Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Darren Scully loses Fine Gael whip after remarks about African immigrants

Darren Scully with Enda Kenny in 2005.
Image: Fran Veale/Photocall Ireland

THE FORMER MAYOR of Naas, who caused controversy with his remarks about African immigrants last November, has lost the Fine Gael party whip.

Darren Scully made headlines at the end of November when he said in a number of radio interviews that he would no longer represent immigrants from African countries because he found them “aggressive” and “quick to play the race card”.

The remarks were widely condemned with Fine Gael distancing itself from the comments at the time.

Scully, 38, later resigned as Mayor of Naas and issued an apology in which he said he had realised his remarks caused “deep hurt and offence”.

Fine Gael today confirmed to TheJournal.ie that following an investigation by the party’s disciplinary committee, the whip has been removed from Scully in his role as a Kildare County Councillor and Naas Town Councillor.

It means that while Scully is not expelled from the party he is not able to represent it on either of the councils or any of their committees.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this afternoon, Scully said that he would continue as an independent councillor and added that he was disappointed with the party’s decision to remove the whip from him.

Last November in an interview on RTÉ Radio he insisted that he was not a racist and said that had received “some very, very bad things” which had been “threatening to me and my family”. He later broke down during the course of the interview.

Column: Why I reported Darren Scully for inciting hatred – and why I’m not backing down

Scully insists: ‘I am not a racist’ as he breaks down in radio interview

Darren Scully race remarks ‘an opportunity for education’, says African community leader

Read Next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• Revolting Peasant 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

he obviously wasn’t cut out for the job, unfortunately there is an element of truth in what he says, but with what seems like an increasing number of irish tend to do these days, he lumped a whole continent into one negative group, i wouldnt like that job either

• David Higgins 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Good to see action was taken. Such views shouldn’t be welcome in our party!

• Alan McBride 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

this was in todays paper, who is sleeping on the job?

• Hugh O'Connell 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Alan, the story was in the Irish Independent today yes. But you’ll note that they got it wrong in that he hasn’t been expelled from the party, rather he has lost the whip which is a bit different. We’ll also have more from Scully later today.

• Michael Walsh 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Typical of politics in this country, when a politician finally tells the truth he gets punished by his party for doing so.

• Kevin Collins 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

the truth being that everyone of is a ?? now im not one for sweeping generalisations usually but…if there were more of YOU i would say they would ALL be narrow minded xenophobic bigots. im sorry but thats just the experience ive had of you so far and therefore is valid for all similar yous that i meet in future.

• Kevin Collins 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

bloody html… that should read: the truth being that everyone of **insert ethnicity here** is a **insert negative character trait here**?? now im not one for sweeping generalisations usually but…if there were more of YOU i would say they would ALL be narrow minded xenophobic bigots. im sorry but thats just the experience ive had of you so far and therefore is valid for all similar yous that i meet in future.

• Kevin daly 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well said Micheal Walsh! I guess people don’t like hearing the truth!

Report this comment

it wasn’t the truth though, it was an impressively broad generalisation, that was the problem. it’d be like saying that all Irish people are ginger

• Ciaran J Ward 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Scully was dead right ……………… ffs its the fucking truth and this country is so used to listening to lies that when someone stands correct he gets slated and punished .. im not racist but they do pull the fucking race card too fucking easily …….. IRISH and PROUD

Report this comment

your not racist you just don’t like those foreigners. good one.

• Finnian Curran 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reading some of these racist comments makes me ashamed to be Irish..

• 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m also Irish and proud, but I’m certainly not proud of his comments. you simply can’t tar an entire continent of people with the same brush.

• Anne Hetherington 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“I’m not racist but” means you are, you twat

• Billy Kennedy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

There was a crowd going around with that line a few years ago. I think they went off to fight for Franco or something, maybe you should follow them.

• Dave 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Look, if you are prepared to judge each person from a certain place according to a preconcieved notion – that means you are a racist! No arguing about it – that’s what it means. So just admit it!

• Réada Quinn 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m proud to be Irish too but I’m mortified by Ciaran Ward and Joxer Daly’s comments.

• Paul Carr 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

We ought to welcome all immigrants to our country with open arms. Our country is all the better with their presence. We give each and every one the benefit of the doubt unless proven otherwise on an individual basis. Rags often peddle fearmongering and not news these days.

• Ryan A. Gibbons 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Seriously Ward, your argument is stupid. Many of these people are Irish, or want to become Irish in some point in the future. Being Irish is being respectful. Sure, everyone sometimes does something that reflects negatively on their reputation, but you can’t lump an entire category of people into it. It would be like me saying that because your surname is Ward that you are not of Irish ethnicity but rather a traveller (nothing against travellers, but they want to be considered of a seperate ethnicity to Irish). You say your Irish and Proud. So am I, but my Irishness is not bigoted.

