You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Minister contacts GP group after women eligible for free contraception report being charged for it

No women within the eligible age bracket should be charged by their GP, says Health Minister Stephen Donnelly.

HEALTH MINISTER STEPHEN Donnelly contacted a doctors’ representative group following reports that some GP clinics had attempted to charge women for contraception despite them being eligible for the free scheme. 

The Free Contraception Scheme was rolled out in September 2022 and was incrementally expanded to include all women between the ages of 17 and 35.

It includes implants, IUDs, and oral contraceptives, such as the pill, as well as all contraception-related appointments.

The Journal reported earlier this month that some women continue to be charged for their contraception despite being eligible for the scheme.

Donnelly told The Journal that following the report, he contacted the Irish Medical Organisation (IMO) to ensure that there was clear communication with its members about the scheme and how it works.

Spoke to department

“The first time I was aware of that actually was when I read The Journal article and so we spoke to the department about it straight away,” the minister said.

“There’s contact with the IMO to get their assistance in communicating to their members to say no woman between the age of 17 and 35 is to be charged.

“My hope is it was a small number and that it was a clerical error rather than anything else.”

The minister said it was essential that communication around the scheme was “very, very clear” and that as a State-funded service, no woman who is eligible should be charged.

“I doubt anyone was doing it on purpose but it doesn’t matter, it can’t happen,” he added. 

Zoe Coady, an influencer from Dublin, took to TikTok to share her own experience of almost being charged €70 for getting a contraceptive implant changed.

The video now has over 25,000 likes and more than 300 comments, many of which were from women sharing similar experiences.

One commenter said she was almost charged €300 for appointments related to the coil. She said the receptionist was “not impressed” when she informed her that it was free.

Another said the receptionist was “snarky” after she refused to pay for her repeat prescription.

With reporting by Mairead Maguire.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:29 PM

Love to see O’Gorman gone.
    He is the most obnoxious person in politics and has cost the Taxpayers of Ireland hundreds of millions of Euros.

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:35 PM

@Gerard Carey: How has he cost taxpayers money?

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:38 PM

@Gerard Carey: unfortunately he could be replaced by the even more obnoxious Coppinger.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:47 PM

@Jason Memail: Let’s put it this way, he a great man for Tweeting in about 6 different languages.

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:54 PM

@Gerard Carey:
    Fianna Fail cost the tax payer nearly a hundred billion in 2008 but they’re grand let’s vote them back in. Which is more a few hundred million or 100 billion?

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:08 PM

@Jason Memail: paying out for economic migrants

Mute Robert Boyd
    Favourite Robert Boyd
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Andrew Harrington: educate yourself, Dick

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Nov 30th 2024, 6:24 PM

@Jason Memail: have you been in a coma or what,who the f do you think pay for all the illegals he invited, all the tax increases on fuel,etc

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:01 PM

@Nodon: came here to say that. What a hateful woman she is. A scourge.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:37 AM

@Gerard Carey: which he blaitley denied while out canvasing. A bare faced lier!

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:48 AM

@Gerard Carey: all the anti-immigration parties got eliminated

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:00 AM

@Robert Boyd: You’re the xenophile that needs educating!

Mute Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:03 AM

@Jason Memail: By inviting thousands of unvetted immigrants into Ireland and promising them the land of milk & honey

Mute Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:09 AM

@Dave G Doe: Hopefully one day Kama will arrive at your doorstep and treat you as a leper also

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:18 AM

@Criostoir Mac Raghnaill: troll-doe has s.f.a else goin for him. Gotta pity him really. Form of self loathing .MUTE& REPORT it.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:34 AM

@Andrew Harrington: there should be a reckoning on COVID decisions and on those who facilitate the immigration from non EU countries

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:25 AM

@Criostoir Mac Raghnaill: dont feed the troll just mute him and report him,,,

Mute Pro gamer Jack
    Favourite Pro gamer Jack
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:57 AM

