TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Taoiseach coy on content of telephone chat with Angela Merkel

“Surely you don’t expect me to tell what questions I had for the Chancellor, or what questions the Chancellor had for me.”

Lithuanian president Dalia Grybauskaite eavesdrops on a conversation between Enda Kenny and Angela Merkel at last week's European Council.
Image: Geert Vanden Wijngaert/AP

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY is remaining coy about the exact matters discussed in his telephone conversation with German chancellor Angela Merkel on Sunday, prior to the two leaders issuing an unexpected joint statement.

Kenny kept his cards close to his chest when pressed on the nature of the conversation by the technical group’s Shane Ross in the Dáil today.

“Surely you don’t expect me to tell what questions I had for the Chancellor, or what questions the Chancellor had for me,” Kenny remarked.

The Taoiseach added to Ross, who was speaking from the back row of the opposition benches: “That’s why you’re up there.”

While not revealing the matters discussed, Kenny said the conversation had been “amicable, comprehensive, and resulted in a very clear position as far as this country is concerned, in the view of Germany”.

He added that the joint communiqué issued by the two leaders in the aftermath of the statement “speaks for itself and it’s very clear”, but told Ross: “You’ll have to go wondering what the conversation was.”

Ross said Kenny’s efforts in dealing with Merkel and the French president Francois Hollande were indeed “energetic”, but said there was a danger of Ireland becoming a victim of domestic German politics, with federal elections due next September at the latest.

“You could tell us whether you asked her whether there was any question of legacy debt being written off, and what she told you in answer to that particular question.

“This is the nub of the problem: this is a very serious life or death matter for the nation,” he said.

Ross quoted remarks attributed to education minister Ruairí Quinn, who had said that Ireland would not “be sustainable as an independent state” unless it was given some relief on the debts it had already accrued.

“You go ahead […] with your diplomatic efforts to get relief on the debt,” Ross said.

But parallel to that, you make another telephone call to Angela Merkel, and you tell her that behind this velvet glove there is an iron fist.

And because Ireland’s debt is not sustainable, as admitted by one of your own ministers, you’ve only got two options: one is forgiveness by your lenders, and one is unilateral decisions by the borrowers.

Kenny had earlier told Gerry Adams that the government had never put a deadline of October for a deal on Ireland’s banking debt to be reached – saying the October date had actually been suggested by European economics commissioner Olli Rehn.

Read: Junior Minister: Bank debt deal negotiations best done in private

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• Did it start with, “Tell me what you are wearing?”

• “I’m clearly wearing the pants in this relationship….” said Merkel.

• “Don’t worry Enda, your pension is safe”

• We canines smell each others butts in greeting. At least Mr Kenny wasn’t putting his nose out. It’s a need to know situation. Or a nose to hole dilemma. I don’t care who he sniffs provided we can have a deal. Sniff.

• Banana republic.

• If there was anything solid,really solid as opposed to the ‘special status’ fob off,One might have some confidence in his efforts.Personally I believe he has been reassured by Merkel to hold tight, and ,That he was steering Ireland in the right direction for the good of Ireland and for the good of Europe at large and that the pain to sustain the euro was a required sacrifice to save the future for us all. After all the meetings ,The reassurances ,The continued declarations of success….it still required a private Phone call to Merkel to bolster his claims,not that it has.Sit ,Roll over,Lie down…..Now beg….He did . I wonder who rang who,,,,Every little counts you know.

• its past time the irish people forced enda’s hand.

• Words that should haunt Enda Kenny when this goes pear shaped :

“While not revealing the matters discussed, Kenny said the conversation had been “amicable, comprehensive, and resulted in a very clear position as far as this country is concerned, in the view of Germany”.

• hello frau merkel…-who is this! how did you get my number:..its me enda….who! ; enda , enda kenny…e .n . d . a ……..k . e. n , n , y. — please whoever you are , i will call the police , if you dont leave me alone..burrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

• if he was speaking with her within his role as the elected leader of the country then yes, we do expect to know the content of the conversation, if he was speaking on our ‘behalf’ with regard to our economic situation, then yes we want to know the content, if he was speaking as the sycophantic lapdog of the german chancellor again he can keep it to himself

• brrrr brrrr…me again…..its ireland… ;; oh why didt you say.(sound of hysterical laughter) listen to this,,,,,,,you want me to say what enda !………..oh ok “special” is it ….yes we got it..i mean i got it ( sound of more hysterical laughter) must go now enda bye…..brrrrrrrrr ……………frau merkel hello hello, its enda you still there…….

• “Hello Angela do ya fancy a stroll up Croagh Patrick”

• Openness and transparency my h**e Taoiseach

• Think i can guess what he said.”Angela there’s a danger the peasants are getting annoyed please throw them a bone please, please.”

• Anyone remember the election pledges …. anyone remember the patronising “Paddy wants to know”

If you are a member of FFG/Labour, can you remind this inept effort of a Taoiseach…. and ask him to keep his word, instead of all the hiding, ducking, smoke and morror shenanigans he and his cronies play every day.

• Go to sleep Dozey

• Poor old Rory Conway already run out of options to actually defend Enda “Paddy wants to know”, “this is not our debt (Christmas talk to the nation), “We Irish went a little mad” speech in Davos, “Semantic shift” after June meeting, “Someone else mentioned October” today, Kenny.

Kenny credibility zero after 18 months in office. You know what the rebels in FG who wanted to get rid of him a while back were right he is useless. Pity they failed because not only is he destroying his party he is also going to destroy Ireland.

• Love the title of the article …. Spot on as we all know there is something Fishy about it !,,,

• Angela, you can walk on me with your high heels baby and whip me stupid. My Ass is on the line here, Do you want to beg too Eamon?

• Yes mrs merkel no miss merkel

Get a grip man, your supposed to be leading this country, but the only place you are leading us to is into famine 2

Because instead of burning bondholders like you should have done, you took the easy way out and now have landed the debts of banks, bondholders, the troika, the IMF on the Irish people.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

And secondly yes you should be telling us what’s going on in conversations that involves the Irish people forking out all the money we have.

Is it not enough that ye have meetings behind closed doors, are signing blank cheques all in private it’s about time the government had to explain a lot more to the people, seen as it is US who are paying it back??

• The arrogance of FG astounds me.

• The political naivety of some of the comments on here is pretty astounding too…

• Surely Kenny can tell us of the nature of the questions asked in the phonecall? I do believe that he pledged more accountability and to keep everyone informed when he was running for election.

• That doesn’t mean we can stand at his shoulder while he’s talking to her on speakerphone.

• Zip it Donncha.
      We had enough secrecy and private discussions from the previous clowns and looked where we ended up, wasn’t an “open and transparent government” one of the main blocks of the GE campaign or was that just another cynical ploy to con voters into believing FG were going to dramatically change Irish politics?

Was it just another lie? – yes!

• I have no intention of ‘zipping’ it. Interesting how you look for openness and tell somebody to shut up in the same comment.

• Donncha
      Do you TRUST kenny ?

• You may see no harm in the continuity FF’s policy of secrecy and hush hush dealings done in our name but a large proportion of us who are sick of it would prefer to see some transparency.
      I have grave concerns for the country when there’s still people happy to have us strung along not knowing what secret plotting our cowards in office are doing.

• @eileen, good question – on the whole, I would have to say that I’d give him the benefit of the doubt. They are in a difficult situation, and I do think they are treading carefully to get the best deal for the country. it’s not going to happen overnight, though I wish it would!

• @dermot, you use the word transparency – what exactly do you mean, do you want oversight of everything, are there situations when you think transparency shouldn’t apply? Do you want a video recording or is audio enough, assuming you wouldn’t believe h

• Donncha
      Thank you for your reply .
      You see I did trust him . I really thought he was going to make good in as far as he could and for 9-10 months I supported him and his decisions ,until his interview with Bloomberg in Davos .and I was so let down and embarassed by his statements. Then I decided to educate myself more instead of following (blindly)where he led and I really did not like what I saw .
      I had always voted FG over the years ,AND even defended them at times,but I am hurting and they are not listening . I TRULY believe Enda Kenny is so very wrong as are his government ministers .They know this ,they know what they are doing is wrong. . . I know we all can not agree all of the time but I wish people would look at this crisis with fresh eyes and think for themselves .

• Putting it simply – I want whatever Mr Kenny and Frau Merkel are discussing to be relayed truthfully and honestly back to the people who are depending on some deal to lift this burden from us, Kenny is supposedly acting on our behalf not operating in a personal level…if she says no deal and is insistent on no deal we should be told, if she’s agreeing to a deal then for gods sake tell us.
      This nonsense of keeping important discussions away from the people is draconian and an affront to democracy, Kenny may well remember that he was elected to represent not hide what’s going on or drip feed us smidgens of information whenever he feels like it.

• @eileen, thanks for that, I’ve never voted FG and I think that the politicians we need are those who are prepared to tell us what we don’t want to hear – and they generally don’t get elected… a tangled web. I think they are doing their best, considering the situation and the weak position we are in, due to the previous government, so I am prepared to wait a little longer, but not forever.

