TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Damning report into St Patrick’s finds forced stripping, excessive force and intimidation

The latest report by the Inspector of Prisons has found systematic violation of the human rights of the offenders held in St Patrick’s Institution.

St Patrick's Institution in Dublin
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A REPORT BY the Inspector of Prisons has found systematic violation of the human rights of the teenagers and young people being held in St Patrick’s Institution in Dublin.

Judge Michael Reilly found excessive and unrecorded use of force by staff against prisoners, forced stripping of clothes from the prisoners, excessive punishment, including denying children family visits, and bullying and intimidation of young and vulnerable inmates by some staff.

The report says that weak management, the culture in the prison, the prevalence of drugs and the culture in the prison means it no longer provides safe, secure and humane custody.

The Irish Penal Reform Trust said the problems within the institution are so ingrained that it is may not be viable to keep it open.

“The depiction of terrified boys and young men afraid to report assaults that they have suffered is chilling,” said Liam Herrick, the executive director of the IPRT.

That this could happen in the 21st century to children and young people anywhere is shocking. That it could happen in Ireland, with all that we know about institutional abuse and the impact it has on children, is an absolute national disgrace.

Judge Michael Reilly made a number of unannounced visits to St Patrick’s over a period of months to compile the report. He also spoke with inmates, prison officers, and many people with an interest and knowledge of the institution. He has in the past issued a number of warnings about the conditions there.

Judge Reilly criticised the condition the prisoners are held in:

On many of my visits to the prison many of the cells were dirty, needed painting and did not have adequate furniture. Many other areas were dirty, unhygenic and with broken equipment. On a number of my visits cells in the Unit were cold. Some had broken windows. I recorded temperatures of 16 degrees Celsius.

The report states that of the 28 complaints made by prisoners over the course of one year – 13 related to alleged assaults by prison officers – the investigations carried out by prison authorities were “flawed… incomplete and could not be said to accord with best practice”.

In a significant number of cases, having made a complaint, prisoners then signed a form stating that they did not wish to proceed further with the complaint.  I am satisfied from my investigations that threats are made to prisoners and inducements are offered in order that they would not make complaints in the first instance or, if having made them, in order that such complaints would be withdrawn.

The report notes that of the four yards available for exercise, one has been taken out of commission because of the quantity of drugs and contraband being thrown into the yard from outside the prison.

Almost 70 per cent of all prisoners have used illegal substances before coming into St Patrick’s, most often alcohol, benzodiazepines and hash.

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said the report was “quite shocking”.

“Neither I nor the Government will tolerate this type of abuse,” he said. “I have instructed the Director General of the Irish Prison Service to ensure that everything possible is done to address these issues within the timeframes set by the Inspector, if not before then”.

The institution has been repeatedly criticised since 1985 when TK Whitaker, the then-head of a committee of enquiry into the penal system, recommended that it should be closed as soon as possible.

Just over 200 prisoners are currently held in St Patrick’s, all of whom are between the ages of 16 and 21. The Government has said it will move all 16 and 17 years olds out of the prison over the next two years.

Judge Michael Reilly said that the government’s plan to end the detention of children aged 16 and 17 in the institution by May 2014 needs to be revisited and needs to be implemented “as a matter of urgency”.

The prison has been strongly criticised by the UN Committee against Torture in the past, as well as the UN Commitee on the Rights of the Child, the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights and the European Commitee on Social Rights.

Read the full report by the Inspector of Prisons here >

Read: Funding secured to end detention of children in adult prison >

Read next:

Comments (129 Comments)

• Funny how they wait until now to release reports like this just when referendum is kicking off. Same with the poverty one yesterday.

• P Mc D 16/10/12 #

Ive worked with young kids that have ended up in St . Pats.
    They were given every opportunity possible to turn things around for themselves but instead headed down the wrong path. Once they came out of St.Pats their outlook on life was even worse than when they went in. I don’t agree with what’s been happening in these institutions but I would like to see something put in place to help get these young ppl back on the right track. Unfortunately, I don’t know what this is or how we as a nation can do so.

• Usual crap, sick of criminals getting better treatment than their victims!

• Aww bless the poor little angels. I can say for a fact that it actually takes a huge amount of offences before a person will find themselves in saint pat’s. More bleeding heart bullshit in my opinion

• If you can’t do the time don’t do the crime. Time for some national service style conscription too.

