You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Will Pat Kenny ever return to RTÉ?

It looks like a possibility.

IT HAS BEEN more than two years since Pat Kenny made the shock decision to leave the RTÉ after almost four decades at the station.

He has since made Newstalk his home, presenting a two-hour-long news and current affairs show that rivals his old slot on RTÉ Radio 1, placing him head-to-head with Sean O’Rourke.

The move was an expensive one for the Commericorp station, who bet big on Kenny’s reputation to pull in more listeners. His pay package was previously reported to be in the region of €2 million, spread out over five years.

2/8/2013. Pat Kenny First Day at Newstalk Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

The veteran broadcaster has a lot more freedom now. Previously he would have been tied to RTÉ television and radio, but is free to pick and choose projects elsewhere as he pleases.

Kenny has since returned to our screens, appearing on UTV Ireland presenting the station’s launch programme and also chat show In The Round, in which he believes he produced “five pretty good” episodes before it was axed.

He has also appeared in front of the camera for a series of video reports with Newstalk.

However, he isn’t ruling out a return to Montrose if a project that interests him comes up in future, “something that would suit me in terms of what I do.”

I mean, I’m not going to be presenting the Rose of Tralee.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Kenny said he didn’t burn any bridges when he left RTÉ.

“I’m not turning my back on television but as projects come along, like In the Round, I will do them and select them as they suit me,” he told TheJournal.ie, “There’s a lot going on at the moment [in Irish television].”

Kenny said he would not be interested in a more permanent position at UTVI:

No, I’m happy at this time to keep myself pretty flexible and fluid.

However, he has some issues to address at Newstalk first. According to the most recent JNLR figures, released in October, The Pat Kenny Show was languishing at 134,000 listeners, a drop compared to the same time a year previous.

Upstairs from Newstalk in Today FM, The Anton Savage Show is racing ahead on 191,000, having managed to retain Ray D’Arcy’s listenership, while over at Radio 1 Sean O’Rourke enjoys a massive 328,000 listeners.

“I built a great audience for Sean, and he’s done very well to hang on to a lot of it,” Kenny said.

He described his own listenership as a “slow grow”, but the biggest problem he faces is inertia as kitchen radios across the country are still tuned to one station, with people unwilling to make the change. He says this isn’t an issue for drivetime, when most people are listening in their cars.

Regardless, his reputation in the Irish media landscape remains, but it could have been very different for Pat.

Cast your mind back to 1988. A young Pat Kenny presented the Eurovision Song Contest alongside Michelle Rocca. He was exposed to a massive audience and has revealed he was then inundated with offers from stations in the United Kingdom to head across the water.

EuroBoy1994 / YouTube

He said he has a ‘niggling regret’ about the decision to turn them all down.

That’s always one of those crossroads movements where you say, if you had said yes to those, everything else would have been different.

Pat Kenny: ‘My voice couldn’t even be heard in case an Irish person was nearby’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

97 Comments
    Mute León O'Keeffe
    Favourite León O'Keeffe
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:06 PM

Is it just me who can’t warm to Pat Kenny and his giant ego? He comes across as someone who is arrogant and full off themselves

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:14 PM

According to Pat Kenny himself he is incredibly intelligent and incisive as well as a great entertainer. Pat Kenny greatly admires his on talents. He suffers from a terrible worry that not enough people have enough access to his genius.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:26 PM

Pat kenny is good..his problem is Sean o Rourke is just as good.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:30 PM

Fiona…the Late Late Show was on life support while he ran the show….he’s just not cut for light entertainment….or any kind of entertainment for that matter.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:36 PM

That’s like walking into a morgue looking at the bodies on the slab and asking which one is the livliest

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:50 PM

Jenni. Sean O’ Rourke is better by a mile.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:59 PM

Pat Kenny is grand doing serious interview and political sort of stuff. When it comes to light entertainment he’s so retentive that not even a team of the world’s best proctologists could help him out.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:00 PM

Remember his cringe inducing interview where he insulted Dawn French in front of her husband Lennie Henry.