• @dermot, it was Angela Merkel he was talking to, not Noel Edmonds. I’m afraid international politics, especially the EU is a little more nuanced than that.

• Donncha
      That is why I trusted them . I thought that they were telling us what we didn’t want to hear and I was prepared to do as much as I could to help .However I just could not give any more and then the only ones telling us anything are the ones who are telling us the truth. I know we are not going to have it easy , but the idea that we are answerable and being told what to do by Europe is not right . We ordinary people are not at fault , yet we are suffering.
      I am an activist in the campaign against the house hold charge . I have never been involved in anything like this before ,but I am not naieve either. I will tell you this if I may , things are going to get very bad if the government do not start talking and telling people what is what . We are on the edge I think !

• @eileen, I can understand your frustration. However, I don’t think we can absolve ourselves of responsibility in all of this. We elect the politicians who make the decisions on our behalf over the decades that have got us here, and if you look at the levels of personal debt in Ireland, a lot of us ‘went mad’ I was either lucky or smart (I dunno!) not to. I think Noonan in particular has been upfront about what’s going on, and they moved quickly after merkel’s comments last week. It’s a painfully slow process, but there’s a lot riding on it. In many ways FG’s role in Irish politics has been to try and clean up FF’s mess and get punished for doing so.

• If you believe for a millisecond that Eileen there voted fg….your off your rocker…..

• Donncha
      I did vote FG number 1 and Lab number 2 , I have no need to prove anything to anyone least of all cotter there . You see Donncha , I didn’t go mad . I have no personal debt except my mortgage ,and thankfully I am not in neg equity, I have bills obviously and I am finding things tight. I am very cross that altho we did not cause this debacle and I have no personal debt why are we being penalised? Any way It is late ,I will not entertain Declan Cotter so I will say good night .Chat again and keep an open mind :)

• PS Donncha
      I agree that FG always had to clean up after FF.I never had any time for FF and FG are gone below them now.I do not know who I will vote for again , prob independents and Soc.P. It will be interesting tho…And the point is it is good to keep an open mind !

• On that we can agree!

• ‘ve haf vas of makin you tock.enda
    Please Angela I’ll get your money even if I have to leave all the kids in Ireland hungry

• David 23/10/12 #

Operator: “Hello, Angela, will you accept a reverse charge call from Ireland?” (In German, obviously)

• Im surprised he didn’t refer to her as “My Chancellor”.

• Mein Frau Merkel,
    I am writing this while our country is on the precipice of disaster, from a darkened room in Leinster House.
    I have just come from a cabinet meeting, where we voted to make German the national language, and make the Deutsche Mark the national currency.
    My bed fellows have once again bitten me in health, and there is word that the my deputy is about to take on the whole ministry of health on his own – of course you know me Frau, I’d sooner see them with health than Mein Fuehrer, yours truly, Doc Reilly.
    But at least we will have a digital entertainment service for you when you arrive for the invasion, but any savings there will be offset against the wasted referendum for children’s rights as the Irish constitution now looks like it will be replaced by yours. I should warn you, the Shinners are republican to the death.
    Arrivederci, Mein Frau Merlel,
    The Daddy

• If someone is speaking on MY behalf I most certainly want to know exactly what he/she is saying.
    If someone is making a deal on my behalf I want to know what is on offer and what demanded.
    Only a fool would just allow somone to make decisions without an explaination.

• Dictatorship.

• John Mc 23/10/12 #

It pans out the same way no matter how you slice it:

1) He has a solid deal but had to promise to keep quiet so Merkel survives her elections in 2013
    2) He has no deal and so says nothing hoping for something to happen after German elections in 2013
    3) Merkel committed to nothing and Enda wouldn’t push her on it for fear of his bluff being called (non payment/ ECB cutting us off). They release vague and positive statement and wait for something to happen.

Follows the same pattern of hopeful statements short on specifics, can kicking and refusal to do anything to rock the boat that has been the trademark of European response to the crisis for the last four years

• Someone please tell me why the hell are we Bailing out the German banks anyway surely Angela should be doing that herself for Godsake Enda

• Coy is not a word I would use about this man Kenny… He us a sly manipulating individual and I do not believe a word that comes out of his mouth He is a proven liar

• have any of ye forgotten that micheal noonan still owns german bonds?? our very own minister of finance is a bonholder http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0409/1224294305462.html

enda was only finding out could he get some too

• Una Dev 24/10/12 #

No wonder he wants to willfully pay the bondholders.