• No food bills no ESB bills no Heating bills, and all this for robbing poor Mary or Tom down the road who live in fear of these thugs,we are to soft on crime, if they were in south American prisons they would think st pats is the Ritz.

• These guys are not some toddler group who need to be “cherished”if you’ve made it to pats by 17/18 years of age you have we’ll established your respect or lack of it in this case for the society that you now seek protection of your human rights from.

• Three strikes and u should be gone for 10 years. Am fed up reading about some f@cker with 79 previous convictions gettin a suspended sentence. It’s a gravy train for free legal aid. Barristers love defending a guy @2k a day twice a year.

Lock the f@ckrs up for 10 years on third conviction. Cost of prison would be insignificant compared to what we pay in legal fees

• the innocence of some people to think pats is full of ‘ children ‘ .. guarantee ye wouldn’t like to meet any of these ‘children’ on yere own at 3am. they get so many chances before gettin locked up. 16 degrees recorded… so what

• Red Ed 17/10/12 #

These thugs have been given every opportunity before they end up in pats. they know exactly what is ahead of them in there. they live better than most people. they don’t have to worry when the power might get cut off or where the next meal will come from. worry about the people in poverty before you waste more time on people that spit in your face

• Before you do the crime, think about the time…!!! No sympathy for these little sumbags.. Their not in st Pats for being model citizens now are they..??

• There are two aspects here. The first is that if a government is going ton use a prison system to deal with criminality then the prisons that form part of that must be adequate and do not violate human rights because despite what we think of petty criminals all people have rights. The prison system removes your freedom it should not remove basic dignity as well.
    The second aspect is that while it is true that a large percentage of inmates are not first offenders and recidivism is very high this should not mean that they should be locked up in an old shed and hope abandoned. If people are treated like animals how do we expect them to come out??

• God love the poor lads they are probably innocent and shouldn’t be there.

• the poor innocent young fellas…yeh right

• Load if bull, these juveniles are delinquents. Imprisonment is a last resort for judges when it comes to juveniles. Lets Molly coddle these juveniles some more and watch them turn into the next gang land leaders. We need to get tougher on crime not softer

• Sigh. Do you know what happens when a State punishes someone already at risk of becoming a long-term criminal in this manner? Do you think they bow down before the State and say I’m sorry, I won’t do it again? Or do you think they begin to resent authority even more and become more likely to rebel?

• sigh all you want. i see some of the dirtbags around where i live, they’re bad, not let down by society, jus bad. robbing, vandalising, the lot. they’ll rob your house and laugh at you and the guards afterwards.
      wake up, all the understand is punishment, and the sooner a proper deterant comes in the better because until then, they won’t change

• Do you agree with some of more vengeful elements of Sharia law then Wes?

• More hugs Johnny, that will do it.

• big difference between vengeance and effective deterrents.
      but i would agree with some elements, for example paedophiles and child murderers etc should be put to death, they can’t be “fixed”.
      anyone in the likes of st.pats aren’t there for nothing, if they want to be anti-social and terrorise people then they should live with the consequences, which aren’t anywhere near severe enough in my opinion

• Johnny now your just getting ridiculous, we need change, we’re not suggesting public stoning. Clearly the present system isn’t working, a softer approach isn’t the option, restorative justice is failing. Trust me, if you do harder time you won’t do the crime, we all know what prisons are like now, tv/play stations in rooms, Molly coddled by staff etc,,,

• I know how to sort all this rubbish out….. The naughty step..!!

• http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1384308/Norways-controversial-cushy-prison-experiment–catch-UK.html

A few Daily Mail allies here I imagine so here’s something that may be of interest to you.

“wake up, all the understand is punishment”

“Clearly the present system isn’t working, a softer approach isn’t the option”

“More hugs Johnny, that will do it.”

It seems it might, Ronan.

Read lads. Maybe think a bit. Your male instinct isn’t always right.

• i don’t need to read anything to tell me what to think.
      we’ll agree to disagree jonny, i just hope you’re never in charge!
      if you don’t realise some people are just plain bad then i pity you.

• I’d go toerag in the morning, robbing cars, stabbing people and generally terrorising my neighbourhood for a six month stint in there. Where do I sign up?

• Whether or not some people “are just plain bad” is an ongoing debate that is not too likely to reach a conclusion anytime soon. I’m open to new information and I try not to commit to any side of a debate if I’m not entirely sure I can stand by it. Obviously this is different for you so I’ll take you up on your offer to agree to disagree.

