Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Micheál Martin calls for clarification on EU treaty

Micheál Martin
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheál Martin has called on the Taoiseach to clarify uncertainties around the EU treaty which was agreed by European leaders this week.

Martin has written to Enda Kenny seeking answers to six questions highlighting grey areas in the Treaty, the full text of which emerged on Tuesday.

The move comes days after independent TDs announced they would try to force a referendum on the agreement, which the Government has referred to the Attorney General. The Dáil Technical Group plan to use an obscure constitutional provision under which a certain number of Oireachtas members can petition the President.

Micheál Martin asked for clarity on when a ‘debt brake’ provision in the Treaty would apply to Ireland, which is currently exempt as it is part of a bailout programme; and whether Ireland would attach a specific protocol to the Treaty safeguarding its corporation tax rate.

He also asked how the Government planned to meet a 2015 target under which nations’ budget deficits are obliged to be no higher than 0.5 per cent. This would go above and beyond current plans, Martin said.

The question raises the issue of whether even harsher bailout measures would need to be applied to meet the target.

In addition, Martin requested clarification on the application of the debt brake rule; whether Ireland would need to ratify th treaty to avail of continued funding after the bailout programme conclues; and the permanency of the debt brake.

More: EU treaty is ‘not a solution to euro crisis’ – former Lenihan advisor>

Full coverage of the EU treaty on TheJournal.ie>

Read Next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Strange that this traitor pretend to care about Ireland, he did everything to convince their people to give away their Sovereignty and Independence. This particular ditch lizard Mr Martin is incapable of telling the truth, none are more treacherous and deceiving. FG and Labor on the other hand are no better, doing their very best to completely destroy Ireland and its childrens future completely. Your politicians are all the same, friends who pretend to differ. Some day you will all have to stand, like generations before you.

• Fingal 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jaysus, you fairly lay down the melodrama sometimes.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Thank you Fingal

• Tim Henchin 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well it is a fair point to say that there are few as slimey as Micheal Martin. Spot on Dieter.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So true Timothy.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Apologies for more grammar and spelling mistakes than usual, Irish whiskey

• John Murphy 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hey Deiter!
      Now that you have a few on board can I deem to be a bit nosey? You refer to us Irish in the third person as if you are not one of us, as if you are somewhat separate and aloof from our disparaged state. Your observations are very wise and apt and I only bring this up in the interest of having the benefit of your indulgences in a more involved way.
      In these days of savage hardship and with little help from our elected your imput in a more – lets say – intimate way would be most appreciated given the extreme likelihood of a deeper, more controversial connection with our European neighbours.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Your observations, whilst interesting, are not altogether correct. True, I am not Irish but I do not feel above anyone. I admit I live a life detached from a lot of the suffering in Ireland yet in many ways I am deeply connected. I observe and comment, here and elsewhere, for the few who understand and appreciate truth, who judge and absolve each other. It is that growing minority that I have such a strong affection towards and my only indulgence is a powerful deeply engraved dissipation of dishonesty, lies and ignorance. Those who can not see or think for themselves are beneath my contempt, I look upon those as merely part of the blond flock, lively or sad, loyal or corrupt, from whom there is nothing to be expected but fleeting second hand opinions. They are empty words without true emotions, either pleasant or unpleasant, which leave no trace behind them. There will be change in Ireland, there will be peaceful anarchy, there will be an awakening but not now….now is a time to for people think, imagine, awaken, hope and it is a time for me to pour another amber drink of the Gods, Jameson. For just like whiskey, public opinion and consciousness must go through many changes before the taste is just right, patience is essential my earnest friend.

• John Murphy 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Thank you Deiter.
      I shall mull over your observations with a nice glass of German Riesling in hand. Cheers my good friend

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

A particularly beautiful grape, Riesling is still being picked even now in February. A wonderfully strong, resilient grape that fights against all of natures odds yet still manages to flourish and grow. I like a matured 10 -15 yr old semi sweet, with pork…enjoy!

• John Murphy 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yes indeed, Rielling from the Rhine and pork from the Schleswig-Holstein what a repast!

