TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Three-quarters of voters dissatisfied with government’s performance – poll

The Millward Brown poll for the Sunday Independent also has good news for Fianna Fáil.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Taoiseach Enda Kenny
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THREE QUARTERS OF people in Ireland are dissatisfied with the performance of the government according to a new opinion poll.

The Millward Brown poll for the Sunday Independent has found that just a fifth of voters are satisfied with how the government is performing with an overwhelming number dissatisfied with its performance after two years.

Millward Brown polled 985 voters over a ten day period up to last Thursday with support for Fine Gael dropping to 25 per cent and Labour’s support dipping below 10 per cent to 9 per cent.

This is when undecideds – of which there are 32 per cent – are excluded.

Fianna Fáíl has topped the poll with 29 per cent, up six points from the last poll in the same newspaper a fortnight ago.

Support for Sinn Féin has dropped to 20 per cent while independents and others are on 16 per cent.

For party leaders, Micheál Martin is the most popular with 36 per cent satisfied with  the performance of the Fianna Fáil leader.

He is followed by Gerry Adams on 28 per cent, the Taoiseach is on 26 per cent and 17 per cent are satisified with the performance of Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore.

February: Fianna Fáil back on top in new opinion poll

Ipsos MRBI Poll: Fianna Fáil is Ireland’s most popular party

Read next:

Comments (231 Comments)

• Sure when you see the likes of Lowrey getting re elected time after time and the Healy Raes sure nothing this country does surprises me. Still, Fianna Fail, jaysus you would have had to marooned on an island for the past 30+ years to even contemplate giving them a vote. Christ will people ever cop on.

• Sadly, Adam I fear he Soldiers of Destiny will be back in the barracks in 2 years time.

• The answer to this is that this Government has had to make unpopular and harsh decisions unprecented in this country. People choose to believe that this is unecessary. It is necessary.in two years time this Government will be seen to have the job donewiththis nation borrowing at low cost and the country on the up and up

• Rory, keep telling yourself that if it softens the blow to your beloved party. But you’re wrong.

• It is not what has to be done that’s causing the problem, (we have a very intelligent electorate) it is the choice of ways of doing it that is causing the problem.
      That and the blatant lies and broken promises like Roscommon hospital

• FF/Shinners next time around I’d say.

• @Kevin, we don’t have an intelligent electorate, they vote for a party they always vote for and for individuals they like every time, no one gets voted in to do a job for the people. We never hold parties or individuals accountable, so, if FF get voted in again it will prove the point. You’d have to to be very stupid to vote them in after they destroyed this country over the last three terms when they were in power. Don’t get me wrong LAB/FG could do better but in fairness they were always going to make very unpopular decisions to try in some way to get Ireland back on its feet. I can handle the tough decisions, just hate some of the double standards and the “looking after themselves” attitude but then all TDs do that :-(

• No Rory – what will be seen – and is being seen – is nepotism, cronyism, and the selling out of Irish people for generations to come in order to placate Merkel and German banks. This is the reality.

• Bull shit

• Same ole rhetoric at every hands turn Rory. The truth of the matter is that people have woken up to the balls of a job FG have made of this county. They promised so much and failed to deliver.

• Rory. Rabbitte admitted that Labour lied in the promises that got them elected.
      I think it is very obvious to everyone that Labour took advantage of their people when they were very vulnerable after the corruption and incompetence of Fianna Fáil.
      It would appear that the promises made were made solely so Politicians with no morals and no conscience could get their turn gorging from the public trough at our expense and at the expense of our families and children.
      The Govt has not made any real hard decisions for the benefit of the Irish People. We are being taxed more for less services. The EU hails us as a good little doggie that does what it’s told and Enda had got numerous pats on the head for implementing changes that have hurt the weakest of our society while protecting the wealthy, Bankers, Bondholders and the Political Elite.
      It makes me laugh that people are so blind and stupid after everything our Govt had done, all the promises they have u-turned on and their obvious contempt fir the Irish People to defend these Political Opportunists and try to somehow justify their actions.
      The Irish Political System is rotten to the core. People are waking up to this and Labour will be decimated on the next election.
      I am ashamed to call myself Irish with the low standard of representatives currently in Govt. They have no morals, no loyalty to their people and would sell us all out if it meant making a few Euro. Some would say they have already sold us out.

• You know Toby you are so right, our politician’s have no honour what so ever, Tax Tax and more Tax.
      They have not stuck to one thing they promised after Enda and his cronies took over the running of this country.

• Are you having a F*****g laugh! This government are almost, already ‘AROUND’ that long, and in two years time we’ll be lucky if anybody sticks ‘AROUND’ that long (our young people in anyway)! Plenty of alternatives out there without this government going for the old reliable ‘slash and cut’ and the ‘targeting’ of the usual people, THOSE WHO CAN’T AFFORD IT, NOT THE WEALTHY, BUT THE POOR!

• Remember the 32 per cent undecided that’s more than any party got
    Spin doctors keep ignoring this
    That’s a massive amount of votes that are there for the taking

• Three-quarters of voters dissatisfied with government’s performance – poll

In other news
    The government is very happy with their performance, knowing that they have all secured their pensions and have gotten away without having to take a pay cut and also got away with lying to the Irish people.
    Their also pleased with the fact that the Irish people will be living in Austerity for many many years to come.

Oh to be a politician, it must be the only job that you can lie your way to get the job and screw the Irish people after you get elected.

• Liam 16/03/13 #

29% support Fianna Fail, what the hell is wrong with these people? I know Fine Gael and Labour are a joke but Fianna Fail were the ones that got Ireland into the mess that it finds itself in. That only leaves Sinn Fein and the independents and they ain’t anything unique either, it really is a dire situation that we are in.

• I agree. We really are at rock bottom in Irish politics.

• FF doing so well because of the pain FG/Lab are inflicting on the people.

• Aye but Fianna Fail caused the pain and will be just as bad in power.

• FF & FG both support property taxes and water charges and the people still vote for them, lol.

• Philip 16/03/13 #

FF are rising because FG are implementing their programme to the letter

FF/FG it doesn’t matter the sooner they become the one party the better

• cormac 16/03/13 #

Half of the FF 29% will be dead by next election. FF hardcore are in their 60s plus. Would like to see a breakdown of the poll if the 55+ age group were excluded. That is where future govs will be created.

• Next gov FF /FG

• @liam – yes – FF appeard to be utterly corrupt – but the basic cause was our accpetnce of Neo liberal economics – and do u think – once again – that FG would have followed Icelands policy re banks ??.
      Now we are paying the price for Civil war – big time – with two virtually identical parties – but does it really matter – when our real masters are in Troika anyway – and there are few if any politicians or voters ??? who want to break that fatal link .
      Yes – the people vote – not in their own interests – but for whoever the Stae media – tell them to vote for . The media create the Illisusion that we live in a demcracy – and that there are differences beween parties – well as we have seen – there are none berwen FG/FF / and our ” socialist ‘ labour party.
      why dont people take the time to go to sites where there are alternative views – - no – they must watch Big brother or some sh#t rugby match sponsored by a bailed out bank – that took part in criminal activities in city of london -

• Nail on the head there.
      fg/lab got a massive protest vote that put them where they are.
      fg/lab have chosen to lie,cheat and decieve the very people that voted and supported them (or believed their blatent lies).
      The people put them there and they had a chance to be in power for many years to come but their lies and sleveen deeds are going to make sure they will be destroyed.
      They won’t even make a decent opposition party. They have lost credibility or trust . In fact they are not even welcome in this country any more.
      No doubt the hacks will be here to defend them.

• Liam that’s it on a nutshell . No alternative to the present shower of gangsters.

• @Cormac wrong, recent Red C polls have shown a surge in support for FF in the under 35 age group.

• A surge in support? Yep. It’s 4 young people now.

• Do you actually know what your talking about! FF do not support a property tax at this time when families are struggling with mortgage arrears and so many in negative equity how can you afford a property tax when u can’t afford to pay mortgage. Stop peddling lies on this page and actually go read the FF budget proposals.

• Direct Democracy Ireland – give them a chance.

• Olibhear – FF had undertaken to implement this with the Troika. The dogs in the steer know this. So stop peddling your own FF propaganda.

• Steer = street

• I do remember quite well FF putting down thr framework for introducing the property tax and making an agreement with the Eu or imf to impliment it. So olibear… Get real!

• Still peddling the FG party line as always Kevin? There’s a good foot soldier…..

• i know why most of us voted in this crowd . we knew the country was in a very bad way after the other shower. i for one voted fine gael;now i tought we were going to get real change but we have got just the same this crowd are creaming off lots for themselves so we have got no real change. senate councils qwango expenses so is it any reason why fina fail are heading back. I rang Andrew Doyles office last week to express my disappointment there i spoke to a girl cant rember her name talk about being far removed well he wont get a vote from me again ever. they seem to be so far removed from the rest of us. SO NO CHANGE THERE AT ALL. AM SURE HE WILL BE CONTACTING ME BEFORE LONG. CANT WAIT

• I’ve no idea how I’d answer such a poll. I’ve always voted, but really, if there was an election called tomorrow I’d be very hard pressed to know who I could vote for.

Fianna Fail is out forever, this coalition is a mess and is out, voting for Sinn Fein (whose politics does not convince me) would really be a vote for a Sinn Fein/Fianna Fail coalition which I’d never vote for. What am I left with? Nothing is what.

We seriously need a new party – a credible one with capable people that are likely to attract a decent block of votes. None of the various ‘parties’ that have sprung up of late seem in the least bit credible to me.

• BMJF 16/03/13 #

I know Fine Gael are total losers & Labour are worse but have the electorate forgotten who got us into this fn mess – Fianna Fáil! Do 29% really have amnesia or are they just stupid or lacking choice???

• 29% Fianna Fail – The Irish people deserve the situation they are in.

That said, I’d wait for a Red C poll before accepting this result. I wouldn’t trust anything the Sindo publishes or commissions – the same paper that defended Bertie to the hilt as he lied through his teeth at the Mahon Tribunal, and has the likes of Willie O’Dea and Celia Larkin amongst it’s “journalists”.

• Labour are were they belong, about to follow the greens into oblivion. Their lust for power at the expense of the working class is betrayal of the worst kind and as the greens found the people will not forgive or forget

• 75% dissatisfied => Family Home Tax
    ——————————————-
    http://www.HomeTaxPetition.net

• how can anyone be dumb enough to vote fianna fail ?