I would suggest that perhaps you should review your thoughts on reading, however. Of course, if it “tells” you to think a certain way, then maybe not, though I didn’t suggest that.

Have a good life, man.

• Paid Officers of the State carried out Child Abuse while being paid by the State and wearing a State uniform-

Everyone is entitled to their basic human rights-

Like if you are against Child Abuse taking place against anyone at any time.

Dislike if you support Child Abuse in State Institutions-

• Mmmmmm. Can all civilised people not just get together and agree that the Daily Mail is a purveyor of crap and consign the paper, it’s APP and all its journalists to history. Jonny, the very fact that you referenced it means you’re wrong in what you say. And an Anglophile.

• totally agree killian which is why i didn’t even open the links!

• No death penalty, period. Leave that in Texas, along with all the other bad ideas that fuel the cycle of creating more isolated, tortured killers and lazy, hot-headed, ambulence-chasing reactions like this.

• Killian, I don’t read the Daily Mail. I Googled reoffending rates and recidivism and came across the article. I felt that as the Daily Mail is a conservative, right-wing, individualist type paper that generally favours the status-quo, it emphasised that my line of thought is not just supported by those that many would suspect.

That I am automatically wrong and an Anglophile is quite the hasty judgement and doesn’t quite offer a positive reflection of yourself.

Here’s something that might be more palatable to your preconceived notions of life: http://www3.unil.ch/wpmu/space/publications/recidivism-studies/

• I notice it only tells the bad part of the report here just finished reading the full report and there seems to be a lot of positive points left out but we all positive stories don’t make news

• The people used in that Norway study weren’t selected at random. Joe o Reilly is a murderer but is unlikely to reoffend, we have a prison like that in the study, its called shelton abbey and most of its inmates don’t reoffend. It’s just the type of criminal that’s put in it. The juveniles are st pats are head bangers and would not benefit from being allowed the use of a sun bed etc…

• In in reply to one of the previous comments. Many if not most of these “youngsters” have already been through the children’s court several times and have been through Oberstown as well. So that the thought that imprisoning these teenagers in St Pats will skewed their moral compass is ludicrous. And as for the use of force to restrain some of the more violent offenders it is needed. St Patricks has the highest assault ratio Offender on Offender of any of the Irish prisons and as such certain measures are necessary to maintain order. And remember many of these “teenagers” are as big and strong as any fully grown adult man. And to put on the record I do not work in St Pats.

• JayK 17/10/12 #

Just look at the tough justice system in the US and their low crime rates and history of successful rehabilitation. Aren’t their prisons almost empty?

• Just read the report. Totally shocking! The idea of a child sitting in a cell for 23 hours and having to resort to talking to himself does not paint a pretty picture. Another child was put into a cell where the bedclothes weren’t even changed after the last occupant, the toilet was blocked and no running water. When the inspector pointed out the dirty conditions of the sheets, they weren’t changed for another four days!! One boy who was locked up was living in fear and had an injury to his eye after, supposedly, falling out of bed. He was afraid of the other prisoners and the staff. Inmates who were deemed to be in need of transfer to an Accident and Emergency Dept. in hospital were often left up to 48 hours before been transported. These were people who had injuries such as a fractured jaw, head injuries or ingestion of a foreign body so any delay could have been a major risk to health. The whole report portrays a situation that seems more like something out of a Dicken’s novel. The culture of inhumanity and abuse is hard to credit. It seems we have not moved on at all from systems of institutional abuse, bullying and brutal treatment of vulnerable individuals. With this sort of culture, you’d question how, in the present system, the Children’s Referendum will make a damned bit of difference to these children and young adults who are locked away from public view.

• So some of the cells needed painting. Fine. Give the prisoners a bucket of paint and a brush.

• I wonder have any of these thumbs up people or their families ever been on the receiving end of these shitheads that have no regard for others they will get out and commit crimes again and again

• Wonder about them all you want, and the green thumbs too. The issue at hand is human rights and whether we expect our institutions to carry them out.

But hey, maybe we should work out some kind of special designation for ‘shitheads’ that allows us to treat them like they aren’t human. Sure what are the chances of someone who didn’t do anything worthy of the designation being punished? That never happens…

• yes Ger I have and my family , not in Ireland but in Oz,! violence is violence no matter where it happens.
      did i feel loving and warm and want to give the perb., a hug !!
      hell no !!!
      I also believe in community intervention early on, I believe in Boot Camps for young offenders, and i don’t believe in leaving the parents out of the issue, parents have to take part in rehab., too!

