TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

PHOTOS: Sixteen police officers hurt in Belfast clashes

Meanwhile Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has said the violence is nothing to do with flags and is being orchestrated by “known criminals” intent on causing chaos.

A police officer is injured at the Albertbridge Road this afternoon
Image: Paul Faith/PA Wire

Updated 6.40pm

SIXTEEN POLICE OFFICERS have been injured during serious clashes between loyalists and nationalists in Belfast this afternoon.

PSNI officers used a water cannon and fired four Attenuating Energy Projectiles (AEP) rounds in a bid to break up the unrest. Police have advised members of the public to avoid parts of east Belfast as the disorder continues into the evening.

Two of the officers have been taken to hospital for treatment for their injuries.

Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs Eamon Gilmore has said the violence in Northern Ireland is being orchestrated by “known criminals” who are intent on creating chaos.

In a strong statement, the Tánaiste said loyalists are taking advantage of earlier protests around the flying of the Union flag over Belfast City Hall.

“This has nothing to do with real issues around flags and identity in a shared society which are the subject of intensive political discussions at present,” Eamon Gilmore said in a statement. He said:

This violence is being orchestrated and those behind it are known criminals intent on creating chaos.

Petrol bombs, masonry and other missiles were thrown at PSNI officers last night. Aside from a brief lull over Christmas, protests have been ongoing almost every night since 2 December when Belfast City Council voted to reduce the number of days the Union flag flies over the City Hall building.

A campaign by businesses in Belfast to encourage people to go to a local pub or restaurant and ignore the protests and disruption was trending on Twitter last night.

The Tánaiste has spoken with First Minister Peter Robinson, Theresa Villiers, the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, and the leaders of all the political parties in recent days.

He is due to meet the Secretary of State and the First and Deputy First Minister next week to review developments.

Union Flag protests

All photos: Paul Faith/PA Wire

Read: Two charged over violence in Northern Ireland as 33 petrol bombs thrown >

Read: More violence in Northern Ireland as Union flag protest continue >

Read next:

Comments (72 Comments)

• ptriley 12/01/13 #

I doubt if the Queen gives a royal shite about these “loyal” subjects

• we all know that its just young lads with nothing to do so why is there nothing done about it. they should be rounded up and made do community work and if underage their parents should be made responsible and pay up

• I didn’t read a single comment…….but…..
    A bunch of feral teenage something’s being orchestrated by their criminal handlers.
    No education. No employment. No prospects.
    Fed twisted history lessons from cradle to grave.
    Nobody on the uk mainland gives a shit.
    Clinging to the bones of some great triumph at the Boyne or the fields of France.
    Great wars of the past do not make a great future.
    Very very simple really.

• Best statement you have made in a long time Eamon. Enda the unionist arse licker wont be pleased with you though.

• No one in FG would support this statement from Gilmore. The worst part of this entire protest, is that come June, July & August, the people in the North will go through it all over again when the Parades commission refuse these thugs the right to March into Irish Areas in their attempt to enforce their ‘Culture’ on the Irish who do not want it.
      It really is a total joke. The flag that they are complaining about is one symbol in Belfast City Hall. When you walk in the door of the building, you are confronted by a big statue of one of the past Queens. Every room in the building is named after a past royal monarch, or Viceroy.
      These Loyalists want to show the population there, that they are the ones in control and will resort to the same use of violence that was imposed on the Irish population since 1925. I watched the BBC/SKY/Euro news all report on the violence this week. Every single one of their reports state that the Flag is not allowed to be flown anymore. This is not true, and if i was sitting in France/Germany etc i would be under the impression that the ‘British’ in the North are not allowed to fly the British flag. This is media manipulation. The Flag being raised over Belfast city hall is being restricted to be flown to match all other major cities in England, Scotland & Wales.
      These ‘Loyalists’ are being given public air time, when they should be arrested and imprisoned, similar to the Republican dissidents. Instead, the International media is feeding the ‘Troll’ and the Trolls will use this publicity as an excuse to punish the Irish North of the Border and people will end up being killed as a result (collateral damage as the military might say).
      I fear we are going to head into one of the most dangerous marching seasons in years, as a result of the Unionist Political leadership fuelling a totally inexcusable criminal campaign. Alliance/SF/SDLP members have all received death threats as a result of the fuelling by DUP & Ulster Unionist MP’s & MLA’s. It is a total disgrace and reminiscent of the pre-1969 era.

• Spot on Cal1. They are nothing but Loyalist Dissidents with an antiquated, facist agenda. Their day is gone and they know it. Needs to be said though that these thugs are a tiny minority of the Unionist population and that most Unionists, whether they agree or dissagree with the flag’s removal, do not support the riots.

• Yep the british media is claiming the flag is essentially banned when it was the exception to the rule all along.One imbecile on Dailymail site said if people dont like the national flag they should move south (huh???) But that only highlights the complete and utter lack of knowledge they have hahaha.

• Robert, The Indo ran a column yesterday asking what all the fuss was about in relation to the flag. They asked why should people look for the flag to be restricted to the same days as other cities in Britain, when the Irish can fly their flag as much as they want on at parades Saint Patricks Day all across the North.
      This showed how much the Indo know about the the subject matter. If they did any sort of research before putting out such ignorant comments and comparisons, they would know that the Irish flag is banned from every parade on Saint Patricks Day, in case it antagonizes the British population. If any parade fly \s and Irish Flag, the parade is banned the following year.

• Jesus….i wanna laugh at that but such ignorance is no laughing matter.Their parades have black and white crosses i saw it on tv last year as not to offend those who abuse and traumatise little catholic schoolkids because they walk to school along a protestant street.Im no fan of Israel but we could learn a lot from them instead of being a weak cowering disgrace.

• Aaron t 12/01/13 #

Got to agree with you on the news media outlets dramatising the events even further, now imagine how young out of work youth from loyalist areas react when they read those headlines. The media is a part of this problem.

• The police won’t stamp this out, if the mob were wearing Celtic jerseys they would be met with a hail of plastic bullets.

• Good to see involment from the southern government in the north. We need to see a lot more of that.

• tom 12/01/13 #

We in the south need to be much firmer in our approach to issue’s in the north and should apply political pressure on England to sort out this loyalist bigotry.
      Also as head of EU Edna get your finger out and highlight this to the rest of europe that it is not acceptable in a modern day europe

• Tom: I lived in London for a few years and I can tell you that the vast majority of people I spoke to on the subject don’t know and/or don’t care what is happening in Northern Ireland. Westminster sees it as an inconvenience. Its up to the people of this island, OUR island to deal with OUR problems.

• Isnt the most northerly part of this island part of the ‘south’ then?

• Actually completely agree with Gilmore (feel dirty when I say that…); this is just yobs using the “flegs” as a pretext to get out & cause havoc. Nothing more.

• And in the meantime, not even the Guardian, Daily Torygraph or Daily Fail will give these protests news space. But when riots happen in England…! Shows how much they care over here about the North and their most loyal citizens.

• Did Gilmore just call Willy a criminal? How dare he!!! :)

• I always find it really difficult to believe that these mindless violent thugs actually live only a few miles away in our country!

• Violence isn’t the answer but I do think a few rubber bullets along with regular water cannons should be constantly used. I cannot understand why the PSNI are willing to continue the risk of severe injury to their staff! If these rioters had jobs and any sort if interesting lives they wouldn’t be bothered about rioting,their loyalty increases when they are idle

• They are forbidden under E.U. law from using rubber bullets. However, they can use batten rounds (plastic bullets) but they are reserved for republican protesters. Mind you they have fired a few plastic bullets into the air over the past ever fews days but that was merely for effect.

• Hmm when I was 12 I was playing Pokemon , not going out and being a thug.

Has the world really changed for the worse in the past 10 years?

• Houses in the nationalist Short Strand were attacked this afternoon. Nationalists are showing extreme restraint in not getting dragged into the riots. Where is the DUP and UUP condemnation of these attacks on law abiding people and police officers? Can you imagine how loud they’d be shouting if the shoe was on the other foot? Shame on them.

• It’s unfortunate that these loyalists kids up north aren’t better educated ,except to sit on there holes and head out for d odd riot to fill up there time as they do fook all everyday..If they ended up in Dublin today its fair to say that they would have ended up fairly humiliateed and send packing with there tails between there legs bk home..