Mute Martina Patten
    Favourite Martina Patten
    Dec 20th 2015, 10:31 PM

We heard enough about Slab today!

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 20th 2015, 11:52 PM

When Pat said to Gay Byrne “Bikers like you and me Gay” When Pat rode a C2 scooter 125cc and Gay rode a Harley Davidson Sportster badly, that said it all for me !

Mute Joe Keogh
    Favourite Joe Keogh
    Dec 21st 2015, 7:53 AM

Humility is lacking .

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Dec 21st 2015, 9:08 AM

Why not just ask what brand of cranberry says will your neighbour buy this Christmas? It would warrant justcas much care and consideration.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Dec 21st 2015, 12:11 PM

I think Pat went to the school of arrogant and full of themselves with Gaybo the headmaster!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 21st 2016, 1:57 PM

he helped SF/IRA attack a presidential candidate ffs

Mute Alan Henderson
    Favourite Alan Henderson
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:12 PM

Whats in it for me ?

Mute LogicalSarah
    Favourite LogicalSarah
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:34 PM

Pat Kenny is not working in RTE? When did this happen? Why did the Journal not cover the story? I feel so left out of really important news!

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:44 PM

The only thing running through kenny head is “show me the money!!!!!”

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:56 PM

Alan. Gave me a good giggle

Mute Alan Henderson
    Favourite Alan Henderson
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:58 PM

Delighted for ya shawn :)

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:05 PM

Please God no…

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:25 PM

UTV-flop
    Newstalk-flop

Fallback to RTE and a nice fat paycheck from the taxpayer.

Why don’t RTE hire 4 other presenters that would probably be just as good and have them on a range of programmes and give the viewer some variety rather than the same overpaid “stars” who do virtually all of the big programmes? Ray D’Arcy is actually worse than Brendan O’Connor and I never thought that was going to be possible. There is something wrong with a TV and Radio station when the main stars have been holding the prime time spots for longer than most people who are alive in their 40′s.

Dec 20th 2015, 9:52 PM

It’s no surprise that the Late Late and Buzzkill are a disaster…

Wouldn’t you think that somebody could legitimately spend the week preparing for them?

But no, we must have celebrity cross promotion..

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey

Of all the interesting and Seasonal articles to choose from on a Sunday before Christmas, you chose the one about Pat Kenny possibly returning to Rte? Disappointing journalism Nicky!

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:34 PM

who gives a shite?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:26 PM

Who killed Kenny, B**tards!

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:07 PM

I’m not paying for that!

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:08 PM

If the price.is right… he’ll do anything for a big fat check…

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:22 PM

Cheque, for Jesus sake. Can anyone spell properly on this fcuking site?

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:28 PM

That especially for monty…see you can’t spell also…..

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:16 PM

That especially for…? You’re hurting my brain.

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11

Hope to fk not. We already have Pat in drag in the Miriam show. Don’t make him take the dress off again. RTE and Pat Kenny, 2 planks that we unfortunately have to pay for through our licence.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:11 PM

” I want loadsa money”

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:33 PM

Has not been missed on RTE, nobody turned the dial for him. Perhaps the penny is finally starting to drop that he isn’t particularly liked?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:11 PM

Of course he will, he’s a hoor.

Mute Ronan K. Smith
    Favourite Ronan K. Smith
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:37 PM

It’s impossible to burn bridges in RTE. They all come back in the end.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Dec 21st 2015, 10:15 AM

RTE the cosy club. Once yer in yer in ain’t that right George Lee. The Order of the Knights of RTE

Mute Mikeconnor
    Favourite Mikeconnor
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:18 PM

Lost all credibility when he had Bertie ahern on he’s show a few times, and hadn’t the balls to ask him about bankrupting the country!

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:15 PM

As soon as the broadcasting charge is introduced and everyone in the country is forced to hand over 160 quid a year to Montrose, RTE will be only too happy to throw our hard earned money at these talantless so-called celebrities like Kenny

Mute diarmuid Connolly
    Favourite diarmuid Connolly
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:17 PM

Bring back Tom Dunne to that slot I say. PK is very wooden

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:21 PM

The wodden robot.