• Ashney 17/10/12 #

70% have used some type of drugs inside …no wonder they don’t want to be searched…if that’s what “forced” stripping is for long may it continue. As for A judge leading enquiry a saying comes to mind, walk a mile in my shoes & come back to me then when you have been a victim of these prisoners or they have hurt you or one of your family. Come on people prison is not a hotel it’s a place you should not want to go back to.

• mart_n 16/10/12 #

A lot of the comments posted above wouldn’t have been out of place during the time of the Magdalene asylums an so on. Shur most of the public believed back then that whatever treatment people received was well justified and certainly excusable.

Feck sake.. have we learned noting about institutional abuse over the last half century, and the inherently negative effects it has on people and on society as a whole? You can say the same for crime of course, and for those guilty of it; but two wrongs don’t make a right. There are plenty of studies which show that recidivism rates are higher for prisoners released from places where conditions are poor. It’s not part of a liberal agenda to say so, it’s simply pragmatism. Why bother locking people up at all if everything that happens after that ensures that they have no interest in changing paths?

• Paul 16/10/12 #

There’s a world of difference between “what are ya in for?” Pregnancy. And what are ya in for? Drug dealing, aggravated assault, carrying a weapon, GBH, and the rest. These are not first offenders, these are career criminals already well down that path. Pity about them

• mart_n 16/10/12 #

My point was that public opinion isn’t always the best barometer for determining what the appropriate course of action is. Would you seriously argue with UN findings that basic human rights in Irish prisons are regularly ignored? And don’t just say that ‘they deserve it so it makes sense’.. that’s a subjective opinion, not an objective argument.

• Paul 16/10/12 #

The case is being made from a human rights point of view and that carries no weight with me considering who we’re talking about. I live near areas blighted by their antisocial behaviour so basically tough, you don’t like prison? Well you’re not supposed to. It’s ineffective and wasteful but from the standpoint of these ‘victims of the system’ I find it hard to sympathise. I agree we should be intervening earlier and smarter and if that involves getting the Norwegians to run it then go for it but the general thrust of the report was a tutting exercise, well isn’t it shocking and all that, and your comparison to laundries was of a similar tone. Well, sorry, but I’ll save my sympathies for the real victims.

• The law of the land says you are legally an adult at 18. You can vote, get married, drink & smoke, join the Army/Guards/Prison Service and sign contracts. Yet as an inmate you are still a “Child”. Rather hypocritical don’t you think!
    And lets go back to 16. I for one at that age was quite able to tell the difference between right and wrong and what was clearly legal and illegal. Its always someone else’s fault ie: society, the government etc. When do they take responsibility for their own actions and choices? I know many Guards and Prison Officers that grew up in those self same deprived areas and became good upstanding members of society. Because they made the choice not to take the wrong path.

• My point was directed towards the children currently incarcerated there. Yes 18 is legally an adult and I completely agree with you that there comes a point where these young people can choose to try and go down a different path. But when the odds are stacked so firmly against you, it gets to be a bit difficult don’t you think? You’re a product of your environment. Look I’ve heard that argument a million times ‘I grew up in that area I turned out fine blah blah blah’. It’s not good enough, not in the slightest. It takes a smug view of the whole thing that makes me very uncomfortable.

• Maylena, You are very quick to dismiss those that grew up in those same areas and turned out well because it dosen’t suit your view of the world. Let me ask you this. If one of those “Children” mugged your mother, burgled your home or sexually assaulted you or another member of your family. Would you shed a tear over them if they were sent to St Pats?
      Instead would your time and the time of the rest of the Liberal left not be better spent fighting for the rights of their victims. Is there an esteemed Judge looking into the rights of the victims of crime? I think not. So before you get all teary eyed about the conditions of these young criminals spare a thought for those that now live in fear because of them.

• God this is truly sickening.

Why is it that people like Mick Jordan think that treating prisoners humanely and “the rights of the victims” are mutually exclusive? Since when do we have to choose between the two? It is such uneducated thinking it beggars belief.

