TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Barack Obama says he’s not bluffing on possibility of Iran attack

The US president said both Israel and Iran recognise that when he says it is “unacceptable for Iran to have a nuclear weapon, we mean what we say.”

Image: Susan Walsh/AP/Press Association Images

US PRESIDENT BARACK Obama warned that he is not bluffing about attacking Iran if it builds a nuclear weapon, but in an interview published Friday, Obama also cautioned US ally Israel that a premature attack on Iran would do more harm than good.

In his most expansive remarks on the issue thus far, Obama told The Atlantic magazine that Iran and Israel both understand that “a military component” is among a mix of many options for dealing with Iran, along with sanctions and diplomacy.

That is the most direct threat he has issued during months of escalating tension with Iran over its disputed nuclear development program.

His comments appeared aimed more at Israel and its supporters in the United States than at Iran.

Obama addresses the influential American Israel Public Affairs Committee on Sunday and meets with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu Monday at the White House. Netanyahu will also address AIPAC.

“I think that the Israeli government recognizes that, as president of the United States, I don’t bluff,” he said in the interview.

“I also don’t, as a matter of sound policy, go around advertising exactly what our intentions are. But (both) governments recognise that when the United States says it is unacceptable for Iran to have a nuclear weapon, we mean what we say.”

‘A grave threat’

Netanyahu, speaking Friday ahead of a meeting in Canada with Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper, called Iran’s nuclear ambitions a “grave threat to the peace and security of the world, and I think it’s important that the international community not allow this threat to materialise.”

“As for Israel, like any sovereign country, we reserve the right to defend ourselves against a country, against a country that calls and works for our destruction,” Netanyahu said.

Obama will try to convince Netanyahu to postpone any plans his government may have to unilaterally attack Iran’s nuclear facilities in coming months. An attack that soon would not carry US backing, and the US would probably not be involved in planning or executing it.

Nonetheless, it could force the United States into a new conflict and an arms race in the Middle East, as Obama made clear in the lengthy interview.

It also could allow Iran to paint itself as the victim and draw new support that would undermine rather than enhance Israel’s security, Obama warned.

“At a time when there is not a lot of sympathy for Iran and its only real ally (Syria) is on the ropes, do we want a distraction in which suddenly Iran can portray itself as a victim?” Obama said.

At the same time, Obama has consistently refused to renounce a military option for the United States down the road. The dispute with Israel is over the timing and efficiency of such a strike, not whether one is ever appropriate.

The difference of opinion has quickly come to dominate the US-Israeli relationship and the U.S. strategy for dealing with a nuclear Iran is a major issue for American Jewish voters in this election year.

Israeli leaders have strongly hinted that they want to hear clearer terms from Obama for what the United States would do if Iran crosses the threshold from nuclear energy to nuclear weapons.

Until now, Obama has said a nuclear Iran is unacceptable but has not spelled out just what the US would do or when.

‘Possible use of military force’

In the interview, Obama did go further than he has before. He explicitly referred to the possible use of military force, and he firmly rejected the notion that the United States might settle for a strategy of deterring Iran from using a nuclear weapon.

“You’re talking about the most volatile region in the world,” he said. “It will not be tolerable to a number of states in that region for Iran to have a nuclear weapon and them not to have a nuclear weapon. Iran is known to sponsor terrorist organizations, so the threat of proliferation becomes that much more severe. ”

He also pointed to economic turmoil in Iran and reiterated that sanctions against the Iranian regime are starting to bite.

In a series of recent meetings with Israeli leaders, administration officials are believed to have sought to persuade the Jewish state to give sanctions more time to work and to hold off on any military strike.

Speaking yesterday to reporters, White House press secretary Jay Carney said Obama believes there is still “time and space” for those measure to persuade the Iranian regime to take a different course.

Israeli officials acknowledge the pain in Iran but have publicly expressed doubt those measures will ever cause Iran’s clerical leaders to change course.

