This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 18 October, 2019

Digital kiosks to offer free access to Government services in post offices

Government funding of €80,000 has been provided to help with rolling out the digital assist pilot scheme.

Post office proposals 10 Post offices are included in the new digital kiosk pilot. Source: Niall Carson

THE GOVERNMENT’S ANNOUNCED a new digital access point for ten post offices around the country. The service is aimed at providing “easy access” to state bodies. 

Minister for Communications Denis Naughten unveiled the first kiosk today at Ballymore Eustace post office in county Kildare: 

With €80,000 in funding provided the pilot will see ten touch screen kiosks installed that will offer easy access to web-based Government and local authority information and services.

An Post staff have been given additional training in order to help them assist anyone availing of the kiosks. The service will also allow users print off Government application forms and information brochures free of charge. 

It follows a difficult few months for the postal company after it announced the closure of 159 post offices around the country. The decision has led to protests and marches on the Dáil, with claims the closure of a local post office is akin to closing down communities.

Launching the kiosk today Minister Naughten said:

The local Post Office is best placed to provide support for people who do not want to go online to carry out their day-to-day business.

Naughten said An Post is the “obvious choice as the access point for citizens with its reach, trusted brand and existing strong relationship” with communities. 

The other nine post offices where Digital Assist is being piloted are: 

  • Kanturk, Co. Cork
  • Carndonagh, Co. Donegal
  • Athenry, Co. Galway
  • Castleisland, Co. Kerry
  • Crossmolina, Co. Mayo
  • Newbliss, Co. Monaghan
  • Ballaghaderreen, Co. Roscommon
  • Tubbercurry, Co. Sligo
  • Fethard on Sea, Co. Wexford

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Aisling O'Rourke

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel