You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

need to know

The Evening Fix...now with added terrifying scenarios of the world losing oxygen

Things we learned, loved and shared today…

A Sadhu, or Hindu holy man, takes rest after prayer at the Pashupatinath Temple, in Katmandu, Nepal. (AP Photo/Niranjan Shrestha)

HERE ARE THE things you need to know as we round off the day in three easy steps.

THINGS WE LEARNED

#SEE YA: Financial Regulator Matthew Elderfield has stepped down from his position at the Central Bank. The London native said he wants to return home but has decided to waive the €100,000 bonus he is entitled to at the end of his contract.

#SAVITA: The inquest into the death of Savita Halappanavar continues in Galway. Today, the coroner’s court heard from the attending midwife and a family friend who recalled the 31-year-old’s final days.

She was crying every time. She said: ‘Either way it hurts me. If the heartbeat is there, it hurts me. If it stops, it hurts me. What kind of mother am I, waiting for my baby to die’.

#APPEAL: Gardaí investigating the murder of Detective Adrian Donohoe are looking for information about a white HGV lorry that was parked on Shean Road, Forkhill at about 9.45pm the night of the shooting.

#ROADS: An appeal has been made for witnesses to yesterday morning’s crash in Skibbereen, county Cork which left one woman dead and five others injured. Gardaí wish to talk to two men who were at the scene and gave “valuable assistance” to ambulance personnel, as well as the occupants of a light-coloured Skoda Octavia that was parked at the nearby Hurley’s Garage.

#SERBIA: A man shot dead 13 people, including a baby, during a rampage in a village outside the Serbian capital of Belgrade today.

#POT O’ GOLD: We hope you haven’t thrown away your Lotto ticket from last Saturday night…because you might have won some money.

THINGS WE LOVED

• Yesterday, we had the ‘townies’. Today, it’s the turn of the ‘culchies’ to tell us the best things about “living in the sticks“. HAY BALES!
  • Look who was in Dublin today. Judge Judy.

Image: James Clarke Photography

• There will be a grand Irish contingent at this year’s BAFTA television awards as six Irish nominations were announced today. Among those who got the nod were Graham Norton, Ripper Street and The Shame of the Catholic Church.

THINGS WE SHARED

• ‘On the tracks, out of time’ is one man’s story of survival after finding himself trapped on the Subway tracks in New York City as a train approached.
  • Patti Smith has some advice for us. So we should listen, obviously.
  • The camel bestowed on French President Francois Hollande after he helped Mali rid the north of the country of Islam rebels has been slaughtered. Awww. But it did inspire NYMag.com to compile a duet of its bleating with Taylor Swift’s, well, bleating. It made us giggle.
  • And finally, Buzzfeed asks, ‘What would happen if the world lost oxygen for five seconds?’

(YouTube: BuzzFeedVideo)