• We Knew that was always coming..

• We need a movement to reform society, politics etc. We’re only 3 years away from commemorating the 1916 Rising. What would those martyrs do in the face of the continued destruction and abasement of society by the main political parties?

• I think they would say- Wow. Look at the historical symmetry. 100 years ago FG were setting up the country. Now they’re saving it.

• @Kevin; while your contention may be correct, which it isn’t in my opinion, politics is about people not economies ; 80% of the Irish nation are not now represented by a group of individuals who they no longer want to represent them! What about democracy?

• @dermot- we’re meant to change Government with every opinion poll? Would you not agree that the pursuit of short term gratification of the electorate by FF got us here in the first place? Governments are meant to lead, not follow. As an aside, this Government retains 34% support, not 20%.

• Ryan'O 16/03/13 #

Kevin, you sound awfully like Vincent Dolan. He spouts the same drivel.

• fair point kevin re opinion polls , but this support has tanked for a reason and furthermore it’s consistent , if there is a poll in another three weeks what will happen, Ulster bank are out of the blocks already with eviction notices, the news in Cyprus has the potential for the “Rich” Irish to do a hari kari on the deposits currently in our banks , at what point do we say stop. I have argued that there has to be a constitutional article that prevents a government any government from doing a solo run in the wrong direction! I understand the way you are looking at it , loyalty to party or system or whatever motivation but the people have abandoned this government and they are not for turning . the word legitimacy springs to mind !
      An interesting way of looking at it is that when the roman empire collapsed in Britain many people returned to their old indigenous ways and many retained the old roman traditions despite the fact they were not still ruled by Rome . It’s beginnng to feel like that !
      What’s going to happen to the support when pensioners realise that their pensions have to be benchmarked down in line with this Croke park deal ? what will the support be then ?
      the best effort this government made to create “jobs” was the 1,000 nurses jobs they got 80 odd applications – that is the ultimate poll for me ! Qualified hard working women who have spent 4 years in college and have clinical experience don’t even want to work for this government !
      remember this is not personal to you or the government but my gut tells me they are wrong , I am only looking for the best solution for our nation, are the current government doing same ?
      Dissatisfaction leads to stress, stress leads to cancer among other things this is not the type of society I want to live in!

• @ryan- yeah- and I’m Richard Rodgers and Batman too. Quite the master of disguise, I am. Speaking of bluff- Im still waiting for you to address my question from the earlier thread. Still no answer? Still just content to spout rhetoric? Thought so.

• @ryan- btw: reading your profile it reminded me that you’re “in Ireland but wish elsewhere”…I’ll ask again: what’s stopping you? Are the Ryanair or Aer Lingus websites down? There are ferries too. I’d hate to think you had to endure Ireland for one minute longer than you had to and you’d patently be no loss to the country so it would be a win:win.

• By auction politics, which Labour admit to false bidding, and FG blatantly lied about. (Remember his signing the Roscommon hospital pledge) remember the 100000 jobs a year pledge!
      The best that could be said about FG is the go to the Auction, bid like hell, take the goods and then don’t pay for the

• Most of ye are missing the point. These show of w******* are only puppets in this heist. If FF or SF were in power, the same things would be happening to us and in the same order.

We would still have the Rothschilds coming over on that fatefull night a few years ago. Still have the bailout, bond holders, IMF, Anglo, lies about debt deals, RTE Data Tax, Water Tax, Property Tax and everything else.

All this crap that we are experiencing is down to a plan created by the EU hawks who enslave us via debt in order to rob us, our country and it’s assets.

Us Irish have a long tradition of not seeing the wood from the trees. We get distracted by intentional government distractions such as the strategic reduction of benifits, minimum wages decreases and reinstatements. Taxs, cuts etc etc etc.

At the end of the day, most of us cannot see the bigger picture.

• The bigger picture? The only picture that involves the Rothschilds coming over on some fateful night is a conspiracy theorists wet dream. Irish people did this. We rewarded them with massive pensions. End-of.

• @Kevin, there seems to be a bit of a bully in you, forcing YOUR version of politics on people, the countries getting better you say, employments standing you say,I invite you to come down to my city in waterford where this week alone 4 businesses have closed on the city centre alone making a total of 17 since January, not taking into account the amount of people emigrating,I personally know of 6 people who have left this country, the present government lied to us by saying no property tax, no water rates, not another red cent to the banks, so get out of your ivory tower and see how the normal people live

• Who are this 20% that are happy with the government?? nobody I know is satisfied with this shower..

• Probably bankers and developers

• Well Jamie, I think they are doing a good job under very difficult circumstances. Finally a decisive government that will take the hard calls. I know I’m not on my own with this one…

• Hard calls or easy targets?

• *slowly raises his hand*

• @cian- spot on. For some reason people seem to have thought it was going to be a walk in the park fixing the mess Fianna Fáil made. Intoxicated by 15 years of FF quick fix, we’ll buy your vote politics, I suppose. I really had hoped they would have sobered up by now and recognised the progress made. But they seem to lack even that modicum of common sense.

