TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

AGSI say Shatter is “disconnected from reality of people’s lives”

Minister Shatter had called for “rational engagement” from the AGSI on the Croke Park extension talks.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE ASSOCIATION OF Garda Sergeants and Inspectors has said it won’t return to the Croke Park extension talks unless “rational proposals” are offered.

It also responded to comments by Justice Minister Alan Shatter, calling his latest comments “diversionary” and a “clear indication he is disconnected from the reality of people’s lives on the ground”.

Rational engagement

Minister Shatter had called on the garda associations to take part in “rational engagement” and return to the extension talks. AGSI General Secretary John Redmond said that “a continual reduction in Garda resources coupled with Government’s intention to cut pay is detrimental to service delivery to the public”.

Redmond also refuted suggestions that his members may be in danger of losing public support.

A deep fear is enveloping our members and their families against the backdrop of further pay cuts. I am now calling on Minister Shatter to address those concerns and to reconsider the savage nature of the cuts proposed.

Redmond said they will not be returning to the talks “today, tonight or tomorrow unless the government remove from the table the proposed cuts to our members’ pay and until we hear some rational proposals for frontline members”.

The AGSI said Minister Shatter’s “inability to connect with their members” is sparking anger and upset. They say they are expecting large numbers to travel to Dublin on Monday evening for the 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance rally, in the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght at 6pm.

Unfortunate

Speaking at the garda reserve graduation earlier today, Minister Shatter said that “it is unfortunate that members of An Garda Síochána feel they are being targeted in the context of talks” and that “expressions of anger and personal abuse or condemnation are no substitute for rational engagement”.

I am urging the Garda representative bodies to re-engage in the talks process as it is only by doing so that they can influence the outcome of the talks.  I acknowledge that members of the Force have genuine concerns but these can only be fully considered and properly addressed by participation in the talks process.

He also said he fully supports the Garda Commissioner and those working with him. “It is my role in Government to be supportive in the context of ensuring as best as I can in the difficult financial circumstances confronting the State that the maximum possible resources are available to An Garda Síochána to facilitate its important work,” said Shatter.

For 2013, €1.4 billion has been allocated for An Garda Síochána and it is of crucial importance that the resources available are efficiently used both in the interests of the Force and in the interests of the general public.  Insofar as this requires modernisation and change based on a sound operational assessment, it is important that change is embraced and not resisted.

Read: Garda Commissioner to meet GRA as plans for industrial action get underway>

Read: Garda body passes motion of no confidence in Shatter>

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• I’m just glad we have enough money to pay Anglo. Sure what could be more important than that? Fighting crime? Don’t be silly.

• Disconnected from the real world this man and his buddies well said the GRA

• Structural reforms will pay-off in the long-term. Many Unions don’t realize that.

• Do you honestly believe that what is happening to the Garda force right now is a part of a measured structural reform? You must be joking. Closing stations, encouraging retirements, incentivising long term career breaks, no recruitment, cutting Garda wages. These policies are not even related to structural reform. That nonsense type of spin is typical of this government. Please don’t try and insult our intelligence with that sort if comment.

• I don’t work support this government. I am a social democrat.

• I don’t:

*Support this gov’t.
      *Work for this gov’t.

• Fair enough. But the current government would like the public to believe that the continued erosion of an adequate Garda service to the public is part of a structural reform, when there has in fact been no reform other than a change of Garda roster. There is no master plan here. They cannot reduce the Garda budget quick enough as far as they are concerned and this is their overriding concern, not the safety of the country’s citizens. I cannot believe that Shatter and the current Garda commissioner have the absolute gall to say that the service to the public will not be affected by dwindling Garda numbers. It is an absolute lie.

• The Guards, nurse’s and firefighters have my full support …
    They do the same job consistently whether the private sector is going through a boom or a recession…
    They get the same pay irrespective !!!
    To cut these particular services pay is just disrespectful….
    “Shatter….. The Gaurds , nurses and firefighters do not work for the government” , ” they work for the people of this country , and the vast majority of people are behind them”!

• It’s disgraceful that the government are treating Gardai in this manner. Now that their overtime has been slashed most Guards are taking home a pittance. These people put themselves on the line every day to keep the public safe from violent thugs and opportunistic criminals. They should at least not have to worry about whether they can pay their mortgages. Fair is fair.

• its not just shatter thats disconnected. every single one of em in the dail hasnt a clue about ordinary people

• FG/Lab are disconnected from Irish citizens. The reality. I got a letter in door telling me about upcoming Water company. Justifying upcoming costs to for new tax. Where do these numbskulls think folks can muster up more cash? Seriously?

• Shatter , remove your treat to premium pay, nights weekends etc and let’s treat the gardai with some respect
    Frontline do not deserve greater pay cuts than the rest,

• I can’t believe how much all the FG crowd are disconnected from the live,s of the ordinary people

• Duewest 15/02/13 #

@Charles. Totally agree. Shatter is a muppet.

• People need to get a grip…
    It’s not like teaching kids there abc’s here , they are the first to accidents, the first to murder scenes…the first port of call for anyone in need of help…
    Since when did they get trained to deal with loose horses etc endangering traffic, or marriage counsellors to drunken apes on Xmas Day or Good Friday…They are completely under resourced!!!
    They go above and beyond…and shit is there thanks!!
    If the guards down tools lets see how fast people change there attitudes and how quickly our so called “good society” falls to pieces…..

• I agree with you completely ….but there are two issues with the system as i see it !
      Every time they catch a criminal and bring them before the court they have to brace themselves for the chance (a good one ) that said “suspect” is going to give them the fingers after a technicality or a suspended (100th) sentence ! ..the burden of proof and technicalities are making a mockery of the gardai and have to have a serious effect on their motivation …a man can only bang his head against the wall for so long !
      The reports that 50,000 people have had driving offences squashed suggests that there is one law for the “connected ” and one for those who are “foolish” enough to respect the law and “take their medicene” ……
      I think it’s a ridiculous situation where a criminal is caught red-handed and they have the exact same rights as their victims …… after the crime ! How many times have we seen the book of evidence torn to shreds because a guard has put the wrong date down …… oh the date was wrong …. we have a technicality …….. but we have a video of the criminal shooting the victim, we have a D.N.A. test that proves the criminal was at the scene , we have a zillion witnesses …………….. and the judge says the 14th was a friday not a saturday case dismissed !….
      not the guards fault …. but all their work fired out the window and a criminal walks free and goes home and tells all that will hear them that the law is a joke and thus encourage more impressionable people to extend the crime wave !

• I fully support the Gardai on this, they can’t cope with crime levels as it is, now their expected to work for less that a lot of them would get if they were on the dole.
    Shatter might as well roll out the welcome mat to every criminal in Europe who’ll be safe in the knowledge that the chance of being caught is about the same as them winning the euro millions lottery twice.

• Shatter will not support the Garda as he is on the front benches and all on the front benches must support only one thing cuts, cuts and more cuts . The garda are right to stand up for themselves and as soon as the rest of the country wise up the better, We have to stand up to the bullies and stop the cuts that are destroying the country.

• is there any research showing that what the minister is doing is best practice and right?

• Politicians and priests preach, yet they don’t practice and make the rules to suit themselves. Ireland 2013!

• I think it’s “elitist thinking”…….. they have a sense of entitlement ….if you think about it they both get money for talking and waving their hands a lot ….like a magician on barbituates ! ….There was a guy in germany who was mad into the occult who had a similar style of rhetoric “do as i say not as I do ”
      Very dangerous people ….and they are not confined to those two classes you have mentioned either!
      Let them eat cake and if there no cake throw a bit of horse in a burger and put it in a box that they trust ! …sure what do the ordinary people know and what are they going to do about it !

• Is this unprecedented?
    Can’t find another example of the Gardaí actively undermining the Minister of Justice like this. Has it ever happened before? Can any history buffs tell me?

