TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Ryan family to make formal complaints about gardaí and newspapers

The family were invited to speak on RTÉ’s Prime Time about Ryan’s murder, but said they are unable to. They have released a statement about his murder.

Alan Ryan's funeral
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE FAMILY OF Real IRA member Alan Ryan have released a statement about his death, saying that his murder was a “devastating blow and one from which we will never fully recover”.

The 31-year-old was murdered on Monday 3 September in Clongriffin in a gangland-style attack.

A number of men and women dressed in paramilitary uniforms attended his funeral at the weekend, activity which was condemned by Justice Minister Alan Shatter and others.

Ryan’s family were invited on to the RTÉ programme Prime Time, which will be aired tonight. However, they are unable to appear on the programme and instead released their first public statement to RTÉ.

In their statement, they described their devastation at Ryan’s death and said that there should be an investigation into the depiction of Ryan in the print media while he was alive.

They also said in their statement that they are “deeply upset” by what they alleged was the “inaction” of members of An Garda Síochána at the scene of the shooting.

They said they have made formal complaints to the Garda Commissioner about the conduct on the night, and also to editors of newspapers over images they published.

A spokesperson from the Garda Press Office said the gardaí had no response to make on the statement.

One man was arrested in connection with Ryan’s shooting.

Read: Alan Ryan funeral scenes: “Wholly unacceptable and belongs in the past” – Mayor>

Read: Gardaí say they are investigating shots fired at Alan Ryan funeral>

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• mr x 12/09/12 #

Sorry but no sympathy here, if you live your life intimidating people for money while holding a gun under the guise of being a patriot, then don’t expect people to care when you are gunned down. good riddance.

• and a supposed patriot who does not recognise the state.

these people should be told that their son was an enemy of the state and can they please shut up. And the meeja need to stop giving them coverage.

• You can’t live outside the law and then expect it’s protection.

• The “Real IRA” are nothing more than a criminal gang hiding behind a facade of militant republicanism.

• I’m sure like any family the are feeling a loss , but unfortunately complaining about the Garda , the media or looking for rights and fair treatment is all bullshit stuff….. drug dealing , intimidation , being part of an illegal organisation , you cannot live like a criminal and then expect people to be sympathetic

• Maybe you should declare your own position within the media the family are complaining about before commenting?

• @amcevoy , I don’t have to make any declarations about the media the family are complaining because I don’t work in the media the family are complaining about , I am self employed and if your referring to the fact I previously worked in management in radio stations I don’t see what that has to do with the topic , the forum here or the comments I made , MAYBE you should check your facts before making false accusations about people who comment.

• He’s a criminal & to rise to the level he was at one would think the most heinous crimes would have had to have been committed.
    Why should by taxes be used to babysit the likes of this criminal? Likewise surely his car / home and other belongings should be seized as proceeds of crime after the fact.
    No pity, no concessions, no commission, no protection for this type of criminal who preyed on the honest business owners for protection monies and terrorised others in and around him.

• Let them make their laughable complaint and see how far they get.

Let me get this straight. Their beloved vicious criminal son ran around the place terrorising communities and now they want ‘justice’ because the media took a few pics and published them? Get off the stage.

• What are u on about yogo he was a thug from Dublin!

• I first thought they meant the shooting at the funeral.
    Brass necks!

• Live by the Gun

• It these people that are creating this chaos and using nationalism as a front for organised crime

• They talk about how he was depicted in the media. They knew him, they knew what he was!!! I’m sure it’s no surprise and I’m sure they could add a few more colourful story’s. It’s his child I feel sorry for.

• Cry me a river.

• No wonder they didn’t want to go on Prime Time. They might have been asked a few awkward questions about Omagh and what their Real IRA angelic son thought about killing women and children in the name of ‘freedom’.

• Why are these incidents reported as ‘Gangland-style attack’s'? Surely it’s just a gang attack!

• Dave 12/09/12 #

Better still, its simply “an attack”. The media’s depiction of this as “gang land” just gives these idiots an ego thinking they are some kind of mafioso figures. They’re not – they just murderers and they should be called such.

All that said, while I feel sorry for any family losing a son or brother, it doesnt excuse his conduct or that at the funeral which was an insult to this country.