• sean 16/03/13 #

that fact people are willing to actually vote for FF , tells you all you need to know about the utter Balls up of a job the current gov are doing

still no bankers in jail
      developers still getting paid handsomely for assisting in wrecking the country , and continuing to get away with the fact they brazenly didn’t bother to make any effort to pay of the massive loans they borrowed ,

yet FG/LAB won’t to rob from our bank accounts , to plug the hole in the county council’s budgets (thanks to the developers ),

kenny and co are like something out of father ted

• Kevin the government made far to many promises before last election when they didn’t need to when bottled the hard decisions in first 12 months when the people were with them now that we see the this government are following the last government policy and present ministers appear to have no idea what the average family are going through why anyone is surprised my the last few polls is beyond me

• Yes Kevin-
      ‘they’, the people, totally dumb as fock the lot of them………..isn’t it as well Enda and his cronies know better than to take the general public seriously!

In other news. I see Bertie Ahern, not content with bringing the country to its knees and then bleeding it dry with his obscene pension, has a hand in this sell off of our State forests.

Flocking conts the whole lot of ‘them’ if you ask me.

• Probably bankers and developers and FGs business buddies

• Yeah, you’re with the one fifth who think the government is doing a good job.
      Lets not forget Fine Gael got elected because of a protest vote ( and even then couldn’t get a majority on their own)
      And they’ll go down because of a protest vote

• Well done David , your loyalty is actually commendable as is your honesty !
      I’m in the other 80 % but I am objecting to the system rather than F.F., .F.G., Lab, Green, P.D. or Sinn fein .etc.

• Bruce 16/03/13 #

Oh yeah, hard decisions? Taking vital allowances away from OAPs while having no balls to make meaningful cuts to the excessive pensions for high paid civil servants. And why? Because they want to make sure they reach get fat pensions for a few years work.

Indeed you must be very proud.

• Look at what it took for FG to get elected.

Then think about why people are willing to vote FF again.

Personally I think they’re deluded, but you’ve got to admit it’s a stunning indictment of the current lot.

• ISBA 17/03/13 #

On the contrary, this Government is avoiding the hard calls apart from carrying out the wishes of ECB. They have broken virtually every promise made. They continue to protect the white collar criminal brigade at every turn. They won’t legislate to dramatically cut the €3k per week pensions of Ahern, Harney, Cowen et all. They have failed to tackle the chronic mis-management in HSE and local authorities.They continue with the failed regulatory regime e.g. cartels (artificially high prices) are costing each household €2,400.00 per year, that is €4b per year in white collar crime carried out by big business – friends of FG, FF & Labour. In short, all things considered, this government is the worst in living memory.

• In the photo Gilmore looks like he’s saying something like ” we won’t be having that sort of thing..” and Kenny is like ” careful now”

• The third that arw satisfied with the government are either benefiting from the government or stupid.

• Genghis khan would be more popular than enda kenny and a dose of the po x is more appealing than eamon gilmore

• Why wont RTE give Ben gilroy coverage.directdemocracy.ie.It is a new and exciting change for proper politics here.It will be our voice.People should look them up at least.Meath people have the power for change in this country.Stay in the mess we are in,or vote Ben Gilroy for change.They all have lied to us time and time again,and have you noticed their election posters.No slogans this time,as they have nothing to offer us.Vote directdemocracy.ie for a new way forward.

• What spin will they put on this…it’ll need some spin alright

• “Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice, eh ……. shame ….. you and ……fish, don’t shame…..eh, transgender ducks”.
    i.e. Vote FF again we deserve flogging.

• Three years to go,enough time for a new party to form and offer real choice.FF/FG and Lab the only difference is the name.

• this gov. ar a shower of crucked thiefs

• People need to differentiate between fianna fail “getting us into this” and what would happen if another party were in power. What happened to us was that we were subjected to loose monetary policy between 03-07 when we needed the opposite. No political party would have changed what happened. In fact if the left were on power we would probably have a worse structural deficit.. And I’m no Fianna Fáil voter..

• I am a FF voter and a member.
      I feel FF do now accept that we got the country into this mess, and have apologised for it.
      The present government parties and most of the opposition wanted us to do more spending Lower taxes further.
      FF made the decisions and have apologised for the damage and hurt they caused.
      FG and Lab pretending they knew better is being seen for what it is, bulls—!
      At least FF admit their mistakes and apologised.

• Kevin – seriously?! Apologised? So now it’s OK? Get a gr will you.

• Yes FF have completely changed, and are so sorry they have expelled all those involved with the previous corrupt and disastrous group of TDs that are responsible for this mess.

• Shame on you and I am entitled to say that because my life has been complete destroyed by the action of your party, I never went mad I did everything right, so any of them arguments won’t work. I lived within my means and my means have been cut drastically to bail out banks

Oh they Pursued the wrong strategy and that’s what got us in this mess, get off it, they were corrupt with brown envelopes, tribunals, Galway tents and the list goes on and on. They did not apologies, should have done what the greens did and disappeared for a while, but to come out shouting and cocky like they had hurt no one, ruined any chance they had with a lot of people.

How many bankers are locked up, how many politicians have we locked up for abuse of power and other corrupt acts. NONE. Michael Martin is still good friends with cowen and Bertie the guys who played a massive part in my present suffering so if you think for one min your party has changed your a fool. I was a FF voter all my life and what they have done to me. They don’t deserve to set foot in gov buildings.