Obama wasn’t so sure. “They’re sensitive to the opinions of the people and they are troubled by the isolation that they’re experiencing,” he told the Atlantic. “They know, for example, that when these kinds of sanctions are applied, it puts a world of hurt on them.”

Though Obama emphatically portrays himself as one of Israel’s best friends, touting military and other ties, his relationship with Netanyahu has at times been frosty.

The two have sparred publicly over Jewish settlements on the West Bank, with Netanyahu pushing back on Washington’s efforts to move forward on peace talks with the Palestinians.

The Iran issue has risen to the forefront of his foreign policy. At a fundraiser in New York last night, an audience member shouted out, urging the president to avoid a war with Iran. ”Nobody has announced a war,” Obama cautioned. “You’re jumping the gun a little bit.”

Iran threatens pre-emptive strike against ‘enemies’

Read next:

Comments (122 Comments)

• itll not be long before its 2 euro for a litre of petrol!

• oh dear oh dear how many people will be killed when this party kicks off.

• Si Mon 02/03/12 #

Election year… He won’t do it

• Could his troops stop off in Syria on the way over and sort that tyrant out too?

• Or are you that jslefanu chap who’s been missing quite a while….. No, no…. He’d never mix up “you’re” and “your” the way Barry used to….

I would say Barry Williams has returned under the guise of a generic “John Murphy”

• You have to admire the sheer brass necked nerve of countries who have nuclear weapons themselves (one of them developed illegally and secretly; the other being the only country who has used them on an innocent civilian population to horrific effect)!!! I’m no fan of Iran’s religious extremism, and there is war-mongering on all sides, but rather than criticising Iran for the possible development of a nuclear capacity, why don’t those other countries move towards disarmament themselves. This story is as old as time: big boys squabbling, hawks who make our children’s world a much less secure place – all for political or material gain – shame on them all.

• Reada,as I’ve stated previously,I plough my own furrow. I don’t subscribe to any particular political belief. I judge facts not supposition or opinion. I do my own research and reading and make up my own mind.

• There should be a concerted effort to get Israel to disarm its nuclear arsenal. To focus on a country without nuclear weapons whilst a pariah such as Israel has countless hundreds of them is a red herring. And I would like to think that most sane people will not be fooled by that. Obama has been such a disappointment as president as I foolishly expected so much more from him.

• I agree Christ. I had great expectations of Obama, especially after the previous lunatic. After his mammoth, pre-election globe trotting with all the hype and hopes, he only had one job to do in my eyes. That was to break the powerful Washington lobby groups which he promised would be one of he first things if elected. He couldn’t even do that. So there is no hope for a better world in the foreseeable future. I am sure they will bomb there way around this planet as they have done for the last 50 years!

• Israel is NOT a pariah state except in.the minds of those who support terrorists. Israel.has nuclear weapons yrs but has been surrounded by enemies for years and has never come close to considering their use. they held fite when Iraq attacked them in 1991…showed admirable restraint in face of Saddams antagonistic aggressive Scud attacks. But sure Hamas are humanitarians arent they and Iran is a utopia…..

• I always thought that after Obama was elected anything he did would have been seen as a disappointment, there was so much expected of him that it was almost like he was supposed to walk on water. While anyone would have been preferable to his predecessor it didn’t help that he took office as the global economy tanked, not his fault, but it didn’t make his job any easier. He has kept his word on a lot of issues, troop withdrawls and the like but I don’t think any one president is going to break the vested interests and lobby groups in Washington, he may win on one or two issues, and Obama has, but he will never break them on everything.
      I spoke to an American friend last year around the time of Obama’s Irish visit, and while he seems to have a very high and relatively popular international profile at home in the States his profile isn’t quite the same. Many people within America simply don’t like Obama, don’t agree with his politics or just hate the bloke. It would take a week to fully explain it, and I’m not sure I understand it, but my friend has the view that his healthcare reforms are wrong, they’ve paid for health insurance for years, and its costly, so why should someone else get much the same for very little? People either love Obama or hate him it seems.

• Israel won’t get rid of it’s nuclear capability. And why should it considering it is surrounded by countries who have shown in the past they are more than willing to attack it. Just because Israel wiped the floor with them then doesn’t mean they aren’t stupid enough to attack again.

• @Colm, oh yes Israel IS a pariah state. The are countless examples of why they are a Pariah state. From using white phosphorous on one of the most densely populated places on earth (Gaza) to the cold blooded killing of PEACE activists on the Mavi Marmara. The Goldstone report stated as follows: The Israeli assault on Gaza constituted a “deliberately disproportionate attack designed to punish humiliate and terrorise a civilian population, radically diminish its local economic capacity both to work and to provide for itself, and to force upon it an ever increasing sense of dependency and vulnerability”
      And you have the gumption to call me a supporter of terrorists!!

• Sorry but Israel has also proved time and time again it cannot be trusted and has nobody but its own territorial expansion in mind. Ask the survivors of the USS liberty how reliable they are. If Israel wants war let them start and finish it themselves but we know that without the US backing they will have there ass handed to them like their last excursion to the lebanon. The region should be left to find uts own balance and the US concentrate on sorting out its own fascist government. And before misquote Iran again; intentionally, they said they wanted an end to the zionist regime and not wipe Israel off the map. Get it right and stop repeating fox news garbage

• I unashamedly support the right of Israel to exist and to defend her people and her national.integrity. I also support the two state solutuon and have in.the past condemned her when.her forces have acted wrongly. Ive yet to.see the same moderation from the pro Hamas side..who regularly fire qassam.rockets at civilian targets from.the cover of human shields of innocent Gazan women and children in breach of the geneva convention. Ive condemned the killings of Irish soldiers in.the past by the SLA..ive condemned and considet Ariel.Sharon.a war criminal.for chabra and chatila.

• ED Kavanagh I do not watch fox news and Ahmadinijad leadingba Tehran crowd in.chanting “Death to Israel” is quite clearly not the actions of a rational peaceful democrat. Two state solution with acceptance of Israels right to exist is only answer

• Colm I have no issue with 2 state solution. We just dont know were and when the borders end

What do you think of this quote made very recently

At a news conference in Switzerland, on the occasion of the building an Israeli railway there, the German newspaper Die Zeit interviewed Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu:

“Congratulations Mr. Netanyahu, my first question is that does the beginning of the large train line’s construction confirm the announcement of the dissident Syrian Intelligence Office that you will strike Lebanon?”

In reply, Netanyahu stated:

“Yes, and it is not a secret that it will happen with U.S.-Gulf support and that is why they have been warned, but before you ask, you have a look at the new map of the world and see that there is no nation with this name.”

• If you want to see what happens to the defenceless in that region, look at what Assad is doing to his own people with the support of Iran. If he does that to fellow Muslims, what would he do to infidel Israelis? Israel’s enemies only need to be lucky once. The Israelis need to be lucky all the time and the Israelis know it only too well.

If that makes Israel a pariah state, well so be it. Just remember that the rules of the game in the Middle East are very different to those that pertain in Western Europe.

• Chris are for REAL boy????

Mavi Marama Peace activists??? So why did they wish to seek to become Shahid’s?? aka Martyrs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTmF3njCZf8

You can spin all you like. Facts remain. They were no Peace activists and WHY no MM to Homs????

So could you explain “deliberately disproportionate” .I am really curious to find out how many rockets Israel has to receive before it can make a “proportionate” response.

Quit with the IPSC/SF sound bites they are boring.

• MM “Peace” activists at it again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=i9DiczGv4zg&feature=endscreen

BTW. THE UN found the Naval blockade of Gaza LEGAL.

• So pick and choose what the UN says. How many rulings have Israel ignored. Dont make me laugh. Pathetic attempt to justify killing innocent civilians, Again

• Oh Ed.
      We witness below your erratic irrational behaviour and avoidance of research the MM activists glorified becoming Shahid’s for Press TV. They were NOT innocent.

