You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'We were so lucky that day': Nurse who saved Dublin Bus driver helps launch nationwide CPR training

The Irish Heart Foundation aims to train as many as 100,000 people within two years.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

THE NURSE WHO stepped in to save the life of a Dublin Bus driver who suffered a heart attack while driving hopes her story will encourage more people to learn CPR.

Aoife McGivney was speaking at the launch of a new campaign by the Irish Heart Foundation, which aims to train as many as 100,000 people over the next two years in vital life-saving skills – and all for free.

The programme, Hands For Life, will take place in community centres, clubs and libraries.

McGivney said that while she benefited from her own medical training – as well as by switching into “nurse-mode” when passengers realised something was wrong – it’s important that people learn how easy it is to provide simple first aid in a similar situation.

The Irish Heart Foundation’s guidelines for CPR are:

1. If you see a person suddenly collapse, check for a response. Call their name and shake them gently on the shoulder.
  2. If there is no response call 112 or 999 immediately to get help on the way.
  3. If the person is still not responding and is not breathing normally, then make sure the person is lying flat on their back on the ground. Kneel close beside them and place your two hands on the centre of their chest in line with their nipples, one on top of the other, and keep your arms straight.
  4. Start compressions. Push hard and fast. Push down at least five centimetres or two inches and push at a rate of 100-120 beats per minute. The Bee Gees song ‘Stayin’ Alive’ is the perfect CPR rhythm. Keep going until the emergency services arrive.

Watch the video above for our full report.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:05 PM

20 jobs that’s it folks recession is over

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:10 PM

5 point plan is still on track

#sarcasm

Mute Mister Fantastic
    Favourite Mister Fantastic
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:29 PM

I have to admit I was extremely impressed when Enda Kenny unveiled the 5 point plan back in 2011. I never knew he could count to 5.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:38 PM

” Recent research into the efficacy of ‘trade missions’ shows mixed results. A Canadian study into the visits of Stephen Harper’s government ( pdf) showed that – for all the hubris and politicians’ vanity – they did squat for trade. They just took businessmen to sign deals that had been agreed already. They are great lobbying opportunities for the businessmen, and they help the politician pose as the friend of business. But evidence of them helping exports? ‘Small, negative and mainly insignificant effects’.”

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/coffeehouse/2012/04/the-trade-mission-delusion/

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:49 PM

We all know his advisors counted to 5 for him

#generalknowledge

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:03 PM

20 jobs!? Is that a typo?

Couldn’t give a shite about €40m belonging to private companies… We’ll not see a penny of it anyway…but are they seriously bragging about 20 jobs?

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:08 PM

Brain it looks that way they should had made it 26 jobs one for every county

Mute Mister Fantastic
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:25 PM

20 jobs makes up for the amount of jobs lost since I started typing this comment. We need Bono to raise this plight at his next big gig: “Every time I clap my hands someone in Ireland has lost a job”

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:30 PM

So stop clapping your hands!

Mute Mister Fantastic
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:32 PM

In other news the government has sold €5.00 in 10 year bonds on the stock market today.

Mute James Lewis
    Favourite James Lewis
    Jun 29th 2014, 3:46 AM

Good-day,

I’m Mr. James Lewis. A reputable, legitimate & accredited lender. We give out loan of all kinds in a very fast and easy way, Personal Loan, Car Loan, Home Loan, Student Loan, Business Loan, Inventor loan, Debt Consolidation. etc

Get approved for a business or personal loans today and get funds within same week of application. These personal loans can be approved regardless of your credit and there are lots of happy customers to back up this claim. But you won’t only get the personal loan you need; you will get the cheapest one. This is our promise: We guarantee The lowest rate for all loans with free collateral benefits.

We strive to leave a positive lasting impression by exceeding the expectations of my customers in everything I do. Our goal is to treat you with dignity and respect while providing the highest quality service in a timely manner.

No social security Number required and no credit check required, 100% Guaranteed.

So email: lewisloancompany@yahoo.com today to apply for a LOAN.

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:12 PM

And I wonder which politicians are listed as directors for those companies.

Its not like the people will be benefitting from a private company getting rich….

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:45 PM

I’m speechless, where can I apply for all these jobs ?
    I’d be ashamed to come back from a country with such a huge population and make that announcement. Sounds like a total failure for the mission. Kenny would want to shuffle him out some quiet door and send someone capable of promoting this country and people. Sack him!

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:48 PM

Compared to recent deals with China by other countries, this is charity!

Mute Michael Fennelly
    Favourite Michael Fennelly
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:18 PM

Folks I am not the Goverments biggest fan but 20 jobs is still better than none. €40 million of which some Irish Compaines could receive by supplying services and goods.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:25 PM

How many people are going come into the work force after finishing college 20 jobs is nt going be much help

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:33 PM

Michael €36 million of the €40 million are funds being invested by Irish companies in Asia. The remainder accounts for deals done between Asian and Irish companies. According to the article.

Mute Aoife Kally
    Favourite Aoife Kally
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:25 PM

Only 20 jobs? Ah cmon now

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:36 PM

Might not even be that. The beauty of trade missions is that no one will check in 12 months to see if they actually delivered.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:59 PM

Has to be a typo.

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:34 PM

So…5 million in
    36 million out.

Are we…do we clap to this? I..just don’t know anymore

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:41 PM

Typical Dickee Bruton stuff. It will probably cost more to send that rich littleBruton sleeveen to Asia than the country will ever realise in employment.

But as usual when useless rich mans friend Bruton is involved …… it’s hard to measure.

God help us to rid ourselves of these useless greedy pigs like Bruton !

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:48 PM

Ah the redthumbs are out supportin they guvmints…but strangely… Have feck all to say

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:33 PM

Wait….36 million in investments…In Asia.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 28th 2014, 4:23 PM

Twenty jobs for only forty million? Dat’s fab!!

Mute James Lewis
    Favourite James Lewis
    Jun 29th 2014, 3:49 AM

Hello everyone,

I am James Lewis, a private loan lender who gives life time opportunity loans.. Do you need a loan to pay off your bills and debts? Do you need funds to expand your business? Do you have bad credit card? Have you been rejected by credit union, banks and other financial agencies? So Worry no more, for we are here to render financial assistance to your loan crisis. We offer loan at a very reliable beneficiary low interest rate, we are also certify and accredited by government to issues out financial assistance to those who are in financial crisis. We are reputable, genuine and legitimate loan lender.

If interested kindly contact us via email: lewisloancompany@yahoo.com

Mute Ljerka Pastuovic
    Favourite Ljerka Pastuovic
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:16 AM

Hello everybody, I am Mrs Pastovic ,currently living in canada,I am a widow at the moment with two kids and i was stuck in a financial situation by august 2013 and i needed to refinance and pay my bills for my son medication. I tried seeking loans from various loan firms both
    private and corporate but never with success,and most banks declined my credit. But as God would
    have it,i was introduced to a man of God a private loan lender by a friend named Mr Malcolm and i got a loan sum of $700,000USD and today am a
    business owner and my kids are doing well at the moment. So dear,if you must contact any firm with reference to securing a loan with low interest rate of 3% and better repayment plans and schedule,please contact Mr Wayne Matthew He doesn’t know that am doing this but am so happy now and i decided to let people know more about him,He offers all kinds of loans to both individuals and company and also i want God to bless him more. You can contact him through his email via:
    Wayne.matthewloanhome@outlook.com

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jun 29th 2014, 5:36 PM

Hey, let’s show a little gratitude for all that this government has done for us.

OK. TIme’s up.