• When his family give back all that he robbed then maybe I might have some sympathy for them. Good riddance to him. In view of the fact that the Gardai know all about these peoples movements how come they dont act?? Are their hands tied?

• Wirra wirra, my heart bleeds.

• What did this great lover of Ireland and Irish freedom actually do for a living. Where did he work to pay for his living expenses. Was he on the dole, or had he a job.

• Depends what they mean by “inaction of the gardai”. Often there appears to be no action, although this is because officers need forensic examinations to be concluded first. The garda siochana in this democracy act fairly and evenly towards all citizens, regardless of race, religion or politics. Why would they make an exception for the Ryan family?

• Shower of ticks. Want to bring us back 30 years because they love Ireland? All they love is their pockets

• Are they saying that they wanted armed Gardai to move in on the crowd at a funeral?

• Ah, the Martin Cahil conspiracy theory

• Regardless of who he was and I am in no way defending him but some of the images published in newspapers are in bad taste. There were images of a man lying on the ground dying published in a number of newspapers, I think that is pretty unacceptable. Even the picture at the top of this article is in my opinion poor. Only the media would bring a camera to a funeral, and take pictures of people who are grieving and at their most vulnerable.

• Well Gareth, I’m sure that they made themselves look nice for the camera. They could have opted for a private, family only ceremony?

• Media completely right to publish pictures of scene and funeral. Do you think his role in being a criminal should be played down? Or do you just want the good people of Ireland to live in ignorance of the dangers these people present?

He was thick animal. Hardly intellectual, hardly done anything with his life or got any qualifications. I can assure you I bet he or any of his family or friends hold down employment. This state paid his dole and for his house and his families house.

• “Or do you just want the good people of Ireland to live in ignorance of the dangers these people present?” So you reckon we need to see images of a man dying on the roadside in order to understand the dangers that these people present? Do you think it is right for his family to have to view these? His son? Young children looking through a newspaper? Is it really in the public’s interest to see a man dying?

As far as the funeral is concerned, it is a time for family and friends to grieve the loss of a loved one, once again is it in the public’s interest to see pictures of families grieving? I am not only talking about at Alan Ryan’s funeral, also at the likes of Michaela McAreavey’s and Anthony Ward’s funeral. I personally don’t feel the need to see it and as I said in my opinion it is in bad taste

• Gareth, given the illegal discharge of weapons at the funeral don’t you think that they were probably delighted with the media presence?

• @ Gagsy,

That really has nothing to do with anything that I have posted.

• In fairness Gareth……… you’re right.
      Still and all though but.

• Sorry, posted that before replying to your question. Yes I am sure there was some who attended who where grateful of the media coverage.

• He was nothing more than a gangster, who was murdered by his fellow criminals.Mafia Irish-style. His funeral was turned into a circus, of course the public and the media are going to make the best of the free entertainment.
      Act like eejits expect to be portrayed as such. Private funeral would have guarantee privacy. But that would’nt have given any free publicity to the psuedo patriots.

• Of course the Garda should arrest these people whether at the funeral , before the funeral or after the funeral. This of course would mean some work involved and they might miss collecting their rents or playing golf. God forbid.

• i wouldnt believe the papers theyll write anything,people on here making comments and they really dont know what their talkin about.give back the money that he robbed that doesnt even make sense.i think theirs a political agenda against the rira but the the provos up north are robbing laundering and dealing and the governments and the media turn a blind eye all in the name of peace.peace at all costs.people sayin some nasty stuff and they dont hav a clue what their takin about its pretty sad.

• I see the comment police have a quick response time on the journal today.

• Maybe people should read the family statement before commenting. There is nothing controversial contained within it. They just want justice for their son/brother and have complained about the publication of photos of his last moments. I am shocked at the blood lust and barely concealed glee at his death from most on here.

• Yojo 12/09/12 #

Nice of ye to make presumptions and have no sympathy. Someone died, the family have to suffer and I’m sure that all of ye who are being insulting about it would of course be perfect law abiding upstanding citizens and in no fashion nationalistic in a place like the north, a WAR ZONE in Europe, in Ireland politely ignored by us down south. Not sayin he was right but I can’t say I’d be any different if I live in that chaos.

• That’s a good one something else!!!