TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

More gardaí vote in favour of industrial action, no confidence in Shatter

Meetings of the Garda Representative Association in parts of Dublin, Kerry, Cork and Tipperary took place last night.

Image: Photocall Ireland (File)

GARDAÍ IN TIPPERARY, the north Dublin Metropolitan Region, Cork North and in one Kerry district have voted in favour of industrial action and no confidence in the Minister for Justice and the Garda Commissioner.

Around 200 gardaí in Tipperary passed a motion of no confidence in Alan Shatter and Commissioner Martin Callinan at meetings of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) last night.

Officers also voted in favour of industrial action which could include options such as so-called ‘blue flu’- calling in sick en-masse- and work-to-rule.

Similar votes were passed at meetings of the GRA in the north Dublin Metropolitan Region, Cork North and in one Kerry district last night amid growing unrest among rank-and-file gardaí.

The votes come on foot of similar motions being passed at GRA meetings in Cork city and Limerick last week.

GRA president John Parker said that some of his members are holding meetings at district level, such as in Kerry last night, while others are holding meetings of “four, six or eight” districts where “heated” views are being exchanged.

He said that “all forms of industrial action” including ‘blue flu’ and work-to-rule are being considered but could not say how many officers in total have now voted in favour of the proposed motions.

But he told TheJournal.ie that the recent votes at meetings were not “posturing” but instead the GRA establishing its position similar to the government tabling its proposals as it seeks to negotiate a successor to the Croke Park Agreement on public sector pay and reform.

“It’s better to get a sense of feelings on the ground at this point in time rather than lulling the government into fall sense of security. At least our cards are on the table,” Parker said.

He said that those attending the meetings were “normal, sensible” people who believe that the Minister “hasn’t listened as regards resources”.

Read: Gardaí across the country voting in favour of industrial action

Read Gardaí in Cork City may opt for ‘blue flu’

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• I wonder will minister shatter still maintain that ” morale is not an issue within the Gardai”??

• I think the guards and all of the frontline workers do a great job and the government should be protecting such essential services.

• If we’re to abandon cuts in the Justice Department then cuts can only fall elsewhere on Health, Education, Social Welfare or another government department. Unless we want to raise more taxes and I know none of us are in favour of that.

• @david

There was a 90+ million overspend in social welfare last year. Your government are trying to take 60 million from frontline workers this year. Do the maths.

• I hope the government stands-up to the unions. The majority of the public support cuts to spending. Otherwise, it’s higher taxes.

• Speak for yourself David. I’m hugely in favour of raising taxes for the high earners. That’s what’s really wrong with this country. Someone on €200,000 per year is paying the same rate of tax as someone on a fifth of that is criminal, and only goes to show what this government stand for.

• Do people not understand that putting this PRIVATE bank debt unto the people is illegal and we don’t have to pay for it??? Iceland proved this through the courts. Michael Noonan even admits here that it’s illegal. I’ll pay my own debt but I’m not paying anyone eles’s. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x59Ksq0A6o

• your right. dead right why are we as a people paying for the stupidity of banks and lenders. Any other country outside the eurozone would lets banks go belly up and comeout the other side doing well. As you said Iceland is the perfect example

• While their marginal tax rates are the same at ~50% (which I’d say is high enough), the effective tax rate is higher for the person earning €200k vs someone earning €40k. Also their total tax bill will be significantly higher.

• The problem David is that taxes are set to increase because property tax and water charges are in effect a tax on employment – just a different name. These taxes are extremely dangerous because they target people who spend into a pillar economy (the local economy). Cutting spending should be the prime focus so that we can become a low-tax low-spend economy.

I realize cuts are sensitive but people would support them if for example you introduced a wealth tax to coincide with cuts (this would reassure many).

• 100% behind the FRONTLINE Gardai on this. Shatter must be a bit thick if he thinks he can railroad this rubbish without a fight.

• And they’re well-paid.

• B 12/02/13 #

Regonald I see you follow Gerry Adams and Fr Sean Healy on Twitter….just a wild guess here but i’d say your a wanna be provo but, seeing as you have probably lived on welfare all your life and scrounged off decent hard working people, you are too lazy to actually do anything but be a keyboard warrior.

BTW if your welfare payments enable you to pay for internat access then you are being given too much money.

• @regonald

You’re definitely the most repetitive troller on this site. How do you find the time to leave the same type of comment on almost every article?

