver? I’ll take the foreign lad thanks. I’d rather have to point out a few directions than spend a taxi journey biting my tongue while some idiot is crying the whole way about the evil Nigerians!

• Its a pity FF as a party had shown the same attitude to the EU and the troika taxi were in now.Going on the road to nowhere.

• Gerard 23/01/13 #

To be honest I’m the same rather give it to fellow Irish cabbies

• Am I racist if I say I prefer to be driven by a non-national? They’re far less whingy and miserable!

• This guy once campaigned on behalf of the undocumented in the US a some of whom may have been non national taxi drivers , would he by chance apply his comments to them or would it be just someone with an Africans or East European accent, orbdoes he just like putting his foot in his gob

• So I guess then he would have the same problem then with a Taxi driver newly arrived from Cork for example who mightn’t know Dublin very well?

Or are there other veiled reasons?

• The term ‘non-national’ is racist. Everyone is a National of somewhere, it’s like saying ‘alien’. Might as well use overt racist language as to talk about people- citizens, human beings, black, white, people with non-Irish accents – in that manner. Least we’d know who is who then.

• totally agree Sarah. I hate the term non-national.

The only non-nationals i know of is the guy Tom Hanks portrayed in the film ‘The Terminal’ and the four lads in the Olympics who entered under the Olympic flag.

• Mal 23/01/13 #

Everyone is a foreigner most places.

• What would be a more appropriate term to describe someone who may not be a citizen of this country but is legally allowed to live and work here?

Besides the words used are not really that important, its the meaning behind them. I see someone else above getting a bollocking for using the term “coloured person”….which granted is slightly derogatory but for an entire generation of people that is the term that was most commonly used to describe anyone who is not white. Some people are unknowingly offensive through ignorance but they don’t deserve to be called racist.

What the FF senator said he did should be considered as racist because he stopped short of saying he picks his taxis based on the colour of the person behind the wheel.

• Andrew 23/01/13 #

I am not Irish and do not find non national offensive.

• the term non-national might not be offensive but it is inaccurate. non-Irish national would be more appropriate.

• He is speaking the truth. Only thing is you cant do that anymore. Cant hurt the little darlings feelings. Gone like the U.K. racist card is played at every chance. F’in joke.

• Yeah he is so right instead get into a clapt out taxi with a smell of smoke or Bo and listen to the racist ramblings of the driver while he drives you home . As with any industry always have a percentage that are bad for the business I have had good and bad experiences with taxi drivers both Irish and foreign . Maybe his time would be better served ensuring the process that a person must go through to get a Psv licence is more thorough .

• Right not 2 use them I don’t my money I choose they haven’t a bleeding clue where their going and after the prime time special on them no thanks stick with my own.

• Be honest, he’s only saying what most people are afraid to!

• What a disgusting thing to say,state sanctioned xenophobia he should be sacked immediately.This right wing nonsence is a slippery slope to fascism

• You are a typical country mug. I am glad Ireland has moved on somewhat and we have to endure less of your type. I have used cabs with every nationality of driver and never had a problem. Open up your mind a bit. It’s 2013 not the 50s

• I’m actually the opposite in this regard and would prefer to get into a cab driven by foreign national, my experience is that they are much more polite and friendly even if they don’t always know where to Dublin.

Dubliner taxi drivers can very very bitter and if they speak to you at all it is to moan and rant about stuff

• I find Dublin taxi drivers give you a piercing insight into everyday life in Ireland, they have their ear to the rail. I would trust those salt of the earth individuals over the pontificating chattering liberals of thejournal.ie and other Irish press.

• Baa, Stephen, Baaaaa. Back under yer wee bridge, lad, it’s bed time.

• Nivag,,, yer “Back under yer wee bridge” comment totally undermines yer whole ‘I dont discriminate against people ‘ argument…………..

• I actually do discriminate. I’m not whiter than white. It’s mostly against prejudiced people. Sometimes against the antagonistically stupid, which I’m ashamed about. I’ll have to work on that.

Can you back up you assertion re: my “bridge” comment. Because I’m a bit flummoxed. Stephen’s a proud troll. He parades this across the internet publicly.

• What a prince!

• No doubt the do gooders will twist this into a racial debate when it fact I totally agree with this minister. I have had many run ins with non nationals. This isnt to say there are no national taxi men that don’t know one place from the next. I just haven’t encountered one yet. Fair play to the minister to have balls and say what he did.

• Classic racial foot in mouth and wholly unacceptable.

Although, on a recent visit to the capital I was more than a little insulted when, on hearing my Belfast accent, a taxi driver of African nationality asked me if it was my first time “in Ireland”!!

• Every politician in the this country is a smoked kipper!

• Spot on Paschal. Me and my friends are all the same, support Irish Jobs first!

• What a moron!

