You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Simon Harris pictured outside the GPO yesterday Alamy Stock Photo

Taoiseach says election will happen on a Friday 'and there aren't many Fridays left to choose from'

Taoiseach Simon Harris today said the election will take place on a Friday after the Finance Bill ‘has been sorted’.

LAST UPDATE | 22 Oct 2024

TAOISEACH SIMON HARRIS has confirmed that the General Election will be held on a Friday before Christmas.

The three coalition leaders agreed last night that a general election will be held this year. 

But no date was agreed upon after the two-hour long meeting.

A government spokesperson said that the three leaders have agreed to a general election in 2024 but that the passage of the Finance Bill is the priority for the Government.

Yesterday, Harris told the media that “I’m not going into the speculation of the day of the election… I have to keep some small element of surprise for you”.

However, this morning Harris said that the election will take place on a Friday and described the possible dates as a “pretty narrow window”.

While the 2020 General Election was held on a Saturday, Harris this morning told reporters: “I like elections on a Friday.”

He added: “Friday is a good day to have an election and so therefore there’s not that many Fridays left to choose from.”

It is understood a three-week campaign could mean an election on 29 November or a four-week campaign with a polling day on 6 December.

Polling day on 22 November is understood to be too tight a timeframe for legislation to pass and an election campaign to get underway. 

Harris also said: “I don’t want to keep talking about this [upcoming general election] in many ways, because I think the public don’t want us to keep talking about it.”

He added: “There’s absolute clarity here, there’s going to be a general election, it’s going to take place this year and the general election is going to take place on a Friday, and the general election is not going to take place until the Finance Bill is passed.

“That’s a pretty narrow window.

“I do have to have some respect for my own constitutional prerogative in terms of not providing an absolute running commentary on every element.”

Harris said it was now time for “people to put their shoulders at the wheel in this place to get the Finance Bill passed”.

“As I’ve said consistently over the last few days, I wouldn’t fancy knocking on someone’s doors saying, ‘sorry, we had an election, but we forgot to pass the Finance Bill, and therefore the USC cuts aren’t going to kick in in January, or the income tax changes, or the inheritance tax changes, or some of the supports for businesses’.”

Harris said that “when that work is done, I will decide the appropriate date to have the election”.

The Taoiseach also remarked that he has a “very good idea when the general election is going to be, but obviously the Finance Bill does need to be passed”.

“The Finance Bill deserves proper scrutiny and work, and that needs to happen as well,” said Harris.

“So let’s get the Finance Bill sorted, let’s get on with a really busy Cabinet agenda today, and then very shortly, we’ll have a general election, highly likely to be on Friday.”

Meanwhile, Harris said he was not concerned about the number of Fine Gael TDs who will not contest the general election.

Fine Gael deputy leader and social protection minister Heather Humphreys last week announced that she will not be standing for re-election.

It means 18 of the 35 Fine Gael TDs elected in 2020 will not be contesting the next general election.

“People are entitled to retire after the intensity of politics and politics is much more intense than it was,” said Harris.

He also remarked that “while many of our candidates will be new to the Dáil should they be elected, they’re not new to their communities”.

“In every election, lots of new people are elected and I don’t buy into that argument that incumbency is a bigger factor in the general election as it absolutely is in a local election,” said Harris.

Earlier today, People Before Profit TD Paul Murphy took issue with the Taoiseach’s continued commentary on the election date. 

“I believe that the three party leaders know when the election is going to be now, and I don’t understand why they can’t tell the public. I think it’s clearly, to try to, in some way, limit the amount of time for campaigning, but that’s not appropriate,” Murphy said.

Murphy said that in reality, the election campaigning has already started.

“They’re running more than a six week campaign in reality. And for all of Micheál Martin’s talk about governing rather than campaigning, he’s been running an eight, nine week campaign. So just tell the public the date. I presume it’s going to be, November 29 and let everybody plan accordingly,” the Dublin South West TD said. 

With reporting from Jane Matthews.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:11 AM

Is this a game of “Simon says”?

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:46 AM

@Spartacus Ireland: sssimon ssayssss

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:50 AM

@Spartacus Ireland: Out out out I say simon

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:37 AM

@james rowan: yes he is really taking us for fools and that we love him! Too big for his boots and hopefully a big fall for smarmy Simon

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:37 AM

@Spartacus Ireland: it’s definitely an issue of control

Mute ibrahim Sudane
    Favourite ibrahim Sudane
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:04 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: Tuesday math quiz

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:11 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: One of these Fridays soon he will be unemployed

Mute Caroline O Toole
    Favourite Caroline O Toole
    Oct 22nd 2024, 4:03 PM

@james rowan: when an adult resorts to infantile name calling, you are a child!

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Oct 22nd 2024, 4:41 PM

@FlipBip: What are you insssssinuating?

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Oct 22nd 2024, 5:16 PM

@Fidgenti: Stupid app won’t let me say it

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:13 AM

This teasing is quite off-putting. I get they have legislation they want to pass but why are they drip feeding vague information to us on it. “We’ve agreed a date” “it’ll be in 2024″ “it’ll be on a friday”. Just say nothing till it’s announced properly please!

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:37 PM

@John K: this is what happens when people on their 30s run the country….a general election is treated as a playschool game ……he will grow out of it when hes an adult

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:22 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: what’s the cut off for being an adult? Has the goal post changed somewhere?

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:57 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: He’s on Trent with many employees who are infantilizing their staff.
    Sign of the times.

Mute Andrew Martin Clavin
    Favourite Andrew Martin Clavin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:27 AM

What even is this?
    A puzzle?
    Waiting until the approval rating goes to a certain number?

This country will never change,I wonder if it can.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:37 AM

@Andrew Martin Clavin: agreed.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:19 AM

What a complete gobs#@te

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:21 AM

@sean weir: have a look in the opposite direction she’s no better.

Mute Mary M
    Favourite Mary M
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:45 AM

@sean weir: he’s no more than a little dweeb

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:02 AM

@mark sheehan:
    Your both right.

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:32 AM

Let’s vote them out people!

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:36 AM

@Lance Taylor: r we all in the same boat, realy…

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:43 AM

@A W: yes if we all vote for someone else they will be gone.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:06 AM

@Lance Taylor:
    They are bad but it’s the opposition’s job to convince a majority that they can do better.
    Most would agree the government hasn’t done their job well but it seems not enough think the opposition can do better.

Mute Andrew Martin
    Favourite Andrew Martin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:04 PM

@P. J.: just take the gamble FFS otherwise we will never know.

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:05 PM

@P. J.: yes as loathsome as sinn fein are I would prefer them to have a shot.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:46 PM

@Lance Taylor: unfortunate choice of words ‘Lance’

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:38 PM

@Lance Taylor: And who do you think will go in with SF? No thanks.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 5:22 PM

@Lance Taylor: absolutely

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:46 AM

Dear god. Well, I think there’s one thing we can all agree on, no matter what our political persuasion: Simon Harris is an insufferable little bollix.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:06 AM

Does he think he’s being funny? Talking to us like 5 year olds. Serious substitute teacher vibes off this fella.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:14 AM

This lad is an utter fo#l. A boy with batteries powering him.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:55 AM

There’s 5 of them in November, take away the 1st and the 8th then there’s 3. Up there with his Covid-19 comment.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:05 AM

Childish

Mute Declan Young
    Favourite Declan Young
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:56 AM

This endless nods ,winks, and general tomfoolery is indicative of the contempt with which FFG regard the average voter. Do they not get how infuriating it is? Have fhdy no self awareness at all?

Mute Ken Coldrick
    Favourite Ken Coldrick
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:41 AM

@Declan Young: spit on, total contempt

Mute Conor O'Brien
    Favourite Conor O'Brien
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:09 AM

Ah spit it out Simon for god sake, this cloak and dagger stuff is getting to be a little disrespectful, Is he giving out a prize or something for whoever guesses the date???

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:23 AM

This man probably enjoys the smell of his own farts.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:40 AM

@Gerard Martin: Don’t pretend you don’t.. because we all do to some degree, that’s just a scientific fact.. and there’s a very good reason why…

Mute Colin Howard
    Favourite Colin Howard
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:30 PM

@Gerard Martin: Farts are like children, you like your own but you can’t stand anyone else’s!!

Mute vinny power
    Favourite vinny power
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:56 AM

When we get a few more Sinn Fein scandals up and running and then we will have the date..

Mute colm
    Favourite colm
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:26 PM

They are treating us like children. Give the people our democratic right. All they care about is staying on the gravy train

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:03 PM

And we thought the last taoiseach was bad for sound bites

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:16 AM

Latest speculation that it can’t clash with the Late Late Puke Show, does everything now dissolve into farce?

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly

If only we had an opposition we could vote for

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:06 PM

@Gerry Kelly:
    Bullseye

Mute Mario Hennessy
    Favourite Mario Hennessy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:57 AM

Such a nasty person hopefully they’ll suffer big at the ballot box for ignoring the Irish people for the past four years and for doing absolutely nothing for the crisis in housing health and cost of living

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:05 PM

@Mario Hennessy:
    Not exactly looking likely

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:35 AM

Who cares, boring at this stage

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:38 AM

@Margaret Deacon: wow.

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:38 AM

@Margaret Deacon: just wow! I’m astonished as this is our future

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:51 AM

Simon doesn’t say . Again .

