Take part in our latest brand partnership survey

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TDs Michael Collins and Paula Butterly addressing today's protest. Jane Matthews

Independent Ireland leader claims 'sh*t frightened out of' TII during committee appearance

A protest against compulsory land purchases for greenways took place outside Leinster House this afternoon.

INDEPENDENT IRELAND LEADER Micheal Collins claimed “the shit was frightened out of” Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII) during their appearance at the Oireachtas Transport Committee earlier today.

Collins made the remark while addressing a protest against the use of compulsory purchase orders (CPOs) for greenways, which was organised by his party outside Leinster House this afternoon.

Independent Ireland has argued that while there is strong support for the principle of developing greenways and active travel infrastructure, the CPO process “has become one of the most serious issues affecting rural communities” and needs to be addressed by Government.

“Private property rights must be respected. Government cannot railroad farmers and property owners into accepting greenways regardless of their opinions or property rights,” Collins said.

During his speech, Collins told protesters: “B’jaysus lads, the shit was frightened out of them inside there today”, referring to the representatives from TII during the committee hearing. 

“But I tell you one thing, they were listening,” he said, adding: “they have a different attitude going home here tonight”.

He added:

“Remember one thing, Cromwell is gone.

“And they have no right to bring him back inside that Dáil in a different cover, in a different face. We will stand united with ye and take em out.”

Today’s protest was also supported by Fine Gael TD Paula Butterly, Fianna Fáil senator Alison Comyn, Independent TD Danny Healy-Rae and Sinn Féin TD Martin Kenny. 

Butterly, who is a TD for Louth, today voiced her opposition to the use of CPOs for greenways and “recreational purposes”. 

The Journal / YouTube

The first-time TD said CPOs are “absolutely fine” if we need a “road, if we need a railway, if we need a runway”, but “when it comes to a cycle on a Sunday and the choice of giving our young people a home, we have to say no to CPOs for recreational purposes”. 

“It’s not fair, it affects the way we live today, it will affect the way we live tomorrow,” she said.

Butterly told those gathered at the protest: “We have been up against a huge battle in the last number of years to protect our rural life, our rural way of living, to ensure that our sons and daughters and future generations have somewhere to live in the countryside.”

Fianna Fáil senator, Alison Comyn, told those gathered that she was “super proud” to see all of the protesters today and that she was “here to listen” and take whatever feedback she could back to the Minister for Transport, Darragh O’Brien.

Comyn said she was a “great fan of the greenway” but that they “cannot come at the expense of people’s livelihoods”.

IMG_6008 Noreen Ring, a landowner in Cork. Jane Matthews Jane Matthews

Noreen Ring was one of the protesters there today who had travelled up from Cork to voice her frustration. 

“Our message is quite clear. We are in no way against greenways. What we are for is a fair and transparent process in the implementation of these greenways,” she told The Journal. 

Ring, a landowner in Cork, explained that she received a letter through the door informing her of a public consultation about CPOs for the Cork-Kinsale greenway.

“Ultimately, where the greenway would go is where I was planning to build a home someday,” she said.

“CPOs are in place for essential infrastructure, and we don’t deem a walkway an essential infrastructure, so that’s why we’re against CPOs specifically for greenways,” she added.

Becoming emotional, Ring said there is a history in Ireland of “defending our land”, noting that her great-grandmother was arrested in the 1920s by the Black and Tans for defending the same piece of land.

Cork County Council is currently reviewing submissions made in relation to the Cork-Kinsale greenway. 

Ring said she and others have “no intention” of giving up their land.

Green Party leader Roderic O’Gorman told The Journal today that Transport Infrastructure Ireland must engage early with farmers to fully address the concerns they raise.

He said solutions are possible and will benefit the whole community.

“We cannot get bogged down in bureaucracy and procedure. If we do, it’s rural communities who lose out,” he said.

O’Gorman noted that greenways are bringing “huge benefits to rural communities all over the country, increasing tourism and supporting cafes, restaurants and B&Bs”.

“They also serve as critical pieces of infrastructure connecting villages and towns, enabling sustainable journeys that might not take place otherwise,” he said.

Last month, The Journal took an in-depth look at the proposed Cork-Kinsale greenway.

Cork County Council told us that “every effort will be made to avoid the use of CPOs”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments