You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí seize 19 rickshaws in Cork City as part of operation with Revenue

The rickshaws were seized under Section 41 of the Road Traffic Act.

GARDAÍ HAVE SEIZED a total of 19 rickshaws in Cork City.

The seizure was made by a garda road policing unit during an operation carried out as part of an ongoing operation with Revenue and Department of Social Protection.

The rickshaws were seized under Section 41 of the Road Traffic Act.

The vehicles, which are often motorised, are a popular form of transportation for late night revellers in cities.

Last June, Dublin City Council issued a public advisory notice warning of the safety hazards of using rickshaws.

“Dublin City council wishes to advise members of the public, for their own safety and the safety of others, that rickshaws operating in Dublin City are not regulated by DCC or otherwise,” the Council said in the notice posted on its website.

“Some rickshaw operators appear not to have public liability insurance,” it added.

Read: Dublin City Council issues warning regarding safety of rickshaws

More: Dublin City Council hopes to have rickshaws banned this year

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Dave Cleary
    Favourite Dave Cleary
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:18 PM

Any chance of seizing the sulky’s officers while your at it?

Mute Sven Gilmore
    Favourite Sven Gilmore
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:47 PM

@Dave Cleary: you must be kidding…… the sulky drivers fight back!

Mute Sean O Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O Sullivan
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:13 PM

Good well done now ban them outright.

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Favourite BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:11 PM

Rickshaws are illegal in many different ways. No public liability insurance. Operated mostly by Brazilian’s here on student visas which means they are not allowed to be self employed. And pretty much all of them are drug dealers. Good riddance…

Mute Gerard McCarthy
    Favourite Gerard McCarthy
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:36 PM

@BAINNE ATHA CLIATH: ha this is why I love the journal say what you want! Most rickshaw drivers are drug dealers.?

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:31 PM

@BAINNE ATHA CLIATH: Thanks for the tip

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:19 PM

@Gerard McCarthy: fact. And if they don’t have what you want they will bring you to someone who does.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:42 PM

About time

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:18 PM

JOIN THE FREE THE RICKSHAWS CAMPAIGN NOW

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:17 PM

FREE RICHARD SHAW!

Mute dominic jones
    Favourite dominic jones
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:21 PM

And the real Criminals are free to “walk” the streets

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:37 PM

@dominic jones: You mean the people who have already been convicted of a crime? They have, by definition, already been caught.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: criminal < convicted criminal

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:14 PM

@dominic jones: Its the drivers should be seized…well known crims, dealing

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:19 PM

@dominic jones: and rip off taxi. Drivers

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:10 PM

Ban them, nothing but groups of drunk girls using them anyway…

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:25 PM

Delighted….. no insurance….prices can “change”….not regulated….

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:54 PM

About time

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:22 PM

Well how are they still allowed to operate in Dublin??
    If you are in an accident in one of those drug facility rickshaws you are NOT insured Ok!
    DCC please do your duty and get rid of them now.

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:12 PM

seizing Ubers next?

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:33 PM

@David Edwards: what are Uber’s? Are they some new kind of headshop drug??

Mute Zach Addington
    Favourite Zach Addington
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:56 PM

@David Edwards: we are not allowed to have Uber in Ireland even though we market ourselves as some sort og globa tech hub.

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:07 PM

@Zach Addington: uber are in ireland. They are licensed and insured taxi drivers. The main reason they don’t operate the same here as in other countries (private cars) is public liability insurance which is 6 or 7 times the price of private motor insurance.

Mute Joe Burke
    Favourite Joe Burke
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:25 PM

@David Edwards: hopefully no spsv driver licence vehicle licence or insurance !

Mute AdijazzJohnson
    Favourite AdijazzJohnson
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:10 PM

They’re ruining Dublin and probably other towns. It’s a blatant violation of the terms of student visas. Deport them all.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:57 PM

Replace them with Tuk Tuks

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:32 PM

Fecking priceless. It is always about the revenue.

Meanwhile… back at the ranch….the burglary and drug criminal cartels are secure in the knowledge that as the Garda are busy at work busting rickshaw drivers for lack of insurance…they can get on with their own business of being criminals and terrorising the rest of the country.