@Jason Memail: take the blinkers off

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:27 AM

@Dominic Leleu: judging by the results of local and eu elections, and the current standings from general elections, every one of the ani immigration parties have been rejected by the majority of Ireland, great to see its only a minority believing all the lies from american far right agitators and west brits

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:13 PM

@Dominic Leleu: Covid decisions saved thousands of lives and many more thousands of people getting Long Covid.
    Immigration illegal and otherwise is a different issue

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:23 PM

@Paul O Connor: Exactly makes no sense. People forget too easy

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:27 PM

@Sean Parker:
    Bitter little woman

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:35 PM

@Dave G Doe:
    Five more years for the knuckle daggers to learn how to behave in a modern successfull western democracy.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:45 PM

@F1rYnpWc: they always will as long as morons like Blighe, Dwyer and Pepper are the face of them. If they actually ran candidates who could string a coherent sentence together and didn’t have a rap sheet as long as your arm, and actually had a bit of knowledge of the situation rather than just being professional lie machines, they might actually have a chance. Luckily none of them have the brains to realise this.

Mute Gary Condren
    Favourite Gary Condren
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:47 PM

@Jason Memail: By inviting halfthe world here against the wishesof the Irish people. Free homes, med cards, Policing peaceful communities who object, cleaning the filth left behind in the city, etc etc etc.
    Not that hard to see.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:12 PM

@Gerard Carey: there all the same line there own pockets with cash

Mute Sean Og Daithi Davy Fitzy
    Favourite Sean Og Daithi Davy Fitzy
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:26 PM

@Gerard Carey: Jason asked you a straight question. Can you respond with a straight answer!

Mute Andrew Speers
    Favourite Andrew Speers
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:52 PM

@Gerard Carey: unfortunately he has just been elected.

Mute Mr.Green
    Favourite Mr.Green
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:31 AM

@Robert Boyd: why do so many let themselves down with poor language and rudeness. Think you are called keyboard warriors. Can do it anonymously but in person probably not. Be a gentleman always.

Mute Rachel Mountney
    Favourite Rachel Mountney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:06 PM

@Criostoir Mac Raghnaill: I was an unvetted immigrant in the 1990s, came over hoping for a better life for myself and my baby. Best decision I ever made. Ireland is a country with issues but I’d rather live here than anywhere else in the world for a variety of reasons. I have citizenship and am getting a degree in Irish Literature and Equality. Why can’t you be proud of the nation you’ve created? That’s why people come here.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:46 PM

@Paul O Connor: except they didn’t cost the taxpayer anything. I love this BS line that people who are completely ignorant and uneducated on the matter throw out. Did FF bring down Lehmans and Fanny Mae they did? Did FF plunge the world into a global depression they did? FF bailed out the banks. What you don’t realise is you know everyone with savings in those banks? They’d all be gone had they let them fail. Bailing out the banks was unpopular and I get it. But what would have been more unpopular is telling people that their 30k or whatever in savings is gone or that their pension is gone. I usually find that a good policy is to not speak on things you don’t understand.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:51 PM

@Brian Molloy: they get massive money from the EU wise up

Mute Brian McCarthy
    Favourite Brian McCarthy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 6:43 PM

@Gerard Carey: in fairness, his obnoxiousness is nothing compared to any of the Fine Gael / Fianna Fail politicians

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Dec 3rd 2024, 6:50 AM

@Paul O Connor: and FG accepted that debt, and added austerity taxes that we still live with. they promised to negotiate that debt but didn’t. 50% drop in support for FG, people have had enough of their greedy ways, hopefully their input is diminished from now.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:38 PM

@Eoin Jackson: Eoin, that’s a cop out, pure revisionism. Yes, Ireland was caught up in the global crash and many things were beyond the governments control.. they certainly couldn’t have prevented it. But our level of exposure is on them. The banks balance sheets were 4 times the Irish GDP through wreckles lending.. Government became over reliant on property transfer taxes and didn’t rein them in. Despite being warned.. they were too busy riding the money wave themselves that they not only ignored the level of exposure, but told anyone thinking or talking along these lines to kill themselves. The world economy crashed but FFs incompetence made us pay a far bigger price than was necessary. It’s what happens when a shyster without a bank a/c manage your affairs.