• @John Murphy or are you really somebody called John Murphy or just a ghost poster from the Israeli embassy??!! You dare to question the legitimacy of the PEACE activists on a boat with NO weapons but plenty of much needed humanitarian supplies, when it was your country that acted like the pirates off Somalia, without any authority and killed in cold blood on the hi seas! Your nation shames every developed country in the world. And by the way, get the hell out of the West Bank, it is not yours, it never was and never will be!

• Oh gosh your out with the same old nonsense drivel anytime anyone puts out an alternative opinion,
      A)Its the Jewish sabbath,So if I worked for the Embassy I would not be online during the Sabbath,
      b)How pathetic you are to overlook the facts, And they didn’t need guns to make weapons. The videos clearly show them saying they wish to become Shahid’s and thumping the shit out of soldiers.Not my problem if you have an allergy to facts.

Then again I am Irish not Israeli.So I don’t see why your telling me to get out of anywhere.

The Naval blockade is legal so Israel has a right to halt any ships entering ,

Aid?? What good are gone off medical supplies.When Israel brought the goods to the Erez crossing Hamas refused of 60 per cent of it. Which ISRAEL had to dispose of. Again another FACT so I suppose I would be silly to expect you to even be mildly aware of that.

• So all of a sudden all supporters of Israel are Israeli? I’m not.

• So, Iran supports a few resistance movements against Israel, at least morally… Israel also engages in assassinations and terrorist strikes in Iran

What’s your point big guy?

• So the man who won a Nobel peace prize for making some promises has abandoned the Iraqi people to their fate and is threatening to plunge another country into a devastating war. A maniac is killing thousands of innocent civilians in Syria yet a country maybe or maybe not developing weapons for self defence is a target. Yeah he deserves a peace prize alright.

• I think most of ye at this stage know very well that Israel controls the US. “Dual-Citizens” at the very top of each goverment dept. Every president since Lyndon B Johnson has been a puppet. Why on earth would you think Barry Soetoro be any different.

• Oh here we go with the age old Divided Loyalty Jew card

Why don’t we ever accuse all those “protesting class” types who spend days on end protesting about Palestine of having more loyalty to Palestine than Ireland.

Why does a Jew have divided loyalty but not an Arab or white Pro Palestinian???

• Mike,

If that’s true, why were the Americans resistant to requests for help from Israel in the run up to the Six Day War?

• Because the US couldn’t be seen in that part of the world by her allies there to be siding with the Jews against their brethren… Which is why Lyndon B staged the failed liberty false flag incident as an excuse

• Imran, sorry, it’s not clear to me what you mean. The USS Liberty incident was when the Israelis attacked a US ship by mistake. Why would the Americans “stage” this?

• Do you stay up all night googling conspiracy theories??
      What did you study in College Imran ,, Paranoia??

All that ever comes out of you is a string of NWO/False Flag junk.
      Seriously do you sit up all night with a tin foil hat on deleting your browsing history in case those evil FreeMasons and their Zionist cousins find out your attempts to expose them.????

• John, if you want to get smart, I suggest we might for a pint and see how smart we can get together… Otherwise stop trying to pass yourself off as some kind of Internet tough guy. This is a forum to share opinions and points of view, not snide attacks and insults.

Lads, I take it all back… There’s never ever been a false flag, gulf of tonkin went as described, Oswald done JFK and that little Kuwaiti girl was telling the truth in congress in 1990.

Lol

• Says you who only 5 mins ago was telling people to “F*ck off” .THREATEN ME ALL YOU WANT. The usual sort of intimidation the looney left fringe dish out to anyone with an alternative opinion to them.YOUR a fascist Bully.

I have read your non stop NWO crap for months now.It makes me laugh. Your poor little Cork head must be worked ragged worrying about those pesky Zionists.

Go off now and sleep Imran and watch some David Duke video’s before nodding off .Sleep well.

