TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Gender quotas welcome – but ‘token’ women candidates won’t work

Female politicians relate their personal experiences of running for office in a male-dominated political world at Dublin Castle conference.

Some past and present female members of the Oireachtas on the 90th anniversary (in 2008) of women's right to vote in Ireland
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

A CONFERENCE HELD yesterday in Dublin called How To Elect More Women? heard that proposed gender quotas in general elections are not enough to get women into power.

Senator Averil Power told the conference that while the proposal to fine any party which doesn’t ensure at least 30 per cent of its general election candidates is welcome, there is a danger that “token” female candidates could be put forward in areas in which they have no chance of winning. She said:

I think we could all be worse off it it is not taken seriously and women are put forward who don’t have a chance of winning (because of the constituencies in which they are run).

The Fianna Fáil senator spoke in a section of the conference in which a number of female politicians from across several parties related their experience of coming to power – and some of the difficulties they had getting there. Power also referred to a remark made by Labour’s Pat Rabbitte about a photograph taken of Fianna Fáil’s new frontbench ahead of the general election last year.

At the time, Rabbitte said that Michéal Martin had pulled a “stunt for photographic purposes” by having several women at the front of the photograph. Rabbitte had said: “You might as well wander down Grafton Street and see if you can meet a couple of good-looking women and say, would you ever mind coming up for the photograph, it’s only for four weeks”.

Power said yesterday that while she hadn’t experienced “overt discrimination – for the most part” during her time in Irish politics, she did remember that quote from Rabbitte (although she did not name him yesterday). She said that while she didn’t believe he was “inherently sexist”, it was disappointing that the comment has been his “first instinct”.

All of the speakers in the segment said that support from family, friends and partners was vital for women to have the time and space to canvass and retain political posts. Catherine Byrne, the Fine Gael former Lord Mayor of Dublin and TD for Dublin South Central, said that she remembered a teacher had once told her mother before Byrne finished school: “She said, ‘She’ll make a grand housewife if she meets a nice fella and have a couple of kids’.”

Byrne said that she had been encouraged by the late Jim Mitchell to run for local elections. Her husband had been very supportive but she still remembers rushing home between mayoral appointments to “throw an apple tart into the oven”.

The difficult balance of domestic life and political life was also highlighted by Sinn Féin TD for Cork East, Sandra McLellan, who said that she did all of her work from her sitting room when she was Mayor of Youghal: “Some people might say that was very intimate but some would probably come in and say, there’s paperwork everywhere!” She travels up from home on Tuesday morning and back down on Thursday or Friday evening, with her days in Cork “taken up with constituency work”. She said:

It’s a demanding job, you’re on call 24/7, and when I started anyway there was no provision for childcare, no job security and as a rural TD you spend most of the week away from your family. If you didn’t have support at home, you couldn’t do it.

Labour councillor for Dun Laoghaire Jane Dillon Byrne recalled canvassing for council elections in 1968:

I was married 10 months, 9 months pregnant. I met a lady at a door in Booterstown who said: You are a bloody disgrace, you should be at home doing your knitting.

In 1975, Dillon Byrne became the first female Cathaoirleach of Dun Laoghaire (equivalent to a mayor) and said that above all, female would-be politicians needed people to support them. When she arrived at the Dun Laoghaire town clerk’s office in 1974, “in Indian skirt, beads and cheesecloth shirt”, and an 11-month-old son in tow, she said the men there were “not happy”.

However, the female politicians at yesterday’s conference said that they believed some things were changing on the political scene. Averil Power said it was heartening to realise that more women candidates were not coming from political dynasties and were putting themselves forward because they wanted “to change things instead of writing angry letters”. Power herself said she comes from a council estate in Dublin, and a family who still think she’s “nuts” to be involved in politics. Catherine Byrne said she wanted to be in politics simply because she liked working with people, and Sandra McLellan said she had been a “floating voter” before she got involved in her community and trade union and that had inspired her to run.

Independent TD for Kildare North, Catherine Murphy, said that local government had to be undergo major reform for women to feel they had a place there. She was first elected in 1988 to Leixlip Town Council and is now the whip for the Technical Group of TDs in the Dáil. However, she said, women are not attracted to getting into politics at a local level because “they want to see a return on their time” and they don’t see that in local government sections bogged down by red tape and committee meetings. She said:

That’s why there are so many women at the volunteer and community level – they see a direct result for the time they invest… There are some very talented people and we need to introduce a proper local government system. Imagine if you could capture the energy and the imagination available at voluntary and community level and harness that for (district level)?

Most of the speakers mentioned that they had run for national level politics because they had been asked to go forward by others. Cllr Jane Dillon Byrne said that it was important that women pushed themselves forward:

Be sure to sit in the front of the bus and we will achieve equality.

In a Q&A session following the segment, Averil Power said that Fianna Fáil would be seeking an amendment to the upcoming legislation to have the 30 per cent gender quota applied to the local elections in two years’ time. It has not been clear that the quota would apply to anything other than general elections.

Read: Irish system has failed to provide higher number of women TDs – Taoiseach>

Read: Leinster House is ‘unnatural’ – Gilmore>

Column: There ARE barriers to women participating in politics>

Column: Gender quotas do women no favours – and undermine democracy>

Read next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• I think gender should take a back seat to quality , something we are definitely lacking.

• Maybe this SHOULD be the focus, quality over anything else regardless of male / female

• They may very well be linked. Reducing the ability of half the population to become a TD is certainly reducing the pool from which talent and quality can be drawn.

Quotas won’t do it though. I would be humiliated to be put forward as a quota candidate if I was in politics, as I imagine many other self respecting women would be.

Allowing decent paternity leave, and sorting out the irish childcare mess would make much more of a difference.

• If they want equality it politics they’re going to have to start with society not gender quotas. Dads have no legal rights in Ireland to paid paternity time off to take on the role of carer for their children. In this current economic climate it makes scene. Childcare duties fall on women because dad in the government eyes are second class parents. Generations of policy has reinforced this gender stereotype. If they want more women in politics level the playing field and implement equality in society first and they’re Will be need for gender quotas. I believe women would make great politicians. and have made great presidents because they were the best person for the job.

• sorry typo they Will be NO need

• Hear hear Mick Kenny.
      I often get the impression that Irish women want everything.
      The job, the kids, the house.
      Unless feminism and the courtsystem in this country is overhauled to give fathers an equal family input. I have a major problem with equality. Including gender quotas in politics.

• P Wurple 21/01/12 #

Who is the “they” you are talking about? Don’t we all want equality?

Fathers rights and equal paternity leave would make female representation a lot easier, why the heck we don’t have it already I don’t know.

Any reason not to have it?

• By they I mean the government and the powers that be. I’m a male childcare worker and a dad. Less 1% of our profession are male and I see on the grass roots level how benefiting to society if men were given political support to take on a caring role and leave outdated stereotypes behind.

• 4th article about women in politics in the Journal in 24hrs…

Starting to get boring now…

• I think we should have profession quotas, Im sick of being represented by farmers and school teachers

• They worry about the cost of childcare on there wages? And they expect everyone else to be able.

• Funny not a single post from a woman’s point of view so far . Agree with mick kenny , give men the opportunity to care for their children and allow women to go out to work full time in whatever profession they want to . It annoys me that we are still flapping our gums about this stuff in 2012 . Equality doesn’t exist even now and I don,t know if it ever really will . How can it ? when sexism is rampant on both sides of the gender divide.

• If we want equality then surely we should allow all who want to debate the merits of any proposals. Modernity will perform if its people want change.
      http://alanmcmenamin.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/gender-quotas-no-best-person/

• P Wurple 21/01/12 #

Baby is napping now, so i get to post this womans opinion for you.

I Completely agree, men should be allowed to go on paternity leave and look after their own children, transfer the mat leave over and let women go about their careers if they want. Current situation is archaic.

Quotas are ridiculous and won’t work. Remove the barriers instead. Why it does not happen I do not know.

• @P Wurple
      Im against quotas not because they cant work, but because they are too often implemented in the wrong way, i.e. giving a bias towards or against a gender. I agree, remove the barriers to participation and we could see an increase, or maybe we wont. Either way I think we need the BEST people regardless of female / male and quotas wont assign who are best or not.

• Only in Ireland.

• I believe there is an assumption by the promoters of gender quotas that more women politicians will mean more left/ liberal members of the Dáil. Would Senator Bacik and her ilk welcome the election of 20 Alice Glenns or, gasp! 20 Irish Sarah Palins? Or would they be horrified at the thought? I have raised this issue ( in different ways) on many occasions but can’t remember ever getting a reply from the pro-quota side.

• DubinNaas do u really believe what u are saying or are you just trying to provoke a response? Children are not born with a gender, they are born with a sex, gender is a social construct they learn. From the time they come out of the womb they are wrapped in pink or blue. Take a look at the shelves of your nearest toy store or the pages of any toy catalogues. Children don’t choose toys, they learn which ones to pick. how many times have you heard an adult tell a boy-you can’t have a doll, they are for girls. I won’t keep going because either you are aware that society shapes our opinions or you aren’t. There is loads of research and examples if u google it.
      I think these conversations are getting boring as a few people have mentioned here because they are not going anywhere. Someone says quotas are sexist, then another comment on how women should just do it if they want, and usually women point out they would be mortified at being a token candidate as they think that’s all women will be.
      There are real issues like paternity rights and equality issues like Mike Kenny pointed out which don’t really get debated at all- or the fact that the dail timetable and structure makes family life (for any parent) very difficult, so we are left with politicians who are forced to choose between career and family ( in a patriarchal society where men have no rights or expectation of parenting equality) with men being politicians at the sacrifice of family and their wives choosing family at the sacrifice of politics which is unfair to both men and women.

• Idiots

• The gender debate should happen as it will give us all clarity as to the best way forward. But we shouldn’t pick someone based on gender alone. The conditions can be created without much fuss that allows anyone to stand and get elected. Childcare & the likes could be implemented to help any parent enjoy representing their constituents. If nothing else this debate might steer our focus on getting the BEST people in not the usual idiots we end up with. Government will have to change Article 16.1.3 i think as this doesnt allow for discrimination when seeking dail election.

• I’m wandering into red thumb nirvana with this remark but here goes;

Caring for children will always be better performed by women than men. Thats just life, birds and bees.

So women trying to work fulltime while childcare remains a more natural skill than for a man, is like trying to be excellent at two professions simultaneously. It can’t be done. And it is putting unfair societal pressure on women to perform this dual role.

So we farm out our children to ‘childcare’ in the hope that someone else will nuture the needs of our children as a profession, with the same love we would.
    I believe this is not good for children or the family generally, in the longer term.

Incidentaly, are there any proven examples of societies that are more ‘successful’ when women play a greater or majority role ??

• I really have to disagree. I’m a male childcare worker of 20 years and a dad of two young boys. Men are perfectly able of being as capable a carer or parent as mums. Men and women do things differently and have different points of view but that doesn’t mean one way is right and one way is wrong. Historically gender stereotype were put on men and women by society and the government. I feel gender balanced in a child’s life is important so that they learn gender shouldn’t limit you and what you want to be or do. Our society is changing and I think we need to think outside the box to help improve it.

• I could elaborate on many occasions which proves your post to be merely an opinnion.

• Mick,
      How many childcare workers are men??
      I trust you have tried the old ‘lets give the boy the doll and the girl the truck’ approach ??
      What was the result ?

Manfred,
      I don’t want to appear glib in my response, but of course its my opinion.

Perhaps You could elaborate on some of the questions I raise as well…

• Hi
      According to the office of the minister for children there are about 600 men working in childcare and about 54000 women. We reckon 600 probably includes managers and caretakers too. But since the recession we have seen a increase in the number of guys (and dads) coming into childcare. Having a mixed gender staff team offers kids in our care male and female role models. The kids/ families see men and women are capable careers and educators. Men work with the kids in a different way- use humour more, more tolerant of adventurous play, etc Childcare is challenging and enjoyable career and can be flexible to support family life. I don’t limit kid by their gender so boys and girls can play with what they want because society is diverse so children should be allowed to explore it through their play. After all play is how children learn and make sence of the world around them. Here’s Two links that may interest you. The first is the role of fathers in history and different societies, the other is our face book site for men in childcare Ireland
      http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/jan/14/roman-krznaric-househusband-father?fb=native&CMP=FBCNETTXT9038
      http://www.facebook.com/meninchildcare
      hope you find them interesting, Regards Mick

• I see my comment on the last, very recent, article on this recurring use of the above photo to accompany most (perhaps all) debates about this issue fell on deaf ears in Journal .ie.Maybe there just is no other photo that might be used? Or maybe someone in there likes someone (or two) in the photo (and I’m guessing the Donegal lady isn’t one)?

Add New Comment