TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Martin promises “swift and comprehensive” action on Mahon findings

Micheál Martin addresses the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis in Dublin this evening on plans for party reform.

Micheál Martin addresses the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis this evening in Dublin.
Image: Stephen Kilkenny

MICHEÁL MARTIN has appealed to the grassroots supporters of Fianna Fáil in his opening address to the party’s Ard Fheis in the RDS this evening, calling for their help in reforming the party.

“Our members feel let down by people carrying Fianna Fáil’s banner who failed to live up to the standards of integrity which our founders set,” he said, receiving huge applause from the audience.

“Let me say loud and clear, your message has been heard.  I am determined that the people who belong to Fianna Fáil and support Fianna Fáil will never again be let down by low standards.”

Mahon

Martin outlined the three main areas of focus for party reforms – acting on the findings of the Mahon Tribunal, improving party transparency, and tackling fundraising issues.

“When the final report of the Mahon Tribunal is published we will act without fear or favour against anyone who is shown to have abused their position in Fianna Fáil or in elected office,” he said this evening. “Action will be swift and comprehensive.”

On the subject of fundraising, Martin said that Fianna Fáil members are demanding that the party acts to show that its fundraising “will be completely above suspicion”.

The Ard Fheis marks the start of a two-month dialogue period within which party members are invited to make their contribution to the party’s policies for the next year. Martin said a national policy conference will be held separately to the Ard Fheis to focus on those policy proposals.

FF Ard Fheis

Martin speaking to the press before addressing the party this evening. (Image: Christine Bohan/TheJournal.ie)

‘People won’t be fooled again’

Martin criticised the Fine Gael-Labour coalition for putting politics first and being “obsessed with the media management of every issue”. “People won’t be fooled again,” Martin said of future elections. “The next time a party campaigns on ‘not another red cent’ the public will be waiting for them.”

He said that he believes Ireland can get a “significant reduction” on the promissory notes, but that the government had mishandled negotiations on the issue.

Martin also criticised the proposed abolition of the Seanad as a “major step backward” and said it should play a “particular role in scrutinising European legislation”:

We believe that the Seanad has a role to play and should be reformed rather than abolished. It should be smaller and more efficient, salaries should be reduced. Our proposal includes directly elected Senators along with specialised areas being represented.

Tributes

The party leader said that the party continues to miss the late Brian Lenihan on economic and other issues. “It is right that we acknowledge him this weekend together with the great Lenihan family tradition of service to this country.”

Martin also paid tribute to his party leader predecessor and former Taoiseach Brian Cowen, saying he had “made an enormous contribution to this country and party.”

Read: Micheál Martin’s Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis address in full >

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• Sean 02/03/12 #

It is nice to see FF unmasked and recognised by most as the no-good entitled chancers that they always were.

It’s just a pity that it took the near destruction of the economy for it to be understood.

• Brian Cowen wrecked the country and Fianna Fáil. I don’t understand how Martin can pay tribute to him. There will be little change in FF I think.

• Martin also paid tribute to his party leader predecessor and former Taoiseach Brian Cowen, saying he had “made an enormous contribution to this country and party.”

AND

“Let me say loud and clear, your message has been heard. I am determined that the people who belong to Fianna Fáil and support Fianna Fáil will never again be let down by low standards”

Not planning to fix anything soon then.

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

I’m off to make an “enormous contribution” myself. I may be a while!

• if they were to call the yanks and tell them that one of bin ladens top men was mixing in the ff ard feis and call in a air strike from one of the drones we just maybe able to get rid of 80 percent of corruption in this country

• Sean 02/03/12 #

The main vibe coming across is that there’s a bunch of lads in power who aren’t Fianna Fail, and that sort of thing should really not be allowed to stand.
      I hope the party sinks like a stone.
      That said, they’ll probably smear and smarm their way back in at the next go around.

• Sinking ship Michael!

• can’t wait for the Mahon Report now to see the “swift and comprehensive” action that Mehole will take!!!!

Gas the way he’s calling for a reduction in Seanad wages, but not the Dail wage bill…………..

And praising both Cowen & Linehan – seriously????? regardless of motivation, that is bad………… I shake my head in horror……………. and disbelief……………….. seriously?????? reminds me of Bertie’s greatest regret that he didn’t get the bowl built…………..

• I wouldn’t lump Lenihan with Cowen. Lenihan was a different calibre of public servant. He basically killed himself seeing out his term of duty in finance. Cowen’s in a pub right now – Lenihan is in the grave.

• Sheila Hi, I think by “swift and comprehensive action” he means the good auld FF tradition of “swift” back slaping and “comprehensive” “ye did whaaa ya cute hooor ya” wink wink, nod nod, the moneys in the brown envelope I just slipped in your pocket,

• @swimtwobirds, he basically killed us as well, but we are supposed to forgive him because he was the victim of a terrible illness?

• I wouldn’t lump lenihan with Cowen either . B L can not speak for himself and I really do think he tried to recover the damage that BC did when he was in Finance .May he Rest In Peace.
      BC cannot speak full stop, what an embarassment of a man.

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

@Swimtwobirds

Don’t let the hagiography of Lenihan fool you. All his mistakes benefited a select few while targeting the least able. He was consistently voted the worst Finance Minister in Europe, mocked as the Minister for Fairies and Unicorns in America, for his inability to tell the truth. He was killed by an awful disease that does not mean he was a good man. It just means he was unlucky. Good and bad die from cancer.

• vim_to
      I was no fan of Brian Lenihan , But as I said He tried to recover the damage done . Yes, he was not a good Finance Minister , likewise he was not a ”bad” man . I never liked FF , never voted for them , but B Lenihan got a rough deal, but stood up to it and died when maybe he could have spent the last years left to him at home with his family.

• “I never liked FF , never voted for them , B Lenihan got a rough deal, but stood up to it and died when maybe he could have spent the last years left to him at home with his family.”

That’s where I stand too. By the time he waked into finance it was two weeks away from the bomb going off. The damage had long been done, and he filled an excruciatingly exhausting ministry, possibly the worst any politician will ever see, while he was in the process of dying of cancer. He held his post until he effectively dropped.

I wouldn’t want to have walked in his shoes.

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

He defended a man who robbed his father’s sick fund. He sat in Govt. with people that facilitated it. The man wasn’t the beacon of light that he was presented as. History will be harsh on him.

• Vim – history will punish that entire administration – but two things: no one is saying he was a saint, however he was inarguably a conscientious public servant. Lenihan was parsimonious, incredibly bad tempered apparently, but he was straight as a die.

Secondly the man has gone to his grave. He should be left be.

Please feel free to throw haymakers at Cowen though: he was an utter disgrace, and will forever be one of the two or three worst taoisigh in the history of the republic.

• It indeed was a personal tragedy for the Linehan family -no doubt about that.

But I cannot subscribe to the “don’t speak ill of the dead” to protect Brian Linehan – He made 1 helluva HUGE mistake and we’re all paying for that………….

He (had he lived) and Cowen would have continued to enjoy their big severance packages with not a care for the austerity imposed on the rest of us. And MMartin is just more of the same…………….

• Vim_to
      I have to say , again I had very little time for BL , but he died doing his job .Leave him be .
      Cowen is an ignorant arrogant fart . He was always whinging , and reminding us who was boss…

(Enda tries the same now but we know Angela wears the trousers in that relationship)

FF are finished . I wonder , compared to other years , how many are going to the ard fheis?

• “FF are finished.”

Yes. At least we got the satisfaction of electorally gutting and dismembering that party.

That was a good day.

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

I have a very big problem with Brian Lenihan – Minister for Finance, who I see as bad as any in that administration, maybe worse.

If his death removes the spotlight from his actions, then they can be repeated.

My massive distaste for the man is not based on him as a person, or his awful death but as a judgement of his actions. I believe that if he was alive that he would be viewed same as Ahern and that there would have been calls for his prosecution, especially re: his actions around the nationalization of Anglo, where he wrote laws to specially protect a handful of people. Awful, Awful man.

• Vim_to
      I suppose we will have to wait another 26 years before
      we know for sure exactly what happened that night Anglo
      was privatised . I have no love for him either or any FF
      person who have lied and cheated us into Austerity , but
      he is dead and Cowen is nowhere to be seen … or for that
      neither are any of the marys, or many more of the FF gov .
      All disappeared like thieves in the night.

• Vim.

“Awful, Awful man.”

Enough. He cannot defend, is not long dead, and doubtless has family members who might well go online.

Have some respect.

• Vim_to is obsessed with the big man theory of political history. This flawed analysis is one of the reasons we are where we are (hehe). So easy in post-theist/forever in-the-thrall-of-theism-Ireland to point the finger at the big man. His fault. It wasn’t me. Now sort it out for me. I’m the victim. Talk to Joe. Jeez….

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

No. I would see the current crisis as having involved a cast of thousands and thousands, at varying degrees. The culture of power in this country and lots of other things.

I do not see Lenihan as a good or decent man and it angers me when he is alluded to being one. Its fact based for me.

• “I do not see Lenihan as a good or decent man and it angers me when he is alluded to being one. Its fact based for me.”

enough! for christ’s sake will you please stop.

• Micheal Martin joined FF when CJH was its leader. Nuff said.

