You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
PILOTS’ UNION IALPA has agreed to talks with Aer Lingus, beginning tomorrow morning, a spokesperson for the union has confirmed.
A spokesperson stated that IALPA is very open to negotiations, and that any decision lies in the hands of the company.
Speaking on News At One on RTÉ, Aer Lingus’ chief corporate affairs office, Donal Moriarty, said that the company has written to IALPA informing the union that it has a meeting room booked and a time for them to meet.
“We’re waiting on a response to that request,” he said.
Industrial action by Aer Lingus pilots is underway, with 270 flights cancelled so far.
A spokesperson for the Taoiseach welcomed the development today regarding talks between Aer Lingus and IALPA.
“The Taoiseach has been clear this dispute is having a disproportionate impact on the travelling public. All disputes are resolved by compromise and negotiation. The Taoiseach urges both sides to engage in good faith to resolve this dispute,” the spokesperson said.
The Irish Travel Agents Association has also welcomed the news, with CEO Claire Dunne saying: “We are asking them to sit down in a respectful, sensible manner and find the solution that is there to be found.
“Disputes all end sooner or later – it is within their power to make it sooner.”
Members of the Irish Air Line Pilots’ Association (IALPA) began an indefinite work-to-rule at midnight, with an all-out strike planned for an eight-hour period on Saturday.
Both Aer Lingus and IALPA attended separate meetings with the Labour Court yesterday in a bid to resolve the dispute.
Aer Lingus said it was “disappointed” with the Labour Court’s “assessment that it is unable to assist in the dispute at this time”.
The Labour Court previously recommended a 9.25% pay increase for pilots, but this was rejected and IALPA balloted its members on industrial action.
Michael McGrath, who was yesterday named as Ireland’s next European Commissioner, told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that it is “concerning” that the Labour Court meetings ended without a “foundation for further engagement”.
He noted that the Labour Court has “tremendous expertise” but that Aer Lingus and IALPA need to “recognise the reality”.
“This dispute is hurting ordinary people, hurting the Irish economy, hurting our reputation,” said McGrath.
“The sooner they sit around the table, the better because the damage is only going to grow and this will be resolved, but does that have to come after a protracted dispute that causes an even greater level of damage? I would hope it doesn’t.”
IALPA is seeking a pay increase of 23.8% over three years, which it says is “clearly reasonable and affordable for a profitable company such as Aer Lingus.”
Speaking earlier this week, Aer Lingus’s chief corporate affairs officer Donal Moriarty said the airline is “perfectly willing to engage in proposals that would see their pay increase beyond 12.25%”.
This morning, president of IALPA Mark Tighe said members “do not want to be in this situation” but are there as a result of “corporate greed” on behalf of Aer Lingus.
Aer Lingus is a part of the International Airlines Group (IAG), which includes British Airways.
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Tighe said IAG has already offered a 24% pay increase to British Airways’ pilots and that British Airways has a similar operating margin.
Tighe added that is it not IALPA’s “desire” to significantly disrupt passengers and that the industrial action is the “direct result of management actions”.
He also remarked that “everything is on the table” in terms of escalating the industrial action and that the next steps will depend on what Aer Lingus does.
‘Everything seems normal’
No delays have been reported at Dublin Airport on the first day of industrial action.
An Aer Lingus employee also told The Journal that no passengers have arrived so far for cancelled flights.
Amy and Joby from Cork City are among the Aer Lingus passengers in Dublin Airport today and are flying out to San Diego for a trip they have saved for and looked forward to for some time.
Related Reads
Labour Court to review Aer Lingus pay dispute in July as industrial action to begin tomorrow
Aer Lingus cancellations: what to expect if you've booked to fly during industrial action
Aer Lingus pilots will begin work-to-rule next week - here's how it might affect holidaymakers
Amy and Joby from Cork City Eimer McAuley / The Journal
Eimer McAuley / The Journal / The Journal
Amy said that while she understands why the pilots are undertaking this action, she thinks it’s a “bit unfair” that customers are feeling the brunt of the impact.
“We were still not sure how it would go today but everything seems normal now that we are here, but we didn’t get any confirmation the flight was going ahead until we got here today,” Amy said.
Meanwhile, Joby told The Journal that he supports the industrial action as Aer Lingus “make enough money” and can “afford to pay people properly”.