If you want the rickshaws regulated….than f**cking regulate them DCC.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:43 PM

@Patty Cullinane: You won’t say that if you’re daughter is on the back of one and the driver breaks the lights and gets her killed. What insurance company is going to go near those? Taxis are paying anything from 2500 right up to 10,000 and they’re a lot safer than a rickshaw.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Patty Cullinane: revenue only care about tormenting the small person

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:54 PM

@David Garland: then I suggest you tell your daughter not to ever hire a rickshaw.

Mute Damien Mooney
    Favourite Damien Mooney
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:52 PM

@David Garland: so David, has that happened in Ireland , the scenario you gave? Because what is happening is Revenue clamping down on people trying to earn an honest few bob, while factually people are being terrorised and murdered in their homes by burglars.

Mute Seamus O Laighleis
    Favourite Seamus O Laighleis
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:32 PM

Who didn’t pay their backhander?

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:02 PM

In Asia and South America they don’t have problems with Rickshaws, whats wrong with having a few rickshaws in Ireland?

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:09 PM

@Simon Conneely: nothing… once they are regulated, licenced, insured and operated by legitimate tax paying workers.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:10 PM

@Simon Conneely: The Revenue are the problem can’t secure tax from them at the moment

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:12 PM

@BAINNE ATHA CLIATH: oh like the Building and Banking Industry is

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:15 PM

@Simon Conneely: they are a PITH that’s what.

Mute Charlie Farrell
    Favourite Charlie Farrell
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:41 PM

@Simon Conneely:
    They also don’t have Health and Safety in Asia and South America.

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Johnny Mason: no like every other form of public transport.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:14 PM

Wow, so many taxi drivers on here ;-]

Mute wawan
    Favourite wawan
    Feb 17th 2018, 4:34 PM

@Peter: people here just know one side story did people try to know other side (rackshaw drivers)point of view??/??how they working in freezing nights?how much they getting end of day after paying rent etc? I agree they need insurance etc but from where they get insurance no1 tell them ?rackshaw in all Europe oprating

Mute Derek.b
    Favourite Derek.b
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:32 PM

Free country?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Derek.b: no, never has been either.

Mute James Wond
    Favourite James Wond
    Feb 12th 2018, 10:14 PM

I heard the rickshaws seats were smeared with drugs so that when passengers sat on them they absorbed the drugs through the pores of their skin and became addicted immediately having no choice but to buy their next fix of xtc or ghb from said rick shaw driver who was not declaring the profits he made from said drugs to revenue which is what initially kicked off this investigation.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:08 PM

Dont forget to go after the Deliveroo’s next. Bound to catch people on welfare doing this job. Also those on motor bikes.. im sure their insurance would not cover them for working ad delivery drivers. Petty i know! But what tge hell!

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Feb 12th 2018, 10:23 PM

great to see the garda spending public money on the most important crimes, those rickshaw gangsters, they had it coming

Mute zahcbot
    Favourite zahcbot
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:01 PM

Good.

Mute Patrick Coughlan
    Favourite Patrick Coughlan
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:55 AM

The Insurance industry operates in a cartel system. Their concern is much more to do with ripping-off young people and pensioners than it is with Rickshaws.

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:12 PM

Dats cark for ye lads

Mute mick curtin
    Favourite mick curtin
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:31 PM

Donation rickshaw – lean ar aghaidh. Tá fáilte romhaidh.

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Feb 13th 2018, 4:19 PM

I don’t particularly like rickshaws, but I find it deeply troubling that Gardai seize rickshaws at the behest of Revenue. Were the owners breaching the peace in some manner? Since when is it the remit of the Garda Siochana to act as enforcers for Revenue. It seems our Gardai have transitioned from peace keepers to Police (policy enforcers) which is a concerning move. It shows tyranny is trumping democracy.

Mute Jake Herbie de Londras
    Favourite Jake Herbie de Londras
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:35 PM

They are back again ?

Mute wawan
    Favourite wawan
    Feb 17th 2018, 8:57 PM

rackshaws working in all europe even in DUBLIN so what problen in cork? if need legislation you have to tell them from where they can get