TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Michaela: FG MEP rows back on call for Irish tourists to boycott Mauritius

Seán Kelly had urged Irish people to stay away from Mauritius in the wake of the not guilty verdict but told TheJournal.ie that he would change that view if the investigation continues.

Seán Kelly
Seán Kelly
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

FINE GAEL MEP Seán Kelly has rowed back on his call for Irish people not to visit Mauritius in the wake of the not guilty verdict in the Michaela McAreavey murder trial following the remarks of the Mauritian DPP today.

Kelly, a family friend of the Hartes, said on Facebook yesterday that there had been “no justice” for the Tyrone woman after two men were acquitted of her murder following an eight-week trial and said that “no Irish should visit Mauritius until justice is done”.

But following remarks by the Director of Public Prosecutions in Mauritius, Satyajit Boolell, who indicated that there was a ‘possibility’ of a new trial in the case on RTÉ Radio this morning, Kelly said that if that process was satisfactory for the McAreavey and Harte families he’d reconsider.

He told TheJournal.ie today: ”If the process is ongoing and it’s genuine then we would have to give that time. But I was afraid that the trial is over, there was no result, and no proof so they would have to drop it.

“Once the McAreavey and Harte families are happy it would change the circumstances certainly,” he said adding that there had been “a lot of incredulity regarding the whole process” of the Mauritian judicial system in light of the not guilty verdict.

The former GAA president said there was a danger with the court’s verdict that “justice wont be done at all” and said he had been worried that “unless we as a nation stand behind them it would slip away into oblivion”.

Of Michaela, who was murdered last year while on honeymoon with her husband John McAreavey, Kelly said that he had met her on number of occasions.

She was a lovely girl, an exceptionally fine girl in every respect and I just think this is outlandish and I think we have to stand behind them as a nation,” he said.

Meanwhile, a spokesman for Enda Kenny has denied that the Taoiseach criticised the judicial system in Mauritius, the Irish Independent reports.

Kenny had said yesterday that justice “clearly hasn’t been done” but a spokesperson said that Kenny was merely empathising with the family.

Kelly said the Taoiseach was right to have said what he did, telling TheJournal.ie: “He obviously, like myself, was very unhappy with what happened and obviously was very disappointed for the McAreavey family.

“In fairness they have admitted themselves that the process wasn’t maybe as professional as it might have been.

“So in that sense it kind of puts pressure on them to do it right and to be seen to do it right and to bring whoever was responsible for the murder to justice.”

Michaela McAreavey: New trial “a possibility”

Read next:

Comments (72 Comments)

• there seems to be an undercurrent of assumption that these two men were guilty, never mind the fact that there was a lot more to this trial than the bits we seen from the biased irish media, edna kenny said justice wasnt done, it wasnt done in that no one has been convicted for the murder but that doest mean it wasnt done in the trial of these two men, if they didnt do it then justice was done, it seems a lot of people wanted to believe they did it

• Spot on.

• Totally totally agree, sick of listening to people saying justice was not done, these men were found NOT guilty, people literally get away with murder on a technicality here in Ireland on a regular basis. Someone should shut that guy up, what a stupid idea, so the French should advise their citizens not to visit Ireland because Sophoe Toscan du Plantier’s killer is still at large, I don’t think so. I feel truly truly sorry for Michaela’s family, but unfortunately she is not the only person to die abroad in tragic circumstances.

• Right on, a case has to be judged on it’s merits not what people here think. The jury heard the full case so they are in a better position to judge.

• Someone is guilty of it….why haven’t the police been able to come up with suspects…? Because they are useless incompetent tossers….

• Anyone with compassion would have to empathise with the McAreavy and Hart families. Obviously Sean Kelly is emotionally involved but he is paid to comment with his head,not his heart. Boycotting Mauritius will only serve to punish ordinary Mauritian people whose main source of income is tourism….to what end? The bereaved families deserve more constructive strategies than that.

• This boycotting talk is pretty immature and ridiculous. People on glass houses and all that. The legal system is to blame in Mauritius, not the people. What if the French started boycotting us because of STDP case? On a seperate note, Vincent Browne was onto something the other night I think but was attacked by people who were not listening to his point and only hearing the supposed “insensitivity” he showed. Why don’t all Irish people who get murdered or killed abroad receive such help and assistance from the Irish media, most notably RTE?