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:18 AM

This election won’t change much, six months ago, SF had a chance but they blew it, people won’t vote for them to elect them as majority, and the other communist loonies doesn’t stand a chance, they may make a good opposition but for help us if they get in power. What we are left is the lesser odours excrement, FG and FF. Unless someone has a better option?

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:43 AM

@J Ven: I’m starting to think some people vote for FF and FG just so they can moan about them for the next 5 years.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:15 PM

@J Ven: why don’t we hold ffg to the same standard as sf?

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:17 PM

@J Ven: We need FFG gone, the current and three previous governments were FF or FG led and the lack of planning on everything from homelessness to infrastructure in that time period has the country in the mess it’s currently in. FFG don’t have time to govern properly because they’re always chasing their tails.

Mute Ken Walshe
    Favourite Ken Walshe

Literally looking power hungry at this stage. He is just treating the electorate like idiots. They are so out of touch with reality. This is not a reality show, grow up and act like a leader and announce a date. The element of surprise is all gone weeks ago after seeing all the fake election posters disguised as local meetings popping up around the constituencies.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:26 AM

Seems like the green’s will get three way so…. think Roderick demanded Friday 29th November

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:24 PM

Simon Harris , tell us the date of General Election out straight , like a man . Stop effing around . All you’re doing is pissing people off .

Mute Padriag Flannery
    Favourite Padriag Flannery
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:51 PM

For a person that has always voted for your party I think it’s pathetic the way that you’re treating with drip feed news about the date of the election first you told us it was going to be held in 2025 but now you have changed your mind And so have I as well

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 10:14 AM

Simon, you little tease.

Mute Mike Dowling
    Favourite Mike Dowling
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:38 AM

The Toy Show is on December 6th … FFG will be all wrapped up on the couch with popcorn that night.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:40 PM

What’s he playing at

Mute GoodBrother
    Favourite GoodBrother
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:49 PM

Total anarchy would be much better than any of these parties.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:49 PM

Wont be voting for ff or fg. So many will and are so forgiven of what these parties have done to our economy. And future generations will pay for it

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell
    Oct 23rd 2024, 1:10 PM

@martin finnegan: the economy is literally booming and is the envy of all of Europe?

If the country is so bad why are so many Irish ppl coming back from abroad?

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:17 PM

Hopefully the electorate of Wicklow will do us all a favour and rid us of this gobs****

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:53 PM

My 4yr old granddaughter has released a similar statement. “I know something you don’t, nah nah, na na nah”

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:46 PM

It’s like he’s mocking the people.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Oct 22nd 2024, 1:17 PM

Yeah December Friday the 13th… could turn into a horror show..

Mute Rosie Martin
    Favourite Rosie Martin
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:21 PM

Childish.

Mute Dermot Clancy
    Favourite Dermot Clancy
    Oct 22nd 2024, 5:35 PM

Jesus the Tory boy went and now we have a latter day BOSCO who pops up when their’s a camera in the area,a right little pup.

Mute Joby Redmond
    Favourite Joby Redmond
    Oct 22nd 2024, 5:01 PM

Playing games. Such contempt for the people of Ireland.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Oct 22nd 2024, 11:29 AM

It’s friday, friday, gotta get down on friday. Everybody’s looking forward to the weekend, weekend.

Mute Paul A Kane
    Favourite Paul A Kane
    Oct 22nd 2024, 4:06 PM

Why not Saturday instead

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Oct 22nd 2024, 4:10 PM

Tells you how inept they are that they can,t agree on a date.

Mute Thomas Dowling
    Favourite Thomas Dowling
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:33 PM

Pick a Friday and let’s get on with it ffs!

Mute Tommy445
    Favourite Tommy445
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:27 PM

save the children from israeli terrorists

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Oct 22nd 2024, 2:54 PM

Sadly they will get voted back in, at least more gaffs and laughs along the way.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Oct 22nd 2024, 5:54 PM

It couldn’t happen on a sathurday. Now parents might have to take a day off work to mind kids if schools are been used as voting centres.

Mute Jason Flynn-Wall
    Favourite Jason Flynn-Wall
    Oct 22nd 2024, 12:46 PM

They better not have it on Toy Show night.

Mute Free Mee
    Favourite Free Mee
    Oct 22nd 2024, 3:02 PM

S illies… not matter who we vote for, Germany will still take ours.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:44 AM

Would like to know who the spy is before elections Simon.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:38 AM

After yet another budget that dismissed the tax paying people, FG won’t be getting my vote.

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    Oct 23rd 2024, 8:17 AM

Now’s the Irish nations chance to remove ff and fg. Don’t vote them back in again. Unfortunately that leaves sf but they might just might reform this country and fix this mess. If not then we are fooked

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Oct 23rd 2024, 1:50 AM

Won’t make any difference.
    Just a different cheek of the same arse.