TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

London mayor bans anti-gay ads from city buses

Boris Johnson intervenes to stop the ‘Core Values Trust’ from taking out ads advocating therapy for homosexuals.

Image: John Stillwell/PA Wire

THE OUTGOING MAYOR of London, Boris Johnson, has intervened to stop a conservative values group from taking out advertising on the city’s buses which advocates therapy to ‘cure’ homosexuality.

The Core Issues Trust – a group which runs ‘reorientation’ courses which they claim can convert gay people to heterosexuality – had announced yesterday that they had taken out advertising to run on buses next month.

The ads, which aped the design of other ads previously run by LGBT rights group Stonewall, read: “Not gay! Ex-gay, post-gay and proud. Get over it!”

The Stonewall ads on which they were originally modelled – designed with a similar white-text-on-red motif – had read, “Some people are gay. Get over it!”

The Guardian said the Core Issues Trust claimed its programmes could help gay people to “develop their heterosexual potential”. The campaign had also been backed by a worldwide orthodox Anglican group which the Guardian reported as having equated homosexuality to alcoholism.

Last night it emerged that Johnson – who is running for re-election as the city’s mayor in elections in three weeks – had personally intervened to stop the ads from appearing, despite the ads having already been cleared by the Transport for London authority of which he is chairman.

“London is one of the most tolerant cities in the world and intolerant of intolerance,” Johnson said.

“It is clearly offensive to suggest that being gay is an illness that someone recovers from and I am not prepared to have that suggestion driven around London on our buses.”

Transport for London itself said the ads had been approved by a subcontractor but that the ads, as had been intended for appearance, were at odds with the “inclusive” policies it set for itself.

The Daily Telegraph adds that the founder of the Core Issues Trust, Dr Mike Davidson, is a trainee psychotherapist who was recently expelled by the British Psychodrama Association for his support of therapeutic measures to ‘cure’ homosexuality.

“It would be very wrong to shut down critical debate in that way by pulling an advertisement that simply expresses a different point of view, that should be of concern not only to religious people but to thinking peple generally,” Davidson said.

Labour’s Ken Livingstone, a former mayor who is seeking to evict Johnson from City Hall in the forthcoming election, said the fact the ads were cleared for display in the first place was a sign that the city was “going backwards under a Tory leadership”.

Read: Quinn will back move to stop discrimination against gay teachers

Read next:

Comments (72 Comments)

• If it’s an illness, can I get time off work??

“Sorry, boss. Won’t be in this week. I’m feeling a bit gay”.

• Boris is right

• This reminds me of the south park episode where Butters gets sent to ‘camp’ because his parents think he’s gay. Pray the gay away I think they called it. Live & let live.

• Spot on Boris. Whats the difference between these hateful ads and say a “Hitler was right” bus campaign. Nothing in my view.

• Regardless of the stupidity of “pray the gay away” or whatever this vocates, it’s just plain false advertising!

Homosexuality is no more different then being naturally blond! You can dye your hair but under it all (steady on filthy minded folk) you are still a blond!

This organisation may try to brainwash individuals but nothing more, it won’t “cure” them cos there’s nothing to cure and will just end up causing significant mental anguish.

There are so many gay guys and girls out there who really suffer because of society claiming there is something wrong with them when there really isn’t! Many of these people would happily throw money at these con artists in the hope to be “cured” so at the end of the days these scum bags are just profiteering off people’s anguish!

The money should really be spent on education and teaching EVERYONE in society that there is nothing wrong with being gay, it’s not being “different”, it’s just being you!

• @ Tony,

Hear, hear, parents of gay children, male/female have reared those children to the best of their ability. Doing the ‘usual’/'normal’ everyday things with both. Nobody, parents or the children themselves should EVER feel guilty about how they are, what they feel, how they feel about themselves.

I’d have a difficulty with my child if he/she was selling drugs, murdering people, raping, stealing etc. Homosexuality is just the same as hetrosexuality, just …. different! When a parent sees their son/daughter standing in front of them, they see their son/daughter, just like the day they were born. They love them as much if not more than yesterday. They are still the same person as they were yesterday.

• I’m all for this action. You should not be given the opportunity to advertise or profit from something that has no medical proof. I understand the right to free speech is very important but not when its challenging how people are made up and ‘promising’ to change that.

• Could probably have just had it removed under false advertising laws :P

• I have always thought the organisers of such courses are latent homosexuals themselves. One cant help think this when they say things like equating it with alcoholism or that its a life style choice. I love a beer at the weekend but cant ever say I would be tempted to have sex with another bloke. Not even after the toughest week at work. Heterosexual behaviour is not a choice so why should homosexual tendencies be? Anyone who believes otherwise is probably struggling with their own sexuality.

• On that note, the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology just published a study that shows “homophobes” are more likely to be gay than the average person, but are repressed. It considers the fact that such people bash gays as a way of compensating for their own sexuality. You just might be right!

• Reorientation courses ? Holy F**K ! Tell them to go s**ew themselves and reorientate that ! Shocking .

• Smartest thing I’ve heard (read) out of Boris Johnson’s mouth in, well… Ever.

• Good to see a 21st century response from Boris.

For those who disagree and would like to go back 30/40 yrs when contraception, playboy, homosexuality, divorce etc. where impossible, I suggest you convert to Islam and move to a Taliban stronghold…..

• What about trying to cure all the brainwashed eejits peddling this shite? They believe in a book thats a few thousand years old and was rewritten a few times! Homophobes that are insecure about their own sexuality i think. GAY PRIDE!!!!!

• @cyril. Very good point I didnt think of the false advertising but it truly is. I wonder if some group came up with a cure for being hetrosexual what would the reaction be. Well done boris.

• These religious groups make me sick. Talking shit in the name of ‘god’ is still talking shit. We should hang a sign saying ‘We can cure you of your delusional belief in a manufactured deity’ lets see if that gets put on a bus! Free speech is fine but the public order act forbids the display of material in a oublic place that is likely to cause offence. This wanky little group know this and are just trying to get publicity. Religion is the root of all evil. As long as there has been a god people have been killing in his name. I despise these disgustingly out of touch, closed minded demon merchants telling gay people they need to be cured. That’s religion throwing the first stone right there. Horrible bible bashers should be cast out and made live in caves where they can worship without offending everybody else. Gay or straight, there is nothin wrong with you. How DARE one set of people tell perfect strangers that there is something wrong with them. Sheer ignorance and hatred. I’m sure their ‘god’ is proud of them! I do choose to be straight. It’s just who I am. Gay people don’t choose to be gay. It’s who they are too.

• Typing on the phone leads to mistakes! I don’t choose to be straight. It’s who I am. It’s the same for gay people. Accidentally said I ‘do choose’ might have caused confusion.

• @Alice,

NO! it doesn’t. No such thing. This individual, Davidson is just totally homophobic and thinks he knows the answers to everything. He thinks hetrosexuality is the only sexuality allowed in the world. He has brainwashed himself by reading crap written by other homophobics. He is no different to the catholic church, Isalmic church and others who believe that homosexuality and lesbianism is wrong. In some cases have actually hanged people because they are gay.

Nobody ever chooses to be gay, it happens, it just happens. From speaking with people that are gay, they have felt ‘different’ from as young as 7/8 years of age. When they became teens, they realised that they are gay. Some went through a horrible, lonely, fearful life all through their teenage years and only at the age of 19, 20 and sometimes older will they tell a close friend or family member.

Nobody chooses to be gay. Do others honestly think that gay people really enjoy the fear of being found out, to not know what the hell is happening their body and mind and are so fearful of telling anyone, especially in some countries where it is still against the law, yet, there are many who hide the fact that they are, live a lie of pretending to be hetrosexual, have children, but know they will be put to death or imprisoned in certain parts of the world.

I feel it happens within the mother’s womb, while forming during the 9 months before birth. It just happens. Sadly it can be a very lonely life and many young teenagers have taken their life because they don’t know how to cope or how their families will accept them as they are, truly wonderful, funny, loving, caring people. They have done nothing wrong, it’s time people were properly educated about homosexuality and accept it for what it is…. no different.

• I am Catholic and attend mass but like a huge proportion of Catholics I have selective adherence. I hate and disagree with many aspects eg the stance on Homosexuality. I do however find comfort from other portions of it so will continue to be catholic To those who imply all Christians are homophobes get over yourself you are being as discriminatory as the Christians who are. Everyone is entitled to an opinion but no one is entitled to broadcast that opinion as a medical disease that needs curing. This advert should be banned its just evil freedom of speech should allow those group to voice their opinions in their groups yes but not to mass numbers of people on the street who did not choose to listen and were just walking along a street.

• Arguing about religion is like arguing over who has the best imaginary friend. It’s total bullshit. So as long as those groups waste only their own time with their hatred and spite I have no problem. Sexual preference has nothing to do with a made up deity. You might as well ask Scoky to bless you. If your god is real he/she should stand trial for crimes against humanity. Today good people will be hurt, rapists walk free and thousands of infants will die because they are hungry and thirsty. Your god is SOOOO merciful. Why don’t you just go bleet at the lightning with the rest of your pathetic flock. Get your amazing deity to sort out the innocent during and leave the complicated topics like telling perfectly happy people to change what makes them happy

• These kinds of actions are an embarrassment to Christianity. It baffles me that with all the problems in the world a group who claim to be doing the work of Christ would spend money on either these ads or their ridiculous gay cures instead of actually trying to help reduce the suffering experienced by millions if not billions of people every day.

• If we are to be truly fair minded we must allow all these groups to voice or indeed advertise their opinions on Gay rights.
    Censorship is wrong

• to be fair, I doubt a “we can cure hetrosexuality” ad would go down well

• They aren’t advertising an opinion. They are advertising a damaging lie – that gay people need to be and can be “cured”. There is zero scientific basis for such a claim. The American Psychiatric Association and all other national organizations dealing with mental health (including in Ireland) are adamant homosexuality is not an illness or mental disorder. So this advert claiming there is a cure is not only damaging to gay people but also just plain misleading.

Please don’t equate lies like this with informed opinion. They’re miles apart.

• Not really, its encouraging discrimination against a group thats have had to face the brunt of that crap for centuries.

Although, all that said, with the growth of popular in neurosience, and technology/therapy to do with the brain. I really wouldn’t be surprised if they do find a technique to “convert” people, not that there’ll be much use for it. I don’t know any gay people that voices their desire to be straight, or vice versa.

• Absolutely right @Mark Phillips…One problem I note however is that we set a precedent by allowing religious groups to directly advertise verses of a roughly 2,000 year old work of fiction on our train station billboards. This is the same perversion of the term “open minded” or “fair minded” as you refer to it @tuba hg. An unfounded misleading claim is just that and cannot be dressed up by sayin ‘well everyone is entitled to their own opinion’

• @Benjamin

I guess there is a thin line there somewhere. Those posters saying “Jesus saves” or whatever in train stations might not be provable but they are a religious belief that people can share. The advert in this case is not sharing any religious belief though, but rather is making an unfounded medical claim in effect. It’s hard to know where to draw the line but medical lies definitely overstep it eh :)

• Yes although we all know that a poster saying “Jesus saves etc.” is coming from a direct attempt to gather people in a consolidated group which divisively imposes it’s archaic moral dictates, controls a disproportionate wealth of resources and directly perverts the course of justice and equality in this world. Granted that’s not all the Christian faith or RCC does but generally the record is very dismal. More importantly the claims made to support this worldview are directly contrary to reality and all physical evidence thus far discovered. But I suppose why cry about a few posters in train station for adults eyes…when dogma is carefully planted in the forming minds of children in the vast majority of our primary schools?

• We talked their spokesperson on Tuesday night on the show and I have never heard so many contradictions in my life . You can hear the interview again on Sunday night

• Sweet screaming Jesus, thank God I’m an atheist. I think Mark Philips said it best above, this lot of lunatics are not just another bunch wanting to advertise their view of the world, oh no. What they want to advertise is a false claim, one that can be hurtful, harmful, and very damaging to many people. It would be no less than a claim that they could turn your tapwater into wine… for a small fee. Rubbish. The only difference is that few want the former while many would want the latter but both are a lie. I’m not into censorship but if someone is going to attempt something like this, a complete load of tosh, a blatant lie, then yes I agree with decision to tell them where to go. Freedom of speech does not allow lunatic groups to make lunatic claims.

• Their opinion is not on gay rights!! They think it’s an illness!!! When they’re finished with us will they start on skin lightening creams ? Make everyone worship their god? These kind of morons will stop at nothing to make everyone like them, such is their level of arrogance!

• Free speech is of paramount importance in a free society.