SF have my vote now, I have ignored RTE ( FF voters are the easily brainwashed) they will give me security and hope and that is something a lot of people need. FF/G will mean nailing the coffin on this little island. I will take a chance I have nothing left to give.

FF have been a tumour sucking the life out of Ireland for the last 90 years. Don’t give me the bill they did when the country was flooded with cheap credit.

• Brian 16/03/13 #

I can totally understand people expressing their unhappiness with the current government, it has done some despicable things. But if your intention is to vote Fianna Fáil at the next election then you are utterly brain dead. But then again I would have said that before any election.
    It should also be remembered that the rag that is the Sindo is a rabidly pro-Fianna Fail paper and will do whatever they have to in order to give a truly rotten and corrupt party a leg up.

• Does Martin have the men in black working for him, because it seems most of the Irish public have been neurolised to forget that he was involved in all the shit that the previous government were involved in. It staggers me how stupid the Irish people can be sometimes!

• So people would prefer to go back to the blood sucking crooks of fianna fail. What a bloody country!

• yep, they’re afraid of SF you see cos of the IRA thing which continues to be fed to you by FG/FF/Lab, old news. Whats not old news is the mess we’re in and the mess FF got us in. Let them on, banana town for the clowns.

• Fool some of the people some of the time……# neveragain

• It’s inevitable FF will recover some of the “lent” votes, interesting to see how far it will go. Labour apparently in free fall and continuing their dive in the polls, Very, very happy with SF 20% however will wait for a real poll (RedC) Sindo has no real credibility, just interesting.

• I work that out to be 60 people of 985 that said they support Labour – am I right in that?

{ Rough work:
    Voters less undecideds: 985 – 32% = 669.8
    Labour voters : 669.8 x 9% = 60.282
    }

I guess that’s why Gilmore won’t attend his mandate.

• I don’t like this politics stuff ,can we sell it off?get a few quid scrap value like

• Yes it’s all well an good to come on here and hack but where are the mass protests? The demands for the formation of new parties? The demands for debt reduction? This country is WEAK! We could change it but instead the vast majority are all talk and taking this BS without resistance. So ashamed by the vast majority of people of Ireland. History is written when it needs to be and IT NOW NEEDS TO BE! I can’t start a family, I can’t own a home, I can work….not socialise, not drive too far (petrol costs) not enjoy life. No wonder the young people are being run out of the country. They are made it impossible for so many of us to stay and complacency on the majority’s part is just letting it happen. See the story about how we are being commended on our ‘turn around’? FG and L spewing lies to the international community about what’s happening here. Soup kitchens, bread lines, people living in one room because they can’t afford to hear their homes, I know those are extreme examples but they are the reality.

• Until green thumbs count as an official protest it will be very hard to change! I will March with you, give me a time and place but not everyone will even though they’re angry. How can we make it easy to protest for the green thumbers myself included?? We need a new way to protest, show our government and the world we care like they did with the Arab Spring! How about a mass Skype conference call? We can bitch all we want but it won’t change anything. We need new ideas on how to protest, how to change, how to reform. Can The Journal post an article on suggestions for change and get everyone to comment their positive ideas.

• If people email all TD’s of FF,FG and
      Labour on a given day receiving thousands of emails would get their attention.

• just because kennys shower of criminals are down dosent automatically mean meehal martins crims are more thought of..it only means less hated..meehall scrapped the xmas bonus dont forget.

• Maurice- in a previous thread I asked you substantiate your repeated assertion that FG were criminals. I still await your answer. Proof of institutionalised criminality, please. Not a policy you disagreed with or a decision you didn’t like…an instance viewed as criminal under the law. Put up or shut up.

• Judge Helen Perrin is in jail for deception! Deception is therefore a crime ! read the programme for Government or whatever that other rubbish they produced to get elected Kevin and there you have it , in my opinion!
      Furthermore Phil Hogan sent the armed response unit to cloonmanny bog in direct violation of landowners constitutional rights , that would be treason, gain in my opinion and both are one I would be more than willing to argue in front of a truly independent and honest judge , until then it will have to remain a personal opinion of mine!

• Good man, Dermot

• Ryan'O 16/03/13 #

Jesus Kevin you get a hard on defending the ginger cabaret… It’s getting boring. Get over it, your party’s going downnnn n nn :D

• Didn’t the FG official party have to make a settlement with the revenue Kevin?

• thank you kevin

• Yet another poll cynically promoting the tweedledum/tweedledee model of Irish politics. What utter bollox

• Bryan N 16/03/13 #

And the other quarter have Alzheimer’s !!

• kenny looks like one of those gob shites that when they see a camera they pop their head into the picture so they can tell their pals did you see me on the tele last night

• This government think it is ok to fund RTE who want to build one of the biggest developments in Dublin on their land. Have we learned anything?
    They also think it is ok to take money from people to give to the banks to hand out in sponsorship for Rugby, Sailing, Football, Horse Racing, Tennis, Show Jumping, Golf, etc etc. people are hungry and cold yet the corporate boxes are full of bankers and friends from government. It’s immoral.

• FFAIL! are people suffering from Stockholm syndrome!
    That party should have been disbanded and branded a swear word, never to be spoken again for the damage they did to the future of our country.
    The government will probably time a banking investigation for the night the guarantee sunk this country near the next election to destroy any gains they are making in the polls.