Mute Caroline Otoole
    Favourite Caroline Otoole
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:52 PM

Tom Dunne was great, it took a while but he got there. His even show is excellent.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary

He is so far up his own backside. unbelievable.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:29 PM

Denise..Anton is the man..and he plays good music

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:01 PM

Never listened to him on RTE
    Never listened to him on NewsTalk
    Won’t listen to him on RTE again

Mute Statler
    Favourite Statler
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:20 PM

Wait … Did Pat Kenny move to Newstalk?!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:19 PM

Ends Kenny as Taoiseach again, Pat Kenny as Government spokesman on RTE, homelessness gets worse, delays in the health system get worse, the poor get poorer and Ireland continues to do the same things over and over again expecting different results.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:18 PM

Ever notice when there’s a scientist or some such other obscure specialist subject individual on the show Pat turns the interview into a platform for his knowledge on the subject and hen there’s an stiff upper lip British accent e.g. Pat ends up sounding like he’s from the House of Lords.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:19 PM

I notice this anyway don’t know about the rest of ye.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:32 PM

Indeed Tommy

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:40 PM

Indeed Tommy…he has that art of reading cue cards down to a tee.

Mute Void bringer
    Favourite Void bringer
    Dec 20th 2015, 11:38 PM

I hear yea there Tommy.

Mute Brian J Cowan
    Favourite Brian J Cowan

Pat Kenny is dead to me.

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:27 PM

Pat the plank. No personality,no talent. Dry as a nun.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:58 PM

Who cares? ….overindulged prat

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:59 PM

Who gives a f..k pat kenny made his money off rte and the hard pressed tv licence payers for rubbish programme and repeats over the years utv Ireland just copped on that his show in the round just didn’t cut it with its viewers having said that his better off where he is on news talk which I think he dose a good job and we tv licence payers are not paying him stick with d radio pat

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:14 PM

There’s a lot in that Liam.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:16 PM

The guys in UTV, who hired Kenny and thought he’d benefit the station? Should be fired, or just shot!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:37 PM

Stephen…which just goes to show Kenny is no crowd puller and without the licence fee even RTE would go broke like UTVI having to pay lavish wages for what turned out to be a ‘clanger’.
    If RTE ran like a pure private station you’d see the dead wood being cut so fast there’d be saw dust everywhere….but as they milk at the teat of the taxpayer, there’s no need to think very hard about choices.

Mute eamon brady
    Favourite eamon brady

He’s past his sell by date. He thinks he’s Gay Byrne, another ‘hanger on’

Mute MARK O 'LEARY
    Favourite MARK O 'LEARY

In leaving Montrose Pat was introduced to the 19th,20th and 21st centuries so why go back to the dark ages.

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:25 PM

Who cares!!!

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:28 PM

ive noticed every presenter on newstalk are exact clones ..from chris in the morning all through the day they all sing the same exact song…its weird..

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:14 PM

Any chance he’d just Fook off, leave us alone and do humanity a service. No wonder, half the country is depressed and I blame RTE for all these shysters they produce!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:13 PM

Oh, Jesus Christ, give me patience.

Mute Fergal Nannery
    Favourite Fergal Nannery
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:16 PM

I think he’s very good on the he radio but he doesn’t come across well on tv

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Dec 20th 2015, 11:39 PM

RTE – The great retirement home for the RTE broadcasters. All coming back to suck out of the National broadcaster sow. Gaybo, Murphy, Bowman, Kenny, Gogan, Balfe, Whelan, and 100′s of others. This is not taking from their talent, but really they should move on to the green pastures of retirement or take up some voluntary work somewhere instead of trying to enhance their bank balance.
    Leave room for some new exciting talent.

Mute epo eire
    Favourite epo eire
    Dec 20th 2015, 10:02 PM

I found myself listening to Pat on Newstalk last week doing a spot on “A day in the life of a Priest”. At the end he asked the nice young lady producer if ever the day should come is it the type of job she’d like doing herself, chuckle. “Well you never know, I do look good in black and white” to which Pat chuckled again and then reminded her more seriously “Well that will never happen”

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy

Were there not a few bridges burnt there..??