The blasphemy law in Ireland is wrong too. As a Christian I am constantly offended by blasphemy, however where does curtailing free speech end? It is ridiculous to think the state has sanctioned action against religious dissent.

Let people put forward arguments for whatever they believe in and the arguments will stand or fall on their merits.

• False advertising is not the same as free speech. There must be consequences for profiteering from conning people. Ive no issue against religious zealots saying homosexuality is an.abomination but peddling cures for it is a different matter entirely.

• False advertising? Let those who are affected by it sue, if they have a case. I would, were I that bothered by it

• Kieran,
      You are completely right.

Its either a free speech society or it isn’t.

As usual though, a lot of commenters on the Journal who are all on for openess, tolerance and free speech, suddenly retreat from it and become very moral and lecturing when the view being expressed is very different to theirs.

I know this well as I regularly post my right wing views and am chastised and red thumbed by the ‘open-minded middle-grounders’.
      You know who you are ….

Ok red thumbs, come and get me !!!!!

• You do realize that these religious con therapy increase the rates of suicide among gay people. Are the lies and homophobic crap by these brain washers worth people’s lives. Free speech is them allowed to use their religious crap to gay is wrong. Freedom of speech is not advocating a made up treatment to rid people of gay feelings. Picture this scenario if instead of targeting gay people this was against black or Asian people you opinion would quickly change.

• @ K MacCourt & DublinNaas,

To me, it is false advertising, they are accusing a large portion of society of being bad, wrong, sick, but there’s a way of making them better!! It’s just a totally stupid thing to do. To me this Davidson individual is just inciting hatred. We don’t need to go backwards in the learning and understanding of homosexuality. Many, many innocent people have suffered for many years because of people like Davidson.

In Ireland alone, it was against the law to be ‘gay’, until in 1987, after years of fighting, arguing, discussing, Senator David Norris made it law. Nobody has the right to judge anyone. People are born in different ways. Nobody chooses to be gay, the child realises at a very young age, and no matter what the parent, priest, islamic religion or rabbi try to brainwash into an individual, it ain’t going to work.

• @K MacCourt & DublinNaas

http://ilga.org/ilga/en/article/675

• Kieran I will take what you said as a wind up and give you the benefit of the doubt but if you really believe that then I dont know what else I can say.

• Nah, Cyril, it’s not a wind-up. Neither is it a carefully considered point. I’m just reacting to the atmosphere,
      You and I are diametrically opposed in every way; however, I think if my son gets into the army and dies for your right to speak freely againsty my beliefs, he would not give his life in vain. Athiests, gays, bogmen, anti-this and anti-that are all entitled to free speech. Boris the buffoon is the thin end of the wedge against free speech in Britain. We may disagree with the subject but we have to allow the views to be aired.
      Sheila – read your own propaganda link. I’m not going to

• @Kieran MacCourt

Your ignorance and arrogance are showing. If you believe in what you say on this thread, that’s your belief. I don’t feel what I say, from experience, is going to change your opinion. So I bid you good day and I hope you have a perfect life.

You say you have a son, or are you methophorically (sorry wrong spelling) speaking? I hope, if some day he realises that he is gay that he can speak freely to you, knowing that you will try to understand him and love him for who he is and that you accept him and his life to the full

• Shelia,

you are missing the point I (and I believe Kieran) are trying to make.

It is nothing to do with gay or not gay, its about free speech.

• Sheila – gay or not gay is not the issue here. Free speech is. Boris bans adverts on busses. What next? Maybe banning street preaching from the Bible? Pulpit preaching condemning, say, gambling, because gamblers can’t take the heat?
      As for the link you posted – I don’t do links on Journal.ie, sorry to be so dismissive. Sometimes the fingers type faster than politeness dictates they ought to.
      My son’s girlfriend does not think he is gay, so the issue is not relevant. As for how I would feel if he were? Shattered, I suppose. Some people wouldn’t care, but it means a lot in a Christian household. Not for pride’s sake, though, I hope.
      Ignorant I may be, however I have pox-all to be arrogant about having been born looking this way and without a possession to boast of, and I’ll go to the next world just as materially poor and twice as ugly. Goodnight and happy trails to you

• David – interesting comment re suicide. I would certainly like to know the real motives behind the advertiser. But free speech is still more important than our propensity to be offended