• racism is rife in this country, this ignorant a**hole makes me sick to my core. using the excuse that they dont know directions around dublin, ‘obvious non national’= black person, could be born and raised in Dublin. Put and utter racism!! He needs to resign his position, tax payers giving him a wage to say shite like this!!!

• The utter irony of it,the irish went to every corner of the globe penniless in search of a better life, a builder in Western Australia posts a ‘No Irish’ ad for a job and it makes the news back home to gasps of horror and disgust.Majority of irish taximen ive ever had the misfortune of taking have been disgustingly racist and out solely to rip you off.

• Im a foreigner living in dublin for 7yrs now and most of the times ive taken taxis ive had to give directions- to irish and non irish drivers.

• It is worth reading the text of the Fianna Fail Seanad Spokesperson on Social Protection in full:
    “And I have to say, and I am not in any way being discriminatory here, but it is nearly always non-nationals ahh and it’s got to the point where quite frankly, and I make no apologies for it that I will now go to a local taxi driver in preference to somebody who is a non-nat, an obvious non-national ahh, and that has nothing to do with the colour of their skin or anything of that nature I am just saying that that has been my personal experience”
    Could the Senator explain what he understands by the term “non-national”?
    Could someone else explain how someone with this “knowledge” was an alternate member Representative of the Dáil on the Convention Responsible for Drafting the Charter of Fundamental Rights? Did Senator Mooney read Article 15?
    Freedom to choose an occupation and right to engage in work
    1. Everyone has the right to engage in work and to pursue a freely chosen or accepted occupation.
    2. Every citizen of the Union has the freedom to seek employment, to work, to exercise the right of establishment and to provide services in any Member State.
    3. Nationals of third countries who are authorised to work in the territories of the Member States are entitled to working conditions equivalent to those of citizens of the Union.
    Senator Mooney should now Apologise, Resign and Read.

• Theres too many taxi drivers in dublin, id rather support the local lads , hes dead right

• Couldn’t disagree with you more on that….you’re obviously too young to remember regulated taxi Dublin of the late 90s and early noughties when there where only 2000 cabs in the city and a lift home after a boozy weekend night out often involved an hour long if not more wait in the freezing cold taxi rank!

• Stephen Church is right, there are far too many taxi drivers in Dublin. With so many people leaving the nation the taxi industry is obviously way too inflated.

• Well said Tony – the taxi situation in the mid 90′s Dublin was a complete joke. It was a monopoly! As poor students we used to do the 7km walk home (not sober obviously) as it was free and didn’t take much longer than queueing for a taxi, avoiding getting in a scrap in the queue etc.

• @Tony, it’s because they take their fares the longest route home after a boozy night out..

• I much prefer African taxi drivers as you can have a decent conversation with them unlike the locals who just moan about politicians and bankers for the whole journey.

• hes dead right

• Sen. Pascal Mooney is perfectly entitled to say what he said and I think he is right. Though saying “I am not in any way being discriminatory in anyway. . .” was a cop out. If you have conviction in your beliefs you shouldn’t have to apologise to begin with.

• Where’s all the comments gone?

• Future poster boy of 8202020

• fred 23/01/13 #

Feck….. This man just came out from coma!

• Foreign taxi drivers….a great bunch of lads!

• Height of irony – FF spokesperson for Social Protection (has to be a joke) and an Irish person moaning about immigrants; even more disgusting when its an FF the party of emigration. I suppose people who are forced to leave here and move aboard are getting away from this type of crap, that has to be a plus. I hope all those Irish people aren’t being subjected to this kind of rubbish from foreign politicans.

Comments like don’t use the race card defy all logic when its obviously a race issue; but then its seems he has now been made aware orf this. Discrimination is defined as less favourable treatment. A person is said to be discriminated against if he or she is treated less favourably than another is, has been or would be treated in a comparable situation.

Of course his party would make him apologise for his comments, someone probably gave him a good talking tooo and then briefed him on the Equal Status Acts and the trouble he could land himself in.

• He obviously meant black taxi drivers, it’s not a nuclear science. And to be honest I do understand him. Black taxi driver of course are easy to recognize but if they weren’t for some reason and flags of their nationality would be displayed on their cars I know who I I would choose as I had quite often unpleasant situations with the guys who don’t know where they are going and having problems when you are telling them that they took the wrong turn. Of course it’s not their fault that they are not doing a good job, it’s a Taxi regulators fault. This guys are passing tests clearly without a knowledge of town they are working in. This behavior can be accepted if you are cleaning rooms in the hotel but not if you are expected to be driven from point A to B without having to argue.

• The first honest statement he has probably said .

• Why withdraw his comments. Respect ! The PC brigade are out in force

• Hahaha here we go again,racism is actually so common in Ireland you get used to it,okay sorry mr senator Im and Irish citizen so is m mum,am I a non national,my nephew speaks fluent Irish mr senator he is black though!,anyone that doesn’t think this is racist is racist!,and to the idiot that made comments about foreigners spending money home with western union,since when was it anyone’s business what u do with your money after paying tax,??,did you read about the report about Irish people spending more every passing month shopping online mostly to non Irish websites or are you just plain stupid?,or are you saying Irish people working abroad who saw their money just to spend it at home over their Xmas holidays are taking money out of the host countries,oh my mum is also an American citizen so loads of Irish people are in America undo undocumented and scamming the system but sure it’s grand,I’m glad ill be leaving this county soon and it’s hypocrisy towards racism at least the Eastern Europeans show their racism most Irish people will rather be two faced about it,such a pity I wasted so much of daddy’s money on private education in this country

• Sarah 23/01/13 #

I’m with him on this one !
    Not racist jus feel safer with an irish taxi man !!

• He’s dead right.

• This isn’t going to sit well but I’m afraid he’s right

• A case of foot in mouth

• This sinator should get his marching orders.

• Ignoramus. How does he know that a “foreign looking” taxi driver is not an Irish citizen by birth, descent, or naturalisation? All Irish citizens are equal under the constitution, regardless of how they became citizens. What’s he going to do, ask to see the drivers papers before he agrees to get in the taxi? Reminds me of a certain 1930s German political ideology to be honest.

• Anyone who thinks this isn’t racial prejudice should look up the meaning of the term. If I choose not to sit behind a tall cinema it’s because I know for certain they will obscure the screen. That’s not bigotry against tall people because it’s a simple FACT. Presuming a black man doesn’t know directions is simply that – a PRESUMPTION, with NO basis in fact.

• Reason 3698 not to return home to live .

• What a load of s11t. Who expects a taxi driver to know every road in their area of work. Sat nav’s solve the problem. The real problem is that there is too many taxi licences not who’s driving them. Everyone can make a mistake, I’ve done it and I sometimes think Im perfect.

• Straight up prejudice. How does he know whether the person driving the cab has a good knowledge of the map?

• Dosnt matter were he or she is from they’ll still bring you home at the end of the day.

• bigot. “misinterpreted” my arse.

• I understand him completly.

• RACIST MUCH?

• SMcB 25/01/13 #

The problem isn’t National / Non Nationals, have what not; low testing standards are the issue. Id love to know what is the Taxi Regulator doing to resolve this issue? Our testing process is not anywhere as comprehensive as London http://www.tfl.gov.uk/businessandpartners/taxisandprivatehire/1412.aspx

• “The Integration Centre condemned the Senator’s comments”

they’re hardly going to jump up and say ” yep .. he’s bang on you know”

but on a serious note , its surprising at the number of people who will vote yes to EU treaties but wont get into a taxi with a black taxi driver , even though the treaty they just voted for opens the gates wider each time to immigrants.

• Licence holders from LH/MH region were “gifted ” Dublin licences when Garda admin was moved from Drogheda back to Dublin Castle,don’t believe me ? Ask to see test results of all drivers who have Louth,Meath,Dublin licences.

• fred 23/01/13 #

My comment was deleted because I’m non national

• Is this not inciting racism and if so should the C&W senator not be charged??

• Huh guess this is proof shite floats to the top asa yank marine once told me. This coming from a politician from a party what almost destroyed or nations economy it doesnt suprise me he has that elitist attitude. Reminds me o the huns in the north, sure hes not DUP???? :)

• Stay classy, Fianna Fáil.

• It’s the man’s own business who he chooses. And this idiotic race card is played again. Personally it doesn’t bother me, but we got a taxi from Waterford City centre before Christmas and the African taxi. Driver was taking us to an estate at he other end of the City before we pointed it out. In fairness he charged us a reasonable flat fee and all was well.

But I am sick to death of herring about alleged “racism” towards non-nationals. We seem to hear precious little about the effect of positive discrimination on our own indigenous population. Given the state of the country some people have little to worry about.

• He was “misinterpreted”? Hmm, so that’s all right then!

• ROLL ON THE REFERENDUM FOR ABOLITION OF THE SEANAD !

• everyone pays taxes regardless of ethnic make up , if you are in a job you pay tax , if a foreign person wasn’t doing the job , an irish person would be and would be paying the same tax rate as the immigrant , therfore the “they pay taxes” argument is not logical , its not an advantage of immigration because as I’ve explained everyone that works pays tax , so please stop using the taxes statement , its tiring at this stage.

• These ‘non-nationals’ he’s referring to, pays his salary. From the money they make, they pay taxes, buy fuel, maintain cars, buy clothes, buy groceries, pay rent, bills, etc. Lets assume all white Irish people follow the senator’s example and not get into a taxi driven by non-Irish. Will it be better for the Irish economy? I don’t think so! What happens in that situation is that they loose their livelihood and go on the dole. For people supporting the senator, if you think the senator’s statement is not racist, then do you think it’s a wise statement for a senator to make? Close your eyes for a minute and think about it.

Add New Comment