“Customers might be affected, but that’s the airlines fault,” he added.
The Irish Travel Agents Association said they have now managed to rebook or arrange refunds for the majority of their customers who have been impacted by cancellations.
Some 270 flights have been cancelled between today and Tuesday 2 July, with around 50 of these cancellations being announced yesterday evening.
However, the industrial action being undertaken is indefinite and could lead to further flight cancellations beyond 2 July.
There is also the possibility that over the coming days, passengers will only be informed of flight cancellations at the departure gate.
He added that this could result in “close-in cancellations caused by pilot unavailability and refusal to work to the contractual flexibility that they have”.
More than 35,000 passengers have been impacted by flight cancellations, but Moriarty said on Monday that Aer Lingus has “managed to re-accommodate, refund or rebook 80%” of these and that work is ongoing to do the same with the rest.
‘Agony and chaos’
Yesterday, Taoiseach Simon Harris called on both parties to “engage” and “dig deep” rather than “putting people through agony and chaos”.
He said there will be “very little sympathy” for anybody who “puts the travelling public through utter chaos” and causes “families to have their summer holidays cancelled… if they’re not engaging and engaging intensively”.
-With additional reporting from Eimer McAuley
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
82 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Pat Barry: Labour court already did it’s bit here. 9.25% was their initial recommendation. Their remit is to come up with a fair recommendation based on all facts to hand etc.. Anyway, a 12.5% was subsequently offered by AL and refused by IALPA ( I Am Low Paid Airline-pilot ). That offer was 33% more than labour court recommended. This action is just bullyboy tactics. Never ever give in to bullies or low paid airline pilots.
@James Leahy: Why didn’t Aer Lingus offer them 16% to match the inflation since 2019 which they probably would have accepted and more than likely will be what will settle this dispute.
@Leonard Barry: Inflation hasn’t been 16%. Its under 13%. Aer Lingus Pilots is already one of the highest paid pilots in Europe. Name one single industry that has offered employees a pay rise in line with inflation. The reason the labour court recommended 9.25% is because that’s the standard rate that’s been given across most industries. Aer Lingus Pilots are greedy and are not only disrupting holidaymakers’ lives; they are disrupting businesses and putting the company at risk, along with the livelihoods of the ground staff. Outside their own little bubble, apart from the socialist anti-corporate brigade, they have no support. If they think they are underpaid, they should maybe go get a job at Ryanair. FYI, Aer Lingus funds the training and accommodation/food during it for their pilots and still offers better rates of pay than Ryanair. People on here are talking about corporate greed yet can’t see the greed in holding a company and the public to ransom for a pay rise that would equate to the national average wage on top of their already high wages.
@James Leahy: Why? Well genuinely how negotiations work is to ask for more than you want so you can bargain down to what you want. For example if I’m looking for a 16% Pay rise I’ll ask for 24% knowing on hearing 24% my employer will offer me around a 10% rise. Then we negotiate an acceptable figure for both of us between 10% and 24%.
Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
Jun 26th 2024, 9:43 AM
@Mike Carson: Mike you sound like you work for EI management with all these false statements. Inflation is not under 13% since 2019. It’s been widely reported during the cost of living crisis that it’s around 20%…. It’s actually 21.71%….. public sector increases are close to inflation. They’re around 20% since 2019 with 3 more increases until the end of next year…… Fake news in all of your posts against the pilots!…..
@Mike Carson: their company profits are huge. Why would pilots settle for crumbs when they can get the whole loaf.
Anyone in their position would do the same.
The labour court is not interviening because both sides
are firmly sticking to their guns.
As far as customers are concerned. it’s the company who is responsible for their lost flights. They make the profits.
People who compare ryanair to air lingus. It’s like apples and oranges. Ryan air treat their staff terribly. They are the public health system of aviation.
Good luck to the pilots.
Jun 26th 2024, 9:57 AM
@john logan: So you think that 9.25% is fair while the initial offer was 12.5%, which other staff got, profit is 225m and forecast to grow and inflation is 21%?!?!!….. WOW, do you understand what fair means?
@Leonard Barry: The pilots are looking for 24%. Should they get it that would mean that pilots at the top of the pay scale would receive a pay rise of €50,000 per annum. That’s crazy. Inflicting hardship upon the general public as a result of greed is not justifiable.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: This is from the Forsa union – Price inflation is slightly lower when considered over the four years from 2019 to 2023. The CPI increased 16.9% and the HICP increased 15.8%. Inflation obviously isn’t in yet for this year and is forecast to be around 2%.
