You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Verona Murphy Alamy

From leaving school at 16 to the Dáil's first female Ceann Comhairle - who is Verona Murphy?

The Independent TD was elected to the position today following a deal with Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

THE 34TH DÁIL made history today by electing the first ever woman to the role of Ceann Comhairle in the Dáil’s 105 year history. 

That woman is Independent TD for Wexford Verona Murphy. 

Murphy has had anything but a traditional path into politics, having first built a career as a truck driver in her twenties after leaving school at 16.

Murphy has made international headlines today as a “maverick ex-trucker” turned Dáil Ceann Comhairle.

So who is Verona Murphy, the Ceann Comhairle of the 34th Dáil? 

Murphy was first elected to the Dáil in the 2020 general election and was re-elected in 2024. 

Her entry into national politics was marred by controversy.

Following Mick Wallace’s election to the European Parliament in 2019, Murphy stood as a Fine Gael candidate in the Dáil by-election.

During the campaign, Murphy received huge criticism for comments she made in a media interview about asylum seekers in which she suggested people seeking international protection in Ireland have to be “deprogrammed” as they may have been “infiltrated by Isis”. 

Further comments emerged in The Wexford People newspaper, in which Murphy claimed that Isis had “manipulated children as young as three or four”. 

Murphy apologised and said the comments were “a poor choice of words” and Fine Gael continued to back her.

Following the criticism, Murphy also visited a migrant reception centre and released a statement afterwards saying it had a “profound impact” on her understanding of the issues facing asylum seekers.

Murphy finished in third place to Fianna Fáil and Labour in the by-election and insisted that she would be the Fine Gael candidate in the 2020 general election. 

Initially, then Taoiseach Leo Varadkar stood by Murphy, telling RTÉ’s Marian Finucane show that her apology at the time was “enough” for him to campaign with her afterwards.

However, he subsequently withdrew his party’s support ahead of the 2020 general election and said he had a “big problem” with a video released on Verona Murphy’s social media, which blamed the media for the controversy – Varadkar said that this suggested to him that her apology “maybe wasn’t sincere”.

Murphy was de-selected as a Fine Gael candidate but won a seat as an Independent.

Life before politics

Before entering politics, Murphy was involved in the road haulage business and was elected president of the Road Haulage Association in 2015. 

Born in the Ramsgrange area of New Ross in Wexford, Murphy grew up on a farm and was one of 11 children.

She left school at 16 and moved to the UK where she worked multiple jobs, including at the fastfood chain McDonald’s.

When she was 18 she returned to Ireland, buying her first truck and trailer at 21. A year later she became a single mother to her daughter Robyn.

She sat her Leaving Certificate at the age of 35 and also completed a law degree. 

Life as a TD

Murphy topped the poll in Wexford in last month’s general election and is seen as a no-nonsense operator in the Dáil, having built up a strong reputation as a member of the Public Accounts Committee.

Murphy has not been one to shy away from controversy as a TD. 

So much so that Fianna Fáil TD Malcolm Byrne spoke out against his party’s support of Murphy in the last day. 

Byrne took issue with remarks made by Murphy – under Dáil privilege – earlier this year in which she claimed certain politicians were using fake online profiles to spread defamatory slurs and asked Fianna Fáil leader Micheal Martin about his party’s policy on the matter. 

Byrne called on Murphy to apologise to the individuals ahead of today’s vote for Ceann Comhairle.

An apology was not forthcoming and Murphy was elected as Ceann Comhairle this afternoon. 

Speaking to the House later this evening, Murphy said she takes on board the comments made about the need for someone in the Dáil to have proficient Irish, and said she hopes to improve her Gaeilge.

She said she will strive to be “fair and impartial” in her new role and hopes to be a “reforming” Ceann Comhairle like her predecessor.

How did she become Ceann Comhairle? 

Her election was secured via a gentleman’s agreement as part of government formation talks between the regional group of Independent TDs, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael. 

