TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Kenny defends small savings from cuts to public allowances

The Taoiseach says the government remains committed to implementing the Croke Park deal despite missing targets on public allowances.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has defended the government’s progress in cutting spending under the Croke Park agreement, after yesterday’s review of public allowances resulted in just one of over 1,000 allowances being scrapped.

Speaking in the Dáil this morning, Kenny said the review of allowances – which make up about €1.4 billion in annual government spending – was just one part of the government’s plans to cut down on spending under the terms of the public sector pay deal.

Kenny said he had written to every government minister asking them to estimate “the maximum that can be squeezed” from the deal, and yesterday’s report – which had planned to cut €75 million in spending, but will achieve less than five per cent of this – was merely one step of the government’s plans.

Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin said the response was “fairly pathetic” and accused the government of sitting on its hands by not seeking to implement the cuts to allowances more promptly.

The Taoiseach, in reply, said the government remained committed to implementing the Croke Park deal in full.

‘Appropriate’ for councils to ensure Household Charge payment

Later, in conversation with Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams, Kenny said it was “entirely appropriate” for county councils to use whatever means they had available to identify households which had not yet paid the €100 household charge.

The comments came after Adams queried the legality of county councils who were withholding the payment of college grants until proof of payment of the charge had been supplied.

Kenny said the Local Government Act 1983 allowed councils to set a household’s obligations against any funds that were due to them, but admitted councils were not entitled to withhold the payments altogether.

They are not entitled, in law, to reduce or withhold a portion of the third-level grant – but as a matter of course they are entitled to have as much information as possible about the numbers who have paid [the Household Charge].

Adams said the proposals hinted that other homes could lose their access to payments like fuel allowances if they could not afford to pay the €100 charge.

Thomas Pringle, representing the technical group, attacked the Taoiseach’s support for health minister James Reilly in the midst of cuts to the health sector which took a particular effect on isolated rural communities.

“See you on Sunday,” Kenny quipped – referring to Sunday’s All-Ireland football final between Mayo and Donegal – before criticising Pringle for his own failure to pay the household charge.

Read: Council abandons household charge-student grant link ‘on legal advice’

Our coverage of the Public Sector Allowances:

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• Fairly pathetic is how I’d describe Enda .

• I would like to take this opportunity to thank the generation of Enda Kenny, Brian Cowen, Bertie Ahern and Seanie Fitz, on behalf of my generation (20-35) for highjacking our future and ensuring We pay for Your mistakes. We never gorged upon the gravy train of excess and inadequacy but hey presto we’re left to clean up the mess it’s crash has caused. While you sail into the sunset with nice handy pensions you have left us with an insurmountable debt burden that we never borrowed, a pension time bomb which will affect our pensions but ironically not yours, a health system straight out of outer Mongolia, a social welfare system that doesn’t work, a nation with less friends in it due to emigration, negative equity and now just this week your teachers and doctors have started your latest assault on our future – Now we’ll be working for less too (pro rata), whilst ye hold on to your allowances and higher pay. I do hope ye can sleep at night and that ye are really proud of what ye have left for me generation! Regards, Young Ireland!

• *my

• Seeing as they want to change all the promissory notes into 40 year bonds, I’d expand your thanks to include those aged -10 -> 35 as people who are born 10 years from now will still be footing the bill for the single biggest disaster to befall this island since the war of independence/civil war.

Other than that, spot on with your comment.

• Good point Jason, well spotted and absolutely correct!

• jrbmc 19/09/12 #

Dairmaid I completely agree with everything that you have said except the 20-35 , this anchor around our necks will effect all age groups from unborn to newborn to the young to the middle age to old age , we will all pay for their mistakes and greed !!

• @jrbmc Point taken and I don’t want to make sweeping generalisations either (maybe too late ;)) but I just am appalled at the medical and educational profession and their targeting of new employees for cuts and not themselves as well as alot of the other messes a generation of idiots have left us. But I accept your wider point that many within that generation of idiots are suffering too, I know my own parents are certainly not immune for example. I was merely exercising some good old fashioned anger at the carry on of that generation the past number of days and their insistence on bearing no pain and passing it on to ours!

• @diarmaid Cry me a river. The standard of living is still well in excess of that in the vast majority of the rest of the world. If our generation spend more time working towards a better future rather than constantly moaning we might actually achieve something.

• @David, I’m sure ‘our generation’ would love to spend time working for a better future they would. Unfortunately with an unemployment rate of over 14% for some of our generation it’s impossible to get that work.

• David, if you’re happy that children go hungry every night, that our disabled have to camp outside our parliament to get afforded basic human rights, for our newly unemployed (due to circumstances not of their doing) to get treated with contempt and like common criminals in their local office and for old age pensioners and the sick to get abandoned on trollies all at a time when we pay back a debt that’s not ours and expect our young to take on this system while paying fat cat pensions to the very people that failed our nation, I suggest it’s you that has the issue there pal, not me!