Mute jaune hendy
    Favourite jaune hendy
    Dec 4th 2024, 7:25 AM

@Gerard Carey: in a climate emergency which is contributing to immigration and the housing emergency and the very narrow minded ditch the greens. Vast majority are too uneducated to realise it’s all connected

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:37 PM

Shinner support down. Wallace and Daly eliminated early in their counts. It’s been a good day. Cheers!

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:58 AM

Plus not even one seat for the hardline anti immigration parties

Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Favourite Faejit Balloobas
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:13 PM

The low turnout speaks volumes about how people think nothing is going to change and don’t think they have any control

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:33 AM

@Faejit Balloobas: It was pouring rain.

Mute finbarr walsh
    Favourite finbarr walsh
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:56 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: it’s the people who don’t vote give us the government we have. If change was needed the only way is for the” no opinion no voters ” to get out and vote.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:40 PM

@finbarr walsh:
    But there is no guarantee they will vote any of the clowns on the opposition benches in.

Dec 1st 2024, 6:28 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: people should be fined for not voting, as too businesses that don’t afford the time to employees to cast their legitimate vote. It’s not a privilege. It’s a responsibility!

Mute burrito girl
    Favourite burrito girl
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:46 PM

@Me Me: takes 5 mins to vote, nearly half of population cudnt be bothered

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:34 PM

@Sean Og Daithi Davy Fitzy: it isn’t a responsibility or a legal obligation to vote. Democratic right not to. Yeah, try fining those who didn’t.
    Love to see that play out. Maybe some folk didn’t vote as form of protest? Maybe some saw every candidate too inept to bother voting for? Of course you can’t give out about govt. when you don’t vote either. Would’ve liked to see a radical change happen too, but… as one commenter here said: voters here under Stockholm syndrome.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:29 AM

@burrito girl: you must live beside the polling centre….some people have to drive 40 minutes to their polling station and back again. Throw in work, kids and atrocious weather and it might give you a reality check

Mute Denis Murphy
    Favourite Denis Murphy
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:28 PM

As long as the greens are wiped out and O’Gorman loses his seat that’s a win win for me.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:49 AM

@Denis Murphy: doesn’t matter we still have committed targets on emissions set by the EU. Taxes on polluting will continue with aplomb

Mute Gary Condren
    Favourite Gary Condren
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:49 PM

@Denis Murphy: Amen to that

Mute 5aeex4zc
    Favourite 5aeex4zc
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:55 AM

No single party should be allowed to Run as two parties and transfer to each other like FFG when they have been the exactly the same for years with pretend different

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:13 PM

Hilarious the SF paid propaganda team made up of Michale Kane and FG’s Rental Trap are nowhere to be found today. Looks like the stand down order from the Army Council came through.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Trump24: probably have been disappeared, shortly followed by third count Mary Lou

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:51 AM

@Trump24: imagine people having a life and being busy all yesterday and today

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:33 AM

@F1rYnpWc: troll-doe has s.f.a else goin for him. Gotta pity him really. Form of self loathing .MUTE& REPORT it. Comments section improves with the mutes.
    (Never argue with a f00l, others might see you as one too.)

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:13 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Ah welcome back is it all crazy in SF HQ is Mary Lou looking forward to retirement.

Mute Kunibert Ritter
    Favourite Kunibert Ritter
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:05 PM

@Trump24: love how you spam this comment on every election related article you absolute ham.