@john logan: that would be IALPAP. What do you make of the 66% increase received by management? It’s evident to me that they are the only ‘bullies’ in this scenario.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: The labour court determines what’s fair using all facts to hand. Perhaps they missed the CSO inflation figures. You should let them know about their oversight.
@Colette Byrne: Ryanair is run well as a business and they serve their customers well. They treat their staff within the remit of the law. Did they not just buy a load of houses to house their staff? I’m no fan of O’Leary but I’d love to see him over the HSE.
@Pat Barry: They’re seeking a pay restoration effectively.. as they haven’t had a pay rise since 2019. You do know how inflation and the value of money works in tandem with it ?? Nowhere do you address the fact that they are also seeking parity with other pilot’s in the same organisation. Would you see fit to reduce those pilot’s wages to come in line with the 12.5 per cent you deem to be fair ? And finally get the 24 per cent out of your head. Its called bargaining.. they’ll probably settle for circa 18-20 per cent. Is that how you negotiate? Start with the absolute minimum your willing to accept? Please don’t tell me you work in sales ? Lol
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Give me a break, CSO quango with over a 110 employees with an average salary of €80K, glorified market researchers. Don’t you not think the union representing the pilots would be the one’s bigging up the inflation figures?
Jun 26th 2024, 1:45 PM
@john logan: 3% LESS than what other EI staff got is fair?!?! No wonder terms and conditions are being driven into the ground everywhere with those sort of decisions.in favour of companies/the state
@Colette Byrne: Yet Ryanair is more profitable than Aerlingus. Ryanair is also more reliable, from my experience. I’ve taken several flights to Madrid this year. I flew twice with aer lingus and 3 times ryanair. My Aerlingus flight was delayed both times on the way back, and I found the staff not overly pleasant, not bad, just not what you’d expect from a supposed premium airline. Three flights with ryanair. Three times on time. flight was almost half the price, even with priority boarding, a cabin bag, and the extra legroom seat. It flew into the same airport, albeit a different terminal, but no biggie. I had major issues with Aer Lingus before in London and almost missed the flight due to ticketing issues with BA, their sister airline. The staff on the ground were appalling, and I actually had to fight to get on my flight.Im sure Ryanair has had it problems, but it seems more common with aer lingus in my experience. I don’t see ryanair pilots taking industrial action if conditions are so bad. I also don’t see employees from other larger multinationals taking action against their employees just because the companies are making billions in profit. Aer Lingus pilots get well paid for their job, and if it weren’t for their greed, they would of gladly accepted the 13% offered to them. Ryanair is far from the public health system of airlines; they are actually the complete opposite; they are profitable, streamlined, and actually provide the service they set out to do. You clearly have no understanding of the reality of what’s going on if you compare one of Europe’s largest and most successful airlines with Europe’s worst-underperforming, inadequate public health service. Aer Lingus profits were 225 million last year. Ryanair 2.2Billion. You clearly have an issue with success and are a typical begrudger. Are you unemployed? No skill or third-level education? expecting everything handed to you, or are you just to lazy to go get a job and expect hard-working people to pay your way? You seem to think others should be responsible for you. Bet you will be the first to give out about the nanny state if they place restriction of bans on c
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: As I said Labour court make their recommendations on all information available to hand. For their own credibility I imagine that they source all these facts from publicly available verifiable data sources. So all state published economic data would be admissible along with industry specific validated barometers. You can’t just take one fact in isolation. The world is a bit more nuanced than that. If pilots don’t like the decisions then maybe best course of action would be to find another airline. Most would not be able to secure those salaries with other airlines though. That leaves them with no option other than acting the bully and hold holidaymakers to ransom. No-one likes a bully!
@KB: So, did you miss the hyphen then ?
I Am Low Paid Airline-pilot ( IALPA ). Thanks for the opportunity to repeat it. It’s quite catchy, don’t you think ?
@Pat Barry: It’s A factor.. not the sole factor .. now address my point about parity with pilot’s in the same organisation and at least acknowledge you understand how bargaining works.. you do right ?
@Brian: So you want pilots working out of four different countries to be paid the same?! Ridiculous. You do know that pay is only one part of remuneration yes? There are also conditions, bonuses, pensions, stockholding etc.