• Harry C 12/01/13 #

Let’s face up to the fact that there is no short term solution to these troubles. Peace is not an option in these peoples eyes. What we have is a an artificially created state, like the state of Israel, that hasn’t been allowed to emerge, I’m sorry to say, from a proper civil war. I don’t know where the solution will come from but hatred makes people do terrible things. I never forget that night in Windsor Park when the RoI played NIR in a qualifier. The venom and hatred on display was unbelievable. It just dosen’t go away you know. David Irvine, imho, was an inspiration but unfortunately we lost that great man far too prematurely.

• An overall island Truth and reconciliation effort supported by all partys and both governments might help address the suspicion and hurt being felt by both the Irish and British living on the island. Nelson Mandela, Bishop Desmond Tutu have called for it, but neither governments have any interest in trying to move the division on this island.

• God be with the day’s when Eamonn and his bud’s would attribute this carry on to the capitalist/imperialist block promoting sectarianism to keep the working class divided in northern ireland

• I have looked and watched all the mainstream news feeds and still no official condemnation from any unionist party?

Have you read the piece on the bbc where they stopped and jeered a pensioner on his way to visit his sick wife in hospital?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20998867

• keep it classy ye numpteys

• Its taking them far too long to notice that no one else cares

• Cal 1, I don’t know which BBC you have been watching but it must be a different one from me. It has never once while I’ve been watching said that the union flag has been banned from being flown. It has said that the democratically elected council had voted to restrict the days the union flag is flown to the same amount of days its flown in England. As a person born in England but who visits Ireland north and south several times a year I don’t understand the flag thing. In England you hardly ever see the union flag flying. Even when its a flag day very few buildings fly it. I think a lot of the problem in Belfast is to do with unemployment, lack of opportunity and looking for simple answers to blame their problems on. They think the peace process has taken everything from them and given it to the others. I just hope cooler heads prevail.

• Stop this unfair criticism. We must feel their pain…understand their sense of loss…their yearning for a place of their own. What about Rockall?

• Governance in the ROI is also orchestrated by criminals intent on creating chaos. Bit hypocritical there, Eamo.

• Opinions is all he’s good for! Himself or the other yoke! Will doing nothing about it! Only cater for the loyalists when they come to Dublin.freedom to protest or intimidate?

• So what’s it got to do with Gilmore anyway? He’s nothing more than a traitor to his own people, and I for one couldn’t care less what he has to say about another jurisdiction. If he had just one drop of honourable blood in his body, he would’ve resigned a long time ago.

• If you don’t care, don’t comment.

And FYI a lot of people in Ireland (North and South) care about what happens in other parts of the island, whatever the current jurisdictional reality.

Furthermore, in this ‘other’ jurisdiction their is an Irish population of 30-50 percentage depending on how one interprets the latest census. And 20% are Irish passport-holders.

I think even in your myopic view of the world it is appropriate for the Irish Foreign Minister to comment on sustained violence in jurisdiction with a significant Irish population, let alone one in Ireland.

• Says the master thief.

• bah, well of course anyone who causes damage and goes rioting is regarded as a criminal. coming to you one day soon Gilmore, they should burn down your little corrupt building and all ye lot in it, cos you lot are also the criminals! Gadaffi was bad oh yea he was bad ye say, talking didn’t get him off his hole, he had to be taken out. oh yea, violence doesn’t solve anything, oh yea, you say that just to suit yourselves and be safe. Revolt is the only way to go today cause none of you listen to the people. understand that word ‘iisten’.

• Can someone explain to me why the protesters in favour of the Union flag are called loyalists rather than unionists, and those who are against the flag but also protesting are called nationalists rather than republicans. My understanding was that the difference between loyalists and unionists, and republicans and nationalists, was that the former in each case (loyalists and republicans) would resort to violence to achieve their goals, whereas the latter in each case wouldn’t? If so then should those protesting against the flag and clashing with those in favour of the flag, not be labelled republicans? However all media (not just The Journal!! :) ) refer to the protesters as loyalists and nationalists. Why are these terms chosen? I’m not trying to make a political point, I’m just curious!

