This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Friday 28 February, 2020

Shatter survives Dáil motion of no confidence with 88-45 win

A government counter-motion supporting Shatter was passed easily in the Dáil this evening.

THE MINISTER FOR JUSTICE, Alan Shatter, will remain in office after a Dáil motion of no confidence was amended by TDs voting in his favour.

TDs voted 88 to 45 to replace Fianna Fáil’s ‘no confidence’ motion with a Government motion worded in Shatter’s favour.

On the amended motion, TDs voted to back Shatter by an identical margin, 88 to 45.

Of the TDs in attendance, there was unanimous support for Shatter among Fine Gael and Labour, and unanimous dissent against him among Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin TDs.

Colm Keaveney was the only one of the ‘Independent Labour’ TDs to vote with Shatter, while Róisín Shortall, Patrick Nulty and Tommy Broughan all voted against him.

Of TDs from the smaller parties or the independent benches, Michael Lowry was the only member to vote in support of the minister.

Shatter: ‘Do I think it was a mistake to mention the incident surrounding Deputy Wallace? …Of course I do’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Gavan Reilly

Read next: