TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Seanad rejects motion calling for Pope visit to Ireland

Fianna Fáil Senator Jim Walsh said he was “extremely disappointed” that the motion had been defeated.

Pope Benedict XVI
Image: Andrew Medichini/AP/Press Association Images

SENATORS HAVE REJECTED a Fianna Fáil motion calling on the Government to invite the Pope to visit Ireland.

Fianna Fáil senator Jim Walsh spoke of his disappointment in the wake of today’s vote, saying he believed a papal visit would not happen unless Ireland gave more welcoming signals to the Vatican.

“I am extremely disappointed that Fine Gael and Labour Senators decided to defeat this motion,” he said.

The motion was put forward by Fianna Fáil and supported by Sinn Féin as well as five of the 11 independent senators. However, it was opposed by a majority of Fine Gael and Labour members of the Seanad.

It called on the Government to “convey to the Holy See at official level, through existing diplomatic channels, that it would welcome the opportunity of extending an official invitation to Pope Benedict XVI to visit Ireland”.

Senator Walsh said Ireland had sent “negative signals” to the Vatican over the past year, including Enda Kenny’s Dáil speech on child abuse and the closure of Ireland’s embassy to the Holy See. He added:

I accept that the Government says it will facilitate a visit of the Pope but for me I believe if it is to happen the Government needs to send a more positive signal than they have displayed over the past year and come across as being genuinely in favour and welcoming of such a visit.

More: Ireland may reopen ‘modest’ Vatican embassy in future, says Gilmore>

Read next:

Comments (104 Comments)

• Joey R 10/02/12 #

that would be an ecumenical matter.

• “Should send a more positive message” ? Are you kidding me? Enda’s message was perfectly clear…..it’s time Irish Catholics stopped putting the Pope on a pedestal. He is taking the church back into the dark ages, hoping we’ll all forget eventually (while we figure out what “consubstantial” means). But child abuse or abuse of the vulnerable will NEVER be ok. End of.

• ‘Persona Non Grata’ is the appropriate term I think

• Surely this would be a matter for the Catholic Church and its internal processes and not the state. Fair enough if the church wants to host a party for its ageing CEO, that’s their business, but leave me out of it!

• Needs to send a more positive message? Why? Oh noo their feelings were hurt by Enda Kenny’s speech. Waaaaaaa.

• I’m sorry but the ball is in the Vatican’s court. They have a lot to do to restore a lot of peoples faith in them. We do not owe them anything.

• Oh ya ff, that’ll send a real good message out to abuse victims and society as a whole. You can cover up and assist in the rape, torture, abuse and murder of Irish children, but sher you’re grand, the Irish will still welcome ya with open arms, even invite you to their country. Once again ff out do themselves – they take a cead mile failte to a whole new level. Bog off ff to the ditch ye came from.

• Maybe he should take note of the “negative signals” the Vatican has sent Ireland the past few years…no … the past few centuries.

• Poor old Fianna Fail. Still trying to bone the country, even from the ditch.

• Endas speech wasn’t negative it was great. Pity we don’t hear more of the same

• Actually Inda’s speech was a pack of lies, full of accusations that were not in the Cloyne Report .

The Vatican demolished it in their response. Our government couldn’t make any substantial response, other than saying it had a lot of big words in it they didn’t understand.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Oh dear Oliver do you truly believe that? If so there is nothing else for it but to have a creme egg and a glass of wine, really worked for me tonight.

• Enda’s speech was a ploy . To get us all to think that he had our best interests at heart .While all the while he was planning our downfall,so his wealthy European masters could rape the benefits yes RAPE the benefits . We took our eyes off the ball .Now he is planning to reopen the embassy in the Vatican city …… Balderdash !

• He counted on our Abhorence at the Cloyne report …. and used it to divert our attention.

• Care to elaborate Oliver?

• I was one of the first (I’d say ) to congratulate him and say well done ….Well I won’t be so easily fooled again .

• Oliver is correct on this one. Enda’s speech was disingenuous and was unsubstantiated. Enda couldn’t back his claims when pushed. Our government acknowledged the Vatican’s response was correct by meekly by describing it as legalistic. Obviously strong words were needed in Enda’s speech, but the truth should not be sacrificed.

The contributors in this debate can be divided into two camps: those who are concerned with the welfare of the abuse victims and who are supportive or indifferent to a Papal visit.
      And those who are primarily interested in secularising Ireland and realise that removing Catholic influence is more important than healing, renewal or and ultimately mutual beneficial relationships.

• I say invite him! Then arrest him and charge him with crimes against humanity. Namely the aiding and cover up of mass child rape.

