#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13°C Saturday 16 October 2021

Éamon Ó Cuív back in the fold in Fianna Fáil reshuffle

The former deputy leader of the party had resigned in February but is now back on the party’s front bench.

"Tell me it's good news, Micheál..."
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL’S ONLY backbench TD has been moved back onto the front bench in a party reshuffle announced this evening.

Éamon Ó Cuív, who had resigned as deputy leader of the party in protest in February and had been relegated to the backbenches, is now spokesperson for Agriculture, Food, and Community Affairs.

Willie O’Dea has been moved to Social Protection while Charlie McConalogue, who was elected as a TD for the first time in 2011, is now spokesperson for Education.

Announcing the reshuffle this evening, party leader Micheál Martin said that the party was focused on “providing robust and constructive opposition”.

Micheál Martin did not announce a new deputy leader of the party. The position had been vacant since Éamon Ó Cuív stood down in February in a row over Fianna Fáil’s stance on the Fiscal Compact referendum.

The party went from 77 seats in the 2007 election to 20 seats in the 2011 general election.

The Fianna Fáil front bench in full:

Micheál Martin - Leader and Northern Ireland

Seán Ó Fearghaíl - Whip; Constitutional Reform; Arts & Culture; Defence

Willie O’Dea - Social Protection & Social Equality

Barry Cowen - Environment & Local Government

Billy Kelleher - Health

Brendan Smith - Foreign Affairs & Trade; Border Region Development

Charlie McConalogue - Education & Skills

Dara Calleary - Enterprise, Jobs & Innovation

John Browne - Marine & Fisheries

John McGuinness - Small Business & Regulatory Framework

Micheál Kitt - Housing, Planning& Gaeltacht Affairs

Michael McGrath - Finance

Michael Moynihan - Communications, Energy & Natural Resources

Niall Collins - Justice and Equality

Robert Troy - Children

Seán Fleming - Public Expenditure & Public Sector Reform

Timmy Dooley - Transport, Tourism & Sport

Seamus Kirk - Horticulture & Rural Affairs

Éamon Ó Cuív - Agriculture & Food, Community Affairs

Darragh O’Brien - Seanad Leader and Dublin Spokesperson

Jim O’Callaghan - Legal Advisor

Tanáiste insists he has confidence in James Reilly >

Friday Dáil sees bipartisanships as Govt supports FOI legislation >

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel