Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Tuesday 6 June 2023 Dublin: 13°C
Niall Carson/PA Wire
Martin unveils second FF front bench in ten weeks
Just 71 days after appointing his new shadow cabinet, Micheál Martin changes ranks – with just three TDs retaining briefs.

Updated, 13:42

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheal Martin has announced a reshuffle to his party’s front bench – less than three months after naming his first team of spokespersons.

Of the 21 roles assigned by Martin on January 31, just three TDs retain the briefs for which they previously had responsibility – with Brian Lenihan staying on as finance spokesperson while John McGuinness retains the Small Business brief and Michael McGrath retains responsibility for the Financial Sector Reform area.

Many of the party’s other surviving TDs are assigned to other portfolios, though many briefs have been restructured in order to better mirror the new makeup of the government departments.

The reshuffle had been required due to the government restructure and due to the failure of six members of Martin’s original front bench – including outgoing Tánaiste Mary Coughlan, and Martin’s deputy leader Mary Hanafin – to win re-election to the Dáil.

Martin today said his new team had the “balance of experience and fresh perspective required” to provide the opposition needed to keep Fine Gael and Labour to account.

A Fianna Fáil spokesperson said this lunchtime that further announcements on policy portfolios would be made following the conclusion of the Seanad elections, which are ongoing.

The new new Fianna Fáil front bench in full:

  • Leader and Spokesperson on Northern Ireland: Micheál Martin TD
  • Deputy Leader and Spokesperson on Finance: Brian Lenihan TD
  • Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Trade (also Party Whip): Seán Ó Fearghail TD
  • Spokesperson on Public Expenditure and Financial Sector Reform: Michael McGrath TD
  • Spokesperson on Public Sector Reform: Sean Fleming TD
  • Spokesperson on Education and Skills: Brendan Smith TD
  • Spokesperson on Social Protection: Barry Cowen TD
  • Spokesperson on Environment, Community and Local Government: Niall Collins TD
  • Spokesperson on Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation: Willie O’Dea TD
  • Spokesperson on Children: Charlie McConalogue TD
  • Spokesperson on Justice, Equality and Defence: Dara Calleary TD
  • Spokesperson on Health: Billy Kelleher TD
  • Spokesperson on Transport, Tourism and Sport: Timmy Dooley TD
  • Spokesperson on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources: Eamon Ó Cuiv TD
  • Spokesperson on Agriculture and Food: Michael Moynihan TD
  • Spokesperson on Arts and Heritage: Robert Troy TD
  • Spokesperson on Marine and Fisheries: John Browne TD
  • Spokesperson on Horticulture and Rural Affairs: Seamus Kirk TD
  • Spokesperson on Housing, Planning and Gaeltacht Affairs: Micheal Kitt TD
  • Spokesperson on Small Business Regulatory Framework: John McGuinness TD (also Fianna Fáil nominee for Chair of the Public Accounts Committee)
  • Legal Adviser: Cllr Jim O’Callaghan