Noonan must be thrown down. The promissory note should never be paid. FG deluded fantasies pretend this would result in Paypal leaving Ireland! FG are the new dictators.

• Tom – The records for 2011, published shortly after he took office, showed that he’d sold the bonds within a fortnight of becoming minister. They weren’t meant to mature until 2020.

• Una Dev 24/10/12 #

That thud you just heard was Edna’s market. Till he is unseated , the market will continue to be a morass of lost money. He has had 1.5 years to show his strategy, now it is time for a real leader to take over and restore Ireland to it’s rightful place. Byby edna kenny, don’t let the door hitcha where the Good Lord splitcha.

• ‘ve haf vays of makin you talk enda I vant my money now!!!!!!! Please please Angela your highness o great one just give me more time.I’ll let every child in Ireland go hungry just give me time please please

• Tús Nua 23/10/12 #

It would have been cheaper just to txt her instead

• Enda does not have a back bone when it comes to europe, his a wimp, and yes i voted for fg, stupid stupid stupid, i have lost my job, behind with my mortgage, and esb, have not had heat in 2 years,my phone cut off, so guess no one will be calling me with a job, 12 euro for food after trying to pay something off my bills, and yes i am starving trying to keep my kids fed, roll on thurs as all i have is half a loaf of bread , jam and some cheese, and thats for 2 days, they go on about their expenses, paying billions out on unsecure loans, while we get hit and hit with more taxes,,,, when will it end, i would sell myself if i got a buyer, will marry a foreigner for money so he can get legal, does our government not see we are trying, trying to keep a roof over our heads, till things improve, till jobs arrive down in kerry, does he not know desperation, wish sometimes i had the balls to get a shot gun and get rid of him and the brown nose behind him, supposedly labour,, labour my arse,, i spent 12 hours in labour and labour means work, they sit in the dail with no idea what is going on, and to make it worse there is no one else any better up coming to vote in that will try and make changes, they are only for lining their pockets, 5 million out on expenses without a reciept,, wow,,, lock the entire lot up i say, bunch of thieves

• David 23/10/12 #

Refresh all over the place but anyway.

Operator: “Hello, Angela, will you accept a reverse charge call from Ireland?” (In German, obviously)

• He would be an idiot to disclose the conversation.

How arrogant this ‘i need to know’ brigade are. Go get yourself elected, then you can decide that writing an intimate diary of how diplomacy works suits your way of doing things.

• Arbitrasure , sorry I cannot give give you more than one thumbs up.

• Because it was one of his election promises that he would be more transparent or where you down a hole with earplugs in when he said it? or off in planet mugatu.

• Well he is an idiot, so it appears the precondition for disclosure has been met.

• Diplomacy haha

By forcing austerity on us over a debt that is NOT ours, over forcing a yes vote on the fiscal treaty yet there still has been no “write down” of this debt.

Why the hell should we not know what they are discussing in private?

A lot of things have happened over the last few years over the government being so private.

Now first of al, it’s the people of Ireland who pay these monkeys wages, so secondly they were elected to run OUR country for US! Read the constitution instead of trying to make shit of it!

I do not see them doing anything good by way of the Irish citizen, however, what I do see them doing is cutting money from people,s wages, taking more money by way of taxes, more by “charges” etc, etc the list goes on.

Although the current governments members wages are each nearly in excess of €100,000 a year, not including expenses or travel allowance.

How about ye start taking some drastic paycuts and stop wasting our money!!!!
      Remember federal elections will be coming our way next September, this is Ireland for now. Next year the Germans will take over unless something is done to stop it!
      what I do think will happen if these monkeys are left carry on is by 2016 we will be in famine No. 2

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• @catherine, if he told you what he said, you probably wouldn’t believe him anyway…

• I totally disagree with you Catherine, but you are entitled to your point of view.

It would make an interesting idea for a film though; the elected leaders of nations to be strapped with head-cams and microphones so their population can watch their every move.

• Arbitrasure – why don’t you strand for election or is the lack of having a real name prohibit you?

• Dermot, what is important here is your opinion, not that your name is Dermot.

• in fairness, Ms Merkel should have to conference call with the whole of the Irish public, every should have a chance to have their say, and in a couple of decades when the call is over, we should have a comprehensive resolution to the wording of our first joint statement……just saying!

• The only time he will get his hand out of his arse is when the current state of ireland effects him and his family he couldnt give a shit about people that have no money they get rent allonce of €3000 a week what do people get nothing i really hate the way this country is beeing run the rich will stay rich but the poor will and allways suffer at the hands of govermants

• mcbab 23/10/12 #

The comments on this site are getting more and more infantile. Sad.

Add New Comment