• Too fkn right we won’t be fooled again…especially by your crowd Mehole….ye deserve to be banised to the opposition benches for years to come…

• that,s some mess talking shite out of both sides of his mouth

• Martins rhetoric can only fool the most unintelligent.
    What FF has committed is not just treason but they have sold this country.
    They will go down in history as the party which economically ruined Ireland.
    The sad consequence of this insatiable greed is that it leaves a void to be occupied by the likes of uncivilized contenders such as Sinn Fein.

• vim_to 02/03/12 #

Unless FF address criminality at every segment and level of its party then it has no future. Yet, if it does, it will not have many elected Reps left.

Quiet a conundrum for the indecisive and weak Corkonian.

• He reminds of “comical Ali” in the Iraq war when Ali was say in front of the worlds media “the Americans are not in Bagdad.. No way not in Bagdad .. We are pushing them back” and behind him is several USA tanks rolling into Bagdad.. That Michael Martin that is..

• Was the Bert in attendance tonight ??

• “Fellow Fáilers, I see an opportunity to revolutionize our great party, I propose we consider letting our second cousins join us too”

• Lets just call him “Comical Meeehall” from now on…. All together now “Comical Meeehall” get outta me garden…

• LOW STANDERS- Jesus help us! FF promising things – again.
    1 simple promise I would love to see – disband the party and all the currant lot retire. The jails are not big enough to house the corrupt members of FF and the other parties. Strange there are no protesters outside the RDS.

• They (FF), along with their PD and Green Party bitches should all be behind bars for corporate recklessness in bankrupting an entire country. Their banker and developer friends should also be languishing there with them but alas in the land of the gombeen and cute hoor they will just regroup, rebrand and rehash all their old horse shit and as sure as there are horses to carts they will be re-elected at some point by the Irish people because the truth is folks that in Ireland ALL the politicians are more or less exactly the same, same species of leeching parasite just a different genus. The current mob have all but morphed into the last incompetents. The country needs a revolution to sweep away all the old deadwood and nepotist clans who think they own the country and the Dail and Seanad are their very own piggy banks!

• howzat 03/03/12 #

Mahon is too little too late fianna fail brand is near dead anyway

• Swift and comprehensive action… He’ll form a phalanx of committees at the first opportunity.

While privately, he’ll burn his bank statements.

• Elrat 02/03/12 #

Looks like all the red thumb FFs are out tonight !

• My sword has never been aimed at those who don’t deserve it.

• 100 million for the costs of the mahon tribunal.Not one person will be held accountable for anything.What a total waste of money.

• The above two are clearly jealous that they didn’t get invited. No party like a Fianna Fáil party!

• Fine Gael and Labour are giving a very good impression of being an FF government, and are at best really just a caretaker outfit until FF get back

• ciaran you can sing that nothing like a ff party just look at the hang over from the last big party 450000 unemployed, 300000 already emigrated , corruption at epidemic levels , political and judicial system broken ,120.000 euros per head in debt ,there is not to many decent people who want to see you guys party again .

• Ciaran & Glyn, your comments amply demonstrate the pig ignorance inherent in the FF die hard. It’s why your party are crap at anything that doesn’t involve a chance to act shortsightedly for pure profit and self benefit. Climb back under your rocks. Your days are numbered, thank God.

• Hi Noel, I cant speak for Ciaran but I suspect that he is using a dash of “sarcasm” As for my self I have never supported FF and I was employing a dash of sarcasm. The current group of incumbents are no different from the criminals that FF still are, so if I gave the impression of being supportive of FF in any way I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

• I might get a lot of dislikes for what I’m about to type, but how and ever, I’m going to say it!
    I have faith in that man!
    I may probably never vote again so it may not make a difference.
    I also sleep tight at night knowing that I did’nt vote for Kenny & his gobshites

• But you can sleep at night, knowing that you voted for the last shower?. That man, that you have so much faith in, may not have as much in common with you, me, or roughly 97 per cent of of normal human beings. Let’s just say, that a small percentage of the population, are missing the very characteristics, that are the very hallmark, of what makes a person fully human.

• Are you just testing the waters for the laugh??? Seriously, you would give this party a chance again in the future??? It will take at least 10 years for this country to get back the sovereignty that this party sold out (along with FG/Labour)…. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• I never voted for any shower!
      And I don’t intend in voting for any either.
      Voting is a mugs game, but a game I understand must be played, but not by me!
      I do beleive however that M.Martin is a stern bloke and a stern cork man (I’m not from cork) I beleive he believes. Thats all!
      “No matter who we put our faith in, a politician gets in”
      Remember that guys ;-)

• Also dakinas sword – I did’nt say so much faith, I just said faith!
      Pretty much the same thing but folk like you always take it the extra mile.
      I actually dont care for politics, so stop wasting your sword waving on a boy!

Add New Comment