TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Should Health Minister James Reilly resign?

He’s hitting the headlines again today… should he stay or should he go?

Image: Photocall Ireland

YESTERDAY GRASSROOTS MEMBERS of the Labour Party announced that they’re to meet this week to call for the resignation of James Reilly.

In today’s Sunday Business Post it’s reported that the health minister knew that the HSE had chosen a site owned by one of his political supporters  in Balbriggan for a primary care centre before he added the town to a list of options for public private partnerships.

The Sunday Independent meanwhile reports that Minister Reilly has claimed that the Taoiseach and the Tánaiste were aware of plans to place two primary care centres in his own North Dublin constituency.

Earlier this week Reilly insisted that he had ‘no hand, act or part’ in the choice of the Balbriggan site.

Here’s the results from the last time we asked about James Reilly’s position.

What do you think today? Should James Reilly resign?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (149 Comments)

• Yes. He should go before he is entitled to a ministers pension.
    Bad enough we are still paying for ahern,cowen and all the other twisted crooks that are sneering at us.

• shouldnt resign he should be sacked

• He’s completely unfit for any public office.
    From today’s Indo report, it looks like he’s trying to make sure that if he goes down, he doesn’t go down alone. Bring it on, I say!

• The whole political system should be reformed the way its designed what james r done was ensure he gets voted in on next election regardless what party are running the country there all cronies

• Yes Yes Yes ,he should of gone not Roshin Shortall who has been totally vindicated …and he should take Eamonn Gilmore with him for not having the guts to support his own junior minister .

• If it was another country he would of resigned already.

• If it was another country they would care about the party’s political reputation. Given the options they must feel like they’ve a long way to go to look as bad as the other lot. But then that’s all anyone ever does with this lot – compare them with the other lot. There’ll be some labour opposition and they’ll smooth it over, someone will scratch someone else’s back… When will there be some credible alternatives with real politicians instead of these local business men doing local politics on a national scale?

• You mean to say, that he hadn’t already… there’s arrogance for you

• I agree. This farce should have been in the can long ago.

• paul 07/10/12 #

You are wrong David he wouldn’t have resigned in another country, he would be fired

• If it was another country we’d be camped outside the dail until they were gone – its getting worse an worse – current govt are not the answer and I voted for them

• I voted for this government too – but only to get shot of the last government… worst decision ever! The ‘white-noise’ rage I felt watching Cowen & The Clowns is returning with a vengeance! Shame on Kenny & Gilmore, you lied & misled us all… I will not wait for history to be cruel to you – I will put your names down, along with Cowen & Ahern, until my last breath!

• Healthcare in Ireland is like something from Narnia………..its non-existant.

• Another country he would have been sacked for conflict of interest once the first story came out!!

• In any other country he would be sacked !!!!

• He is a disgraceful example of stroke politics and gombeenism. The government promised a new dawn but delivered more of the same.Reilly should resign and be replaced so we can have a minister with honesty and integrity

• It’s hard to know if he should resign. The longer this goes on the bigger hole they all dig for themselves. Now that hogan has been involved it would be no surprise if lowry is lurking around some land deal or other. I mean right now O’reilly could bend gilmore over and ride him like a auld donkey around dail eireann if any labour deputy complained it would be them that would suffer. talking about primary health care centres after almost 800,000 spent while they were on hoildays is a bit rich

• Whilst I mightn’t exactly have put it like that Leartius but you’ve hit on something that has baffled me since this entire debacle emerged. How many of his party is Eamonn Gilmore willing to sacrifice in order to keep Enda and his band of merry men happy….how much of his labour ideals and principles is he willing to swallow and surely this should be ringing alarm bells within his own party regarding his leadership. Roisin Shortall was his most public victim but how many more have been disciplined behind the scenes. If I was a labour party member I’d be getting rather jittery. Imagine allowing one of your ministers to be bullied and humiliated by minister Reilly and in such a publi manner and then to be abandoned by her leader…….the only person to come up smelling of roses is Roisin Shortall and tbh I think the woman has some valid sensible thoughts on turning round this health service. Rosin might very well make a great health minister ….and dare I say it……Labour party leader!!!!

• What I take from this is that Enda wanted to keep Roscommon votes after letting them down ( The good doctor re elected) & put one in Killkenny to help save Big Phil..

This would ensure his 2 pillars who saved him from the leadership challenge would be in place to protect him from the young guns?

Just what it appears like from that I’m reading…

• I don’t understand why this issue is still dragging along. This man needs to go, if not he should be fired by end of the weekend. Enda needs to grow some balls .

• Now he is saying he consulted Gilmore and Kenny in July.Funny,you would think someone would have mentioned this before now.I mean how stupid does he think we are ???

• It is coming very clear why we didn’t vote for these guys for 13 years.

• why do our health ministers always look so unhealthy…mary harney anyone?

• The controversy around him is distracting from anything meaningful. The sick citizens of Ireland who have been abandoned by his system deserve better than this. Reilly out.

• Stroke and parish politics will always be here as long as we have our current system , why not vote for a president then let him/her employ a cabinet who are not worried about re election , and might actually get things done

• You have it in one David. You can still have your TD’s for local representation and lobbying, but have an appointed cabinet based on ability and proven track record, as opposed to lets put a school teacher in to run a department where they have no experience.

• James Reilly as a GP should then have a better grasp of the health services…sadly this isn’t the case but rather a shining example of POACHER TURNED GAMEKEEPER!…so maybe that’s not the answer either.

• Good point sinead but still think employing people as ministers would go a long way to change things in this country , anything must be better than the way it’s run now

• No way should he resign. Absolutely no way.
    He should be sacked.

• The Irish government is making the mafia look clean

• i cant believe that nearly half of those polled have said he should stay?? he shoukd have gone a long time ago!!! maybe it was the way the question was phrased?

• They all should, Stroke politics to be re-elected and Parish pump at its best! They all getting a chance to get Care centre, to keep the locals happy and the rest of us suffer. They make FF look like saints, then trying to help their friends out by buying their sites. I am no labour/FF/FG/SF ‘r, but they whole system is crooked and the TD’s just as rotten!

• Orly 07/10/12 #

I already had the poll done before I read the last sentence, and the second last sentence is:
    “When we asked you last month if you thought James Reilly should remain on as Minister for Health, 51 per cent of you said No, 17 per cent said Yes and 30 per cent weren’t sure.”
    Therefore I pressed “No” because I don’t think he should remain on as Minister for Health, and then I read on to find out that the question was actually:
    “Should James Reilly resign?”

I bet that’s why the poll is not reflecting the views of literally everyone. I recommend taking it down and starting again, but with a less misleading wording. Sorry for being too enthusiastic!

• Polls at this stage are irrelevant as the guys in power have what THEY want. Lowery, Haughey, Bertie, Burke, Olivia Mitchell, Quinn, Lawlor, Healy Reas, etc all got what they they set out to achieve – Power and money. Not too many of these guys delivering “Meals on Wheels” today.

• he cant lose his job. remember what happened when he go fired from being a milkman for riding all those women and Dougle had to drive the milkfloat, and it had a bomb on it. And there was a big pile of boxes in the middle of the road.

• Definitely something wrong with the poll when you compare the comments…

• My thoughts exactly, I dont think I have seen one positive comment regarding Reilly. The poll results and comments dont add up. I wonder did young FG get a txt from their masters … vote No on the Journal poll!

• I just think it’s an amazing coincidence that the owner of the site for the care centre “happens” to be a supporter of the minister …

• Integrity = R?is?n Shorthall, nuff said.

• The wider social-political issue needs addressing. health is a tough assignment, twinned with social welfare it tops the spending ladder. The Government’s trial ballooning, reversals denials and weekly suggestions as to whom the Budget will harm next and who most..
    IT is not too late, to get out a clean sheet of paper, write a new lyric and compose the music so the whole Cabinet sings from it. Tackle Croke Park, all salaries and pensions, re-hiring of retirees who double dip now. Look at all obvious inequities, including the fact that Government and Civil salaries and pensions are highest in Europe. Production has to be down with the second shortest work week in Europe. Look at all ministerial expenses and every output of cash- including teleconferences for saving expenses to attend meeting at home and see if that can work for Europe. Apply a fair, across the board principle to all for the COMMON GOOD. It is a scandal to punish low income families and the vulnerable elderly and ration health care and wait for along time for surgery or to see a consultant for medical emergencies while Ministers and that class and Consultants balk at very high salaries to pay down the debts this Government while in opposition ignored the cliff-hanging Bank and Property gamblers about which some economists warned the nation.

• It’s our own fault at the end of the day!! We voted these untrained,unsupervised,ignorant so called politicians into office.If they can’t do the job we should find someone who can. Resign now sir !!!

• Every last one of them skid marks should be booted out. And with their bumper pensions yet to come , its them who will always be laughing at us.

• Very unhealthy.

• Resign, he should be sacked!

• how the hell did he get nearly half votes to stay must be the people In his constituency voting. we Irish are gone to soft we should kick in the doors of the dail and kick him out ourselves and a few more with him. I suppose he will be on time magazine next

• If we can stop and look at the facts…. The ministers are only there to rubber stamp the work of the civil servants. So you can change the clowns, but the circus remains the same. What is needed is new vision. I don’t know where it will come from, but we need to find it quickly.

Bertie and Co look like choir boys by comparison. As you may remember going back as far as 1979, FF always talked about what was needed with out ever committing to it. Enda “everything to the west” Kenny has repeatedly lied to the people, under the umbrella we didn’t realise how bad it really was.

The whole country knew, and unless he was asleep in the chamber (not beyond the bounds of possibility) he would have had even more information than the man on the street.

There is a lot to be said for the US system where you elect 1 person to bring the best people on board, irrelevant of political stance, and if they fail in their role then they will be sacked.

Maybe it is time for President Higgins to write a ditty on the new Ireland that Enda saved according to Time Magazine.

Thoughts anyone????

• How many journal.ie logins do you have Reilly, you arrogant arsehole

• send him back to st claberts,that hairy hand condition is contagious

• Yeah yeah. Reilly should resign. Then they’d replace him with a Fine Gaeler that cared about the people of Ireland. Oh wait…

• Jeeezzz don’t get it the majority says “NO” what’s wrong with the Irish people???????????

• i think the whole lot of them should go… Irelands answer to unemployment is to emigrate…
    Whooopeee..

• I don’t actually think it’s a case of should he go or not. Enda Kenny should be managing his team properly and this is clearly not being done on most fronts. Reilly needs to change things rapidly in the Health Services and not be wasting time on defending his actions everyday. We are not paying him for that as far as I know! So Mr. Reilly get up of your arrogant arse and implement the necessary changes now!

• But I suppose Martin the reason he has to explain his actions is because they are so appalling, so bullish and showing a marked lack of commitment in tackling the real issues in the services….instead he’ll tackle the vulnerable ..the OAPs the carers, the disabled…way to go minister…he’s not going to turn anything round because he’s not going to upset his friends in the oldboys club……… and he’s going to look after the TD’s in the Constituencies where they are most likely to be hammered next election…and then of course there are his supporters to be taken care of ……..and there are the bloody annoying women from the minor party in Gov who need to be put in their place ,,,,,,(back in the kitchen….hello there Roisin)…….FOR GODS SAKE MARTIN WHERE DO YOU EXPECT HIM TO FIND THE TIME!!!!!!!!…but maybe you are right …maybe he shouldn’t be fired or resigned……..maybe he should be left to face the music as opposed to escaping having to clean-up this latest mess he has created!!!!As for End managing his team…ah now…every dog in the street knows Big Phil and big James are in charge….poor Enda…maybe he should have stayed on top of Croagh Patrick……fasting and self-flagellation would be a dawdle compared to this lot!!!!!!!

• Should get the revenue boys to run the health system. They seem to be the only ones doing a proper job regardless of consequence

• I have absolutely no faith in either the health minister or the HSE. No accountability when things go belly up just more “passing the buck” attitude. Sickening carry on excuse the pun.

• Should probably reset the poll with new wording.

• Regardless of whether it was Reilly who chose the site and signed the page, it happened on his watch. The way the government has ostracised Shortall and closed ranks around Reilly smacks of prioritising the stability of the coalition at the cost of both integrity and, more importantly, the public perception of integrity. After the debacle that was the last government, the most important asset in this political climate is to be seen as honest. Every day that Reilly stays in power further undermines the stability of the government.
    At this point, it doesn’t matter overmuch whether or not he’s guilty – if he had any loyalty to his party, country aside, James Reilly would swallow his pride, resign in the morning, take the severance pay and step aside before the damage becomes irreparable.
    http://www.perspectivesbyjack.com/

• Resign he should Run but he wont get far if his looks are anything to go by his own health needs looking after.

• He is totally unfit for public office. The man is Arrogant and a bully. He is a bankrupt and should not be there.

• he definately should resign!! after all his ‘genious’ reforms that will only screw up the system even more, and the rest of GF trying to excuse him and explain his reforms it just utter nonsense. He can’t even explain and face it himself. It seems like his reforms will bring this system nowhere. so it’s to say about the rest of the FG party and how they currently rule the country. Sure the best way it’s just to cut it all and double or triple the taxes and sure it’ll be grand then? Do they even use their brains. Some more Ministers should thinknof resignation , nevermind the party….

• Sadly yes – whether it is true or not he has has given the impression of being just another party apparatchik redolent of FF
    Deeply disappointed in this govt as there is absolutely no sign structural political change after all they are simply members of the political club which protects themselves and their futures

• A Poll run a few days ago. Same question about #reilly but only abut only a Yes and No answer. http://twtpoll.com/q0d87z

• Hmm 50 50 split pretty much. Obviously there’s usually a lot of flaming on here but I’m genuinely interested as to why people think he should stay? Or is it just party lackeys distorting the results. Maybe people are so used to voting no that they didn’t read the question properly?

• In the image above. Health Minister looks like he’s been binging on Jd.

• if he goes, do the rest plan to reverse the cuts to the home help service and take that sort of money away from the supporting the private schools? my take on the private schools being they are as about morally corrupt as can be, and give no values to the youngsters, only greed to be on the top of the pyramid, i say, cherish the least able and let there be a middle ground to education where the achievers will be by credit rather than who mummy and daddy are.

• Poor oul Dicey Reilly Reilly will have to give it up !?

• Can’t wait to punish this government in the next general election :( I have one vote but I’m going to make it count :)

• Oh for gods sake polls motions of no confidence deliberately downing short hall for gods sake prosecute him what he is doing is bordering on criminal so forget polls and anything else the boys club are behind him and he is untouchable maybe people should take to the streets and demand he goes after all he is employed by them

• @Emer.
    Any chance of resetting the poll to a simple “yes”he should go or “no” he should not go and the usual fence squatters before reilly sees the poll and gets a dose of aherncowenitus and actually think the majority of the electorate want him.

• You know what would be nice? A Minister for Health who wasn’t grossly overweight. Perhaps even someone who looked healthy so that when he or she gave us the sermon on how to live long and healthy lives they might be believable.

• I agree Reilly should resign but so should Kenny, Gilmore, and all the other ministers in government.

• Marcais 07/10/12 #

WHERE IS MY COMMENT GONE?!

• Reilly should be sacked and ALL his decisions reversed… after all there is no confidence in him or his actions We just do not Trust LIARS

• Dr. Reilly or Mary Harney?

• Down with that sort of thing.

• You do realise that the results are going to include a massive number of mistakes given that the article has people inclined to say no when they mean yes and vice-versa… resulting in both alpha & beta mistakes (reserach methodological terminology) and I can only hope they cancel eachother out, thought it is doubtful based on the clear preference for one answer.
    A month ago you asked if he should stay, now you’re asking if he should remain and two opposing positions articulated within two lines of eachother! Completely unreliable methodology!!! Shame on you Journal.ie!

• Wha???

• Oops. Sorry I meant to press thumbs up. Or was it thumbs down…? Sorry what was the question?

I’m confused Ted, the world’s gone mad.

• Patrick step away from that funny looking pipe thing.

• Where’s dave Higgz? Surely he can’t be busy sending texts around to the party faithful.

• Totally agree Patrick, journal made a balls of this one…. looks like its not only JR that should resign!!

• Hi Patrick,

this isn’t social research, merely an opinion poll. The title of the poll and the eventual question both pose the same question: Should James Reilly resign? We have faith in our readers that they grasp the premise of the poll.

Thanks for reading,
      Emer

• Emer, with respect, the last line of the article read:

‘When we asked you last month if you thought James Reilly should remain on as Minister for Health, 51 per cent of you said No, 17 per cent said Yes and 30 per cent weren’t sure.’

‘What do you think today? Should James Reilly resign?’

Although yes the final question is clear, the lines above it confuse the question asked… especially on a Sunday early afternoon when a lot of people are just crawling out of bed with a hangover!!

• The poll has been simplified to minimise confusion. It now simply poses the question: Should James Reilly resign?

Thanks,
      Emer

• Thanks Emer! I hate to be pedantic and I do love the polls on thejournal.ie, but I can’t help but try to show off one or two things I’ve learned after 7years of study! :)

Tomorrow I’m handing in my thesis, so it’s revenge on the world time!!! ;)

@Glenn: I’m glad someone understood it, even if I made a balls of the “A month ago you asked if he should stay, now you’re asking if he should remain”, whereby remain should be “resign”… so I actually ended up confusing myself in the process of trying to act all suprerior! #SweetIrony

• yes, his looks says a lot i have to say, everytime i see him he reminds me of the worst ad ever for ‘what best to eat’

• If he resigns he’ll keep his TD salary, probably at least one pension (TD plus ministerial), and be remembered as “the minister who resigned” – great moral ammunition for his next election campaign. Plus, Kenny will look like a political leader who’s able to make tough decisions. So it’ll be a win-win all-round, politically. But this coalition doesn’t seem to care about making smart political decisions…

• Rather, “it would be a win-win all-round”.

• Why just get rid of one TD when we have a simple way to reduce the number of TD’s to about 90, (or even less if we want), by amending Article 16.2.2 of the Constitution to a allow for 1 TD per 50,000 people, (or more if we like), instead of the current situation which requires a minimum of 1 TD per 30,000 people and a maximum of 1 TD per 20,000 people.

• Simple question- are there any areas in Dublin or regions in the State being left without a Primary Health Care Centre?

• Does the media now decide who runs our country- the results of the poll should be interesting

• He could make far more money working for himself. I think he s there for the greater good. But im not 100% sure.

• The irony of people jumping up and down about ‘parish pump’ politics…especially the media…This country and its people are the very defination of such politics. We don’t care if its the right thing to do, once it gets done in our location and the rest of ye can bugger off… Recent high profile examples are the A&E in Roscommon and the Army barracks in Mullingar…Both completely non-viable but people in those locations don’t care about the greater good of ireland…All they care about is themselves… Irish people need to grow up!!!!

• Well I suppose in the case of Health care Declan it is as you say ‘all about me’. Thankfully I don’t use Roscommon hospital but if I had to depend on it I would be desperate to hold on to it rather than transfer to a service in galway that is already over stretched to bursting point (and my sources for this are some of the nurses working over in Galway). Likewise a similar situation on SGH which can’t cope with its only hinterland never mind takin on Roscommon patients. In fairness I wouldn’t blame any community for trying to hold on to an existing hospital…thats not politics…it’s fear of having to wait for an ambulance to take you on a 90 min journey as opposed to a 20 minute one if you are in serious pain, discomfort, suffering a life threatening injury…so playin politics with hospitals is a no no and James Reilly trying to appease Roscommon communities by shunting a few primary care centres up the standings shows that that is exactly what the minister is doing…forget about turning round the health service…he’s just playing politics

• i think reducing consultants pay not a bad one in fact!

• “the tumult of the crowd is always close to madness.” Alcuin, 8th Century Scholar and head of the Palatine school established by Charlemagne at Aachen.

Add New Comment