You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublincity.ie
AS IT HAPPENED

Commuting liveblog: Camden street crash, a car on fire and icy roads

Here’s all the traffic, transport and weather news you need this morning.

Well, here it is: Tuesday - officially the worst day of the week.

TheJournal.ie will be here with you until 9am, bringning all traffic and travel info needed to get you to where you need to go.

Good morning, everybody.

Cormac Fitzgerald here with you until 9am on this cold and unforgiving Tuesday morning – bringing you all the the transport information needed to guide you safely to work (or wherever you’re going).

If you see anything noteworthy on your journey, have a traffic tip or just want to vent your frustration at being up this early – you can get me on cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet me @cormfitz. Or just leave a comment below the post.

Okay, here we go…

First thing’s first – let’s look at today’s weather.

In case you haven’t guessed, it’s f-f-freezing.

Many places around the country are currently below zero – so be sure to watch out for ice on roads.

Met Éireann is reporting ice on untreated surfaces and also pockets of fog, mainly over parts of Munster and south Leinster  - so make sure you drive slow.

These should clear to give us another bright, sunny day, with some rain or hail showers affecting the north facing coasts.

It should get a little bit warmer as the day goes on, with top afternoon temperatures ranging from five to eight degrees celsius.

Here’s a picture of the moon over Dame street this morning – laughing at us being up so early.

20160223_063549

Right, let’s check out the traffic situation around Dublin, courtesy of the good folks at AA Roadwatch.

It’s busy on the Navan road approaching Ashtown roundabout inbound.

Busy heading into to city centre from Hart’s Corner to Doyle’s corner on the Phibsboro road.

Traffic starting to pick up on the Swords road heading in from Whitehall Chirch to Drumcondra.

Busy in Fairview and also on the North Quays at Wolfe Tone Quay and at Ormond Quay to Bachelor’s Walk.

Also busy on the M50 southbound from J9 Red Cow to J10 Ballymount – northbound is moving well so far.

In a nutshell? It’s busy

If you’re in Clare – there’s bene a crash on the N67. The Ennistimon/Kilrush road is closed off at the turn for Whitestrand following a crash

So, now for national traffic:

irl AA Roadwatch AA Roadwatch

All those numbers are separate alerts or notifications. In summary:

CLARE: Diversions still in place between Lahinch and Milltown Malbay at the turn off for Whitestrand following that crash overnight .

CORK: Traffic on the Dublin road is slow on approach to the Dunkettle Interchange (what’s new, eh?)

Mulgrave road is closed for inbound traffic due to roadworks.

GALWAY: Traffic is busy on the Ballybrit Crescent approaching Galway Technology Park.

LIMERICK: Traffic moving well so fair around Limerick city.

How are things where you are? Email me cormac@thejournal.ie to let me know (not while driving, of course)

Two incidents to report:

Cork: Traffic is down to one lane on the Lower Glanmire road at Kent Station following an incident overnight.

There’s also been a breakdown on the N3 inbound

If you’re travelling by train or Dart – why not snap a shot of the sunrise and send it here.

cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet me @cormfitz

Otherwise it will be another sketchy window sunrise courtesy of TheJournal.ie…

Josephine making some controversial claims here in the comments section.

monday

Personally, I find Tuesday harder to deal with than Monday – the weekend is just a distant memory and the next one is a long way away…

Right, let’s take a look at some of the traffic in Dublin city:

The Red Cow roundabout on the M50 is already looking chockerblocked (great word):

site16Camera79 dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

As is the M50 at Blachardstown Roundabout:

site16Camera80 (2) dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

Check out the N11 and Clonkeen road though:

site16Camera106 Dublincity.ie Dublincity.ie

Not a sinner in sight.

If you’re stuck in traffic wherever you are or driving in on the Luas or train, check out our morning exclusive.

Excellent reporting from Cianan Brennan details a case of abuse of a young woman in the late-80s/early-90s that was never reported to gardaí.

Karen first revealed that she was being abused at home in 1986. She was 13 years old and told a friend at her school what was happening with her older brothers. The friend urged Karen to tell someone in authority.

More info on the closure of the lane on the Lower Glanmire road by Kent station in Cork. It seems a fire broke out in a nearby building overnight.

That breakdown on the N3 has been moved to the hard shoulder, so any extra delays there should hopefully ease soon:

However, there’s been a collision on the N7 inbound just before Junction 2 Kingswood in the right lane.

No, wait, that’s also been cleared.

Speedy work, lads.

giphy (1) JPOXXED.TUMBLR.COM JPOXXED.TUMBLR.COM

Well, no one answered the call for the sunrise – so here’s another one courtesy of TheJournal.ie:

20160223_074501_HDR

dubcity Google Maps Google Maps

This is Dublin city right now in terms of traffic.

The red lines indicated heavy traffic – so as you can see, it’s particularly heavy on the north quays, Gardiner street, on Pearse street and Parnell street.

For anyone just joining us – good morning!

We’re fast approaching peak traffic time – how are things where you are?

You can email me cormac@thejournal.ie, or tweet me @cormfitz with any info, photos, witty observations or casual asides you have.

Here’s a warning for any Galwegians travelling to be aware of black ice on the roads. It’s fresh and frosty in the west.

Looks like there’s been an incident on Camden street upper in Dublin city centre.

Two cars are causing delays in the approach from Richmond street and Harrington street.

Seems to have been a collision with both lanes blocked.

If you’re on a bus nearby heading towards the city, it might be a good idea to get out and walk.

Top stories from this morning, courtesy of TheJournal.ie:

1. Gardaí were called last night after an incident involving a Sinn Féin and Fine Gael candidate. Things heating up as we head towards polling day…
  2. Check out Rónán Duffy’s take on north Dublin on the run up to the election. ‘Sick and tired’ is one description.
  3. Oh, and as always, it’s really cold (in case you hadn’t noticed)

Latest travel news from Cork and Galway:

CORK:

• Busy both ways on the N28 Rigaskiddy road at Carrs Hill.
  • Lower Glanmire road still down to one lane at Kent station after the fire last night.
  • As ever, it’s slow on the Dunkettle Interchange on the N8 Dublin road.
  • But there’s no major delays to report for Cork city traffic.

GALWAY:

• Delays inbound on the Dublin road.
  • Slow inbound on the Headford road.
  • Traffic moving well around Galway city.

For anyone delayed by that crash on Camden street, here is the traffic on Harold’s Cross bridge:

site16Camera31 dublincity.ie dublincity.ie
Chock.a.block (definitely the word of the day).

People in Cork beware that a car is on fire on the had shoulder on the N40 South Ring Road eastbound after J10 Mahon.

This is adding to delays.

The Camden street collision has been moved to the cycle lane.

This should ease delays somewhat as we inch ever closer to the 9am start:

Traffic across Dublin heading in is… (you’ve guessed it) chockablock.

Longmile road/ Walkinstown Avenue:

site16Camera66 dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

N11/ Trees road: 

site16Camera103 dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

Drumcondra road:

site16Camera27 (1) dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

In other news, Luas drives have apparently been taking extra toilet breaks and parent company Transdev aren’t happy.

Personal Needs Breaks shot up last week to about 60 – compared to just 22 taken between 1 January and 5 February.

Right, so the Camden street crash has been cleared completely.

But there are still big delays coming in form Rathmines, with traffic (dare I say it) chockablock (or is it chock-a-block?).

If you’re just heading into the city centre and are stuck on a bus in Rathmines it could be worth getting off and walking (sure, it’s a lovely morning anyway).

Things just not going well in Cork this morning.

There’s been a collision on the Kinsale/ Cork road near Riverstick on the Fivemilebridge side.

That makes fires, breakdowns and road closures all in the space of a morning.

Live Drive are on the ball this morning, bringing us travel times and traffic info.

On the M50 heading south, Junction 5 Finglas to Junction 7 Lucan will take you 22 minutes. It will be another 25 minutes from there to Junction 12 Firhouse.

That’s heavy, right?

Here’s a picture of Lucan for context:

site16Camera82 (1) dublincity.ie dublincity.ie

And here’s a picture of a sleepy puppy to make you feel better:

2092311584_f8b2319651_o Bev Sykes / Flickr Bev Sykes / Flickr / Flickr

Good news!

The incident in Cork on the N40 south ring road heading east after J10 Mahon has been cleared:

Bad news!

Another crash heading west on the N 40 south ring road at J10 Mhon is now causing delays from the Dublin road.

It’s getting near to that time again, folks – where we must go our separate ways.

Here’s a final round up of the current traffic situation in Cork and Dublin:

DUBLIN: 

• Busy along parts of the Grand canal.
  • Slow on parts of the Swords road inbound
  • Slow from Fairview past Amiens street.
  • Slow on the Navan road inbound.
  • Delays on the Rock road and the Stillorgan road inbound.
  • Busy on the M50 – both ways

CORK:

• Crash westbound on the N40 south ring road at J10 Mahon.
  • Car that was on fire on N40 eastbound has been cleared.
  • Collision on Kinsale/Cork road near Riverstick.
  • Slow on approaching the Dunkettle Interchange.

Right, well that’s it for today.

Hopefully you got to where you need to go in time.

Enjoy the rarity that is a sunny, bright Tuesday morning in February.

Also, enjoy this other rarity: a Pogues song that doesn’t feature Shane McGowan.

SwindonByf / YouTube

See you at the same time tomorrow!