• One figure has been not mentioned: “…and half of voters wanting a brand new political party.”
    http://alturl.com/i2zec

Half of voters want a brand new political party.
    Point them in the direction of the Direct Democracy Ireland!

http://directdemocracyireland.ie/

• What I’d like to know is who are the people that vote in these polls??? I’ve never voted in one of these or know anyone who has participated in one!? I wonder is it the same people each time? They don’t seem to ever represent an across the board sample!

• I hate they way we have no choice but to settle for the best of a very bad bunch. Surely its about time we see the introduction of new parties with new ideologies instead of falling into the same trap every time…

• Can’t understand how people appear vote for FF either after desmantling the Irish economy and wrecking families and lives of so many people. Irish people have shown by these results to be without doubt the dumbest people on the planet.

• dominic 16/03/13 #

There is little enough to celebrate tomorrow and will certainly leave thé parade or event that is attended by politicians as a means of self promotion.

• 32 % undecided ! There is your new political party …lets call it The 32 Party and run one candidate in each county .

• Orly 16/03/13 #

Why is the poll not represented in some visual format in this article?

• FG/LAB=FF they have betrayed the people and should be treated as such they have constantly gone after the most vunerable in society whilst supporting the elite

• So people may be fed up of the government and all they see as the solution is to let Fianna Fail back in? Please people we’re enough of a laughing stock already. Voting for Fianna Fail will just make more people leave this country. Most of the blame can be stacked on them and the sort that follow them.

• There is absolutely no point changing the government until we change the system. At the moment whoever gets elected would just have to tow.the line.of the Troica, the Central bank, the top dogs in the ISFC and the top Civil servants who will ensure their interests are well and truly protected.

• Every time F/G Labour got into government they tax the poor,old, sick, young and people who were trying to make a wage.##Will kenny reopen the moriarty tribunal – in my opinion no because his friends may be involved.
    Why should the ordinary people pay the debts of the rich?

• With FF at 29% I am more convinced than ever that we are a nation of idiots.maybe it has something to do with the age profile of their support and that they all have alzheimers.

• Short memories. If 20% support Sinn Fein, why would anyone be surprised if Fianna Fail can get into pole position.

To borrow from Mencken “”Nobody ever went broke by underestimating the intelligence of the .(American) public.”

• For the record im one of those FF supporters but the main message from this poll is the government no longer has the support of the people.
    Eamon Gilmore I hope you remember how you made so many false promises on lines like that in the past.

• Then Leonard you should be ashamed of the party that presided over this country over 12 years. Lab/FG are just righting the errors that FF caused over 3 terms in power. Many allowances, rates and policies that should never have been granted in the first place are now being taken back. Not surprising that FG are seen as bad guys now. FF have absolutely no credibility now. We need to adopt the attitude to austerity that people like the Germans have always espoused now and into the future if we are to recover.

• Leonard- at least you’re not as cowardly as your party colleagues…in hiding for the last two years. Your politics, though is shocking in its stupidity.

• Ask yourself. Would fianna fail have done any better or worse if they were in power?

• Today is the 13th of April not the 16th. Journal.ie writing the news before it happens…

• In the interests of hilarity ;
    ” Enda stop, I’m supposed to be seen leaning to the left , look a camera !”
    ” well now, that young Edward, is the difference between Tainiste and Taoiseach and I’m just telling you because after this poll today you’ll be leaning out of a job pretty soon!”

• Lets be clear about this. All of you on here complaining about FF’s 29%? You’re all on here day in, day out perpetuating the myth about all the parties being the same and whining about the Government. You’re part of the problem. You’re not able to discriminate between those FF crooked, inept failures and FG/Labour so why should anyone else? You talk down the achievements of this Government and you exaggerate it’s shortcomings. You suffer from the same amnesia FF voters do, unable to remember the problems inherited by this Government or recognise the scale of the challenges faced. You lack the fortitude to suck it up and bear what needs to be done to fix the country, intoxicated as ye are by the quick fix medicine traditionally dispensed by FF and the “make believe, impossible, wish it were so” prescriptions of the left. I could vomit when I look at the accomplishments of this Government and this poll. All faith lost. Just make sure to remember all you nah Sayers how you helped to propel back to power as you watch Taoiseach Martin entering Government buildings in 2016.

• Kevin i despise the rise also of FF ,the unfairness of the policies of the present government is helping FF’s popularity.Example was the last two budgets,the most regressive in over 10 years.The poorest hit the hardest.
      Disabled being targeted on a regular basis.
      FG/Lab are architects of their own demise.

• It’s troubling to think that you might believe what you are saying Kevin.