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:56 PM

@Dave G Doe: think you are associating me as a lesser voted political party supporter? I’m 17 and can’t vote. You however…. you are not right.
    (Ffs… bringing me down to your level even responding 2 ya -fanny. )

Mute Vinnie M
    Favourite Vinnie M
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:25 PM

What TF is with East Meath voting that yoke McEntee back in.. Jesus wept. More of the same Woooke then

Mute Slando Max
    Favourite Slando Max
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:45 PM

@Vinnie M: Check their candidates. Don’t think they have many choices.

Mute Vinnie M
    Favourite Vinnie M
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:50 PM

@Slando Max: Yeah OK, still though it’s depressing to think she may continue as MFJ

Mute Alice Charles
    Favourite Alice Charles
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:12 AM

@Vinnie M: I live in the constituency and she is the only TD that gets back to people. I hear this all the time, so that’s why she topped the poll.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:18 PM

@Vinnie M: You use the word woke and yet don’t know what it actually means.
    A lot of people do the same. Like fascist and communist and all the words they see on line, and yet do not actually know what the mean.
    Google it and see, most people would actually consider themselves WOKE if they knew what it meant!

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:56 PM

@Gary Kearney:
    Woke=spoilt child of the celtic tiger, never heard the word No from perants.

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:42 PM

@Vinnie M: Why didn’t you put your name forward…..

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:00 PM

Green party are all but wiped out… Great news

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:28 AM

Tom, Dick & Harris

Mute Eamon Morris
    Favourite Eamon Morris
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:01 PM

Won’t be voting again.. what’s the point? No democracy anymore in Ireland with FF/FG joining up every time.

Mute martin finnegan
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:12 PM

@Eamon Morris: thinking same is sad . But people spoke . Ff and fg again .

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:15 PM

@Eamon Morris: But that is the result of this democratic election. What do you want? People have to change their minds FIRST before the basic result changes.

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:41 PM

@Eamon Morris: an election IS democracy. Just you are not in tune with Irish people

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:08 PM

The same shower will be back , suppose people are happy the way this sh@t show is run

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:11 PM

@Mark Dunne: not all, it looks like the Greens are getting a wipe out equivalent to when Gormley’s Greens tried introducing the water meters

Mute John Paul Long
    Favourite John Paul Long
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:33 PM

@Dave G Doe: you forgot to include your signature ‘lol’ John Doe, Jane Doe, Dave Doe, Mog Doe!

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:34 PM

@Dave G Doe: safe and stable for some folk, high income folk maybe

Mute William Rymer
    Favourite William Rymer
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:36 PM

@Mark Dunne: such a simplistic view of politics. The party names are the same, but the manifesto changes every few years. The mix of parties in government means you get a very different programme for government each time. The nuance means that we never get unchecked power like you’d see in States or UK with landslide wins. It is very safe and very moderating of extremist views. I’m grateful for it.

Mute paul dutton
    Favourite paul dutton

@Dave G Doe: dave gonout a play with the traffic like a good fella, I’d say your still in your mammys box room eating a Rustler burger 2 min microwave job.

Mute Patrick Kelly
    Favourite Patrick Kelly
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:53 PM

@Mark Dunne: sure

Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Favourite Faejit Balloobas
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:11 PM

@Jason Walsh: ah do you know what safe and stable means?

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Nov 30th 2024, 5:18 PM

@Dave G Doe: is a multi account holder who spams comment sections,having conversations with himself. Names vary from Frank Mccarthy, Doe,buster,trump24,tired tim,freda people and many more. He is a troll

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:51 PM

@Dave G Doe: Where? Not in Ireland, it won’t

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:33 PM

@Mark Dunne: well it’s quite obvious they are.

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:47 AM

@HisMastersAlibi: troll-doe has s.f.a else goin for him. Gotta pity him really. Form of self loathing .MUTE& REPORT it. Comments section improves with the mutes.

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:32 AM

@John Paul Long: troll-doe has s.f.a else goin for him. Gotta pity him really. Form of self loathing .MUTE& REPORT it. Comments section improves with the mutes.