The regional group of Independents is a technical group in the Dáil made up of 11 TDs with the aim of all TDs in the grouping having speaking time in the Dáil. 

Nine of the 11 TDs are also in government formation talks with Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael, with Tipperary TD Michael Lowry the group’s de facto leader. 

In her maiden speech as Ceann Comhairle today, Murphy stated what was already assumed: Michael Lowry was the person who proposed she put herself forward for the job. 

The Ceann Comhairle is basically the chairperson of the Dáil and is responsible for keeping order during parliamentary sessions. There is a €255,000 salary attached to the role – a salary higher than even the Taoiseach’s. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:26 PM

Who is Verona Murphy ? She is the person who promised the Wexford voters that she would only get involved in government if the deal would benefit the people of Wexford. Didn’t take her long to jump ship. Donnelly comes to mind.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:48 PM

@Jp Cleary: Love the people of Wexford,but when Verona Murphy tops the Poll in Wexford and Michael Lowry tops the Poll in Tipp,what does that tell you ,really????

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:05 PM

@martin lawlor: VN isn’t my cup of anything, but to compare her to a corrupt scoundrel like ML is unfair

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:10 PM

@Darth O’Leary: she was singing his praises today, thought she was going to break into tears at one stage while mentioning the old crim lowry!

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:26 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Lowry instigated the campaign to have her elected as CC.

Mute Richard Hennessy
    Favourite Richard Hennessy
    Dec 19th 2024, 8:39 AM

@Darth O’Leary: she is a huge fan of Lowry

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 19th 2024, 10:53 AM

@Jp Cleary: I personally met Verona in her capacity of CEO of the IRHA as I underwrote a special liability programme for them. She is a charismatic, intelligent and seriously devoted Woman. I think she would serve better as an active speaker but hey this is politics…

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:44 PM

Anyone want to bet Murphy will be in trouble over impartiality, ethics, rhetoric, etc. before long?

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:47 PM

@Numinous20111: no

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:49 PM

@Numinous20111: I’ll take that bet…… mind you, leading up to the US election on nov5th you were saying you’d bet on kamila harris to win & when I said I’d take the action….you disappeared…. so methinks you’re full of hot air!!! But, to show willing I’ll put a Grand down ( 1000 euros) Veronica won’t be in ‘trouble ‘ ( as you put it ) in next 2yrs…. how’s that??

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Hey Frank ,don’t know you,but you seem to be an expert on everything on Earth as you comment on every single article you can with the upmost knowledge.Hats off to you Sir.Do you know Verona Murphy?

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:28 PM

@martin lawlor: nope, don’t know you either…. but I’m a good judge of character & Verona Murphy is not only a poll topper in her constituency , an honest straight talking ‘get it done’ politician….I reckon she’ll make an excellent CC & I’d wish her the very best of luck

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:38 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Good Man Frank,you have it all worked out.Id say Elon Musk is shi.ti.. himself.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:39 PM

@martin lawlor: ?? Brenny???

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:44 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: No Frank ,Martin Lawlor, real life person with a little bit of knowledge in a few area’s, nowhere in you’re league with All the knowledge in All the area’s.
    Just amazes me how a lad like yourself knows everything with such Authority.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:48 PM

@martin lawlor: ah, don’t be putting yourself down lad, plenty in life will be at that negativity

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:55 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Ah jesus no,I’m just giving you the credit you deserve, educating the world with you’re profound knowledge,and you’re right,if anyone ever tells you you’re wrong,they are only negative people.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:17 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: that’s one of brennys “Christmas” presents

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:19 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: Who’s Brenny??Surely there couldn’t be 2 Geniuses on here???