And exactly what “rights of the victim” are you referring to? What rights are currently being infringed? The convicted person is St. Pats – by definition the justice system has worked in those cases. In other words the victim’s rights (to have the offence investigated and the perpetrator prosecuted) have been vindicated.

It really is the worst sort of vindictive, bitter, backwards thinking. Any sort of mistreatment is justified because…”Ah well sure they’re just knackers aren’t they?”

Ireland really has no chance.

• It doesn’t seem to deter them from repeating their shooting and drug dealing. Mountjoy is full of guys who started in Pats. If it were all bugs and kisses would it be any different ?? It’s a way of life and we need more jails.

• No sympathy .if u end up in pats be it on ure own head! Semper fi !

• have you heard the expression : There but for the grace !!! and so on.
      so much depends on the parents you are awarded at the time of birth. so much depends on the available education,
      work ethics in the family ?
      but ; ‘ be it on your own head’ too simple really .
      violence is expected in many communities and is seen as a right of passage also.
      I have no real insight in to how to re educate people who have nothing to loose , but to do ‘nothing’ would be unforgivable .
      When you don’t know what to do, Do some thing.

• I thought this went on anyway and was accepted. Being harshly treated while locked up will make them think twice of becoming a felon in future!

• This article should really start with “A REPORT BY the Inspector of Prisons has found systematic violation of the human rights of the victims of teenagers and young people being held in St Patrick’s Institution in Dublin.”
    This will no longer be tolerated.

• What about the mental well being of those who were succumbed to there violence and thuggery ?
    It’s prison not a holiday camp ?
    Have you ever seen the documentary of those in other countries how they treat their prisoners?at the end of the day they are their to be punished ???

• what is wrong with you people??? Human rights are human rights, no matter what a person is guilty of! It’s so irish to sit there and judge these young people from behind the safety of your laptops and phones when you’re probably the same people to sign a petition against this kind of abuse in china or elsewhere abroad! Bunch of hypocrites! Shame on you, behaviour like this in institutions like this only perpetuates a cycle of social decay that you seem soooo anxious to end.

• Totally agree- We are meant to cherish all the children of the State equally-
      Do we want to ‘cover-up’ what happens in these institutions? The report reads like something from a Gulag history book-
      We like to call ourselves modern!
      The abuse of children must end-

• Totally agree I’m absolutely gob smacked with some of the comments in here tonight

• Dead right Jeff. It’s shocking that people think it’s ok for abuse to take place in state institutions just because the victims aren’t what they consider to be role models. Typical Ireland. It’s depressing.

• they arent in there 4 helping old ladies cross the road.. stop doing the crime and you can sleep in your own bed 2nyte.. it shouldnt b treated like a hotel 4 them..

• Yup. Scary comments indeed. Sounds very much like how people spoke about the children sent to institutional schools in the 50s. We who are so sure we would have done better back then, reveal ourselves in how we speak now.

• All rights bring with them responsibilities. If you want human rights you should respect your fellow man. Should you elect not to, you forego the rights afforded to those who do. Its bleeding hearts like you who exhibit the greatest hypocrisy. If you were the victim….

• Jeff, your post is the most sensible thing I’ve read so far. It seems that collective wisdom is a seriously unreliable thing when it comes to human rights, unfortunately.

• well said Jeff,
      we need to look at some of the Northern Euro model’s of crime intervention.
      please tell me that Ireland will never stand by and know there is yet another case of violence against youth.
      I am not a bleeding heart!! and I do believe in justice for the victim.
      but i also believe in looking at the culture which creates the violence.

• Well said..

• +1 Jeff, amazed at some of the reactions here.

• That it could happen in Ireland, with all that we know about institutional abuse and the impact it has on children, is an Absolute National Disgrace- so true.

• Funny how this report is realeases so close to referendum

• That these conditions and the denial of basic human rights exist for adults in the custody of the state is horrific enough, that it happens to children as well is abhorrent. As a western country we should be looking at the prison system in Norway where they actually rehabilitate prisoners, not South America.

• Hark the self righteous Arsehole’s on here !!! Abuse is Abuse regardless of the circumstance .

• Dead right, abuse is abuse whether the person is sitting at home minding his own business or gets assaulted walking home at night, or gets their car burnt out. Abuse is terrible, regardless of the victim’s circumstances.

• Some of the comments here are so callous they’re unbelievable. To say that anyone and particularly a child should be denied their basic human rights is terrible to me.