• Gay Pea McManus 01/03/12 #
      Report this comment

You knuckle dragging racist piece of slime, one day we’ll cleanse all the racist fascists out of our country.

• Val Kearney 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If you are in a public position in this country, the least you can do is keep uneducated, unintelligent comments to yourself. Makes the rest of us look like idiots.

• jason bourne 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Wrong @Dave, that is not racist. You mention if a person treats a group of people differently with a preconceived idea that it’s racist. That’s wrong on all levels. My iphone was robbed by two little tracksuits on bikes, usually i dont pay attention to young fellas like this but since this happened i am so conscious when i see similar individuals, i dont wanna be i just am. Unfortunately when someone from a certain group of people negatively affects someone they will subconsciously get a negative view of that person. Maybe other people with are different psychologically may not see it like that but I’m sure some do.

• Rommel Burke 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jason,
      It is possible to hold a negative view of an individual and a positive or neutral view of the grouping they come from. Extending the negative view beyond the individual it racist and is a choice you make. It’s not predetermined, it’s learned behaviour as is racism.

• Niamh Byrne 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Not this again. All the ‘ I’m not racist but….’ and the outward racists crawl out from under their rocks to plead freedom of speech or he was ‘ just telling the truth…’ What he said was racist. End of. Its a pity for him that he is in the public eye supposedly representing constituents and decided it was a good career move to make such a general racist statement on radio, thats just stupid. I pity him because I genuinely think he didn’t see a problem with what he said, if he us in public ofice he should have more cop on. He represents his constituents no matter where they are from.

• Paul Mc Guinness 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There is a major issue in this country with non nationals and the media on the whole seem to be turning a blind eye to it. On Saturday last in clonee a black taxi driver stabbed three women and ran over a fourth man in his car. Only the herald last night chose to report it. If it had been an Irish man who did this then it would have been jumped all over by everyone. We need a proper debate about immigration in this country. Speaking as someone who regularly gets this treatment from particularly Africans but not limited to them I can say this councillor is on the money but instead got hung out to dry.

• Val Kearney 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Exactly, we need a proper debate about immigration, not comments such as “every single person who is a member of (insert racial group here) is well known to (insert negative stereotype here)”. Bang on the money with one idea in your comment at least I suppose..

• Billy Kennedy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Val, by your own logic there’s good and bad in all races and creeds, Irish or non-national. Look only as far as Thurles at the weekend for that.

• Paddy Looney 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul McGuinness it was in the Indo.

Mayor Scully was paid to be a public representative. If he’s not able or nto willing to represent the public then he should find himself another line of business.

Was it the Africans who handed us 15% unemployment and a bankrupt country ?
      A bit of cop on wouldn’t go amiss.

• Ryan A. Gibbons 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

His job was to represent all the public. By saying he wasn’t going to represent a certain part of it because of his broad generalisations was disgusting. Probably many people from the African community who could vote voted for him, and then he says that he doesn’t want to represent them?

In the North, Catholics used not to be allowed to vote as ‘Papists were lazy, etc.’ That again was a generalisation of an entire community. I agree African’s can at times appear different to Irish born and bred, but when you actually get into conversation with them they tend to be friendlier than most Irish nowadays. This is a different culture for them, who knows if they themselves are feeling threatened by bigots, and are only appearing ‘aggresive’ as a form of strength? Talking about taxis etc., in Galway most of the taxi drivers are black, and the Irish national drivers are quick to play the ‘race card’ themselves…sticking up Irish flag memorabilia all over their cars. Yet if you talk to them, they don’t even know Irish. For me, if people want to make Ireland their home and share its future, then they are Irish. But how can they integrate into Irish society if we already have a preconceived mindset towards them.

• Keith Twamley 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Anyone hear what’s going on in Tallaght these days? Treat all people and criminals equally. End of.

• Rory Hoffman 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Keith, well said that man. What has been forgotten is that we have our own mostly “white scumbags” ruining the lives of the young and old alike with a flood of “Heroin” on the streets with everybody ignoring this far more insidious evil.

• Keith Twamley 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yeah, wasn’t sure why I got so many red thumbs Rory, thought it may have been misunderstood.

• Ryan Ó Giobúin 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Love the way that one of the above commenters said that the Mayor’s comments wer true, and that he guessed people didn’t like hearing the truth. Yet when your comment shows another truth, then the same people give it the thumbs down. All people can be rotten at times. End of

• Darren Parslow 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Could an Africian person not run for council to represent Africans?

• jason bourne 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

They do. They just don’t get voted in

• Réada Quinn 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Darren. Would you like separate buses for blacks and whites too? Or maybe separate ones for all natives and immigrants might be better?

Report this comment

@Reada, woman are screaming sexual discrimination over the lack of females in the Dail, I bet you are one of the famous ” Bra Swingers” on that front, so what’s the difference with my comment about Africans representing Africans? For your info Reada, not all Africans are black!!! So climb down off your soapbox.

• Réada Quinn 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yuck Darren. Yuck on all your points. Say whatever you want about me. I couldn’t give a shit! Goodbye.

• Ryan Ó Giobúin 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Darren, take off your Connacht flag. I am from Connacht too, and the team has many members who are not ‘white’ or ‘Irish’. Should they be treated differently, or not represented?

Report this comment

@ryan,@reada, I didn’t mention any colour in my 1st comment and in my 2nd comment I commented that not all Africans were “black” so Ryan and Reada, learn to read full comments before passing judgement and don’t allude to branding people racist for expressing an opinion, I was simply( obviously simple is too hard for ye) suggesting that a African may understand another African’s difficulty based on being from the same culture.

• Réada Quinn 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Darren if I misinterpreted your comment I apologise. But the idea of Africans, black or white, going to see a special African councillor got my back up a bit. I don’t think a councillor should only represent a particular race or nationality.

And while I would welcome more female TDs in the Dáil I don’t think they should only represent women, “bra swinging” or not. But I’m sorry if I took you up wrong.

• Paul Carr 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

He should apply to join Fianna Fail.

• Paul Carr 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Racism starts from the top down. Politicians must be careful with the words they use. They carry a particular responsibility. A cooling off period for this particular politician was in order. Fine Gael did the right thing.

• Begrudgy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Racism starts at home. Young kids look to their elders for guidence. Racist parents, chances are, racist kids.

• Paul Carr 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Racism is institutionalized. If the Government chose not to be racist no one else would either – except for the oddballs.

• Revolting Peasant 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

im not a racist BUT i am hungry

• david whelan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Not surprised at some of the racist comments posted here.
    Having canvassed during many elections I can say with
    some certainty that many Irish people are racist.
    Ironic given that we as a people have been discriminated
    against abroad ourselves. Sad that we do not empathise
    with our our immigrant population.

• Tom Neville 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Appropriate punishment for a silly remark. Well done FG.
    All we need to do now is tackle an openly anti-semitic TD….guess who!

• Brian Walsh 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Maybe Darren Scully did generalise and this is clearly wrong, but most people would be terrified to criticise a foreign national for fear of being called a racist. None of us are perfect, and there are plenty of unpleasant Irish people so its logical to say there are just as many unpleasant African immigrants. So why can’t we say this?
    According to the UN racial descrimimation can be defined;
    The term “racial discrimination” shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin that has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.

Why is it we assume only white people can be racists, or capable of racism? If someone is very rude to you, or maybe agressive or maybe at work they simply refuse to do the work assigned to them and decide to do something easier instead what would you do? Would you treat them differently if they were black, be honest? I’ve seen this happen, where people are genuinely afraid to challenge a black person for fear of getting into an loud altercation and being labelled a racist. They have no problem if its someone white. I saw this happen yesterday, a car was parked illegally, security came to tell the driver off, a black driver began shouting how they were picking on him because he was black, security almost ran away and the driver laughed to his companion.
    May I draw your attentition to the UN definition where it says “on an equal footing”, as things stand in this country there is not an equal footing. We should have a level playing field, where racism is wrong but not used as something to hide behind and people should not be afraid to stand up and say yes, that person has done wrong without being labelled a racist.
    Does anyone remember Mary O’Rourke saying her staff worked like blacks, she apologised and that was the end of it but it seems an apology isn’t enough for Darren Scully.

• Réada Quinn 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t agree Brian. I will often criticise people from other countries and their governments and god help someone if they call me a racist.

• Brian Walsh 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Glad to hear it Réada, my point was however that I witness this on an almost daily basis and when you ask the person concerned why they didn’t deal with the black person the same way they would with a white person its always the same answer, or a version of it. They were afraid of a loud confrontation that would end up with them being labelled a racist so its easier to just “let it go”. The end result is that it isn’t a level playing field and there are some, not all, but some black people who take advantage of this.

• Gerard Fitzgerald 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have only one question,why are we supporting clothing educating housing African people?,we were never a colonial power,we never benifited from the oil diamonds rubber etc that were taken from africa,we never had black slaves,so why? as far as i am aware any person seeking asylum must apply for it in the first country they land in after fleeing their own country,but seen as no flights fly directly to Ireland from africa that is impossible so asylum should be sought in countries where these african people first land,simple really unless it is more benificial to claim the status in another country ,which is the case in Ireland obviously,we are known as a better option with more to gain thats why we are having to deal with these chancers ,they are ALL here illegally ,we are not their mother countries and they should never have gotten in here in the first place,its a joke and the blacks are sneering at us,if they tried it on like they did in Ireland back in lagos they would get hammered by their black brothers and they know it,they should be sent home if they are illegal,like what happens when illegal Irish are found in USA or Australia.

Add New Comment