TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Kenny deflects Dáil questions on talks over Anglo promissory note

The Taoiseach stonewalls queries on the progress of talks to minimise Ireland’s banking burden, or exactly what’s being discussed.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has deflected queries from opposition leaders in the Dáil this morning about the status of the talks on the Anglo Irish Bank promissory notes – saying he does not want to raise expectations about their outcome.

Kenny faced inquiries during Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil this morning on the current status of the talks, which were dealt a blow yesterday by Olli Rehn’s insistence that Ireland meet its financial obligations as other EU member states are required to.

The Taoiseach was asked by Fianna Fáil, Sinn Féin and the technical group’s Shane Ross to indicate what exactly Ireland was seeking, but Kenny declined to offer any indication about tehir current process.

“It is complex, it is technical, there are quite a number of moving parts in that,” Kenny said. “There is a requirement here to allow these negotiations to proceed ahead. I’ve never set a timeline on this.”

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin had said the government had offered “mixed messages” on whether discussions on the notes would be linked to the referendum on the fiscal compact, or whether they would be discussed at meetings of the ECB’s Governing Council.

“You said during the election, ‘Paddy wants to know’,” Martin recalled. “Taoiseach, with the greatest of respect, and in the nicest possible way, Paddy doesn’t know. Paddy doesn’t have a clue what’s going on in this issue.”

Martin and Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams both asked for clarification on whether Ireland was merely seeking to extend the promissory note liabilities across a longer period, or whether the proposals also included an outright plan to write down the €31 billion notes.

‘If you won’t ask, you won’t get’

“Would you confirm that the commentary by Minister Joan Burton in the Financial Times led to the ECB pulling down the shutters on any deal in this issue,” Martin asked, while Adams urged Kenny to start “a real negotiation”.

“If you won’t ask, you won’t get,” he said, turning attentions to the first repayment of the promissory notes which is due in two weeks’ time. “Tell the ECB you cannot and will not pay this €3.1 billion,” he said.

Kenny, in respond, defended his approach to negotiations so far, saying the personnel involved in the talks “should be allowed to do their work”.

Shane Ross, speaking for the technical group, said commissioner Olli Rehn should “brush up on his Greek” before trying “to tick us off, in Latin no less, about our obligations”.

“Greece was the first exception to the rule he was making yesterday, Spanish was the second exception to the rule he was making yesterday. Spain was given leeway on its budget deficit,” he said.

When we’re entering the fiscal treaty, we’re entering into an à la carte Europe, where people can pick and choose when they’re going to breach the treaty. Ireland and Hungary are going to be at the poor man’s table.

Kenny, extending the linguistic analogy, remarked that the “old Gaelic tongue in ancient times was one of the prime languages of Europe and there’s an old saying in there”.

“When negotiations are underway, is binn béal ina thost“, he said, translating the Irish phrase for ‘silence is golden’.

Read: Government urged to follow Spain’s lead in EU budget talks

More: Fianna Fáil accuses Govt of putting debt deal in jeopardy

Previously: ‘No deadline’ for deal on promissory notes – Gilmore

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• “We are not Greece” last month.
    “We are not Spain” yesterday.

Will someone tell Enda Kenny who the hell we are before he wastes anymore time! We’re Irish you traitor!

It’s Not Our Debt!

• Agree Reada 100% f**k the EU. I’ll certainly be voting NO and f**k you Enda the Traitor Kenny and not forgetting Michael “I’ve got loads of German Bonds” Noonan, SCUM of the earth, should be ashamed.

• “When negotiations are underway, is binn béal ina thost“, he said, translating the Irish phrase for ‘silence is golden’.

So….he just sits there saying nothing as Rehn and co. dictate.
    At last, some clarity on FG’s approach when dealing with the EU.

• In December 2010, Fine Gael’s then finance spokesman Michael Noonan described the deal [EU-IMF bailout] as a “downright obscenity” and said Ireland had been forced into the move by deciding to shoulder the liabilities of Ireland’s banks. If the government was only dealing with sovereign debt, he said, it would have had no problem managing its liabilities.

What a volte-face for Minister Noonan. But illustrative of the cynical nature of politics in Ireland.

• Ya and he knows how 99% of us have extremely short memories and more so, even less of a will to do anything about it.

• Right, so Noonan should just ignore the debts now that he is in office? The debt has been taken on by the previous government. As a result, it is very mush his concern, as he must deal with it in his budget.

• Ultan. The bank guarantee was made under duress with international influence, and with false information. If this government had any balls it would be deemed null and void. Both legally and morally so!

• @Ultan The banking debts are not Noonan’s concern – they are the concern of Irish citizens of this generation and the next. And these debts, as Noonan said, are a downright obscenity and were forced onto the already burdened shoulders of Irish citizens. His first budget added more burden ,,,, and budgets for the next 20 years will be similar. These banking debts are not the debts of Irish citizens, and voting NO in the referendum will emphasize – if emphasis was needed – that simple inescapable fact.

• Mother of God, will ye stop posting about how these puppets must be stupid or dont know how to deal with bond holders. Have ye not copped it yet? The politicians are mere talking heads. They have been instructed to behave like this. There is a massive heist going on here and even a man who thought for a few weeks back in the 70s can see this and yet say nothing!!!! Why? Why, only because they are told to. Lie to us until its too late, when forigners own our roads, water, electricty, oil, gas, forests, land, live stock, fish and US by way of debt!! We cannot even coin our own money. They are F**g laughing at us, us powerless fearful people who will even turn against anyone brave enough totry and make a difference. Armchair patriots while the Greeks, Spanish, Icelanders and Parisians light up the sky. The guards and army are also facing cuts, yet they, who have more power than us, do nothing. What the F is wrong with us?????????

• I got a reply from the Taoiseach’s office yesterday i read twice almost believed what the reply said.But then you hear Ollie Rhen and Enda’s submission and i just know we are screwed.Is there anyone in Irish politics is who is willing to do what they were elected to do.That is to defend their electorate,sadly every day proves Enda is not up to the job.

• The Greeks made no secret that they wanted a write down of their debt … The Spanish made no secret about needing flexibility on the budget constraints….
    Does anyone onthis site know what Dame Edna is asking for??? I understand the need to be mute about where we are at on renegotiating the screw up that FF left us …. really i do ….. but not even bothering his ass to tell us hat he is seeking on our behalf is the biggest betrayal of the Irish people we have ever had. Edna needs to stand in front of the people and say…

I am fighting for a write down of teh banking debt, and the promisory notes
    I am fighting for an extension on the remaining repayments by 50 years
    I am fighting for a reduction on the inteest rate for our budget deficit

If the donkey could at least tell us, he is trying to get these things (whether successful or not) i would at least appreciate it … But he is telling ‘Paddy’ (Does anyone know if that is Paddy Rehn, Paddy Merkel???) that he is not looking to renegotiate ANYTHING.

FFS Enda, how stupid are you ?

• No panic

We have 19 days off for Easter.

3 months off for summer.

Not to mention our Duvet Day at Paddy’s weekend.

Sher before you know it it’ll be 2015.

A double round of Tea and scones all round.

Yipee!!

• jimbo 14/03/12 #

Kenny you liar,you have cheated us time and time again,you have finally sealed a NO vote.

• Really, you are judging a treaty on the government of the day? Can you imagine if we had rejected the first treaty that gave us the EU on the government of the day….

• David I guess if you don’t trust someone you generally do not take their advice?

• Yes, but we’re not voting on whether we trust Enda or not, we’re voting on the text of a treaty.

• It’s arguable that we’re voting on the ECB/IMF/EU’s control of our economic sovereignty – something which Fine Gael (and Labour) vociferously condemned and voted against in 2010 – http://www.thejournal.ie/dail-gives-approval-to-irelands-eu-imf-bailout-2010-12/

• limofax 14/03/12 #

And that treaty is shit!!! Vote No

• David you always get so many red thumbs down I think you should give up commenting on the journal as all you try to do is excuse the inexcusable and blow kisses to Enda in the hope that somehow he will bring you into his inner circle. Is there not some FG blog where you might go, as it must be depressing to know you are always wrong in the vast majority of journal readers eyes.

• Any leader who signs the ESM prior to a vote on the fiscal treaty deserves no trust, he willfully and knowingly signed that as an excuse to drag a yes vote from us.
      He signed into something that we will be locked out of if we vote no…..trust you say? – i don’t trust him, you or any FG’er to put Irish concerns before a EPP/EU/ECB mandate.

• Yes David but we are listening to the advice of Kenny to vote yes because “it will be good for Ireland and good for Europe” So if you don’t trust the person who is giving you this advice what would you normally do? Reject the advice maybe?

• That’s what you’re listening too, but maybe you should go and actually read the treaty. I have and I don’t see a problem with it. It gets countries living within their means. People can go and reject Enda’s recommendation if they don’t trust him, but they should then seek out impartial info on the treaty and judge accordingly.

• Yes, this government will always put the interests of our “European partners” first, Ireland second

The new Spanish government have got it the right way round, they have put SPAIN FIRST

According to this governemnt, no matter what the costs are to this country, Ireland must be seen to be “good Europeans”

Well being good little Europeans and “behind the scenes diplomancy” has got us fu*k all

In a few weeks time, another E3billion will be flushed down the toilet

• David,
      I really want to disagree with whatever you say cos your a young fine gaeller. But I cant. I dont like Enda, or Noonan but I know that voting no and not paying household charge and living in a tent in dame street will do absolutely f all to solve Irelands problems.
      We need to realise that a small country has to duck and weave and negotiate and respect bigger countries agendas to get ahead. Ireland Is Small and the big countries arent that fussed about what Ireland wants. Get Over It
      I wish there was a magic genie who could step in and make the EU do our bidding but there is not.
      Let Dame Enda and his band of clowns do their negotiating and if you dont like them still by next election you can vote them right out.
      Put down the referendum just to punish FG (as Jimbo wants to do)) and you only punish us.
      We got to do the best with what we got people.
      Just be glad we only have to put up with that much.
      ( think Syria, Egypt, Afghanistan, Iran………. things arent really that bad people)

• I say we pay the 3.1 Billion but pay it in pints redeemable in any establishment in Ireland. That way we find out who the bond holders are get to know them and make friends. After the first billion pints I’d say we would have a good chance at renegotiations.

• You do know that that the €3.1bn is a promissory note to the Irish central bank, not a bond…..

So in fact what we need to do is invite the ECB governing council over and give them alcohol poisoning with such a quantity of alcohol :D

• We know David. Enda doesn’t want to burn bondholders. He wants to burn €3.1bn of money instead. Why are we leaving this muppet in charge???

• limofax 14/03/12 #

FG is the problem just like FF before them. Replacing Enda as many Dublin based FG tds want to would not change anything.

• Don’t get me wrong Limofax. I know FG are self combusting as FF did. I just wish it wasn’t taking so long.

I want to tear up the page and start again. We could start with abolishing the whip system. But really I wish people would take a walk on the wild side and challenge themselves to vote for a socially conscious government that would not view their electorate as mere consumers or statistics.

• limofax 14/03/12 #

I hear ya Reada. March 31st.

• @David voting on treaty or Enda if the guy telling you to support some thing has a creditably void then the two issues are linked which ever way the ball hops.
    The government have a major major creditability problem and people make a judgement on this.
    14% registered for house hold charge does thus include council houses ?
    If it does it does then the outlook is bad
    Now the yes vote will start to slip without the no campaign getting out of traps
    There will be trouble at mill men big trouble at mill !!!

• If it’s a poker game then Enda should realise that he’s playing with the same deck of cards supplied by Fianna Fail, the IMF and the ECB. Time he took up Skittles.

• The referendum was the best thing that happened kenny he was given a new gun and bullet for the ECB but if he doesn’t use it then he should leave government

• its complex my ass. in other words I have not been told what to say yet my puppet master hasn’t pulled them strings yet. get a pair kenny and stand up for the people who elected you under false promises.

• *taught

• Resistance is futile.

• Reada whereabouts and what time is the Protest March happening?

• Enda just feck off!! No one likes ya!!!

• “The Irish always pay their debts”-Enda. Except for those who leg it out of taxis

• think enda is as dishonest as last crowd that were in, keep everything to himself and do as your told outcome, he is not a leader, well a leader for the people, he is a school teacher and it is known in europe what an ass he is, so we are doomed, if we dont vote no, we will sell our souls to eec and no comeback whatsoever, we need a new political system in this country, not teachers and lawyers, we need people who can run a country and not be paying them behind closed doors, wish they would get rid of old school politics , we are a small country with 2 many chiefs doing nothing, they are spokes people overpaid , if your father is a politician so are u, thats not how to run a country, so now we have ff, fg and labour, screwing us, who next, we need a big change

• This is a game of poker.
    You don’t reveal your hand.

And you certainly don’t release proposals which will spook the markets. The last thing we need in these volatile times.

• If this is poker, I’m not sure Enda’s even in the casino nevermind in the game at this stage.

• I want to see all the pro-notes written off as Peter Mathews has proposed but I recognise that any negotiations around our debt must take place behind closed doors.

It’s nothing short of political opportunism from the opposition to be asking these questions, especially from FF who set up the pro-notes structure in the first place!

• That is bull david, there is nothing going on between ears nevermind behind closed doors. This goverment has effectively given up and handed over the keys. The spanish goverment have played poker, ours are playing snap. David I am a very balanced person and not one who usually goes on a rant about how brutal the goverment are but they have gone too far, they have proved themselves incapable.

• @David if someone keeps insisting they will pay all their debts as Enda insists the Irish people can and will.Why would the EU give us a write down.The 3.1billion will be paid at the end of the month so Enda can be seen to be a good european sadly a not so good Irish person.

• It’s the usual stony faced silence again and it’s not a poker face, it’s the face of someone who has nothing to offer the people here, a person and party only to willing to accept the diktat from Brussels with no quibble.

They lost all bargaining when they failed to tell the EU that they were here to renegotiate and undo what FF done, failed to assert themselves and that they were voted to change what was imposed upon us by the actions of a previous government…… the EU must have been delighted when FG were elected in, another shower of servile clowns wrapped in a poxy EU flag.

• David. Loyalty is an admirable attribute but blindly following an inept leader is ridiculous. Enda Kenny is not fit for purpose. He became Taoiseach because the other fellas shot themselves in the foot. Unfortunately this country wasn’t capable of stepping out of their comfort zone and voting for a government that would put people before institutions.

We’ll see you at the FG Árd Fheis on 31st March in the Conference Centre on the quays. We’ll be meeting at Garden of Remembrance at 1pm and marching down. I suspect you’ll be inside. It’s time we took Ireland back from this inept government. Enda Kenny no longer represents us!

• @Niamh, if you were really balanced you’d at least accept that the government is trying to get the term extended and the interest lowered on the pro-notes. I’d much prefer if they were seeking a write-off but when they say they’re negotiating a lower rate and term extension I take it that they are doing that. What you’re suggesting is that they’re giving hope of a deal and then not trying. You know that’s politically foolish and not even in their own self-interest at all.

• @ David. You think we should be thankful that your dear leader is trying to renegotiate and extend the terms of the biggest injustice to befall our people in the history of our state? Even you partys own Peter Matthews has stated that the 3.1 billion does not have to be paid at the end of the month, so please stop trying to defend the treasonous little cretin.

• another fg spoofer

• I’m not defending the overall strategy. I agree with Peter Mathew’s idea, but Fianna Fail had said that renegotiation of our deals was not possible. We’ve already secured an overall reduction of €10bn in the cost of our sovereign loans through negotiation and to get a reduced burden for the pro-notes is welcome. Not ideal, but welcome.

• Another victim of Stockholm synodrome

• David we have been not so politely told to fuck off rabbitte was gave interview to wall street journal in early feb saying deal was weeks away Ms Burton linked a deal to passing of referendum so was Rabbite telling lies or was he spoofed up to.
      These terms “position paper, medium term engineering,technical discussions,blah blah blah are all direct from the spoofers hand book.
      The FF boys were a crowd of spoofers and now we have continuity FF.
      The vast majority of the FG/Lab cannon fodder trotted out would know nothing about technical discussions and I doubt an elementary school teacher is any better.
      With regard to Mr Noonan I hope he treats this matter better than the blood issue when he destroyed some many lives.
      Another spoofer

• David by saying over and over that they will continue on the path of the previous morons with the bank garauntee, which is widely recognised as one of the stupidest mistakes a goverment has EVER made your party are effectively saying ok eu…what do you want us to do. That is not negotiations david. If the goverment went to the eu and told them what we want to do…aimed ridiculously high, call their bluff that would be poker. I hope ur right david but I think ur wrong.

• @Niamh Byrne You have made my day with that comment :)

“The spanish goverment have played poker, ours are playing snap”

• Wow….listening to the Last Word, Ollie Rehn’s words were totally taken out of context.

Add New Comment