• Spineless is as spineless does (or in this case does not).

• They are hanging on, till they qualify for their pensions and Bye when they qualify!

• Minister for public Expenditure and REFORM , the hint is in the title minister , one allowance out of a thousand does not constitute reform , we appreciate your father was secretary of the ITGWU for 40 years and that your a labour minister , but we expect you to get on with the reforms , you fella were elected to fix the mess , 3million out a target 75 million for allowance savings is a monumental FAIL , get back to work and do the reform that your being (well) paid to do …

• One thousand of a percent progress
    That’s typical of our hard working Spineless TDs

• Out of 75m he made savings of 3.75m minus the cost of the review itself…There was a representitive on newstalk this morning defending an allowence for CHANGING THE TONER IN A PRINTER…
    Howlin is a useless excuse for a politician and Kenny is worse for defending him….

• Only ONE of over 1000 Allowances TK be scrapped???. That’s a bloody cop out. Brendan Howlin should be fired. He is obviously not up for the job. If he had a spine he would come out and explain himself to the people that elected him.

• Cathal Mac Coille made a good point this morning: the government has done away with some allowances for new entrants but since there’s a recruitment ban in place in the public service this won’t save any money in the immediate term anyway.

It would seem that the unions have thrown the younger generation under a bus so they can keep their own gravy. The union approach seems to be very much a case of “I’m alright Jack, pull the ladder up!”.

• @ John.

The unions are very pragmatic about this ie. ‘The bird in the hand’ ( current PS contributors) Vs the ones in the bush. Forward on to a time when our economy is not as desperate as it is today and there is new recruitment to the PS. The unions will make the case that the ‘New Eugene’ is putting his life on the front ‘ Line’ the same as the olde Eugene beside him who’s getting 20% more in allowances and the incumbent spineless ministers of the day will roll over and say that it’s a fundamental fairness issue

• if he’s at croke park for the final be hilarious if he got booed

• Kenny and his lackeys have replaced Fianna Fail as the public sector union’s bitches.

• Martin,s Party did not broach the issue at all and now CPA intervenes. What the Gov do ? Damned if they do and damned if they do not. Easy to rant and troll , but they seem to be caught in a situation not of their making.

• CPA existed before Kenny & Co went into government they knew exactly what they were getting into. Also it was Howlin who came up with the figure of €75 million in savings nobody else. After 18 months in power as the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform he manages a saving of €3.5 million. In any ones book that is an epic fail.

• How is this not a “situation not of their making”? They only managed 5% of their own target. Pathetic.

• Emmet 19/09/12 #

That’s a joke, €3.5million. Are the government scared of the public sector??? We’re on to the divide and concur strategy. Local Authorities role over fairly easily with a bit of student protest…. The general public should be demonstrating if we want to save what’s left of our beautiful country…

• If this man was in any job in the private sector he would be sacked immediately. 1 cut out of 1100 is an insult and totally incompetent. totally totally unbelieveable!

• How many times am I going to hear the old “if he were in the private sector he would be sacked”. If I’m not mistaken up to a few years ago the banks were the private sector. How many bankers were sacked for destroying the country.

• I’m a front line public servant with allowances for specialist training and working shift which are in real terms my basic wages. I believe these are paid that way because it means they can say on pension payments later not all allowances are unjust and maybe that’s why so little is been saved

• Tommy C 19/09/12 #

Enda, Im a PS worker. Time to scrap 99% of these allowances.

• “Entitlement” is the mantra of the public sector. Of course Enda Kenny is defending the indefensible , as usual. Not surprising considering he’s a prime example of a public sector turkey that has never done an honest days work in his life. How many pensions is he currently “entitled” to at the moment? Those who can not do teach, those who cannot teach become ministers. Those who cannot minister become Taoiseach.

• It’s ironic those discussing ‘entitlements’ never discuss ‘duties’ in the same way as other articles discuss ‘rights’ but never ‘responsibilities’. It’s like a spoilt child, ‘I want I want I want’ with no consequences.

• Agreed Marcus. Just look at the other articles on allowances and see all the well off public servants bitch and try to defend the indefensible. Their huge salaries and allowances.

• A most insulting comment to teachers, and I am one- and disingenuous to Enda Kenny. He may be spineless in not tackling the vested interests and unions and he may have backtracked on most of his pre-election promises but he is not a dishonest turkey as you alluded. He is caught up in the most stupid system and excuse for governance we have the misfortune to be victims of. The vast majority of teachers are honest and hardworking. Most professions do their best. When a system is so archaic and out of touch with the needs of a modern society it’s very difficult to make any headway. Just my opinion! I’m as entitled as the next to voice it.