• Mensah Mensah 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Pretending he dosent know whats going an…u lot cant fool us any more..yes labour,ff,fg da whole lot o dem…one word…***********

• mart_n 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There’s something tragic yet quite fitting about an Emmy Award winning Irish filmmaker having to spam sites with his latest offering.

Mildly amusing too

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Strange that this traitor pretends to care about Ireland, he did everything to convince his people to give away their Sovereignty and Independence….is how that should read my friends. I am drinking a beautifully matured Irish Jameson, on the rocks…slainte to Ireland’s future!!

• Leslie Alan Rock 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’ll give u clarification Michael. If it wasn’t for your party and your old F*****g cronies, there wouldn’t be a need for one.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Is profanity necessary?

• Neil Kettles 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

How did that “top of the range leech” manage to get himself voted in again?

• Réada Quinn 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Profanities are sometimes necessary JustDieter to express our anger. English is not our native tongue and we’re quite partial to a bit of melodramatics ourselves. ;-)

• Leslie Alan Rock 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Apologies Dieter if it offends but the passionate hatred i feel for this mans party and the current lot is boundless

• Edward Smyth 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Policies in NI that strangle the people, populist bull in the South should be contradictory to your thinking. Constructive alternatives are good but years of intimidation have given some the idea that intimidation works everywhere, no it doesn`t, it `s like pissing down your leg, it feels hot to you but not to the audience, drink up lads and be happy. Slainte.

• Aydo 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Someone set up a new party will they, no politicians allowed in it, just professionals with a love of their country and not a death wish for it.
    Ah, dreams.

• jimbo 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Shut up martin.

• JustDieter 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I prefer Jameson on the rocks. How can anyone taint such a beautiful taste with Cola and such chemicals?

• Tim Henchin 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Greenspot Whiskey. Go for the upgrade and not a whole lot dearer that Jameson. Probably the finest Irish Whiskey you can get.

• JustDieter 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I will, thank you Timothy. I am quite partial to a sip of Redbreast 15yrs or Tyrconnell 10yrs which I recently tried for the first time, beautiful.

• corky2004 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Micheal Martin… Yet another example of a teacher out of his depth. Back to the classroom mickey because you’re no use in Dail Eireann

• alan 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

the nutters who typically exploit situations like this are the likes of FF and Martin (who seems pathologically incapable of acknowledging his role in the creation of the current situation (and i mean that literally; it cannot be healthy to exist in such a state of denial)?

it isn’t good at all to see him asking this question. it is dispiritng

• Stephen Kearon 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Good to see the leader of the opposition asking important and necessary questions.

Whilst clearly its in Ireland’s interests to have this treaty ratified, its also very important to have easily understood facts on record, especially as the usual rag bag of anti everything nutters will be active spreading their lies.

• alan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

you can be sure martin won’t figure largely one way or the other. as it is clear that he is one of those repsonsible for the situation,he will have to leave it to others who weren’t there with him to deal with the public. his mere presence will incline the voters towards taking a stance opposite to whatever one he happens to be advoctaing. i have the feeling that this antipathy would override even the negative feelings that people have towards fg/lab

martin’s presence would be a disaster one way or the other. he may leave it to the lackeys like mcgrath to make the public announcements (although, god knows, he is no better

• Desmond Byrne 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It is Martin’s duty as an opposition politician to question what the government are doing so that we the electorate can be better informed. However, he does no service to that important role as he is contaminated by his role in the Fianna Fail that has ruined this country. Better he should resign and hand over to another who is not teignted, might be taken seriously, and serve the democratic process better.

• Mark Rodgers 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Martin is the sort of guy who looks at you slightly at an angle……possibly learned in the Carr School of communications. Tells what they want and leaves the room.
    He dithers and has an unpleasant nasally whingy sounding voice.he has never taken a decision in his life and tries to avoid confrontation at all cost…….that’s our Leader of the opposition.
    Now he’s trying to take advantage of the hostility towards thenFiscalm compact even though it doesn’t require a referendum.
    That’s no responsible opposition…..that’s thuggery and senior members of Fianna Fail should have words with him.

Add New Comment