@Mike Carson: Brilliant reaction Mike Carson to an “entitled” profit begrudger.
In my experience also, as a weekly traveller, Ryanair is a much better airline to travel with. Their staff are top class and their pilots don’t wear those old Russian military style striped uniforms as an extra bonus.
@Robert Halvey: do you think a combination of the shinners social democrats and a few more cowboy independents would solve this dispute by giving into greed.
@Robert Halvey: The idea that those who work harder and better themselves should subsidise the lazy is a notion corrupted by the layabouts who want everything handed to them. If society were equal, there would be no motivation to improve it. The world has always been ruled and controlled by those who have the ability to generate wealth. Without them, there would be no technological advancements, no jobs, no entertainment, and no medical advancements. If we are to be honest, a lot of people wouldn’t exist today if it weren’t for corporations doing there thing. There is nothing stopping people getting on the corporate ladder. The former head of Aer Lingus was a business graduate from Sligo. Pilots don’t, in any way, deserve 24%. They were offered almost thirteen, and their greed stopped them accepting it. It’s quite laughable how it’s only seen as greedy when the top guys do it. The world never was and never will be equal, but now, more than ever, thanks to the big multinationals and other large corporations, we all have a chance of getting a piece of the pie. I’m not a board member for a multinational, but I work for one. It educated me, helped me put a roof over my head, put a car under my arse, and enabled me to provide a very good life for my family along with thousands of others in Ireland. Should me and my piers go on strike and demand 24% of a pay rise because the chairman and CEO of our company is on a base salary over 7 figures? Or should I know my place in this world and actually strive to rise up the ranks. If I don’t like my pay, there are plenty of other companies in my field, or I can re-educate and move on to different sectors or even departments with in my organisation. FYI, I do earn well above the national average, Like aer lingus pilots, but I worked hard to get there, and I was a 3rd level dropout. I got 3.5% over the past 4 years. Thats 14%. NOT 24%, and it’s pretty much in line with inflation. I’m no worse off than i was 4 years ago, and neither are pilots.
@Mike Carson: Your attitude is a brilliant description of how hard working, tax paying people are making Ireland such a wealthy country and the envy of so many people. These pilots appear to come from the old Are Lingus of the 60′s when they were looked up to like gods and treated accordingly by the company. Remember that nowadays private companies have to make a profit to survive.
Jun 26th 2024, 9:52 AM
@Mike Carson: You should change job, get higher pay to protect the value of your income. That increase of 3.5% gross is around 2% net.You’re alot worse off than 4 years ago! Use your paycheck and the CSO inflation calculator to verify… Fair play to the pilots who are fighting to protect the value of their pay against a greedy employer. Hopefully they will be successful and the rest of Aerlingus staff will put in claims to match. IAG made over 3 BILLION profit last year with more forecast this year. Corporations are good, corporate greed is bad.. Your stance on inflation and remuneration is laughable! Bend over for corporate management who love nothing more than reducing the terms of staff to make more profit. If 3.5% is enough to keep you happy while inflation is 21% I feel sorry for you
@Mike Carson: Every middle income earner is cringing now, reading you’re no worse off than 4 years ago. they complain on here they can’t afford to live and it’s the free for all who get everything and are living the high life. Wouldn’t expect someone who hasn’t been impacted by the cost of living crisis to understand those who have.
I’m not against people earning a good living, I’m all for it. But I am against corporate greed.
For too long it’s be an employers market reaping profits yet cutting jobs for more profits. Eventually, it comes back to bite them.
@another one? What’s going on is the semi-state sec: Don’t feel sorry for me. I have a brand new car I purchased in January. My mortgage was cleared last year. I’m on a salary well above the national average. I can afford to put one kid through college and the other through school; I can afford to go on numerous trips throughout the year with my whole family; and I am still able to go away with my partner for a nice weekend. I will also be getting another pay rise in July breaks both in Ireland and abroad, and I can still save for a rainy day. Inflation hasn’t affected me because I bettered myself and achieved a job with a pay scale that can absorb it, like pilots pay. I started off at the bottom, and I can still go up thanks to the evil, greedy corporation I work for. I actually have more disposable income because I was able to pay off my mortgage. Last year. I get played above average for my position in my current company than I would get from others, so that offsets the 3.5%. Don’t feel sorry for me; I’m doing very well for a college dropout.
@Colette Byrne: I’m not affected because of my own hard work and drive. I’m not responsible for others. You say you are against corporate greed, but if it weren’t for the lure of wealth these corporations make, they wouldn’t exist, and the jobs they create along with them wouldn’t exist either. Is it not greed driving pilots to look for an extra €50,000 a year?
@Colette Byrne: FYI, it’s an employee market out there if you actually go and get the skills. Companies can get enough engineers, at all levels, to work for them, and it has nothing to do with pay.
@Mike Carson: You think 3.5 percent is in line with inflation for the past 4 years? Who told you that .. The multi national you work for ? You’re actually embarrassing yourself at this stage. You’ve told us your life story now a few times.. inspiring stuff altogether.. surely going to be made into a movie.You’re sense of gratitude and loyalty to the multi national you work for is quite evident.. and thats your own business. Howevet,trying to equate your own life and work experience against others and their dealings with corporations, whilst claiming unequivocally you’re right, is the height of ignorance. You have a very myopic view of the world and industrial relations..suppose all them years being brainwashed whilst in servitude to your multi national God will do that..
@Mike Carson: we are all responsible for others, that is what makes a healthy Society, if we all had the attitude of I’m OK feck everyone else. Our society would break down what we are seeing now on our streets,
Is only the beginning. the lure of corporations, a lure is what you use to reel a defenceless fish.
So you certainly have been sucked in hook line and sinker.
Corporation are here because of our low tax rate nothing else, I know many corporate employees whose jobs went over night, cause the companies decided to go to Mexico or Malaysia. Cause they pay less and less tax.
So where’s the loyalty to their staff, who were doing what you are doing now, defending and selling their company.
@Brian: I was merely trying to highlight that I, along with pilots, already earn a fair wage and quite more than the national average as is. I don’t see people on here saying a Starbucks employee should get a 24% pay raise. Starbucks generated $24.5 billion in 2023. You get paid what you are worth. If you want board members to pay, get yourself into a position of becoming one rather than complaining about them. The reason people earn higher wages is not because it was handed to them; it is because of drive and ambition. Aer Lingus generates far less revenue than Ryanair and pays it’s pilots more. The sense of entitlement that people deserve more without offering extra is laughable. No Pilot in aer lingus was negatively impacted by cost of living crisis and should be grateful they were in a position not to of been. If a company wont pay you what you feel you’re worth, you can go to another company, not hold people to ransom, and risk the jobs of other employees in the organisation for your greed. Like I said, plenty seemed appalled by IAGs greed yet seem to ignore pilots greed, some looking for an extra €50,000 a year.!! Next, your type will be moaning about the cost of air travel if it has to rise to cover the cost of the pay increase. Aer Lingus is a business not a charity and it employs 4000 people directly not to mention all the indirect employment it creates. How many people do you employ? The pilots actions are putting some of those 4000 jobs at risk. That’s selfish and greedy. Yes executives get paid more so what. That’s across all industries. Should McDonald’s employees in the stores all be on €50k a year? Should fuel attendants be paid the same amount as a mechanical engineer in an aerospace company?
@Mike Carson: You have written a lovely autobiography however the information you have provided is irrelevant. Salaries can only be compared like for like. A pilot salary can only be compared with a pilot salary. The same for any industry benchmark. These pilots want pay restoration, a cumulative increase in line with inflation as someone else has kindly linked to the CSO stats and to be paid in line with their peers in BA. Their demands are clear and simple and the company can afford to pay it. Aer Lingus are inflicting pain and misery on the travelling public as their overpaid management team has failed to adequately address a pay dispute that is two years in the making. These are the simple facts.
@Colette Byrne: That’s total BS, a line the lazy do, nothing will spout. Are you responsible for that man who beat a woman unconscious? Am I responsible for my neighbor’s kid if they decide to drop out of school and go on drugs? No, I am not; I am responsible for my family in my personal life. I’m also there to help and guide my friends, but I’m not responsible for them or their actions. I have a responsibility for my team at work, but I am not responsible for them outside of that. Others need to take responsibility for their own lives and actions. I’m not responsible for some guy with a drug addiction on the street. I didn’t put drugs in his hands. Plenty of people in Ireland bemoan the success of others and will drag down someone who does better and demands more for less. People in this country all have the means to better themselves; don’t begrudge those who avail of it. People are not responsible for everyone; we need to take responsibility for ourselves. No one gave me handouts, I relied on the support of my family, which is why I’m motivated today. Pilots are just being greedy. If they think they are underpaid, go work for a different airline, not hold it and the public to ransom.
@KB: Okay, compare the Aer Lingus salary with the Ryanair salary. Average Ryanair Pilot yearly pay in Ireland is approximately €45,753 Average Aer Lingus Pilot yearly pay in Ireland is approximately €88,287.
@Brian: I’m not brainwashed. I enjoy my career, and I actually get paid above the industry norm because I negotiated a pay raise. I also get health care, a good life assurance policy stock options. I also get an annual performance bonus. All this stuff i worked hard to achieve. It wasn’t handed to me, and I didn’t have to hold my company to a ransom for the payment. It was just a civilised discussion and negotiation. If I was unhappy with my level of pay, I could of tried countless other organisations. My employer has many jobs at many different levels of pay, all dependent on skill level and position within the company. It’s not brainwashing; it’s working and appreciating the hand that feeds me. If a different employer approached me in the morning with a better offer, I would most likely take it. I’m at a higher level at the moment in my current position, so options available to me are to stay put or get skilled in another role that will afford me better pay and keep climbing. Content where I am for now, as higher positions would require more of my time and more stress. Would i like €50k extra a year? Sure. Can i get it in my current role? Absolutely not. Do others in the company earn more? Absolutely. Do they deserve it? not for me to say. If you think that being grateful for being in a position to be financially stable—I’m not a millionaire by any stretch—and having a great work-life balance is brainwashing, I will assume there is something going wrong for you in your life. It is called being an average human in modern society. I don’t have the skill currently to become a millionaire, or billionaire, but I don’t call the ones who do greedy. They have the drive that the average person doesn’t. Aer Lingus pilots are looking for pay that is not in line with their job set. At least by Irish standards. Just because executives earn big salaries doesn’t mean they can extort the company.
@KB Apologies
The average Aer Lingus Pilot yearly pay in Ireland is approximately €88,287.
The average airline pilot base salary at Ryanair is €60,000 per year.
@Mike Carson: Nobody gives a siht about your mediocre career in a multinational man..So stop waffling on about it like its some sort of benchmark for mankind. Fk me your sense of self importance is astounding.. delusional in fact. You have the temerity to lecture people, not of your profession, what their value is and isn’t. Their payment claims don’t sit with your twisted logic of what they should be and your hyperbolic claims and misinformation around this suggests you have more skin in this than you’re letting on
@Mike Carson: that would be a starting salary and the comparison figure is still inaccurate. No one walks into that job at 80k. Certainly not from what I have read. Separately they don’t belong to the same parent company whereas BA and Aer Lingus too. This is the reason they are using this as an example as it’s the only really relevant one. Same parent group, same job and similar profit margin between the two companies.
Jun 26th 2024, 1:55 PM
@Mike Carson: Where have you pulled those bonkers salary figures from?!?! Please don’t say glassdoor or something like that. They are far from accurate. Laughable actually. You think the average Ryanair salary for a pilot is approx €45k?!?! That’s the national average wage for Irish citizens. You need to stop this trolling!!!!
@Brian: I haven’t shown any examples of self-importance. That’s being delivered by the anti-corporate communists’, who demand an equal share of everything, regardless of whether they earn it or not. I’d even go as far as to assume that all the begrudgers and anti-corporate socialists giving out on this don’t have anything of meaning to offer society but are just looking to take all they can for free. One clearly uneducated rhetoric spouter even seems to think Ryanair is on par with our health service. That idiotic comment alone speaks volumes for the intelligence of the types who think its okay to hold the public and a company to ransom for an unrealistic demand. I’m not lecturing anyone. A person who believes it is OK for a pilot, who currently makes more money than the average for the industry in this country, to demand a more than average salary on top of their already high pay at the potential expense of other employees within the organisation and the general public, is the one who is delusional.
@KB: Yes, the same parent group, with different pay scales for the different airlines. Ibera earns more than Aer Lingus pilots, just as BA pilots earn more than Ibera. Both Iberia and BA generate more revenue than aer lingus. It is similar for other companies. When I was new to my organization, we were sent to work for a few weeks in the US. We were warned not to disclose our pay as we were earning significantly more than our USA counterparts for the same work. While I would always agree that a fair wage should be paid, I would completely disagree with the extortionate demands the Aer Lingus pilots are making. They already earn a very high wage for the job. Just because Aer Lingus made profits of 225 million last year does not mean the pilots are entitled to a 24% pay raise. Should a barista at Starbucks be on €52k just because the corporation made €25 billion in profit for the past 12 months? In an ideal world, maybe, but then that would mean that inflation would skyrocket, everything else would increase in price, along with wages, and we are back to square one. People will call me a brainwashed corporate zombie or whatever, but the reality is, no matter how unfair it seems, that these entities are out to make profit no matter what, but without them, we wouldn’t have the luxuries or ability to afford them that we have today. Ireland would be a very different place without them.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: That’s great that they made such a good profit and continue in business. Without profit making companies we would have to depend on the state for our existence. Imagine, or is it possible to imagine how bad our lives would be with no incentive to make any progress, just do as little as possible each working day.
Jun 26th 2024, 5:57 PM
@Jim Connolly: Ah yes I agree but there’s profit and excessive profit…. then there also keeping terms down/reducing the value of staff’s pay to make the excessive profit! The pilots are the ones doing the important job after all!…. Staff should be seen as an asset not an expense to cut!!!!….. They already operate a schedule without enough staff to cover it hence all the cancellations because pilots don’t want to do the overtime….. Poor management again leaving themselves exposed to work to rule action. They’ve probably already lost more revenue than the pay increases would have costed, just to play hardball and keep the pay down and profit margin up at the expense of the customer. Zero flucks given by management! I’m sure the pilots can wait it out more than management!
@jak: People the simple reason people vote for the same parties every time is because there has never been a genuine alternative. No other party has ever put forward enough candidates in a GE to govern. Same over the water in the UK.
What’s all this reputational damage rubbish about ? Seems like hardly a week goes by without someone in the French airports going on strike.. hasn’t effected their reputation. Or should I say despite their reputation of striking
as a national past time, they remain the number 1 tourist destination in the world.
@Brian: if you’re referring mainly to air traffic controllers, then not many tourists to France travel by plane, certainly nowhere near the proportion who come to Ireland by plane. The vast majority come by road and sea from UK, Germany, Italy, Benelux. I’m not saying that irelands rep is thrashed, but the French comparison doesn’t really stack up
@SYaxJ2Ts: Obviously being an Island we’re more dependent on air travel. I’m not going to get into the nitty gritty and break down of tourists and how they arrive in France.. but if we take US, which has no option but to fly, they continue to grow in terms of numbers of tourists.. even in comparison with pre pandemic levels. Same for Japanese and Chinese tourists. Charles De Gaulle remains the 3rd busiest airport in Europe.m So it stacks up,for me,that regular strike action in French airports does not have reputational damage to its tourist industry. . Nor would it to Irish tourism, as is being claimed ( you yourself agree isn’t true)No doubt you’ll find something to disagree about..
Everyone should receive a fair wage for their effort to reach that position and for their responsibilities in ensuring passengers and consumers are in good hands.
Sometimes, it is a privilege to hold that position without being too demanding, whether as a landlord, an airline pilot, or somebody else in between.
To offer a service to society without being overly concerned for financial or reputational gain, many volunteers from tidy towns to the GAA or credit unions, for example, help maintain a healthy balance in society.
It is those who receive funding and reputations that are unwarranted for the damage they do to society.
@ Robert Halvey: You have made no sense whatsoever but I understand your need to bleat like a populist sheep to fit in so keep bleating and following the uneducated flock.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: I do apologise,after further looking Average Aer Lingus Pilot yearly pay in Ireland is approximately €88k, which is approximately 69% above the national average btw. I was wrong about Ryanair; that was old data, so sorry. Currently, Ryanair pilots earn on average €81k per year, or 58% above the national average wage. Still a bit lower than Aer Lingus, and the figures do not include captains salaries or benefits. So they are not doing to badly.
Michael Shine: One of paedophile surgeon's earliest victims reveals he was abused 60 years ago
Saoirse McGarrigle
5 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: How much do you know about Irish exports?
7 hrs ago
Whatsdat
An AI chatbot has appeared on Irish users' WhatsApp - here's what you need to know
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say