• What about the ‘negative signals’ the church have been sending the children of Ireland for decades?? Fianna Fail are idiots!

• This is a masterclass in how to say everything wrong, not to mention how utterly out of touch this man is with modern Irish society! The timing and groveling nature of this is so ridiculous in fact I would be inclined to say he’s taking the piss with us but alas, I don’t think we’ve yet reached the stage where they would be so honest about their incompetence.

• Another utterly cynical stance by Sinn Féin I see.

• Jim Welsh is right in saying “give more signals to the Vatican” – Two Fingers…

• Good.

• Personally I find it repulsive that part of our Government would even consider inviting the pope into this country.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

How would the pope coming heal it?

• Yay! A piece of good news!

• Stay well away Pope your not welcome evil man covered up so much

• Best news I’ve heard today.
    Surprised at SF backing FF.

• Is this what we have the senate for, really?

• He is not welcome, unless we can arrest the git.

• How about the Senate proposing a law banning the pope from Ireland.

• I don’t know why sf would want to invite him. Would they invite him then join protest against him?

• Why are the even bothering debating to invite the pope,or not!!
    Idiots….
    Why not actually do something positive and worthwhile for the good of our country

• We had a handful of protestors when Obama visited, protesting war mongering and something which really doesn’t effect them!
    We had a handful of protestors when Madge visited protesting something that didn’t even happen in their lifetime but just read in their history books !
    Niether of these protests had any effect on the two visits!
    But my goodness, pope comes, thousands of abuse victims and their families all living and with very very fresh memories in their minds !!! It world be SUICIDE for the pope to visit here!!!!

• Typical piece of pathetic political opportunism. FF and the sinners, sorry, shiiners know very well that before an invitation can be issued, behind the scenes talks have to check out that it will be accepted. That’s how diplomacy works. That’s how you avoid the appearance of a snub. If he thinks the government were going to all for that one, he must ave come down with the last shower of rain.

• We are probably unique in the world. Well, we are for probably the wrong reasons. I, personally, believe that we are collectively suffering from the post traumatic effects of enduring a psychopathic, theological and cult like society. The problems of alcoholism, drug addiction, and unclear thinking, that are rife within Irish society are indicators of a deeper malaise. Psychopathic individuals target vulnerable people and whole countries
    if they can. In Ireland’s case, they have been allowed to act with impunity. It is within our power to counteract this threat. To succeed, we have to inform ourselves as to the nature of the threat. Then, we have to isolate ourselves from that threat. By removing these predators from having a say in our affairs, we begin to gain traction in how we determine how our societies function. Till then, I bid you farewell and good luck.

our

T
    The nature

s

T

• wow! I give up, the lod must be protecting that dude! :-D

• The Pope coming to Ireland is the last thing we need. God almighty, we might even be forced to acknowledge he is a human being….. and heaven preserve us…..acknowledge what he actually has done to root out child abuse in the clergy….but as we all know he facilitated the mass rape of children. if the Pope comes, the Catholic Church will get a new lease of life…… at least that’s canceled. Well done fine geal and labour…..our staunch defenders.
    When the pope visits, he heals, if you care about healing: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/apr/18/pope-child-abuse-sex-abuse

• EMD 09/02/12 #

How exactly does he heal? he isn’t a doctor is he? Oh that is right he is a Catholic pope so he has special powers, oh yes indeed. Hallelujah! Blessed are the cheesemakers……………………

• I see the pope was reduced to tears after meeting victims of abuse that he helped to cover up. Was he crying because he was sorry or because the damages his organization would have to pay out for raping children in Malta?

• EMD 09/02/12 #

He didn’t need to cry Joe because he had magically healed their hurt with his supreme popeness.

• If you are interested in victims/survivors of abuse I admire your sense of justice….if your railing against the pope, because he is who he is, not only are you not helping them, you are mocking them and using them for your own ends. Priests violated children- fact; bishops covered it up-fact. High up guys Vatican delayed the process of justice and punishment – fact. But Benedict, as pope and cardinal, has done more than anyone to put this sorry mess right, that is fact not an opinion. Pull opinions apart; facts stand on their own.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

@Condulmer, seriously? He has in his arse done anything without a cattle prod up his arse forcing him to do so. The cover up continues, the priests and bishops are still complicit in hiding abuse and the Vatican continues to show no remorse and only pay lip service to those they have irreparably.

I also have a problem with Benedict as a human being who continues to defend and stand behind an institution which is out of date and out of touch. This is the same guy who made a statement about condoms being ok for male prostitutes but not husbands & partners who may pass HIV onto their innocent wives, like seriously?

• EMD 09/02/12 #

irreparably *damaged*

• @emd: why is it in a country awash with condoms HIV and STD rates are soaring? Its the same in the developing world. The Catholic Church cant be blamed for at. As regards abuse; if guys like Magee actually did what the Pope said we would not be in the mess we are in. If you are aware of bishops/priests covering up; you be better report it. Get your stuff in order and head to the guards.

• It’s great crack the way the thumbs people don’t do irony… :)

• He’s welcome just like anyone, however they should pay their own way. Obama’s visit and the Queen’s shouldn’t have cost us what it did.

http://brianpolitics.wordpress.com

• What the hell is up with the site tonight???

EVERY time I tryto post a reply to a particular comment, it won’t allow it to appear under the one its supposed to be attached to?
    This is just stupid!

• what the hell is up with the commenting system here today? that’s the second reply to someones comment it’s added as a new comment. weird!

• What is going on with the reply button on this site tonight! FFS fix it!

• Where’s my earlier comment gone? Also the one I replied to is gone as well, what is going on?

• Trying to use reason with a religionist is like bringing medicine to the dead.
    Thomas Paine

• PJ, your irrelevant analogy to language avoids answering my question. Are you not a Christian because your parents were? Whether you are happy or not is irrelevant. There are a lot of happy fools. Are the vast majority of Muslims not Muslims because they were also brainwashed? Ditto the Hindus. If you can understand that then you should understand that the reason you are a Christian is not very sensible. Your little story about what happens when we die die is just that a children’s fairytale.

Have you ever considered that a church which represents the one true god on earth and has a high percent of its priests convicted as paedophiles, in Ireland, Belgium, the US etc and that it’s higher officers, the bishops, covered this up for decades and I suspect centuries, cannot in fact be associated with a good god? It’s illogical. In fact being logical, that church would more likely be associated with the evil one, the devil. That’s if you believe paedophilia is one of the most evil acts a man can commit. Your church has been exposed as a fake.

• Yes it’s true I’m a Christian because my parents baptised me, and so are you probably. But my decision to follow Christ was my own as an adult and some of my siblings decided otherwise. Just as your decision appears to have taken you in another direction. I choose hope, truth and beauty. I hope you find these in your decision. And no I’m not smug or self-righteous, but I do live my Faith, and I love the Holy Father. I hope you preserved a good relationship with your blood father, and that you would be willing to defend him against false, if populous, accusations.

• PJ, you are in denial if you think “…my decision to follow Christ was my own…”. Well what an amazing coincidence. You just happen to have brought up as a Christian and bingo that also happens to be the “correct” religion. Admit it, if you had been brought up in India by Hindus, you would be a Hindu. You were, as I already said, sucessfully brainwashed.

• The comments make it clear that the “mocking and scorning” of Christ (His representative) still persist. The thumbs indicate a two to one against. So much for the Cead Mile Failte. I wonder if our new national religion, headinism, will be more successful?

• As far as i’m aware “hedonism”doesn’t bugger innocent little children and persistently try covert it up…

• PJ, there are no gods you were successfully brainwashed.

• As an atheist I view ratzinger as a short, prim, ancient person in heavy robes at the head of a foul institution that has visited much woe on our country. He can sod off.

• Well said PJ, I wonder the same to be honest.

@ Cormac, I forgot everyone in the catholic church is guilty of these heinous crimes. I won’t respond negatively to hedonism if that is your belief as i wouldn’t like to offend you or anyone else.

Well done William, someone you believe to have a belief in something and you say he is brainwashed. Great call my friend. Were you ever told if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.

• Adam, if PJ wasn’t brainwashed how come he’s not say a Muslim or a Hindu? How come the VAST majority of religious people are the religion of their parents? Brainwashing. “..if you can’t say something nice..”, are you for real? Facts are neither nice nor not nice, they are just facts.

• I don’t know what religion PJ is, he could be a buddhist for all I know. And the fact some most parents try to pass some kind of belief system to their children is that they feel it’s the right thing to do, the last time I checked it wasn’t illegal or brainwashing.

I am for real, you state that most facts are either nice or not nice. Completely agree when it’s a fact you are speaking about. But which fact may I ask did you relate to? Would it be the assumption you made that a person is brainwashed? Is that a fact! Or the fact there is no God, can you prove that one to me as well?

• That was interesting. I speak English because my parents did, I’m brainwashed, woe is me. As for God, I’m happy with my position, one day we will both say “Oh Jesus”, but perhaps with a different inclination.
      God bless.