• Bronagh, i just read about it on the BBC news web-site, but i can guarantee it will not be on TV (on any channel). As per my post above, someone is going to be killed, we know it, and yet you have the likes of the Indo writing articles suggesting that the poor ‘Loyalists’ have almost no choice at this stage, but to riot.
      There is always a ‘Genuine’ excuse for Loyalists to riot, found in the media.
      However, the Political leaders of the Loyalists will accept no responsibility for fuelling these fires, when someone is killed as a result of a house being petrol bombed or being refused access to medical treatment. Look at what happened in Ballymoney, when 3 young children were burned alive by these so call Loyalists, just for being Irish, and the Parades commission refused to allow a Loyalist march through that area. Stop feeding these murderers with soft stories that paint them as the innocent party. They are murderers and Hooligans. Put them in prison instead of putting them on TV. I read one comment on Journal.ie earlier and it really says it all…
      One Loyalist wearing a scarf to hide his identity saying that he is rioting because he feels his identity is being taken from him. What a bloody joke they all are, except its not funny when someone dies as result of their actions and attitudes. The British now make up less than 48% of the Norths population. Accept the reality and move on. Build bridges with your fellow Northerners, instead of barriers.

• Cal. The British make up 0% of the NI population. Northern Ireland is made up of two communities of Irish people. Northern Irish Republicans & Northern Irish Unionists. Both groups are made up of mainly decent, honest people who want an end to sectarianism on their streets. The rioters are criminal aggitators who use Unionism as a flag of convienience for their atctivity. Your insistance on labeling people as Irish or English feeds into this silliness and is an insult to both communities of Northern Irish people. I agree with a lot of your other points but I strongly disagree with the labels because labels and symbols have been at the root of much of the sad bloodshed in Northern Ireland since the foundation of the territory.

• Sorry Dave, but 48% of people in Northern Ireland labelled themselves as British. 40% labelled themselves as British only with 8% labelling themselves as British and _______. 29% included Northern Irish as their nationality, and 28% included Irish. 25% said they were Irish only.
      http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/protestantcatholic-gap-narrows-as-census-results-revealed-16248982.html

• Ohh dear Ignoreland. did you just qoute the Belfast Telegraph a publication not exactly renowned for balanced reporting. For instance. Inciteing sectarianism. http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/letters/wakeup-call-for-unionists-is-long-overdue-16255920.html

• Words really do fail me. A disgrace to humanity. Hard not to get angry :-(

• Eh if you read the piece,Dave, you would see that the figures were taken from the last census. I could equally have cited from the Irish Times, the Guardian, or even the census website itself but the Telegraph was the first page that came up on Google.

• One of the comments on telgraph site from a loyalist said the Republic will have to pay out billions in compensation for assisting death squads.What planet are these people on???I am staunchly against the free state for its complete INACTION yet they think its scheming against them!!Another called the tricolor over leinster hall fascist…jesus…

• And in other news there is a paint drying competition on in donegal so if any1 is bord of hearing the belfast riots please join me..

• Dude you spelt ‘competition’ when ‘comp’ would have done and then neglected to spell ‘anyone’ and ‘bored’ foreshame!!

• And to think, I had to do a spellcheck for the word competition..

• Well guess what some of us have to live with the riots and have to know whats going on. I have family living on the far side of East Belfast, for instance, and if I want to visit them the bus runs straight through where a lot of these riots are occurring, the Newtownards Road to be precise (though you probably don’t care because it doesn’t directly effect you).

A lot of people work in the city centre, which has been repeating subjected to protests etc. so it’s handy for those people to remain informed in case it is potentially dangerous to get to work.

So if your not interested don’t read it, but guess what news is not primarily intended for yours or anyone elses entertainment.

• If you think what they did was an amicable compromise then keep taking the tablets….

• The only flags that should be allowed if any is the EU Flag. The rest should be banned as it invites violence. The people who really demonstrate their humanity are the police north and south and the army – not the violent people.

• New Alliance Party Motion for Belfast City council:

That this council resolves to implement the following changes:
      That the Royal Avenue be renamed “The Avenue of the Rising”
      That Windsor Park football stadium be renamed Bobby Sands Park.
      That the Royal Victoria Hospital be renamed the Michael Collins Hospital.
      That the Queen Elizabeth Bridge be renamed the Devalera Bridge
      That all public houses within the jurisdiction of this Council bearing the name “The Crown” be renamed “The Shamrock”
      That William Street ceases to exist except on designated days but excluding the 12th July.
      And that this council urges upon the good and tolerant people of Belfast to strive together in harmony for the continuing reconciliation between our citizens.

• Your showing your ignorance now,the Alliance COMPROMISED,they would under no circumstances implement the above,they would compromise (theres that word again) and find an amicable solution.You clearly havent the slightest clue what the Alliance party are about.

Add New Comment