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:59 AM

@William Rymer: I’m very thankful for our democracy too. Social media has done a right number on it over the last ten years. I hope we still have our democracy in 2034.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:14 PM

@William Rymer: Well said!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:16 PM

@William Rymer: A lot of people do nit understand that, politics is constantly changing, as are the parties.
    If it was as simple as people on here think it is, life would be wonderful!

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:45 PM

@Jason Walsh:
    High income folk needed to continue covering the dole jockies.

Dec 1st 2024, 6:29 PM

@Mark Dunne: anything but the murder apologists and gangster of SF! Shower of creeps

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:20 PM

@wwvCLOuF: you can say that again

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 4th 2024, 12:03 PM

@John Paul Long: Doh

Mute Brian Dennehy
    Favourite Brian Dennehy
    Nov 30th 2024, 6:33 PM

Thanks for ruining the future of our country everybody

Mute jepie1984
    Favourite jepie1984
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:26 PM

@Brian Dennehy: how?

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:55 AM

@Brian Dennehy: my vote wouldn’t even have made a difference.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:53 PM

@Brian Dennehy:
    Calm down. We are one of the top countries in the world to live in.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:47 PM

@Brian Dennehy: why? Because they did not vote your way? Those that did vote, voted the way they wanted. It is called democracy. And as to those that didn’t, I think the claims I have seen about the numbers of people not turning up to vote, is a bit exaggerated. For instance myself and the wife got 4 polling cards between us that we know of….1 each at our current address and one each to our family home addresses which for both of is are in different constituencies. And we have had other addresses over the years, both as individuals and together, where we were registered to vote. And we are probably not the only ones.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:06 PM

@Pat Barry: Have you ever asked to have your name removed from a register? How are they meant to know you have moved?

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:59 PM

@Me Me: when you move constituency, you register with the local authority that the constituency you moved to falls under, using your PRSI number. Now I have tried several times to get myself removed from the home and actually thought I had succeeded in the 2020 GE, as no polling card had arrived for me then but my sister rang me this time around to let me know that one arrived this time and when I checked it out, I was still there. Now, seeing as you need to provide your PRSI number when registering, I should not have even had to try removing myself, the times I did, seeing as the authorities can use our PRSI numbers to trace everything else. Why not sort this out, once and for all nation wide.

Mute Brian Dennehy
    Favourite Brian Dennehy
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:54 PM

@H Woo: this country is in tatters.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:54 PM

@Brian Dennehy:
    The Irish have never had it so good.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Nov 30th 2024, 6:19 PM

Never vote again, finished.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:51 PM

@Dan Murphy: thats what they want you to do

Middle of winter
    Close to xmas
    Just after a bumper budget
    This election was called for a low turn out

Mute Tonya Hanly
    Favourite Tonya Hanly
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:37 PM

@Dan Murphy: That’s the very reason the election results have gone as they did. The discontent on social media should have meant a washout for the current government but the discontented obviously didn’t vote! That’s democracy for you!

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:32 AM

@Tonya Hanly: I take what I see on social media with a heavy pinch of salt. People can say whatever they want, and there’s no way to verify it, or to verify the person behind the comment is real.

Dec 1st 2024, 6:33 PM

@Dan Murphy: you’re some genius. The ONLY issue with democracy is not that people may vote differently. It’s that there are a lot of ignorant and serving-people out there than you’d like to know and admit!

Mute Mark Breathnach
    Favourite Mark Breathnach
    Nov 30th 2024, 6:34 PM

Bad Day to call an election’ Black Friday ‘ too near to Christmas ‘ should be held on a Saturday & Sunday

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:04 PM

@Mark Breathnach: black Friday is essentially black week now. Plus the polls are open for 15 hours. The sales hardly stopped people voting.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:40 PM

We’ll never learn! It’s embarrassing. Done with this country

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Éanna o Sca: why ?

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Johnny Wilson: have you been around last 5yrs?