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:21 PM

@martin lawlor: give it up now Brenny, enough

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:26 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: yeah, mea culpa, should’ve spotted that…he’s a busy bunny, our bren

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Alan Power: Are you the same Alan that knew all about the increase in property prices on a different article and as to the reasons why?? As our salaries have increased to coincide with these increases.Is there a board of you Wise Men or are you all Mavericks? One offs, somewhat individually so to speak.
    There’s definitely 3 or 4 of you on here with wisdom beyond humanity, almost Biblical.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:45 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: That chap Brenny you refer to, is he not part of you’re group??

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:53 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: I jump on here every now and then to read the articles and I must admit,skip down to the comments.
    It’s always the same bunch of lad’s who are expert’s on everything likr yourself, this lad Brenny,Kevvy whoever he is and one or 2 other’s.
    And I only thought there were 3 Wise Men, who knew?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:49 PM

Best of luck to her. Think her appointment effectively rubber stamps the next government will be FF/FG and the independents. Another 5 years of excuses as every government department fails to achieve its goals.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:52 PM

@Ger Whelan: another 5 years of sanity, free from lefty nonsense

Mute Sean Brannigan
    Favourite Sean Brannigan
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:20 PM

She called me door looking for a vote..
    Told me she would do everything I asked for…
    I hear now she can’t do anything !!! Cause of her new job.
    she told me lies!!!
    Just another one looking to jump on gravy train.

Mute Paddy Whelan
    Favourite Paddy Whelan
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:38 PM

@Sean Brannigan: She called you door? What a strange thing to do.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Paddy Whelan: Perhaps he looks like Jim Morrison.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Sean Brannigan: lies? She wasn’t the CC when you spoke to her.

Mute Donal Hickey
    Favourite Donal Hickey
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Sean Brannigan: she is guaranteed 10 years in the dail will be reelected next time without out having to go before the electorate

Mute Sean Brannigan
    Favourite Sean Brannigan
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:03 PM

@Johnny Wilson:
    She could have told me she was gonna stick her name in the hat???
    And if she succeeded that she would do sfa for me!!!!
    A wasted vote.
    Fool me once …..

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:08 PM

@Sean Brannigan: doing stuff for you is not her job

Mute Social Guy
    Favourite Social Guy
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:31 PM

@Sean Brannigan: unfortunately Sean she doesn’t need your vote the next time. The CC is automatically returned as a TD. That’s one of the perks of the job.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 19th 2024, 12:14 PM

@Donal Hickey: Ah yes democracy at its finest. When will we ever learn, when will we evvver learn

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:26 PM

New jet for the lads. Well for some eh? Solar powered I presume.

Mute Simon Carr
    Favourite Simon Carr
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:55 PM

I hope she takes the time to learn irish. It’s shocking that most politicians cannot speak the language and there should be a certain amount of it used by default in the Dáil.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:50 PM

It is historical because she is first female CC and Mary Robinson was first female President. And Mary Toilet won’t ever be first anything lol

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:09 PM

@Alan Power: Using childish nicknames only serves to prove you are lacking in intelligence.

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:12 PM

@Alan Power: Which account(s) were banned that you used? It seems Buster Lawless is retired for now!!! How many more? I often wonder were you get the time to comment morning noon and night as you obviously don’t work or have a family to look after. Pretty sad in my view

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Sun Rise: and he uses the exact same insults on all his various user accounts. Not the brightest

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:34 PM

@Alan Power: on other article you were giving out about people using childish nicknames snd misogyny, but on SF articles you call people names and make misogynistic comments about MLMcD.. but that you normal hypocritical trolling modus operandi..

Your fooling no one Jim/Doe/Peter.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Sun Rise: you’re correct, Provo Puppet would be a far better and accurate name

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:17 PM

Working class, ex McDonalds employee, lorry driver, single mum. How many glass ceilings shattered! Not sure what yer middle-class, lefty academics will think but who cares. This is genuine hope for Ireland – a great choice.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:19 PM

@Derick R M: exactly.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 19th 2024, 7:54 AM

@Derick R M: total bs . She was given the job to shut her up. She can sit back , landed in her 225000 pa job. A disgrace.