• Sheila – gay or not gay is not the issue here. Free speech is. Boris bans adverts on busses. What next? Maybe street preaching from the Bible? Pulpit preaching condemning, say, gambling, because gamblers can’t take the heat?
      As for the link you posted – I don’t do links on Journal.ie, sorry to be so dismissive. Sometimes the fingers type faster than politeness dictates they ought to.
      My son’s girlfriend does not think he is gay, so the issue is not relevant. As for how I would feel if he were? Shattered, I suppose.
      Ignorant I may be, however I have pox-all to be arrogant about having been born looking this way and without a possession to boast of, and I’ll go to the next world just as materially poor and twice as ugly. Goodnight and happy trails to you

• So is complete and total free speech more important that anything else even if it’s puts lives at risk? Surely there has to be some kind of boundaries for free speech?

• @DubInNaas There may be a concept of “freedom of Speech”, but then there’s also slander, libel and misrepresentation, and in the UK the Office of Fair Trading who ensure that you’re not full of sh1t, so the idea that a group like this can hide behind free speech is as crazy as they clearly are.
      There is the European Convention on Human Rights, which also ensures that groups like this can’t do things like this as first of all being gay is not an ilness and doesn’t need curing (thinking it does in the first place may need looking at). Secondly making false, harmful and insulting claims like this group are can be stopped or ensure a hefty fine or imprisonment.

• @ Brian Walsh

Hear, hear!

• Alice 13/04/12 #

Does that therapy actually work though?

• Nope. I’ll just quote Wiki on this one (and it used multiple sources):

“Mainstream health organizations in the United States find that conversion therapy is potentially harmful, and that there has been no scientifically adequate demonstration of its efficacy in the last forty years.”

Conversion therapy is mostly funded hard-line Christian denominations who are quite comfortable taking money off worried parents whose kids think they could be gay. There’s a reason your local GP doesn’t offer this “therapy” :)

• Agree with Mark, it’s orchestrated sexual repression of the worst kind, and Ireland knows better than most the horrible after effects of forced repression of sexuality, homo or hetro.

• Only if you say two of the sorrowful mysteries of the rosary, stand on one foot facing south and say I wanna be straight in the name of Jesus 10 times.

• jesus could the journal just ban this dope pretending to be a girl

• Well considering Homosexuality is not a mental illness, I would imagine any therapy attempting to “cure” it is complete brainwashing bullshit. I honestly cannot see why people have a problem with homosexuality in this day and age.

• Abby 14/04/12 #

Firstly, I’m neither a homophobe nor a devout Christian and I’m not insinuating that anyone should be ashamed of the sexual orientation they were born with.

But human beings aren’t solely motivated by animal instincts like sexuality, we always have the freedom to act on these desires. Nobody died from being celibate.

If you’re gay and you don’t care for the Christian religion, by all means you should embrace your sexual orientation for what it is. These ads shouldn’t affect you if you’re not Christian. Like the many people here you can dismiss it as being an archaic cult with no place in the modern world.

But if you’re Christian and you care about your religion, you have to sacrifice your sexuality anyway. People get so hung up on the homosexuality issue when they forget that Christian churches also preach abstinence until marriage. Some people value their faith more than their sexuality and that should be accepted. Sexual orientation is purely physical, it doesn’t tell you anything about a person’s character or morals. As human beings we are very capable of putting our spiritual values ahead of animal instincts.

• Abby 13/04/12 #

I don’t have a problem with this. Not every gay person is happy with being gay and I think that since very few are either fully straight or fully gay, sexual orientation is less definite than we are led to believe. If I was a practising Christian and I found that my sexuality wasn’t in line with my religious beliefs I’d do everything I could to change that.

• Cosmetic surgery can make people feel a bit better about themselves but you can’t teach a homosexual to be straight. That would be like trying to convert a straight person to gay. DAFT!

• So you would do everything you could to change what you really are just to toe the line of a ficticious book? And that would make you happy?

• Oh and the unhappiness of being gay comes from being brought up with prejudices that mainly stem from brainwashed religious goons.

• I suppose abby makes a point in that if a persons faith or religion or whatever means more to them and brings them more happiness than acting on their sexual orientation then why would they not try whatever they could. I personally dont understand it but each to their own

Add New Comment