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:00 AM

@Éanna o Sca: yup completely agree. Renewed my passport this month (in fairness the online service was super easy and quick just a shame about my mugshot lol!!) Flying out on the 21st and don’t intend to return. The last straw was the Dept withdrawing my Medical Card when I’m on expensive medication and homeless just because I started a further education course after my other post grads. I might fly back home to some sort of existence if I unfortunately lose my documentation on the plane hmmmm…

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:35 AM

@Donna Fallon: where are you emigrating to?

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:52 AM

@Dave G Doe: you’re obv unemployed sponging off the system and ya know you’re possibly right. #waster

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:36 AM

@Donna Fallon: Cost of your medication is irrelevant. €80 max you will pay.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:09 PM

@Donna Fallon:
    You only pay 80euro a month max for medacation in Ireland.
    Are you spoofing.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:14 PM

@Donna Fallon:
    What’s the name on the country your are moving to. and will it’s taxpayers be expected to support your lifestyle.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:31 AM

@Éanna o Sca: He is a pure Langer.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:41 PM

@Éanna o Sca: Make that 100 years

Mute Dale Voinz
    Favourite Dale Voinz
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:34 PM

Come on gerry!!!

Dec 1st 2024, 6:29 PM

@Dale Voinz: idiot

Mute Andy Preneur
    Favourite Andy Preneur
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:50 AM

Why do they use pencils?

Mute Pro gamer Jack
    Favourite Pro gamer Jack
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:03 AM

@Andy Preneur: they last longer then pens and are cheaper. Also People are less likely to put a pencil in their pocket.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:50 PM

@Andy Preneur: Ink washes off ballot papers easier than pencil. So pencil is, oddly, more secure!

Mute Brianan briananb@hotmail.co.uk
    Favourite Brianan briananb@hotmail.co.uk
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:06 PM

I am glad I left Ireland for sunny Spain last January at the age of 53 because if I was still there I would be fuming. Nothing ever changes in corrupt Ireland. Anyone who hasn’t voted should be ashamed of their selves. Voting should be compulsory and for Irish passport holders only.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:24 PM

Only Irish citizens can vote in general elections here (though in a reciprocal arrangement with UK British citizens normally resident here can vote too). If you restrict it to passport holders you could disenfranchise many citizens.

Mute Hugo Omar Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Omar Martinez
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:42 PM

How can be politicians for 25 year??? And live from the state and money from the tax payer is like you are in the social welfare. For real politicians have to be for 4 years an then find a job

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:56 PM

@Hugo Omar Martinez: It is a job And a really important one. Clown

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:45 PM

@Hugo Omar Martinez: Silly boy

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:19 AM

So far, this is a very satisfying result. The Greens have been all but eliminated – thank whoever your god is. In Longford- Westmeath the FF jackass -Joe Flaherty – looks set to lose his seat. His sole claim to fame as a TD was to write a letter of recommendation to a District Court Judge on behalf of a local criminal family. It was so gross that even Mee Hole Martin was moved to chastise him

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:56 PM

@Minnie Mouse: The Greens may be almost totally eliminated, but core green policies and beliefs will remain. They have to. The environmentalist and green campaigner, Karen Dubsky, once said that she looks forward to the day when a specific Green Party becomes unnecessary. And that is so true. And now, thankfully, other parties are taking note of the policies and taking them on board.

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:09 PM

@Me Me: the Greens put this country back years.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:39 PM

@gregory pym: How?

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:07 PM

@Me Me: take a look at the energy sector for a start. Most expensive electricity in Europe and a massive shortage in generating capacity. All that money wasted on cycle lanes no one uses. Lack of housing due to their policies. Gormless inviting the world’s chancers here n 10 languages. I could write all day about their incompetence.

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:10 PM

Ireland is f@#ked

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Sandra Lysaght: it’s not, just like local elections all the far right were rejected by the vast majority of the electorate.

Mute Tonya Hanly
    Favourite Tonya Hanly
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:38 PM

@Johnny Wilson: people didn’t vote for candidates with criminal convictions during riots! Imagine!