• Nighty night ;)

• Imran.Next time you want to threaten me fire ahead.i am just of Pana, So I’ll meet you where ever and you can dish out your “hard” man act how ever you so choose.I am not afraid of people like you. Bullies don’t bother me anymore.

Hardly surprising you show such sympathy with Iranian bully boy tactics on the whole entire Middle East not just Israel but Saudi too

• *off Pana

• ‘John’ , the only person being threatening and abusive around here is you.

I wouldnt be shocked if you found yourself banned tomorrow after the mods have had a chance to review your vile and abuse manner toward other commentators here. You’re a disgrace and an embarrassment to yourself and I deeply pity you.

• Really???

I mean please.Anyone reads your threats to meet you in town.Your cursing etc sees who was the aggressive one.
      You’ve a whole attitude on this thing.
      Sad really

Love to see where I actually threatened anyone.
      I would not be surprised if I am banned either.Seeing as the Journal.ie have banned 3 pro Israel commentators in less than 2 weeks.Two of whom had actually done nothing ,But then again I suppose no one likes the facts pointed out to them. The Journal makes more money from the Arab-Israel crisis stories than any other story each week. Nice little earner for them

• Actually, a Ron Paul presidency would be the worst possible outcome for Israel… Lol… You honestly think Israel would start a war with Iran if they were told the US wouldn’t by standing by to clean up the mess?

Sure John

Oh, I see you’ve been checking my fb…. Feel free to add me buddy

Chat soon

• He would get more votes if he stopped the massacre in Syria.

• BrenOC 03/03/12 #

Do Iran have oil? If so he will definitely attack them

• Obama does not want to attack Iran. What ever else Obama is, he is not a war mongering imperialist President. He is the least pro-Israeli American President since the foundation of the State of Israel.

Obama does not want Israel to attack Iran either. But he knows that Israel will attack Iran if necessary in the same way that Israel attacked and took out Iraq’s nuclear capability. Therefore Obama and the EU are issuing strong warnings to both Iran and Israel.

Iran is a rogue state that supports state sponsored terrorism inside Iran, in the Middle East and elsewhere. If the IRA were still active, Iran would be quite capable of supplying them with weapons, training and other support to be used here in Ireland or in Britain against Irish or British people in the same way that Gadaffi’s ‘s Libya did. Iran is strategically positioned to threaten the oil producing countries of the Arabian Gulf and the Straits of Hormuz.

If Iran tries to attack any of its neighbours or shipping in the Gulf, the US Seventh Fleet and its allies will attack Iran.If Israel believes Iran is about to posses a capability to attack Israel, Israel will attack Iran in pre-emotive self defense. If this happens, let us hope that Iranian civilian casualties will be minimal and that the tyrannical Iranian regime is replaced by something which will nit threaten it’s neighbours or its own people.

• Well said David

• Well said Mr Giles

• I wonder what would have happened if Israel hadn’t taken out the Syrian nuclear facility in September 2006? I also wonder how many around here would trust Assad with nuclear weapons?

• howzat 03/03/12 #

If he sorted out Israel and Palestine wouldn’t that be more productive
    They ll bomb Iran when they believe capability is close and the bombing will come from Israel
    Same old same old

• North Korea have nukes why don’t you go to war with them!!! oh wait they don’t have oil and they said they have no issue using them on anyone who attacks there country.

So what does the bully do when he meets his match?? picks on someone weaker…..

AMERICA look back on history all world super powers meet there match one day.

• The USA take any opportunity to go and invade a country that doesn’t bend their ways.

• Nobody is talking about a US invasion of Iraq. That would be unrealistic and unnecessary. It would also be unwise in the light of the previous disastrous US led invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan and the US experience in Vietnam. However the USA and its allies will have to take military action using air power and naval power against Iran if Iran threatens its neighbours or the Straits of Hormuz.

