You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 Here’s everything you need to know as you get your Thursday started.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know a little before 9am.

1. #RIP: Former taoiseach Albert Reynolds has died at the age of 81.

2. #ISLAMIC STATE: US Special Forces tried (and failed) to rescue hostages in Syria, including photojournalist James Foley, whose death was confirmed yesterday. Gardaí are tracking the whereabouts of 30 Irish jihadists thought to be fighting in Iraq and Syria, the Irish Independent reports.

3. #ABORTION: The HSE is due to announce plans for an inquiry into the case of a suicidal foreign national denied an abortion under new legislation.

4. #EUTHANASIA: The number of foreigners travelling to Switzerland for an assisted suicide has doubled over a four-year period.

5. #CONCERNS: There were more bombings in Northern Ireland in the last year than a decade ago, the Irish News reports.

6. #PARTY TIME: Former Labour TD Róisín Shorthall has told TheJournal.ie she would be open to the formation of a new political party.

7. #ECONOMY: Industrial disputes have cost more than 8,000 working days so far this year – a massive increase from this time last year.

8. #THAILAND: AFP reports General Prayutha Chan-ocha, who led a military coup in May, has taken over as the country’s new Prime Minister.

9. #WARM WATER: People are upset that David Franks, the boss of Irish Rail, is on his holliers in Mauritius, while travellers prepare for chaos during upcoming train strikes, says the Irish Daily Mail.