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:56 AM

@Sandra Lysaght: fecked anyways.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:03 PM

@Sandra Lysaght:
    Calm little one.
    Ireland will continue to be a stable successful damocracy now that the Shinner is again put to one side by the Irish people. Which has to be a good thing.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:11 PM

Our presence will always be in this government, and particularly for who don’t believe they are Irish and march to a different drum, the young people of Ireland know their future and it’s not with this government , they are power hungry and will hang in there at all costs, and throw us a few sweets now and then to keep us begging.

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:45 PM

@Phillip Smyth: The people of Ireland have voted and spoken through the ballot box… That’s something you need to realise

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:35 PM

Fianna Fail men are real men

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:54 AM

@Fintan Pox: Now, fintan!! (Wokeys will castrate ya for not saying they/them are real… )

Mute Mairead “Mkenny” Kenny
    Favourite Mairead “Mkenny” Kenny
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:20 AM

I was disgusted that someone could make a baseless liable comment about Gino Kenny who is like everyone else makes mistakes he is human and did alot for clondalkin but someone here put that he looked like a craic head he never taken drugs in his life , this little troll behind a screen can say such a thing, it’s ppl like that that piss and moan about everything but doesn’t have the courage to do anything about it, it’s a thankless job and he served his country well for.over 10 years stood in the rain with ppl about the water charges and send letter and meeting to get an equation cente in clondalkin, stood against the pipe line, that gobeen that wrote that comment was probably smoking one to say about someone looks he m

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:48 PM

@Mairead “Mkenny” Kenny: Totally agree with you…. Lots of keyboard warriors. Empty vessels make the most noise…

Mute maireadkenny@live.com
    Favourite maireadkenny@live.com
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:45 PM

@Blue Moon: I agree , the trolls r ppl who have too much time.on their hands and not enough brains in their head

Mute Unknown Unknown
    Favourite Unknown Unknown
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:52 PM

You get what you voted for.
    Look at the french government. They got what they did not vote for.

Mute Tonya Hanly
    Favourite Tonya Hanly
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:01 PM

Great coverage from you guys. Thank you very much.

Mute no no no
    Favourite no no no
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:34 AM

Based on the voting result the majority of voters are happy with the 3 big parties. Nobody wants to take a risk with people before profit or greens or everyone else who has never proven to be any any good steering the country. They are all just talk and no action.

Dec 2nd 2024, 10:32 AM

@no no no: actually your wrong on that pbp Gino Kenny tells it like it is, ppl have short memories when he was holding protests organising meetings for homeless and water charges my mam used to say in the lashing of rain did many turn up ah around 4 or 5 ppl so say what I want about different parties I have to correct I on that one, also remember the roots last year that ppl smashed up millions worth of damage someone release is home add and threaten to touch his house with him in it and someone have put his mother’s telephone number ,which is where I live so just saying

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:25 PM

@Mairead “Mkenny” Kenny: Gino wasn’t re-elected

Dec 4th 2024, 4:39 PM

@Blue Moon: I know that Hun

Dec 4th 2024, 5:19 PM

@no no no: obviously Ur not from his constituency pbp did plenty of action, organize marches , water charges standing with the ppl from Lloyds the girls getting unfair pay, and the oil pipe lines, plus the kiseoge school stood with labours that were not getting full pay .
    could go on, shiners change their mind every 3 mins plus they had the check to come around the door 1st time ever came around my door I asked him to do something for me I never heard from him again ,.another lady i know she asked him.for.something ring me back no answer goes to show

Mute Ivan Dickson
    Favourite Ivan Dickson
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:14 PM

Whadda load of oul s.h.1.t.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Dec 3rd 2024, 6:45 AM

A huge 50% drop in support for FG during their time in government. Speaks volumes really. Taxpayer has had enough of their greed. They were happy to add and retain austerity taxes, but when their tax take was exceeding budget by double digits year after year and people’s pockets were gouged they sat idly by and watched people struggle. I hope this is now the time FF start repaying the debt owed to the people of Ireland who bailed out those greedy banks.