• sean 16/03/13 #

kevin , stop
      defending FG/LAB and saying they have a good record , its truly laughable , you obviously have in no shape form or fashion been effected by the Gestapo measures,

FG/Gestapo got into gov, via a protest vote against FF , (plus the fact the lied , lied ,lied)
      FG will be ousted from gov via a protest vote to the benefit of FF (simply because , some people on this septic isle will not take a chance and vote for someone different ),

• Paul 16/03/13 #

I’ve never voted FF and never will, shower of crooks. I didn’t vote FG, but knowing they’d be in govt I hoped at least that they’d perform their usual task of cleaning up the mess left after those gangsters, which, in fairness they may be doing, but they’re breaking a lot of promises.
      It’s ridiculous that anyone would vote FF but it’s no less ridiculous to continue to vote for someone when you know full well their promises are a pack of lies.
      It’s unfair to say that we haven’t got the fortitude to see through the hard times. As a nation we have braced ourselves and sucked it up, and FG would have got in even if their manifesto proposed a decade of floggings, sackcloth and ashes. They had the chance to make things at least honest, even if there had to be more pain. They blew it. They lied. And once they got comfy they have engaged in the same stroke politics as the last shower, admittedly at a learner’s pace.
      Corruption and lies are the reasons people will gravitate back to the civil war politics of tweedle-dum and tweedle-dummer (what is the ideological difference between the two anyway?) because when everyone is a liar, a gangster or both, we have no way to make informed decisions come election time.

• @jenny- these cuts were coming no matter what. You’re incredibly naive if you believed otherwise. They were inevitable after the FF catastrophe. You focus on some if the harsher cuts and forget that social welfare and income tax have been ring fenced. You neglect to give credit for massively reduced interest rates, extensions to loans, our impending return to the money markets and the restoration of our economic sovereignty. You seemingly don’t recognise unemployment has stabilised, the country’s reputation has been restored and as a country our country looks secure again and the rebuild is starting. The whole world recognises a remarkable turnaround. Everyone but the Irish electorate. And you. So as I say- you’re part of the problem.

• Kevin there was choices they targeted the sections of society they thought was the source of least resistence.They attacked the most vunerable and that will not be forgotten.Just because i have a different outlook to you please do not accuse me of being “naive”.

• Sean- I don’t believe I will stop, no. You’re a case in point. Off you go now and do a comparison of the state of the Irish Republic when FG/Lab vs now. If you can come back to me with a compelling argument that the country is worse off, I’ll retract what I said. But you won’t. Because Ireland’s much better off. Not that the likes of you notice. You’re too busy spewing anti-Government rhetoric, prefer to knock down than build. As I say- the likes of you are part of the problem. Gestapo- do you ever listen to yourself?

• @paul- I know what you’re saying. But there’s nothing in Irish electoral history to suggest that the Irish electorate rewards 100% honesty. Ask Alan Dukes how the Tallaght Strategy worked for him. This poll proves my point. The crimes of FF are being rewarded as they lie bare faced about it being better under them. I had only three expectations from this Government- 1). Stop things getting worse. 2). Reduce our debts ability and 3). Get the Troika out of Dublin. I knew it was going to be ugly getting there. But they’ve made huge progress on all three. And that deserves to be recognised.

• Lastly Kevin let me offer you some advice i have seen you offer others,if your fellow countrymen disgust you so much please don’t feel compelled to stay.Plenty of various types of transport to convey you to whichever part of the globe you would like to reside in.
      It seems your party shares the same contempt for the Irish people as you do.

• sean 16/03/13 #

“The whole world recognises a remarkable turnaround. Everyone but the Irish electorate”
      Nail on the head Kevin

The whole world are reading the government lead media stories (remember the saying , don’t let facts get in the way of a good story) ,

The irish electorate are living , breathing and suffering evr thanks to FG/LAB policy of look after the rich at the expense of the poor

• Kevin you are losing it
      fine gael/labour are themselves to blame
      they are failing because they are doing it like fianna fail,
      they had a good plan but they chose to throw it in the bin

• Paul 16/03/13 #

If someone doesn’t break this cycle of FF coming in and splashing the cash, breaking the bank and then FG coming in to balance the books again, then we are destined to repeat the same cycle again and again. A bit of honesty at the outset and we’d have held our noses and voted for it anyway. This was the chance to begin to treat the electorate with some respect but it was squandered. Now we have FG and Labour as the doctors who promised it wouldn’t hurt, but it hurts so much we’ve started to hate them more than the thugs who put us in hospital in the first place. The cycle will repeat and nobody will learn from it.

• @jenny- Actually, I remind people where the airport is when they insult the country. No locks on the door of this Republic. My criticism here is of those who would do this country damage by reintroducing the cancer that is Fianna Fáil to the body politic. I’m going nowhere. Unlike others on here I want to be part of the rebuild and stand with those who have serious, sustainable plans for fixing the country. If that means sharing the country with people like you, we’ll every silver lining has a cloud.

• Sean- yes. Absolutely. We’re still one of the most affluent countries in Europe but you’re right. The reality on the ground is that its like Calcutta here. Please! Every day there are signs that things are getting better & the worst is over with. Two years ago there were questions about the actual viability of the Irish State- whether we could survive. Now, we’re one of the few countries with growth and there’s genuine potential that we can return to prosperity in the short-medium term. So spare me the poor mouth. It’s been rough. But it could have been a whole lot rougher if this Government hasn’t been in place. I remember the 1980’s. Do you? Or are you suffering from Celtic Cubitis?

• It’s ok Kevin i have a strong stomach,i’ll tolerate people like you here aswell.Bye now.