• Adam, you say “most parents try to pass on “some” belief system”. Most religiously indoctrinated parents try to pass on THE RELIGION they were indoctrinated into, irrespective of how idiotic it is. That is brainwashing.

What do you call telling a defenceless child many times daily from first thing in the morning, at home, in school, that God made the world? What do you call sending them to a school RUN BY the officers of that religion?

What do you call sending them to mass to listen to more nonsense at least once a week?

My parents and most parents of my parent’s generation in Ireland most definitely were non intellectual and most definitely did brain wash their children and yes it should be illegal.

I don’t have to prove your god doesn’t exist; you have to prove he does IF you want to put his “teachings” into the statue books. Can you prove that the 250,000 Hindu gods don’t exist? Do you believe they do? I don’t think you have thought about this much.

• PJ, reply below. The website seems to have gone wonky.

• I welcome Christ into my life every day. I will not and would never welcome this man as he has called me intrinsically evil as a gay man How dare he.

• Of course the notion that being gay is evil is absurd. But because it’s absurd AND the bible does seem to denounce the gay life style, don’t you have a big problem being a Christian with that contradiction?

Among many arguments that the bible is just a series of books self selected to suit their Machiavellian purposes from a larger number by relatively primitive men, is that read in the knowledge that we now have of the universe, it’s chock full of contradictions about how reality actually is; Evolution, the creation of the Earth, the un-importance of the Earth (they’ve discovered a couple of thousand other planets now) and of mankind, being anti-gay, misogynist, the nature and causes of crime etc..

• To call someone else foolish because they don’t agree with you is inappropriate. I know the Pope does not consider you evil if you are gay. If you engage in gay acts he will condemn the act. There are as many intellectuals who believe in God as who don’t.
      In relation to the pedophile priests, the proportion in the priesthood is less than the proportion in the population overall. And yes much wrong and harm has been done, hut not by the Pope.

• William you are very right that most parents pass on their belief system just like any parent would pass on what they believe to be true and right, nothing brainwashing about that.

What do i call when parents pass on the belief which they believe to be one of the most important things their child can learn. What do i call when a parent speaks to their child and brings them to mass to have hope in a life full of shit. (Quite idiotic as you have stated!) I call it good parenting and their right as a parent to bring that child up in faith (be it what ever religion). nothing brainwashing in the slightest. If you would like to bring your child up with the your beliefs be it whatever that’s your right as a parent. To be quite honest that statement is ridiculous. Of course a parent will pass on their values to their children.

i don’t understand the point about your parents generation being non intellectual. We are having an intellectual ( i hope) debate today in regards to your previous comments. About all religious people being brainwashed. Ever dawn on you to think that maybe your brainwashed?

And finally you were the person implying that “there are no gods”. I simply questioned your “facts” about there being no Gods and about being brainwashed. If you wish to make a statement out of the blue, i wish you would put evidence with that statement. I wasn’t the person coming on here saying there are god/gods. And who said anything about putting God into the “statue” book! That’s right no one again! You came up with that statement. if your talking about the constitution hes all over the place in it.

William you know you can make comments to most articles without the need for defamation of ones beliefs or insulting people? And there may be 250,000 Hindu Gods. but I am not saying they don’t exist. No quite the opposite, i respect Hindu, Muslim, Catholic, Buddhist and Atheist.

And before you reply with yet another rant, let me ask you this! Why are you talking to me as if I represent the Catholic Church? Am i even Catholic? As i did in previous comments i like to question mindless comments that are disrespectful to different race,ethnicity, cultures and beliefs.

To be honest my friend i don’t think you have thought much about this. It might be helpful for you to read back over your comments and see where you might have went a small bit off the mark.

All the best.

• Adam do you not see the problem with your logic here. Are all religions equally true? They can’t be as they all contradict one another.

So the vast majority of people are the religion of their parents and therefore they are only religious AND in the religion of their parents/society because they were brainwashed. They are not as you claimed “brought up” or had their parents “pass their values”. They are not religious because it’s the truth, unless you think rocks contain spirits like the Shinto religion teaches.

It’s brainwashing because it’s not the same as teaching. Priests do not tell you that there is a hypothesis that there’s a god and give you the pro and con arguments. They tell small children that there is a god and it’s their god, that if they don’t follow that god they’ll burn in hell etc etc. I went to a Catholic school. I know the lies they tell.

• Shane 09/02/12 #

That’s an intelligent comment. Paint all clergy with same brush. If the pope came it would be great for the country that needs to heal after the abuse scandals.

Add New Comment