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:11 PM

Monk is elected!

Mute Paul Ferguson
    Favourite Paul Ferguson
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:23 AM

@Fintan Pox: no he’s not and probably will just miss out

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:49 PM

@Fintan Pox: Nope.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Favourite Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:56 PM

Fianna Fail will be the biggest party, we all need Fianna Fail

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:37 AM

@Meatball Martin: the doe has a new FAKE account,,,

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:49 PM

Delighted to see the back of the Greens.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:23 PM

All the people that comment about this party is bad and this should be done.
    Do any of them get involved in politics or in campaigns.
    It is easy to come on here and moan. It is a lot harder to go out and do the work.
    Me, I do the work! I feel I have the right to complain as I have put my skin in the game!

Mute Brian Dennehy
    Favourite Brian Dennehy
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:56 PM

@Gary Kearney: lay off the pies Gary

Dec 2nd 2024, 2:23 AM

@Gary Kearney: fair play ppl piss and moan, ppl going out and spoiling votes like what the point

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:45 PM

Mary Toilet going into government with Fianna Fail

Mute J McGovern
    Favourite J McGovern
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Meatball Martin: don’t be so rude, she’s Mary Loo.

Mute char shill
    Favourite char shill
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:55 PM

@J McGovern: She?

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:05 PM

The people were supposed to be sick of FF FG but voted them back in

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:21 AM

Imagine if the gap between The Monk and next remaining candidate is less than 228 votes
    and have on your political CV my transfers elected the Monk good on you Mary Lou another 5 years shouting and balling from the sidelines it must be torture

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:43 PM

Monk is in the Dail

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:49 AM

@Fintan Pox: it’s OK. Monk= blue collar crime. FFG= white collar crime allowance.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:19 PM

@j m m:
    Sinn Fein = cheap diesel

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:04 PM

@H Woo: aghh mate… h woo-doe, is it? 5 aliases on the go? Go on, get outta here for a walk or something. Some genuinely concerned people for you on here. You’re not right!

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:11 PM

@H Woo: that referring to me as sf supporter? Hmm.. interesting.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:37 PM

@H Woo: ffg= Expensive everything

Mute Always Question
    Favourite Always Question
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:53 AM

Why is this article dated November 8th?? What is it with those graphs??

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:08 PM

We can all get back to normality again. Funny how 70% of Mary’s surplus went to Gerry!!!

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:46 PM

@chris gaffney: Just shows the sort of filth that vote SF.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:40 PM

Thanks

Mute finbarr walsh
    Favourite finbarr walsh
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:53 PM

Congratulations to the journal. The easiest and clearest way to keep up to date

Mute mel 02
    Favourite mel 02
    Nov 30th 2024, 4:33 PM

N

Mute mel 02
    Favourite mel 02

Don’t want to hear any more complaining since people are comfortable bringing back the same people that have caused us problems.

Mute martin finnegan
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:20 PM

@mel 02: not me i dodnt vote for them.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:27 PM

@mel 02:
    Where things better before.

Mute Peter Cooper
    Favourite Peter Cooper
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:23 AM

Good to be back

Mute Peter Cooper
    Favourite Peter Cooper
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:24 AM

Poor results

Mute Denis Murphy
    Favourite Denis Murphy
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:09 PM

And I thought vote counting was slow in US elections this is ridiculously slow.

Dec 2nd 2024, 9:46 AM

@Denis Murphy: remember they bought thousands of euros years ago there now in storage I can’t remember if it counted the votes or I voted on it, if anyone knows?

Mute WFVedF99
    Favourite WFVedF99
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:45 PM

Would be better off in South Korea

Mute Henry Kussler
    Favourite Henry Kussler
    Dec 4th 2024, 12:52 AM

What’s wrong with folks that reckon Coppinger is electable, what an odious troll