• People *in glass houses

• “Why don’t all Irish people who get murdered or killed abroad receive such help and assistance from the Irish media, most notably RTE?”

Browne also had an article on the same topic recently in the Irish Times. The answer is that to stay in business the media has to report news which is going to sell papers, get viewers or in the case of this site, attract visitors. In this case a young woman was murdered, and the fact that she was already well known and just newly married were additional factors to make the story more appealing to readers.

Is it unfair on the families of other victims? Yes, certainly. But this isn’t just an Irish phenomenon, it’s seen all over the world as media meets demand. And there certainly has been demand for developments in this story as the page views on this and other sites show.

• Ryan, there was a reason I said “most notably RTE”. They should be above trying to sell news and be pro offering equal representation to all news events, you know with them being the national broadcaster and all.

• Spot on Diarmaid. We’re talking about an organisation who sees a story about the trial relating to the burning of a furniture store in Croydon as more newsworthy than payments to bondholders. Draw your own conclusions about their impartiality.

• Diarmuid
      It’s the GAA connection, Vincent is correct!

• Exactly! I’ve been to Mauritius and found the people extremely friendly and hospitable. The Mauritians I spoke to about the murder were disgusted and horrified by it. For some muppet to call on all of us to boycott and lay the blame of this murder on the innocent Mauritians leads me to wonder how this idiot has an IQ high enough to be a politican!

• Boycott Mauritius? In that case, French should boycott Ireland, Poland should boycott Ireland n Hungary should boycott Ireland too! 2 Polish man were killed over here for not giving a cigarette, the other one was stabbed in the head with a screwdriver, anyone remember that??? You boycott Mauritius or not, the country will still get tourist from the rest of the world :-)

• Mauritius needs all the tourists they can get, the man that killed the polish guy is in prison, justice done. The UK is boycotting Mauritius also.

• Mark where are you from?

• Why??

• Just wondering, as you said Uk is boycotting mauritius too.

• Mauritius is getting alot of bad press here in London because of this murder. Alot of damage is done to the reputation of that island. They will lose many tourists from Europe, their biggest market.

• So you from Uk then? Tell me this, you wouldn’t of said this, that Uk is boycotting Mauritius too if they still own the island like they did in 1968? If they boycotting Mauritius like you just said, then you might as well tell all yours british citizen that emigrated there for the sun to pack up and move back to Uk then? How does that sound?

• Vimal i couldn’t care less about Brits living in Mauritius or who owns the island, The fact is alot of damage is done to that islands reputation because of this murder and how they handled it. Mauritius loss will be the Seychelles gain. Visitor numbers from the UK is down 40% last year. This will continue to decline.

• I couldn’t careless if Uk boycott Mauritius or no, and maybe for your general knowledge tourism ain’t the only income of the country, Mauritius produce a huge quantity of sugar across the world n they do a huge production of textile too. It’s amazing how 2 guys (if they did the crime or no) could put such an impact on the whole island reputation. Crime happen everywhere, n not everywhere got justice.

• You may not care living in Ireland, but the 100,000 people employed in Mauritius in the tourism sector will.

• Mark, you said ” Visitor numbers from the UK is down 40% last year” . According to the Mauritian Central Statistics Office, UK visitors are so far, down 6.3% from last year… far away from your 40%… Irish visitors are not represented in the statistics, probably because this is a very small market for Mauritius. On the other hand there are about 300 000 French people going to Mauritius every year, and this story hasn’t showed up anywhere in the French press, so it’s not going to damage Mauritus biggest market .
      Having said that, I personnally believe the investigation wasn’t serious, I believe there are a lot of problems within the Mauritian police force ( mainly corruption), and there was incompetence from beginning to end. The fact that the accused said they were tortured into confession half-suprised me. It actually reminded me of a story that happpened in Mauritus in 1999. A mauritian singer was arrested for smoking marijuana and 2 days later died in a prison cell. Mauritian police and officials sais he committed suicide. When an independant doctor did an autopsy, he found out he was brutalized. Was somebody ever convicted ? No, there was not even a trial.
      I do feel for the victim’s family, I hope the case will be re-opened, and the reel culprits found.

• 56,000 fewer trips where made to Mauritius by British tourists in 2011 compared to 2010. Just under 98,000 British tourists visited Mauritius in 2011. That figure is set to drop again this year. France 24 news channel did cover the trial.