• Perhaps if you look at the civic guard mutiny of 1922, admittedly that was significantly more serious but the attitude towards this minister is unprecedented (rightly so), he is drawing similarities To previous minor disputes with D. Ahern and M Mc Dowell in an attempt to dilute the seriousness of the situation .

• The Civic Guard mutiny of 1922, which lead to Commissioner Michael Staines being replaced by Eoin O’Duffy, the first commissioner of the Garda Siochana…who, ironically was himself removed for encouraging a coup e’tat by what would become Fine Gael.

• Fianna Fail would probably do the same, considering the dire state of public finances.

• im sorry for the gang/gardai writers herein that think they have power beyond that of people power, the commissioner, the minister and their job as in guardians of the peace……….If you cant take the heat in the kitchen get out ,theres lots of young men and women looking for a job. The country is broke. You had at hand the right to investigate what was going on but chose to go with greed over justice just look at how long it taking to investigate the bankers. I honour the good gardai that do their duty without fear ,favour ,malice,or ill will, may GOD bless them

• Ah for God’s sake Harry. Enough is enough surely. I certainly do not mean any insult to you but your posts on Garda matters here are just plain bizarre and meandering at this stage. Are you as vocal concerning other matters and articles on The Journal?

• Scarr 15/02/13 #

@harry – calm down, dear.

• Every village has to have one :) welcome harry

• Cork 15/02/13 #

Organisations such as these stand for more than they know, for the likes of the Irish soldier, sailor and air crew of The Defence Forces our Representative Association (PDFORA) stand in the background allowing members without a voice.

Break the silence Frontline 24/7!

• The Garda commissioner has lost touch with his force. He hasn’t stood up for the force once and should resign with immediate affect. Also Gardai have been broke for years. People comment on them having loads of cash haven’t a clue. There are plenty of other ways to cut expenses like privatising RTE which costs the state hundreds of millions per annum !!!!!!!!!Hands off frontline

• I’m sympathetic, and support the Gardai on this.

That said, many guards are sadly disconnected from reality. They don’t understand that they have a relatively high paid job and a secure pension, which many others in our society sadly do not have. We all know their job is a tough one but bringing that up in this context is just an attempt to pluck at the heart strings. Many others have tough jobs too. There was a garda sargeant quoted in the independent this week saying he needs (QUOTE): 24k a year for private schools for his children, and 30k for his mortgage.

Explanation please.

• I don’t think Gardai are disconnected from reality. They see the erosion of pay for hours worked outside the norms as difficult to take. All these cuts are going to hit them hard. Why? Because it appears the cuts are targeted on unsocial hours. 26 Sundays and 39 Saturdays per year is pretty substantial for nothing extra if Cuts happen as proposed. I can see the argument in overall perspective. However I can see many Gardai opting not to work Saturdays and Sundays going forward.

• I agree the targeting of unsocial hours seems stupid. The tactics for delivering savings seem pretty idiotic on a human level. Why would anyone work these hours for no pay or low pay?

• censored 16/02/13 #

But no comments on the points above. Ok, well I will draw my conclusion.

• Fair play ASGI, People are behind you, and will follow your example.

• In the current circumstances are Garda Reservists unwitting unpaid yellow packs or naive pawns .?

• Pawns! !!. I mean they have good intentions but that got totally abused but to new to see it. Work for free really but at some time they can’t be out on their own in case something happens.

Some do it and keep doing it as they eventually want to join the full time force but they are really just being used to make it look like there are more guards then there actually is.

• Some of the negative comments about Gardai are disgraceful. They are under paid and still bend over backwards for peoplr in their time of need. Gardai are asked to be firefighters, council men, paramedics, social workers, baby sitters even animal control experts. They go beyond the call of duty. And still some people have nothing good to say about them only, cut cut cut. Fair play to all pro Gardai comments. It’s not like they are well paid they’re far from it.

• Damien. You’re completely deluded. Everyone knows that a big portion of Guards are dodgy. Hey just look at what they did to Clare Daly for example. What happened to the penalty points investigation? Not a word about it. Sorry, but a lot of these guys think they’re outside the laws that they’re supposed to enforce upon the rest of us. I’ve had the misfortune to seek their assistance three times in my life, and was on each occasion completely amazed by there total lack of interest and downright arrogance. In fairness I have heard stories to the contrary, but they’d be quite rare.

• @ Damien, allocating 4 Guards to arrest and bring to prison a woman who failed to pay a minor fine, failing to execute warrants for arrest of violent criminals, assault of suspects, investment of businesses and commercial interests to the detriment of their primary duty, favouritism in expunging penalty points, rudeness to members of the public , excessive aggressiveness and violence in response to civil protests, allocating substantial resources to minor offences , inefficiency, unauthorised access to Pulse, selling information to the media and abuse of power.

An Garda Siochana have security of employment, excellent advancement prospects, excellent early retirement opportunity, excellent pension, excellent employment prospects following early retirement options. Look at the Morris Tribunal Reports, Abbeylara etc, etc.

• What a lot of bullcrap :)

First you give out about guards enforcing COURT orders. So if a woman gets fined for drugs and does not pay she should not go to jail? Besides if you have issue with justice system its the courts not your police that enforce it.

Then you complain about guards not arresting people on warrants.

Lies. Warrants are executed. I’ve not seen 3 guards taking woman but two is the norm. Otherwise you would have journal reporting on women claiming she was sexually assaulted by garda. So ya know everything needs to be verified :)

But seriously all you say is biased and completely inaccurate. Its alright not toknow everything sure who does. But ya know when you’re completely ignorant of how things actually work you should not comment because….. well because just makes you look silly :)

Best to keep mouth closed

• It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.

• @ YouDon’tKnowMe, sadly the late Michael Creighton was murdered in Mullingar by a a violent young criminal for whom an arrest warrant was persistently not executed despite many people in Mullingar complaining about the thug being out and about in Mullingar. There has been a significant problem with persons guilty of offences against the person not being arrested.

I think that the Guards are often guilty of overkill. Older women who have not paid their television licences should not be an arrest priority. The problem is discriminatory enforcement.

I appreciate that criticism of an Garda Siochana is highly provocative and even extremely dangerous to the person expressing the criticism. I can see that reality from your response.

I see that you did not address the substance of my criticism. For example, if you park the invective for a moment, do you accept or reject the conclusions of the Morris Tribunal or that poor man in Donegal, the accountant and nightclub owner who was falsely set up and wrongly convicted by false evidence of an Garda Siochana. An Garda Siochana is seriously dysfunctional and inefficient. I appreciate this is a minority view.

I remember the force denying that there was any evidence of a sexual trafficking problem in Ireland when it was a massive problem.

No institution, force or authority is perfect. The Courts and the legal system are defective in many respects and need reform. An Garda Siochana’s loss of files on child sexual abuse by clerics was a scandal, the collusion of an Garda in apprehending escapees from the Magdalene Laundries even though they were falsely imprisooned was wrong.

The interesting thing is that the many honest and conscientious members of an Garda Siochana, likely the majority, accept that there is a significant problem in the force. It is the absolute deniers who worry me. It causes me to wonder why they are so strident in their denials. It is the deniers who seek to conceal. Why?

No body or group in Ireland deserves respect or devotion. A hard eye is required on all institutions and power groups in Ireland.

As for the threaten to withdraw services I am struck by the irony that the enforcers of the law propose to break the law.

• if i may peter…

Warrants are funny things sure person might be living in such a spot but warrant might go to old address and have to be forwarded back through the garda lines of communication. Wit the amount of paper involved it can take weeks to be honest and sure we have systems to tell us there is warrant but they are not always accurate, being that the warrant may have been dealt with and not written off on system so thats why its always best practice when not sure to wait for the actual warrent to turn up or you could arrest the man and find out its already been dealt with and tax payer has to pay for wrongful arrest.

Guards dont imprison little old ladies. judges do that. If guards receive a warrant over a fine the person is given every chance to pay and if they refuse too sure the court order has to be complied with and they will be taken away best day that suits them.

your going way off topic with donegal but i’ll address it anyway. What was result?? those bad eggs ended up in jail. Your completely wrong with guards selling information from our systems a scurrilous remark and unfounded. you will of course have a bad egg that would but EVERYTHING on our system is recorded if someone is stupid enough to do that it will be tracked back within moments. Also you claim about guards just checking things for the hell of it guards must be able to access information on everybody but when we do we must enter reasons for doing so. So i can tell you the information on system is safe.

your wrong on the priority of warrants also. Bench warrants are the highest. As for lost files. Hmmm, yeah that could be done better. a year in a garda district would more then fill your living room with paper its old system just stored hardcopy and sure things would get lost. We all see the likes of FBI have massive storage warehouses and yeah thats whats not done here but should be. No files would just go missing on purpose from storeage and good reason why is you would be doing amazingly well to find the damn things :)

Magdalene Laundries well thats just indictment of irish society. guards back then were tasked with returning the girls if there was court order saying they had to be there so really i guess the blame should fall on the Dept of justice and courts for sending these girls there.

oh by the way not going to go into abbeylara much only to say that independent review by the FBI was critical the guards for not shooting sooner. but people can make up own minds on that one. to me its black and white no grey really.

Abuse of power is mostly used by those we arrest and its pile of poo really. there is no abuse of power guards think very clearly before any action. sure if someone is mouthy to a guard the will be surprised that the guard can give excellent replies.

Like i said of course you will get bad eggs same with everything but if we know our own are bad we go after them twice as hard. I dont think some (most people do) see how lucky they are having the Garda police force. Id go as far to say its the best force in the world, unarmed and made of the people for the people not a military style force like every other in the world and probably the most friendly. Shame those who administer such a great force seek to destroy it.

anyway your entitled to your views of course :) but i strongly disagree

• Too much time on your hands Stewie???

• apparently so

• Ah penalty points not gardai rank and file get your facts straight only super up can do that and this proposal doesnt affect their pay

• No advancement prospects at all unless willing to tow line get a grip I seem to remember a time when people ie the educated populace laughed at those who joined during the ‘celtic tiger’ now gardai should be grateful why didn’t everyone who is commenting here join then?

• joe your right with that one. a common insult from toerags working on building sites was that i earn way more then you in good times. Good times were average for guards, sure i earned more then but i was out each day on any crime operations. they paid guards overtime to put on extra operations and from management point of view it was always money well spent and got results.

its so very different now. one big reason crime has not gone nuts is we have exported alot of our young so not as many to cause hassle on a weekend. i hope the minister sees the folly of his ways i really dont want to do protests if they can be avoided but he has backed the force into corner.

• @Harry. Jesus man, every single article I’ve been reading lately you have an opinion on! You have an extremely strong dislike of An Garda Síochána. Can I ask why this is so?
    …Troll.

• He should be disconnected – from his cushy lifestyle and his massive expenses and made to go on the beat for a couple of weeks to see how the other half live.

• In a way Im glad this is happening. If enough of us grow a pair then with the Gardai on our side we can throw this regime out into the streets.

Wishful thinking, but more likely if the law enforcement are on our side.

Yes, I know how the above reads…

• For all the Garda bashers, just worked it out there. 6 years service and I’m earning €7.90 per hour all included

• Then Andy you have a great legal case. Youre way under the minimum wage!!!

• cop on and stop lying, after 5 years, you are earning e550 net per week, factor in your monthly big cheque and all your voluntary deductions, credit union, medical insurance etc…any guard who claims to earn less than e500 net per week is either lying or just unable to perform simple arithmetic

• Pablo 16/02/13 #

Reckon its after voluntary deductions have also come out if OP is being honest. Having said that, if after all my insurance etc was taken at base and I was risking my life, at any stage to the detriment of my family, even for one day a year, anything below €15 an hour would be an insult. Fair play to the coppers. They won’t get another chance in their generation to stand up for their pay.

• Good man dan, living the dream eh. Shame there isn’t more heroes like you out there. Sure you’d probably work for nothing.

• Actually it’s none of your business are private sector workers constantly asked what they are earning. I have a house one mortgage bills associated with that and we as a family re struggling if the proposes cuts are implemented I will consider leaving, however it’s not in my nature not to work its not how I was brought up but please I’m sick of listening to crap why isn’t everyone supporting each other against the boys club of a country that we find ourselves in? I hate that if I arrest someone he she will get bail commit more crime maybe get a sentence of let’s say three years out in ten months do u think that helps morale. Crime is a problem and having a minister that undermines its significance is a big problem and doesn’t want to tackle it but cut cut cut

• Shatter is the worst minister for justice ever, pompous arrogant and a perma tan

• Pardon me the AGSI

• Lads want truth, there it is. 60 hours per week, proposed to go to 66 for no extra pay

• You don’t work 60 hours a week. You work 60 hours in every ten day period. You work on average just over 42 hours a week. Will you get off this thing talking rubbish and making an eejit of yourself.

• It’s 6 ten hour shifts before a day off. That’s 60 hours ‘on’ in a working week. How many do you do before your day off. Muppet.

• @ Alan Harte. Research your facts there pal. Gardai work six consecutive ten hour days followed by four days off. 42 hours a week? Tis you who is making the eejit out of yourself.

• How many days are in a week? Ten? No. Average out the amount of hours worked per week over a year if you can and then tell me who’s an eejit.

• censored 16/02/13 #

Just using your own figures, that is 60 hours over 14 days. Which you have to admit looks pretty good. Did you post the wrong figures?

Come on guys, you need to stop posting stupid stuff like this and then complaining. It makes *you* all look like eejits.

• The FG mantra is well known at this stage…you cannot tax your way out of a recession. Well…correct me if I’m wrong but a pay cut is far worse than any tax increase. AGSI amongst others have walked out of the Croke park talks and I fully support them as I do any union who takes a stand against this poxy govt. We need a general strike.

• Tús Nua 17/02/13 #

Whilst crime is on the rise it makes no sense to close Garda stations and cut salaries this goverment is a disgrace

• Please dont remove my comments.Do you not think it is important for people to know that our Articles 47 & 48 were removed from our constitution.Its because these articles were removed,that has us all where we are today.If these articles were in place,then the frontline services would only have to collect 75,000 signatures to overturn any pay cuts.The bondholder payout would never had happened if these articles were in place,as the final say would have had to be ours.Direct democracy ireland are looking at ways to get these articles rightfully put back into our constitution.directdemocracy.ie. have a look how it works it will be a much fairer society for all.

• FFS. Are they still moaning? It’s time they woke up and faced reality. Why do guards think they’re different to the rest of us? Man up lads. We’ve all been broke for years. Come in and join us. There’s plenty room.

• AGSI is detached from reality. Won’t be much public sympathy for “Blue Flu”.

• Cant understand how John Redmond is still leading the AGSI after his totally inappropriate soundbite a couple of weeks back. They should have sacked him

• please no more gang insults from gardai writers on this page ………………… your commissioner has spoken

• We need a direct democracy like Switzerland.Then the guards can gather 75,000 signatures to overturn any law imposed on them.directdemocracy.ie

• The problem as I see it is this…. An GArda Siochana are seen by a large segment of our society as having become Corporate Enforcement Guards instead of Civic Keepers of the Peace. When you see behaviour like the youtube videos of the Shell to Sea protesters being beaten, Tricolours being ripped from the hands of marchers at the ICTU march, protesters having their heads smashed into walls for disrupting council meetings, it stands to reason that the public are slow to support them. It is difficult to respect an organisation that repeatedly fails to show any respect for the citizenre of Ireland. And I state, ORGANISATION, not individual Gardai. There are many in the force who are sick of what goes on too.

Add New Comment