• Right,lets try this again. I am deeply concerned with the support for Iran that I have seen here. Lets take a step back and look at this logically shall we? Irans lunatic dictator as many times threatened Israel and the West. This is the same man who said that he welcomes war as it will hasten the “coming of the 12th Iman”,( the Islamic saviour) whom he also said is “in regular contact with”. Hmmmm SURE,this is definitely a guy that should be in charge of a nuclear weapon!!!!!! A guy whos closest ally is yet another lunatic who is, as we speak, is mass slaughtering thousands of his own people and has even demanded all reporters leave so the evidence of his vile crimes are not shown. Then,with all this happening,the one tiny country,the size of Leinster, that has the courage to take a stand,Israel,gets yet another bashing. I admire them. People need to start getting their priorities straight and take in the bigger picture.

• RDX862 02/03/12 #

Headline reads like a Bush quote the actual Atlantic article not so much.

Obama

“In that context, our argument is going to be that it is important for us to see if we can solve this thing permanently, as opposed to temporarily. And the only way, historically, that a country has ultimately decided not to get nuclear weapons without constant military intervention has been when they themselves take [nuclear weapons] off the table.”

• Obamas a puppet president just like all the rest, he’ll do whatever he’s told.

• and the real reason for the pull out of Iraq & Afghanistan becomes clear……………..

• With (great) respect, to proclaim support for Israel’s “right to exist” is to acknowledge at some level that that “right” is somehow in question, that there is a legitimate debate on one side of which is the proposition that Israel has no right to exist. Which is to allow the discussion to be held on terms set by the Iranian regime and it’s supporters here and elsewhere. Is there any other country on Earth whose existence is challenged or threatened, with or without the enthusiastic complicity of a large dollop of the worthless element of the left? Do these people have any concept of what would happen to the Jewish people if Israel were to fall? Of what the Middle -East without Christians and Jews, just Shia v Sunni, would actually look or feel like? Of course there are difficult issues to be resolved, as there are in many other corners of the World. Of course there is right and wrong on both sides. But this existential stuff should not be indulged for a moment.

• I am sick of reading the freaks here who feel some sort of joy about Iran getting a nuclear weapon. As they may use it against Israel. Your sick in the head.

Israel had nuclear weapons and has never used them.

Iran gets weapons and it will start an arms race between Sunni and Shia states.

Sanctions are not working . I hope the IAF bomb Iranian targets soon and set back their attempts to cause havoc.

Iran is a pariah state. Funding vast number of terrorist groups and backing Syria. Sooner Israel strikes the better and I hope it strikes really hard.

Long live the state of Israel. May it always have the upper hand against the enemy and I hope BIbi gives Obama the two fingers and goes after Iran alone.

• Your a sick man. The world will never gave peace with people like you. Extremist bigots will never stop finding someone else to hate except themselves.

At a news conference in Switzerland, on the occasion of the building an Israeli railway there, the German newspaper Die Zeit interviewed Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu:

“Congratulations Mr. Netanyahu, my first question is that does the beginning of the large train line’s construction confirm the announcement of the dissident Syrian Intelligence Office that you will strike Lebanon?”

In reply, Netanyahu stated:

“Yes, and it is not a secret that it will happen with U.S.-Gulf support and that is why they have been warned, but before you ask, you have a look at the new map of the world and see that there is no nation with this name.”

• Sick why because i support Jews standing up to being at the wrong end of a barrel of a gun.

The Iranian cheerleaders here make me sick to be Irish.

If Iran struck Israel. It’s bye bye Cyprus,Greece,Lebanon and Jordan. So yes for the sake of that region a good IAF pounding of nuclear targets in Iran is what’s needed and I am sure the peace and neutrality alliance et al can all come out and criticise Israel.

Heaven knows they have been frightful
      Silent about their friend Assad . I am sure Chris Andrews is crying into a pillow . He met Assad numerous times

• Yawn Ed. where is your link ???

• I googled it and all that comes up is a load of conspiracy theory nonsense. Of course most of your lot read this cr*p and take it for gospel.
      I never ever remember hearing any Israeli openly speak about a military strike another country before doing so. Its not the procedure .No country does such.