• What about the rights of their victims. Who are the victims of their crimes. Im sorry but softly softly won’t do it anymore. I grew up in a very very tough environment & yes i was the proverbial little b****x as a lad. But getting a few slaps from a couple of tough gardai did me no harm. Where Im from , they Don’t respect the gardai…no one. They get nicked these days then they go to the ritz bloody Carlton and they know it. So where’s the deterant? softly softly my a***

• Idiotic argument. I turned out ok therefore its ok to hit kids and mistreat them in prison.

Id also have to say that anyone who has those views did not turn out ok – indeed it did do you a great deal of harm.

• Another shameful moment in our nation’s history for the proctection of children.
    The hollow words of Enda Kenny in relation to caring for young people are totally meaningless.
    This is not the Church run institutions of the 1950’s but a modern Irish State failing her citzens!
    Another sad day.

• Will anyone be fired???

• Fired for what? The broken windows they break so they can move drugs etc during the night or the closed yard because they get their friends and families to throw so much drugs in or the barring from visits because the last time you snogged your mother to get drugs or the filthy cells because you smeared excrement on the wall in protest at being deprived visits or the forced removal of clothes because you are being placed in a padded cell for your own safety after taking something and trashing your cell and threatening to kill yourself or anyone you get your hands on. Yeah they’ll probably fire someone who works there

• No new management have been appointed and all yards are now open raining drug in there

• Well people who bully and intimidate prisoners and other prison officers alike should definitely find an area of work more suited to their “talents.” The staff member who said to the inspector that he’d get the right answers if he asked the right questions sort of says it all!

• I’m actually flabbergasted by the vast majority of these comments. Some of these children are 16. 16! Can all of you people stand up and say I made wonderful life choices at that age? Can you even begin to imagine the shitty hand most of these kids would have been dealt from day one? Poverty, domestic abuse, violence, alcohol and drug abuse, mental health issues, neglect. How could they have turned out any differently? No child is born bad. No child wants to be a criminal. And for you people to sit there and say these kids deserve to have the clothes cut off them when they act out, deserve to be kept away from their families, deserve to get the shit kicked out of them by other inmates and be too terrified to report it, deserve to live in filthy, draconian conditions, well that just makes me sick. I’m not a bleeding heart liberal, I will never condone what they have done. But how many of these boys have wonderful two parent families living in a nice semi-d with holidays every year? How many of them will go to college? How many of them at four years of age when their teacher asked them ‘What would you like to be when you grow up?’ turned around and said ‘I want to be locked up in Pat’s in ten years time, and it’s onwards and upwards from there!’ You people need a reality check.

• good!

• Some of the young people I work with are young offenders – teaching respect by example is a great start. In my experience if you are aggressive to a person the reaction will not be positive, many of the programmes you mention are under funded and will not get any more money as there isn’t any funding availible. It has happened that people to get lost within the prison system so that when social workers or other staff try to make contact with young offenders to make an early intevention the prison system may not be able to identify their exact location. An overhaul of the tracking systems would be a start – and also highlight repeat offenders, The existing institutions aren’t going to be replaced (IMO) so we need to fix what we have.

• This needs to be debated in an adult manner with the focus on what we want to get out of our institutions – if what we want is to turn out damaged young adults who will more than likely continue to offend, if we want to further dehumanise young people and teach them to be less compassionate, if we as a society see no value in a peoson nce they have been convicted – fine leave them as they are. I dont want that for the future – rehabilitation needs to be done correctly and effectively for the whole of society as well as for the individuals in institutions.
    I fail to see how comments assuming the professions/backgrounds or life experiencesof people here is helpful. However if it helps those who ask if I would still have the same view if I had seen the impact of crime on it’s victims or family I state here that I do know the impact can be and still believe that the system present is doing precious little to educate young offenders on how to integrate into society in a positive way.

• There are dozens of programes available to these offenders as well as full time education. But as the old adage goes “you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink”. For many of these guys prison is a mark of respect not something to be ashamed of. As one previous guest of St Patricks said to me. “I can make more money in a few weeks selling gear (Heroin) than you can in a year working so why would I want to go straight”. So If you can think of some way of making them Rehabilitate I would love to know.

• Ah Mick – I see.

So, if I understand your argument, rehabilitating young offenders is difficult – therefore its perfectly ok for the prison system to treat them worse than any of us would treat our family pets?

I despair for Irish society – I truly do.

Add New Comment