• Not the first time a member of FG has back tracked on something. But on a serious note. Bad things happen in every country and Mauritius is no different. I sincerely hope the Harte family find justice but ordering the boycott of an Island is not the way to do so. Typical knee jerk reaction from a politician.

• I agree with the above. Is there no one in FG with common sense? This kind of thing just adds to the pain these families are and will have to endure.

I hope they can get the justice they deserve. But REAL JUSTICE. Not the sham they have had to sit and suffer through these past eighteen months. This so called trial came about as a consequence of knee jerk reactions on the part of the authorities over there it shouldn’t be compound by knee jerk reactions over here by FG MEPs who ought to know better.

• Not the first time a member of FG has back tracked on something…

I’ll get my coat.

• You would think Ireland had the best legal system in the world, listening to these people! Ask the French what that think! It’s almost impossible to be convicted of murder in this country! ( especially if you’re well connected). Not a week goes by when I’m not amazed at someone getting off, or receiving a ridiculously light sentence for serious crimes!

• Half of the commentators on this site were lambasting FG for not “doing something” when Loyalists were bruning tricolours this week. Now a member of FG tries to do something about an actual person being murdered and you aren’t happy about that either

• Might be different people, Chuck. Or it might be different things happening in different countries in a completely different set of circumstances.

Different people commenting might be enough. It’s not as though there’s a collective consciousness operating out there.

Not that there isn’t quite a knee-jerk response going on, judging by the state of the Mauritius tourism facebook page, for example.

• Very true. But of course the Fianna Gaelabour Party might be better off looking at what they’re doing to Irish citizens themselves before they start looking for justice for foreign individuals….

• @Charley – Foreign individuals??

• Gogans 14/07/12 #

And the Germans should boycott us too so seeing as one of our own killed one of their teenagers here in Ireland! I

Is it time elected officials have to take some form of aptitude & competency test, background check to be Garda vetted & an IQ test before taking office????

• Sean Kelly, what have you got to say about the lack of even a suspect for the murder of Anthony Campbell?

• a moronic and bigoted comment from sean kelly, designed to appeal to the gaa crowd.

• Ridiculous comment from Sean Kelly.

It was clear that these men should not have been convicted.

The fact that he is making this call after the verdict suggests he wanted them convicted regardless of the ham-fisted investigation and prosecution.

• Didn’t realize Sean kelly was the Judge and Jury!! Unbelievable Statements.

• The comments about why all murder cases don’t get this kind of attention is true but its just not possible to cover all these stories the way they deserve.Same as in all stories certain details captivate,
    i.e. they were on their honeymoon
    a time that should have been amoung thier happiest
    she went to get a kit kat to have with her tea :the innocance of that ! !
    These cases are not holding themselves above other deserving
    cases I would say they are highlighted to show the horror of all murder.
    As for the cases that are brought up in Ireland when victims and families were failed I’m sorry for them.But” two wrongs don’t don’t make a right”.
    The garda from moments after my nephew was attacked till his murderer was convicted were outstanding .
    Be happy you live in a country were people are expressing moral outrage at the threatment of Michaela and her families,would you prefer indifference !!.
    Recently the Irish fans raised their voices and shone a light on whats great about the Irish spirit.
    Support the family and hope you never have to walk in their shoes..it’sa big world lots of other wounderful places to visit !

• Opening mouth before putting brain in gear should be a punishable offence in Ireland sadly we have many practitioners

• We should be getting our own house in order before complaining about other countries, you can’t walk down a street in Dublin without being robbed, knifed or even murdered and people getting off on technicalitys all the down. Plently of foreigners have been victims of serious crime in this country in recent times, I never heard this clown or his buddies in FG commenting on it.

• Based up that logic no brit should ever visit Ireland.
    This is another “engage brain before speaking ” moment.it’s a stupid crass childish comment.

• Janey Mac , nothing FG says can stand in light of the FACT that a minister in our government one of the highest level of public office is himself in breach of a High Court order …. James reilly is that Minister . Ship out now Reilly , do the decent thing and then maybe , just maybe people will begin to listen to any suggestions your td’s or senators have to say . Otherwise Mr Sean Kelly , you should stick to football!

• What a stupid thing to say.

• The whole manner in which the trial was carried out was disgusting.outbursts of laughter at a murder trial is just horrendous.The poor family are no further on and I dont think they will ever be able to have any kind of peace until the real killer is caught ,which at this point I dont think they will.It is a tragic tale.I certainly wouldnt go near mauritus after this.
    And for those comparing this to stdp case,I am sick hearing about it,yes her family never got justice either,but Neither have a lot of families in this country and they didnt get a fraction of the media coverage that stdp got or is getting.

• What an idiot!!

• What an idiotic call. Surely the men’s acquittal indicates due process. Do those who support this foolish call just want any ‘foreigner’ convicted???

• Moron. Give us a break.

• Boycott Mauritius? Absolutely, because despite what people think it isn’t just a island for honeymooners or those who can afford a nice holiday, no, despite austerity the Irish are flying to Mauritius every week in their droves.
    Were these two Mauritian’s guilty? Maybe. Was the police investigation up to scratch by international standards? Not a chance, Inspector Clouseau could have done better. Would an Irish boycott have any effect? Financially, I doubt it unless others joined in or the international media began a campaign but what would the goal be, a retrial? That isn’t possible in most jurisdiction’s and I doubt if Mauritius is any different, double jeopardy applies. Unless there was to be a significant amount of new evidence and the men were to be retried for manslaughter I can’t see anything changing.

• I doubt those two guys guys killed her !! It would not be fair to put two innocent people in prison for a crime they didn’t do !! It’s a very very sad and horrendous story poor girl on her honeymoon I hope the case is not closed and they find the person who did this but it’s not justice to lock away two men who are innocent !! Because they are innocent untill proven guilty !!!

• Ciaran,you have left far more comments than i have,
    it would appear you are the “expert” on this case.

• A young bride was murdered whilst on her honeymoon ,in what should have been one of the most memorable and happy times of her life by some mauritian(s).Why shouldnt this make the news?This murder was disturbing and disgusting.Now two suspected murderers and thieves are freed.There was NO justice.There is no closure, the girl didnt kill herself.Why are you people always turning this on us?Where is your sense of solidarity with your fellow irishmen and women?If you dont like the gardai or you secretly engage in acts of self loathing thats your problem this isnt about you.The problem here is not the Irish legal system,the murder didnt happen here,if you want to complain about that then do so on a page thats relevant.its the mauritian courts legal decision which is to blame and the underlying issue of the targeting of westerners on their holidays in lesser countries .They tried their best to subvert justice making,rude,damaging and malevolent accusations about the couple.These blatant acts of harm on their charachter was epitiomised when the defence for these apes said they were seen on camera arguing,it was in fact a German couple.They even tried to pan the murder over to her husband….there you go if you want to complain about accusations with no evidence.

• I don’t see the point in people pointing to how the French, amongst others, are unimpressed with us. The French want us to extradite a man so that they can, rest assured, find him guilty. I wouldn’t be holding them aloft as paragons of virtue.

• Steve 14/07/12 #

I think Mauritius is bypassed since they upgraded the M4 west of Enfield anyway so this boycott, which I fully endorse, shouldn’t put me out too much.

• Why is it stupid??It is true.

• to rommel burke,yes people who murder are apes and yes mauritius is a smaller ,weaker economically country than ireland .thats a fact not an opinion.As for it being a lesser country any country that subverts justice to keep its inflow of tourists then yeah i think its fair comment,thats real political influence,but like you said you said you dont know me nor i you.Someone murdered her maybe it wasnt them i was making the point the prosecution and law were making a ham fisted attempt for justice…probably on purpose.

• Mujaahid 15/07/12 #

‘On purpose’ – what an arrogant assumption. ireland’s justice system isn’t a paragon of virtue young man and you do need to travel a wee bit beyond your town to understand that!

• franco 14/07/12 #

What do you expect when the jurors were probably relatives !!!

• One of two accused was involved in €500 missing belonging to Italian couple in other hotel so it must be him to link Michaela’s murder – robbery yet he was freed last Wednesday. We should go to Mauritius till they lock up her killers.

• Smiley 14/07/12 #

Does anyone know how the legal system works there? I think it may be the French system whic is different to Ireland’s. Do the double jeopardy rules apply?

• I would be surprised if any Irish have gone to Mauritius since she was murdered..nBit late there Sean..

Add New Comment