Hate to tell you,but just because its online and in black and white does NOT mean its true.

• Yeah right John. Its all lies. Bibi is a headcase. Another religious extremists who thinks his God and for that matter is religion is the only true religion and everyone else is inferior. The Israeli never invade other countries and steal land. What a joke of a response from you. Just waiting for the usual anti semite accusation now.

Your a racist bigot warmonger. Admit it. You would love to see all the A-rabs nuked. Israel is given to you by God and all that Bullshit. Tell me USS was a conspiracy and that the IDF accidentally attacked a US ship for 4 hours to try start another war with Egypt. Tell me that Operation Cast Lead and the Mavi Mamara where justified. Physchopaths never think what they are doing is wrong. So Iran is next and I’m sure you will get some more blood on your hands

• The Link Ed???

Even in German please ???

No of course not.

“Your a racist bigot warmonger. Admit it. You would love to see all the A-rabs nuked” You said it not me.And just on a point of information.Here is a little FACT.(I know you struggle with them) Iranians aren’t Arabs.

And Mr Netanyahu is not religious.

I don’t need to Ed. You use the “Just waiting for the usual anti semite accusation now” as a shield against any possibility of something you say in the future being exposed as Anti Semitic as you will wail “I told you so”.

Met your type of NWO conspiracy theory ,Fact avoiders before. NOTHING new and nothing worth while to add.

Again Link????

• http://english.pravda.ru/opinion/columnists/01-03-2012/120646-No_Lebanon_will_be_on_map-0/

But you will tell me it just Russian lies and propaganda. Whatever..

Mr Netanyahu is not religous??? WTF. Israel is Jewish state, the only state in the world that is defined by its religion. If he not religious then hes even more unstable than even I thought. No different really from the white nation status of South Africa.

Any at least you are admitting your hatred of the Arabs and Persians. So thats at least a good frame of reference so we can see were your coming from. So now we are being honest, when do you think the Israel will be happy and start living like a normal society. When the middle east is a unihabitated waster land?

As for NWO conspiracy etc. I actually believe that Israel and Iran are being used as tools or pawns in a game and are not in themselves to blame. People are encouraging these conflicts to further their own ends.

I’m pretty sure a large majority of people in Israel and Iran are not like you. at least I hope so..

Otherwise WW3 is not too far down the road. I assume you will be first in line to shoot some of them brown people. Best of luck with that plan. I’m sure your utopia will be worth killing for.

• Ed Kavanagh uses the “racist” accusation very readily. He’s not so quick to back it up, at least not in my experience.

• Ok and here again again crashes and burns with facts.
      Only state defined by religion.
      Ahem THE VATICAN,SAUDI and the Islamic Republic of Iran to name BUT a few.

Sorry now where did I say I HATED Arabs and Persians>??? (A while ago you were calling Iranians Arabs,At least I can tell the difference)

Bibi is secular as are over 70 per cent of Israeli Jews.One can be Jewish without being religious (WOOOOOOSSSSSSSHHHHH ,Just flown over your head ,I know ,i know)

A Russian Opinion piece.It makes interesting reading.Amazed it took you an hour to find it.Could you get me the original article in German???

Amazing no Arab TV or media outlet picked it up.Its not in Lebanese media or AlJazeera or Press TV. Or even Ma’an or Haaretz. Strange indeed. Then again it will be on Snoopes in a few days exposed as complete crap . Seen it ALL to often and lap dogs like yourself lick it up like a cat getting the cream and then hide once the reality of it is all exposed.

• Unbelievable! That someone could have the neck to say that Israel is the only country in the World defined by its religion.Leave aside the fact that it is by any measure they most liberal, diverse,tolerant State in the Region.Has Ed Kavanagh never heard or seen the words “Islamic” and “Republic” in sequence? What a chancer!

• There is a Irish journalist who summed American criticism the following way- ‘”anti- American shite talk”

• Your tin foil hat seems to fall down in front of your eyes an awful lot.