• sean 16/03/13 #

“spare me the poor mouth”
      Ah yes kevin ……..a truly typical blueshirt comment ,
      your a politicans wet dream

• @paul- it’s easy to forget FG were trailing Labour by a considerable margin 12 months before the last election. I’d like to share your belief that our electorate would maturely listen to a sober message warning of what was to come and vote FG in appreciating their honesty. But there’s nothing to suggest they would have. But you’re right- they did produce a stick to beat themselves with, for sure.

• Ryan'O 16/03/13 #

Very well said Paul. I agree 100%

• @ryan- surprising to hear you agreeing about FG being brought in to balance the books. Three words: you are welcome.

• the interesting statistic in this poll is that 50% would like to see a new political party and thats the future, my god we still vote along the lines of who your grandad fought for in the civil war…how backward is that…its completely imbred politics and the sooner we realise it the better

• Paul 16/03/13 #

Yes it is easy to forget the opinion polls before the election, but it is equally easy to forget that the was never any way Lab were going to be the dominant party in coalition with FG, they’ve never had a strong enough party machine to bring in multiple TDs per constituency like FG and FF can. The make-up of the government was never in any doubt, just how many seats the individual parties got. FG/Lab put party before country by lying, whatever their motives. FG got spooked by Lab’s lies and they outdid each other in handing bigger and thornier sticks to FF to make their comeback. The govt, not the recession or the exhausted electorate or even FF, are the architects of their own unpopularity and FF’s shocking rise from the ashes.
      I’ve always voted whenever I’ve been living in Ireland and I can honestly say I now have nobody to vote for. FF -never; FG -could have held my nose if I’d thought it was necessary but I voted to dilute them; Lab -once bitten…; SF -eh yeah right; I could even have tried to vote green but after doing the research my candidate was so completely stupid I couldn’t do it.
      There’s no contract between government and governed, no honesty, no trust. It didn’t have to be so. And there’s no point berating the government’s critics for it, they fashioned their own stick and what are we to do with it? And FF true to form…but what would you expect from a pig but a grunt? They’ll be back and we’ll be disgusted but we’ll know whose fault it is

• Half of voters want a brand new political party.
      Point them in the direction of the Direct Democracy Ireland!
      http://directdemocracyireland.ie/

• See the “hacks” are out with all new identities

• You appear to ignore the fact we have choices, one is to look for a contribution from Bertie, Brian, John, Albert, Liam, Garret and all the ministers drawing pensions.
      Going after those that can least afford it is wrong wrong wrong wrong and a wrong choice

• That reads a lot like “be reasonable, do it my way” or “f off”

• What they see is Ireland taking responsibilities for the euro banking failure, and paying for it!
      No wonder they think we are great!
      Don’t forget, they thought we were great up to 2007 as well, 2007 to 2010 they were worried about us, but Brian Lenihan changed all that with the bank guarantee, which was renewed a number of times by Michael Noonan.
      We should have gone the Lehman Brothers route.
      If Europe needed the banks saved, they should have paid got saving them.

• We had growth two years ago as well.
      The growth levels we have will not sustain our debts.
      We have to take another 6 billion outjof the economy in the next two years, at an accelerated rate. (Our budget is in October)
      What we now have is over 8 billion a year interest over 40 to 50 years instead of over 10 years.
      I had hoped banks had deleted all references to sub prime loans from their operations.
      Too much money in it for the bank top brass I suspect.

• Continued and sustained rise in support for FF clearly shows voters want real and pragmatic solutions.

FG/Lab were voted into Govt on false promises, their honeymoon is well over and now their ever growing list of broken promises is real reason for their decline in support.

• When Independents and undecided voters are taken into account, FF haven’t enough votes to win.
      Real solutions? You forgot to mention property tax, water charges and higher taxes which FF would possibly implement if elected. Be careful what you wish for.

• FG were overwhelmingly voted in to change and fix the mess left by FF. They are doing this but, instead we have a bunch of impatient trolls who don’t understand what it takes to get it right for our future generations. Everyone seems to want overnight solutions. It doesn’t work that way. Look at all the positive news in the papers last week compared to the bad news over the past two years. Get real folks, FG leadership is working and history will show this. Be patient, get off your @sses and do something positive for yourself and Ireland on this feast of our great country. Negative attitudes don’t help YOU.

• Irish people are ridiculously stupid. They can’t see past their noses and can’t remember what happened half an hour ago it seems.
    People are hilarious. We are in massive debt, primarily because of Fianna Fail. Irish people expect us to come through this recession without cuts to their wages or increases in tax contributions.

• 09celts 16/03/13 #

I agree Irish people are stupid. This Government continues to hit the poor , the low
      Paid and middle incomes. They should be hounded daily until they make the rich
      Pay more. Has the Minister of health settled the debt he was brought to court for.
      How often in the last six months has he been queried about it.

• censored 18/03/13 #

One question. Are you Irish? If so, then why should I read further than your first sentence.

• Of course they are, no one is popular when they do what is necessary…

• A loads of crap, this country already had populist government FF, harsh measures needed to be taken. Irl is getting better, happy or not this is the only way.

• why are non resident irish making comments favouring this muppet government ye have taken all ye got for free sent it home and left nothing in ireland this is the only country in the world that hasnt got assasins or suicide bombers why dont ye apply for these jobs one off position and the irish people would be gratefull

• pauric 17/03/13 #

Get them out they keep up FF

Add New Comment