Mute Dog Tired
    Favourite Dog Tired
    Jan 23rd 2025, 3:28 PM

@Pork Hunt: Sadly, I believe this to be the case with this lady. She should never have took the job. Her constituents will not forget.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:47 PM

She is awesome

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:19 PM

@Alan Power: She’s a horror

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 19th 2024, 12:25 AM

@Alan Power: Basildon joe etc etc

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:11 PM

O the horror of an uneducated speaker keeping the so called educated in line, easy enough cause they mostly don’t act educated I say.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:21 PM

@Ned: yeah, there is irony there

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:35 PM

Ask her about Homelessness in Wexford. People sleeping in doorways and tents, yet she says their isn’t any.
    Only ever out for herslf.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:19 PM

@Steve Davis: isn’t everyone out for themselves in reality?

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:41 PM

I don’t like how she comes across on the radio but to be fair to her she has been a hard working person all her life with serious debating and media skills for politics to match. It’s easy to see why FG don’t get on with her. She’d be well able to tell their main heads to get stuffed. It’s easy to see how she gets the votes.

Mute Joe Byrne
    Favourite Joe Byrne
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:42 PM

I live in Wexford and voted for Verona she is a strong fair minded Woman what is wrong with so called Irish people’s fear of strong women none of you would exist without strong women

Mute Richard Hennessy
    Dec 19th 2024, 8:35 AM

@Joe Byrne: maybe we don’t like her anti vax anti 5g anti immigration views. Something very sinister going on.

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:34 PM

She is a borderline racist. She is one of the least educated and experienced members of the Dáil. Now, she holds a position that sees her paid more than the Taoiseach. She will be paid in excess of €5,000 per week. She will have endless expenses. I think she will also have an official car and driver. She will be automatically elected to the next Dáil. She ditched her membership of FG in a narrow pursuit of her own personal interests. Her elevation to Ceánn Cómhairle has, by her own admission, come about at the instigation of a convicted criminal – Michael Lowry. The only winners in this are Verona Murphy and her criminal pal – Lowry. The losers are the people of Wexford who put their trust and faith in her promise to represent them first and foremost.

Mute Clare Walsh
    Favourite Clare Walsh
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:02 PM

Congratulations Verona-a Brilliant Politician for the last few years.Very good role model.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:05 PM

I don’t want to be unkind but she is a bit of a dope and will probably disastrous in the position.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:22 PM

@John Moore: if you harrowed what she ploughed then you can only maybe criticize.

Mute Lee Casey
    Favourite Lee Casey
    Dec 19th 2024, 1:26 AM

The one who sold out

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 19th 2024, 12:20 AM

I love botox

Mute Pat Redmond
    Favourite Pat Redmond
    Dec 19th 2024, 3:23 PM

@Pork Hunt: and Daithi’s wig

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:35 PM

Ah isn’t she just brilliant. Fighting against the horrible misogynistic world that we live in. Against all odds, achieving something noone would have ever thought someone like her would have. Amazing stuff. We are looking at different level $h!t here…..What a progressive time it is.

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:38 PM

@Stephen Foster: She is no hero. She accepted a role that pays her more than the Taoiseach is paid. No personal sacrifice there then. Her elevation was at the instigation of a convicted criminal- Michael Lowry. She is the only winner here. Plus criminal Lowry. The people of Wexford have been shafted.

Mute Richard Hennessy
    Dec 19th 2024, 8:32 AM

@Stephen Foster: Progressive what about her view on vax 5g immigration etc not very progressive

Mute Peter McCormack
    Favourite Peter McCormack
    Dec 19th 2024, 1:07 PM

Many successful people leave school early and I believe it should be encouraged more..

Mute Paul Hayes
    Favourite Paul Hayes
    Dec 19th 2024, 12:29 PM

One minute you’re been called a racist, the next you’re chair of the dail. Oh and the ones that got shot of ya gave you the job . Almost as if the racist call out was all hot air and virtue signalling