Hasn’t attacked anyone??? I suppose why would you when you have you poor Arab proxies doing your work for you after all.
    How selective you are to omit Hezbollah,Syria and Hamas from the equation.

• Well, I don’t want to see Iran attacked. The Iranians are a complex, sophisticated and ancient nation. I wonder if the average person in the streets of Tehran or Tabriz really wants to see Israel wiped off the map – as their leaders imply it should be.

Humiliating one side or the other won’t resolve this. As you say, the Iranians have been victims of aggression more often lately than the instigators (not sure about thousands of years…!) and feel as if they’re surrounded by enemies. But I can definitely understand why the Israelis are very worried too.

• With respect Imran Ali, when your pal EK called me a racist and a bigot you took him up on the latter but not the former and of course Kavanagh did his usual disappearing act when challenged (see above for another example). So let’s not get too precious about a little mild ribbing once in a while. As for your ongoing jousting with the enigmatic Corkonian, wotsisname, I find it quite entertaining tbh.

• So EK isn’t your pal and the other guy isn’t my pal. We just each happen to have some common ground with one of the others on the issue under discussion.
    I understand your point about “racist/bigot”. I think your analysis is inverted but I think you’re coming from the right place.
    In my opinion if people want to use these words they should be ready to back them up. It’s not that hard to check someone’s history on Journal.ie for evidence. In fact the allegations are usually made in the context of a single debate so the accuser should have no difficulty pointing to the relevant comment(s). Making those allegations without backing them up when challenged is cretinous.

• Well, I did accuse JM/BW of being racist in this thread,

I point to the following exchange….

JM: “A)You incorrect and
      b) Your very derogatory,in a snide smart alec way ,is it cultural or what is it ???”

IA: “Now, now Baz, that’s just being racist….. You can do better, I know you can
      Probably a Cork thing anyway”

JM: “Must be so handy having an Asian surname pull the racist card as soon as your wrong or unable to prove
      a point” *(not sure what point he was on about there)
      ——————————————————————————————————————————-
      Granted, it’s not something I would scream and shout about, and I only raised it in the context of the idiotic exchange we (me and JB/BW) were having, but it is a clear sign that he very likely holds certain views. Combined with his his clear obsession with all things Zionist/Jewish/Israeli I would say he definitely holds certain anti-Islamic views. He pointed directly to my “Asian” surname, carefully avoiding calling it an Islamic surname in order to mask his prejudice. This guy is like an open book, lol, quite entertaining actually. But I honestly think he’s not the full bob.

And surely you agree with me on who he really is.

Barry Williams, last tweet 29th Feb
      John Murphy, first ever tweet, 29th Feb

Makes all the same spelling mistakes, shares the same obsessed views, same attacking manner, unable to let things go.

I better stop now before I start sounding just as sad as he is

• “Ahlam Tamimi, the Hamas terrorist who drove a suicide bomber to the Sbarro restaurant in Jerusalem where 15 people were consequently killed, has gotten her own television show”

http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4197288,00.html

Nothing says Peace like Palestinian hypocracy from the “resistance” movements (According to Imran,)

• Salman Rushdie.

• BIG GUY??? (Rolls eyes)

Resistance movements??? Is that what you call them .Says it all Imran. Says it all.

You and your little Iranian coloured PomPoms must be warn out. Do you practice being a cheer leader much?? They have a grand Atrium in CIT you should set up your stall about the NWO/False Flag/British royals are aliens etc and do a little dance to start it off. Would be very effective.
    Or maybe try Paul Street Shopping Centre tomorrow.

Skittin laughing at you loving Ron Paul.When he states America should back off and let Israel deal with the threats groups around it causes it.He favours Israel finally being a free sovereign state and being able to once and for all sort out the threats around it so it can finally live in peace and security.

• Astonishing! You make these sweeping statements and then to prove your point you link to a story about….PIZZA! You’re taking the mickey,aren’t you?

Add New Comment