• Kenny has no respect for the People of Ireland.

• Just another few months and then the oul pension Enda…..wahooooooooooo!!!!!!!……..”Happy days are here again So long sad times
    Go along bad times……..

• Government and committed are the two relevant words in what Kenny said !!!!

• There was me thinking since school, oops sorry the Dail is back Enda and co were going to roll up their sleeves and get stuck in. Guess I misheard. Savings of €3.5 million out of a possible €75 million is laughable.

• Most of these allowances for the gardai anyway were brought in because the basic pay was so brutal it was a way of bringing it up to an acceptable level. Saying that i work for an employer the government and yet i have to buy much of my own equipment due to either their refusal to supply me with it or the fact that the equipment we get is shoddy ie. had to buy a satnav for patrol car, handcuffs asp holder, gun holster, clothing, gear bag, to name a few. If i was in senior management or in the private sector id be supplied with this gear free. So much of these allowances barely cover my expenses.

• Irish I take your point but paying someone an allowence to use a franking machine is just sickening especially when you see crucial services being taken away from sick or handicapped people…its just disgusting!

• 100 % agree with you thats madness and it just shows some people in the public sectors unwillingness to adapt ie wanting an allowance to use new equipment. What i was saying is stuff like rent allowance or night duty that sort of thing was always seen as part of basic pay.

• Yea its frightening…I accept your point on rent allowence and night duty and would like to say that i’m not trying to bate public service workers but after looking at some of these other allowences I want to wring Howlin’s neck…to look at 1100 different allowences and cut just 1 is an insult to the hard working people in this country..and then for Kenny to stand up and defend his decisions is unbelieveable..I would love to bring an impartial person in from abroad and ask them what they make of these allowences!

• censored 19/09/12 #

The PS/govt is actually one of the worst employers around. They treat their staff in a way that would not be tolerated in the private sector. It’s no surprise that it’s such a hostile environment with both “sides” basically out for all they can get. These allowances are crazy (can you imagine what it costs to figure out payroll?) but it’s not just the workers in the PS that are the problem.

• I think there should be a penis allowance for male members of the civil service and a vagina allowance for female members, its only fair.

• Some of these allowences are crazy:
    Franking Machine Allowence
    Machine Duties – using a photocopier
    Paperkeeper Allowence
    Uniform Cleaning Allowence
    Its a wonder that theres not a toilet paper allowence
    FFS people come on!

• For the life of me i dunno how this man is our leader, his arrogance is appalling ! “See you on Sunday” I’m definitely routing for Donegal now .

• Bell Enda = Assh0le

• I’ve come to the conclusion that Enda Kenny actually works hard at being a completely useless leader. He’s just shite at his job, it’s that simple. But deep down I’m sure he knows that.

• Ireland: Death by (lack) of a thousand cuts.

• From the photo it looks like Edna’s done a bit of fishing in his time

• Next election needs a Fine Gael majority led government with no choice but to join forces with Sinn Fein as Labour would be wiped out, that would put the cat among the pigeons and would hopefully lead to some equitable decisions among government and may even lead to a collapse of the political system, to leave it in need of a complete reformation, not ideal but a damn sight better than what’s going on at the moment.

• Some of the allowances are mad like the second opinion allowance

• Flippin heck, at the rate that Wexford TDs are shooting themselves in the foot ala Mick Wallace and Brendan Howlin, the choices on the next ballot paper will be slim pickings

• Believe me i hate fine gael. But i can just see everyone here voting fianna fail the next time and then complaining about change

• Everyone on here by the looks of things hate Enda Kenny, but when we had a chance to boycott Enda Kenny and the household charge we paid up like good Little bitches, so instead of moaning stand up and do something about it, me included!

• iBob101 19/09/12 #

“less than a fifth”? Buy a new calculator – 3.5m is less than one-twentieth of 75m.

• Mental translation fail. ‘Less than 5 per cent’ is what I’d meant to say!

• iBob101 19/09/12 #

On a more serious note, I just can’t believe the lack of bottle this government has. Pathetic is the only word to describe this inability to tackle real change. I remember a previous government wasted about €25m on PPARS which was a software payroll program that never worked because there were too many pay grades and allowances. In the private sector the allowances would all be abolished, everyone’s wages would be increased to deal with core-earnings issues, and an off-the shelf payroll package costing a few grand could calculate everything. But the real issue here is that the complexity of the system makes it hard to change. Also – I’d love to know how many of these allowances are taxable? In the private sector everything is taxable. Also, when we’re told that public sector workers only earn the same or less than those abroad, are all these allowances included in the comparison I wonder?

• Meant “to” be scrapped.

Add New Comment