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford

And will Garth play Crime park. Less grave digging in Glasnevin

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford

*Croke

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 20th 2015, 8:49 PM

Hope not.

Mute Derek Hughes
    Favourite Derek Hughes
    Dec 20th 2015, 10:13 PM

Please God and the TV license holders. Noooooooooooo!

Mute Caroline Quinlan
    Favourite Caroline Quinlan
    Dec 20th 2015, 11:06 PM

Thoroughly enjoy Sean O Rourke on RTE Radio 1. Wouldn’t miss the programme.

Mute Enda Elvery
    Favourite Enda Elvery
    Dec 20th 2015, 9:24 PM

Apparently he tried, he thought on rte he was rte. But time has proven his rte team were the business. On news talk he hasn’t pulled the listeners.
    On rte he was the best, now I only give him 50% at the most of my time

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Dec 20th 2015, 11:07 PM

The real question is – would Newstalk role out Gay Byrne specials and keep Gay going for 10 years past his sell by date?
    I think like George Lee know which station is best to retire to.

Mute Oscar Kennedy
    Favourite Oscar Kennedy
    Dec 20th 2015, 10:33 PM

Pure clickbait.

Mute Brendan Grehan
    Favourite Brendan Grehan
    Dec 20th 2015, 10:50 PM

Communicorp…sic

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Dec 21st 2015, 12:16 AM

Who cares if he returns ? If he does he should nit be given a €300K + contract.

Mute Joe Joyce
    Favourite Joe Joyce
    Dec 21st 2015, 4:24 AM

He’s a spud

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Dec 21st 2015, 12:31 AM

Wowwwwwwwww !

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Dec 21st 2015, 5:53 AM

I think he’s quite good on Newstalk…

Mute Void bringer
    Favourite Void bringer
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:41 AM

Who needs Arnie. When you have Pat…I`ll be back!! I need your clothes… your Boots…and your TV Licence Fee!!

Mute John Staunton
    Favourite John Staunton
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:47 AM

That clip of him in his younger days reminded me of Patrick bateman

Mute Void bringer
    Favourite Void bringer
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:14 AM

Yes… that Eurovision clip? Personally I can`t help being reminded of some sleazy Douchebag from a Steven Seagal Flic!!

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Dec 21st 2015, 10:16 AM

The clip of him tearing up the toy show tickets. Best hissy fit ever !

Mute mark hennessy
    Favourite mark hennessy
    Dec 21st 2015, 9:57 AM

The only ones that are any good at newstalk is ivan yates.. hook… off the ball and Tom dunne pats show anybody could do it. That fela on launch time is a joke he doesn’t have any balls. Better entertainment looking into a mixer full of cement.

Mute P. Ennis
    Favourite P. Ennis
    Dec 21st 2015, 7:46 AM

Pat “paint drying” Kenny.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Dec 21st 2015, 12:14 PM

I pity the lifelong RTE view and listener – CHANGE THE FECKIN CHANNEL/STATION!

Why does my tax money go to pay for an orchestra that is off the radar, a twice day ‘call to prayer’, and endless repeats and stagnant programming? Fed up with the TV licence and what little I get in return!

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Dec 21st 2015, 9:45 AM

Just disappear pat .., thanks

Dec 21st 2015, 8:33 AM

Who cares…….?

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    Dec 21st 2015, 8:38 AM

Gus Sheridan: My sentiments exactly. Who cares. At least my tv licence tax isn’t going into his pockets now.

Dec 21st 2015, 5:39 PM

After 3 days lol.

Mute Ciaran Tyrrell
    Favourite Ciaran Tyrrell
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:49 PM

Leave him where ever he is ,

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 21st 2015, 8:46 AM

Then do us all a favour Damian, and dont think! :-)

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Dec 21st 2015, 11:24 PM

Cogito ergo sum ;-)