• Gwan lads N lassies show this government that there is a back bone in the polis force!!!! seein that there seems to be no back bone in the general public when it comes to protest about household, water,bogs,wasteful use of tax payers money ,GET THIS LOT OUT OF OFFICE,

• Fair play, they’ve taken too many cuts to wages, services and staff! I’ll support them all the way!

• Garda are leading the way in sending a clear message to government that talks on further pay cuts by trade unions are a non runner with their members about time the other union’s realised this

• The Supernintendos won’t be hit!

• Fair play to the Gardai. Not there biggest fan always let me down when I needed them. But Garda morale at rock bottom doesnt help.

• @Miller, you’re missing the point. The fact is many Gardaí have already left to the private sector and they have been snapped up by the insurance, banking and private security sectors due to their training and experience. A trained and experienced Garda is a very valuable asset to certain private companies. The point is that nobody wants to see any further brain drain from the force as a result of these further proposed cuts. These people want to serve their public. They are highly trained professional police and should be remunerated properly for the dangerous job they do.

• Yeah, they are moving to the private sector AFTER retirement at the ridiculous young age of 50 or 51 with guaranteed pensions and young/healthy enough to work in the private sector for many years. You Gardai have a good deal much better than those who have lost their jobs in the last few years and others who have no certainty in their futures. So I suggest you and your ilk shut up and stop moaning. No gardai is leaving pre retirement to work in the private sector bar a feww young ones early 20′s who decided it wasn’t for them

• Gardaí can retire after 30 years service. In the vast majority of cases that’s 30 years of a three-relief system that saw them working all around the clock and for seven days straight at least once every month. That’s 30 years of missing weekends & public holidays, including Christmas, on a regular basis because of work. It’s a good pension, but it’s hard-earned. When a Garda, Prison Officer or other frontline worker comes on here and talks about the regular abuse, assaults & traumatic incidents they encounter there’s nearly always some detractors saying ‘you knew that going into the job’; that’s true but they also knew there was a pension at the end of it. If the pay & conditions get watered down any further, anyone who’s in a position to go elsewhere will do so; I know a good few who have applied for the Western Australian police & two who’ve already gone. It’s also worth pointing out that anyone working on past their 30, and there’s many, still pay pension contributions but do not see any greater benefit, there’s also no entitlement to the state old age pension either.

• @Miller, the Gardaí leaving their posts to the private sector are not all retirees as you suggest and not necessarily all leaving on pension either. There are many leaving to far more lucrative contracts in the private sector before they reach retirement. But on the point of those more senior Gardaí retiring from the force to take up private work. The force, as reported widely, has lost some of the most experienced and seasoned investigators and police minds in recent years. They retired prematurely from the force due to the conditions they found themselves in and as a result of the continued Govt. attack on pay and conditions. Now imagine for one moment a private sector company loosing its most experienced managers/staff at once, it would undoubtedly cause a serious blow to any business. The Gardaí are no different. Furthermore, several other police forces, Australian and Canadian, are actively pursuing Gardaí of 3-7 years service to join their ranks, with the offer of very attractive remuneration packages, such is the high esteem in which they hold well trained Gardaí. These people do not want to leave, but will if pushed further. Gardaí are well aware of the difficulties faced by private sector workers and their families who have sadly lost employment, but this should not be used as a stick to beat Gardaí who are entitled to fight for their own terms and conditions. The Govt. has rather cynically created a public/private sector divide to deflect from their own inabilities.

• I wonder how many Garda stations Shatter could close during the blue flu?

• joejoeg 12/02/13 #

Fair play to the Garda it’s obvious they’ve no confidence in Alan shatter in particular and the rest of them they’ve destroyed morale in the Garda.

• Reginald Thompson- ur views are deluded and lets say politically motivated with ur Sinn Fein views and twitter following
    U speak on a subject u no nothing about and just troll ur comments bit like let’s say Jerry Adams
    And before u go on the why don’t u use ur real name – really I can’t or just don’t want to – but also maybe u should use ur real name – if u no what I mean

• He’s nothing but a troll.
      He tries to troll comments as a right wing, tea party, let’s cut all government spending, cut big government type poster.
      Yet, his twitter account (according to others, I wouldn’t be arsed looking) follows all the left wing politicians. Not to mention him calling the protesters in Tallaght, his ‘Brothers’.
      If he’s for real, he hasn’t a clue which side of the political compass he wants to be on. He’s a cross between a PD and a ULA.
      No one should reply to him. Just ignore.

• @rodrigo

gardai are not “afraid” to walk out as you so stupidly put it. They are still there because they worked hard to be where they are now. They (for the most) are in a job that they are passionate about. What good is walking out going to to do? Of course they are going to fight to keep their wages instead of walking out. If they all walked, there would be no policing service you fool.

• We all know Reginold is a troll so from here on lets ignore the fool.

• Gated Jewish community? What on earth are you on about?

• Don’t get me wrong with this question, I don’t believe the Guards should have any more pay cuts, but wasn’t there an issue a few years ago, where it was found to be illegal to propose a ballot for any for of industrial action by the guards?
    That the person that proposed such a ballot, could be prosecuted?
    Does anyone else remember this? It was just before the CPA was agreed. Or is my mind playing tricks?

• Shatter is the worst minister for justice ever

• A stand needs to be taken,as a bottom-wrung public service worker I know that I can’t give anymore from my wage packet. But (and don’t kill me for this),wouldn’t it be better for the GRA to be at the negotiation table with all the other unions to ensure that theses cuts do not get implemented? By sitting on the side-line,they are muting their views/suggestions to the government…

• It would be the best scenario to have the GRA at the talks table. But kenny has issues a statement saying basically if the proposed cuts arnt achieved, the govt will legislate to bring in the cuts necessary… Talk about having a gun put to your head!

• Graham the GRA is not a union and has no voice or seat at the table with the other larger unions at the negotiations table.
      The proposed cuts put forward by government aimed to cut pay and allowances for all gardai below the rank of Superintendent, while keeping the politically appointed ranks (superintendent and upwards) protected. Any pay cuts are unacceptable but pay cuts that target the lower paid while protecting the higher paid are disgusting.

• The GRA were never “at the table” they were invited to witness talks as far as I know and decided to leave even that when told we’d be taking these cuts or they’d be legislated for.

This government doesn’t want a negotiation, they want loyal little lap dogs to sit and take the pain and we can’t afford to take anymore pain.

• Jenny Templemore college used to intern Jewish prisoners during world war 1 . I think that is what the comment is about

• for donkeys the guards have looked the other way when it has come to white collar crime E,T,C, fraud squad and the guards that are attached to ODCE ,i know of this because i know of two brothers who wanted to give evidence against an individual who was attached to ANGLO and their response was what do you expect us to do about it ,their job was one of the brothers response ,so now they are crying about facing the axe as well when these cuts that they and every one else faces are a direct link to white collar crime,go blame your colleagues for letting white collar crime turn in to the animal it has become its like a cancer on this island.

• Do you have documented evidence of this or is it just the old ‘someone I know’ chestnut? Otherwise its called hearsay my friend. Did the people you allegedly ‘know’ make a formal complaint through the Garda Complaints board or Ombudsman? Anyone can say anything, it doesn’t make it so.

• JACK ASS i was in their company when they were in ODCE the first time and we were looked at like we were criminals from the individuals who were there ,the second time i was not there so i can only go with what i was told ,one of these individuals said to these men what do you expect us to do and his responce was your job, now i know a good deal of the back ground to this case and i cannot mention names or things that happened but i will mention one of them is in the anglo bunker ,also this is my opinion ODCE fraud squad regulators and inland revenue the judiciary and its foot soldiers the media plus the goverment are all working to keep the truth from the people as to the level of criminal activity that took place in ANGLO IRISH this in my opinion is the level of the grip organised white collar crime has in this country ,also with nobody in jail and no bank investigation in to our banking collapse , if they truth ever manages to get out with what took place in that bank and to think it will cost the people 60 billion they will be plenty of work in the constuction sector building prisons.

• Dermot. The Garda take instruction from the DPP. If he says no, they only waste time investigating. So of you want to blame someone blame the Attorney General.

• @Dermot Purcell. Dermot, with every respect to you, are you that naive? Do you really and truly believe that? Talk to your TD will you and raise that issue. The problem with white collar crime is that there is utterly insufficient legislation with which to deal with such crime and our justice system is such that trying to prosecute such crimes is fraught with a minefield legal loopholes. We need reform in this country to tackle white collar crime and I respectfully submit that your blaming the Gardaí for this is simplistic to say the least. Give the Gardaí the tools and resources to properly tackle white colar crime and they most certainly will.

• Jayzus their only Irish peace keepers not the bloody CIA! The government control every aspect of the country and nobody else!

• If the gardai are not happy with their pay and deferred pensions, why don’t they try the private sector………bet there will be no takers

Add New Comment